Toast Round 12 = Hawthorn 68-72 Collingwood

He has a history of having a crack at teenagers, IIRC.
Ooof. Well timed sledge TRS.

Just re-watching replay during a Zoom meeting because Zzzzz. And even Nick Riewoldt was congratulating Ollie Henry on his clutch shots. I think we can get a bit too focussed on the negatives during a match tbqh.

I think with the return of Grundy we can see close to a 50/50 split between he and Cameron in the ruck. Let's hope once Grundy is cleared to train, there is a huge emphasis on his forward craft. If he can add this string to his bow then we become an even more dangerous side. Grundy is an upgrade on Coxy and everyone needs to chill over his contract. It's out of our control and we all just want to see Grundy back playing good Footy.
Yep, just got to accept that contracts are predictive and they'll get some predictions wrong.

Umpires were absolutely disgraceful yesterday. The free against Moore was absolute crap and the ones not paid to Ginni which mind you looked genuine was insane. This year the umpiring has become so bad that it makes games borderline unwatchable.

Was a great win by the way and deserved. I'm surprised no one has expressed concerns about us letting teams back in games constantly when we have good leads going. I've noticed this a fair bit this year

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Umpires were absolutely disgraceful yesterday. The free against Moore was absolute crap and the ones not paid to Ginni which mind you looked genuine was insane. This year the umpiring has become so bad that it makes games borderline unwatchable.

Was a great win by the way and deserved. I'm surprised no one has expressed concerns about us letting teams back in games constantly when we have good leads going. I've noticed this a fair bit this year

This year? Have you forgotten 2018/2019? :tearsofjoy:

The first goal in last quarter to Lewis was bs as well. Two gifts against Moore for nothing

This year? Have you forgotten 2018/2019? :tearsofjoy:
Yeah it's been a trend with collingwood and that nightmare 2018 grand final which still haunts me!! Still salty about that lol.

On a serious note though I hope the coaches can address this because it's a serious issue. We shouldn't be pissing away good leads and getting complacent... dangerous territory where we may not be so lucky next time to pinch it in the end

Hawthorn v Collingwood​

9 Darcy Cameron (COLL)
8 Nick Daicos (COLL)
6 Mitch Lewis (HAW)
5 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
2 Patrick Lipinski (COLL)

Pretty much every team is doing it. It's just a really even comp - except for the bottom couple.

Disagree. You can't just ignore clear free kicks because a player has learnt how to manipulate the rules to his advantage.
You can, but only if the rules are adjusted to outlaw an such action regardless of jumper, name or position on the field. Currently that hasn’t happened though and it hasn’t for at least the last 16 years either.

Just watched a replay of the last quarter and a few things stood out. Umpiring was disgraceful, seriously should be umpires dropped after that effort. In the cold light of day with the emotion of the moment removed, the way Ginni was treated was criminal. Umpires are paid to call a free kick when it’s there regardless of their own feelings about a player. Disgraceful.
Ollie wanted the moment. McCreery was huge and some nice deft touches by Pendles and Sidey at times. Couple of Pies legends that now have played the most together in our history? Awesome!
And I was still nervous as hell and sweating bullets even though I knew the result.

Disagree. You can't just ignore clear free kicks because a player has learnt how to manipulate the rules to his advantage.
I didn't say they weren't there, nor should they be ignored.

I was simply causing for those that think its a conspiracy to stop it!
The hysteria in the media and on here about the AFL having it against Gini was out of control.

Like i said, lets see if they correct it this week and pay what's there.

And you know that how? You read minds?

Do you know what view the umpire had at the time. It's not the same as the camera, the umpire, could have not had a view of the high contact. How do you KNOW that umpire was ignoring rather than the umpire just did not see?

A couple of decisions and people are mapping out at sustained deliberate campaign. They are jumping the gun on very scanty evidence.

Do you know what view teh umpire had at the time> It;s not the same as the camera,.

A couple of decsions and people are mapping out at sustained deliberate campaign. You jumping the gun on very scanty evidence,
We all hate Joel Selwood for his head ducking antics and are glad when the umpires don't award him frees. How the situation changes when we have a head ducker of our own!

Great points.

As for the holding a lead issue. It's more of a league wide issue than a Collingwood alone problem. Games for whatever reason have massive momentum swings. Look at Melbourne the past 2 weeks. 5 goal leads and totally on top to being run over after half time.

What we haven't seen from us this season though, is a percentage boosting win. To make finals we are going to need to do a number on a couple of teams to get that percentage up around 110-115 come seasons end. Being the only team to lose to the bye hasn't helped our cause. This is as close a season as we've seen in a long time. If we can continue on and even improve in the 2nd half of the season then who knows how far we can go.

Hawthorn v Collingwood​

9 Darcy Cameron (COLL)
8 Nick Daicos (COLL)
6 Mitch Lewis (HAW)
5 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
2 Patrick Lipinski (COLL)

The media continue to fawn themselves over Newcombe, and mind you a very good young player.

However, Nicky D's game on the weekend and season as a whole has been fantastic.

I'm glad the coaches duly gave Daics 2nd BOG behind big DC.

I didn't say they weren't there, nor should they be ignored.

I was simply causing for those that think its a conspiracy to stop it!
The hysteria in the media and on here about the AFL having it against Gini was out of control.

Like i said, lets see if they correct it this week and pay what's there.

Well the AFL have come out and said he deserved those free kicks, so maybe it was the umps having a mid game sook deciding Jack didn't 'deserve' a free kick for manipulating the rules. Their rule is to implement the rule not decide who deserves to be paid a free or not.

Do you know what view the umpire had at the time. It's not the same as the camera, the umpire, could have not had a view of the high contact. How do you KNOW that umpire was ignoring rather than the umpire just did not see?

A couple of decisions and people are mapping out at sustained deliberate campaign. They are jumping the gun on very scanty evidence.

Calm your farm mate.

Umpires are human, no doubt they would have spoken at breaks discussing Ginni's tactics to draw a free. Maybe they decided that if he did it again during the game, then they'd let a couple go to teach him a lesson. That's not their role, they must pay a free if it's there, regardless what they think of the player.

Nobody's saying anything about a deliberate campaign. It's about umpires deciding to ignore clear free kicks to a player who shows the nous to draw a high free kick. It's also about 'experts' such as Joey Montagna having a crack at a 19 year old who has played less than 20 games.

Also, I'm glad our coach was able to get some clarity so this isn't an issue moving forward.

Toast Round 12 = Hawthorn 68-72 Collingwood