Prediction Round 13, 2025: Changes vs North Melbourne

Hutchinson still yet to play 20 AFL games, might need to cool it a bit on the "why is he getting a new contract" stuff. There's a huge amount to work with there, just had a shitty game tonight despite getting amongst it a bit more.

In: McCarthy, Hall

Out: Hunt, Allan
Wasn’t why is he getting a new deal. It’s the length

OUT: Hutch, Maric
IN: McCarthy, Hall

Allan to play a full game, replacing Hutch on the wing. Hall or Long to sub.

I really like Hutch but his decision making and ball use tonight was very poor. I’d prefer to see Hunt out but I don’t see him being dropped. Allan deserves a full game to show what he can do.

I also like Maric but I think the match committee should try and look at moving magnets around in the backline to find a good combination. Given that he was moved up the ground and then subbed I suspect Mini wasn’t entirely happy with him.

What frustrates is that a crab like Jayden Hunt with limited skills keeps getting selected because he has the ability to repeat run up and down the wing. Yeah but when you got it *******, what was the outcome?

Think he set up Allen’s third (?) with a great intercept and fast entry.

Obviously by the time we’re good Hunt will be long gone as a factor, but this feels a little misplaced. Feel like his skills are nowhere near our worst.

If we move him on it’ll be because of his age/wanting to pump games into younger option, not because of anything he’s done particularly wrong. Usually bobs up for a goal every other game too which doesn’t hurt.

And I will note I had him as an our last week, because I don’t think pumping games into a younger wing is a bad thing.

Allan isn't fit enough to come in for a full game so really needs to go back to WAFL level just for game time. Hall may not be it yet but you have to reward WAFL form so he has to come in.

Also note Maric played wing after Dewar went back before being subbed so is the likely out but not who I would drop.

If we're going to bring a mid and a defender in on field then a mid and a defender need to be dropped.

Allan is the easy decision as he just needs a full game and isn't AFL ready for midfield yet.

So outs Allan, Maric & Hunt. (Duggan should consider himself very, very lucky)
Ins being Hall, McCarthy & Gross.

Either Gross, Long or Dewar to sub.

I don’t rate Hall. I don’t think Hall can make it at AFL level with his skills and lack of defensive workrate.
There is no point in having kids chop up the WAFL if you won’t play them. 29 and two goals as a genuine pure mid. A good month before that. Get him in Mini.
Hall good? Hall not good? Which is it?

Out... Hutchinson Maric and Dewar

In... Allan full game... Looks a natural runner which is what we need at the back, McCarthy, Chesser

Kelly sub

Hall good? Hall not good? Which is it?
Think I articulated it pretty clearly?

I have my doubts he will make it. His skills are not AFL standard, and I question his defensive workrate at this grade too.

But his WAFL form is impossible to ignore and not picking him sets a bad precedent. Why have a kid getting 29 and two in the WAFL if you aren’t going to pick him.

Doesn’t mean I expect him to come in and chop up or remotely replicate that, but why would anyone bother putting in at WAFL level if that’s not honoured. He needs to play for selection integrity sake, and I hope he proves me wrong about my doubts.

Maric and Hutch OUT
Hall and McCarthy IN

Had such bloody high hopes for Hutch this season but I'm just not seeing it. Doesn't rack it up, turns it over, struggles to read the play. A spell in the wafl for this newly contracted player of ours for 4 years.

Maric has got NFI what he is doing in the backline and cant defend to save his life. Needs to be moved out of defence, it ain't working. Put him back in the forward line or on a wing (in the wafl).

Out: Dewar; In: McCarthy (Dewar's decision making and foot skills just not up to it yet)
Out: A.Reid; In: B.Williams (I think Archer will end up twice the footballer of BWilliams - but right now he's just not impacting and want a 2nd ruck against Xerri).

Would like Gross or Hall in there but can't really see a spot for them and don't think they're versatile enough to play significant chunks of the game not in the midfield.

After sticking fat for 11 weeks, it was interesting to see how quick McQualter was to move Maric out of the rebounding distributor role for Dewar, and then sub him off.

Maric being subbed out was probably a bit of a soft drop, we've already seemingly moved him out of HBF, and I think McQualter would be keen to get McCarthy in the team as soon as he can.

I feel we will want to go with our 2 best ruckman against Xerri - who destroyed Flynn down in Bunbury in the pre-season, so that will push JWilliams out of the team.

Hall had 30 and 2, and I'm not sure you can ignore that when North completely destroyed us last time at clearance, and that is really their only strength.

I feel like Dewar and Hutch were both poor, but I'd go with moving Dewar back on to a wing and drop Hutchinson.

OUT: Hutchinson, J Williams, Maric
IN: Hall, B Williams, McCarthy

Gotta stop Larkey and Curtis kicking multiple goals v us like they do every time.

Also is it still crazy Windy at Bunbury? that trial games was hard to handle the conditions
That practice game was 33 degrees and had a crazy sea breeze. Sunday looks really good, 19 degrees and sunny, light winds. I was at the practice game and driving pased the oval these last few weeks it looks mint 👌.
Heaps of portable grandstands around the oval and all the redeveloped areas around the ground are nice and grassy now. Should be a ripper game.

OUT: Maric, Hunt
IN: McCarthy, Hall

Hutch to the sub role

Maric to the WAFL to develop his craft on the wing perhaps

McCarthy in to be the designated kicker - pls god no more Duggan kick ins

IMG_0874.jpeg

Curtis has been one of the best small forwards in footy this year. Excited for people to act like he’s a spud who only turned up against us when he kicks one in the first quarter.

I’d be tempted to pull the trigger on Hough for the time being and back in a Harley/Hewett/Graham/Hall/Brockman/Ryan rotation

In: Hall, Billiams, McCarthy
Out: Ryan (managed), AReid, Maric

Backs: Edwards, Brock, Ginbey, Duggan, Baker, McCarthy, Allan
Mids: Reid, Hewett, Hough, Hall, Hunt, Coke
Rucks: Flynn, Billiams
Forwards: Allen, Jilliams, Hutchinson, Long, Kelly, Brockman, Graham
Sub: Dewar
Emergencies: Ryan (held over), AReid, Maric

Ryan to get a week off, looked very sore tonight. That causes a reshuffle, Hutchinson to play forward with the occasional CBA, Hall to get rewarded for his WAFL form.

McCarthy in for Maric, pushes Cole (or Duggan, or Baker) up to a wing.

Allan into the 22, Dewar to sub.

Billiams back to help combat Xerri, AReid misses out as a result.