In: Hall, Billiams, McCarthy
Out: Ryan (managed), AReid, Maric

Backs: Edwards, Brock, Ginbey, Duggan, Baker, McCarthy, Allan
Mids: Reid, Hewett, Hough, Hall, Hunt, Coke
Rucks: Flynn, Billiams
Forwards: Allen, Jilliams, Hutchinson, Long, Kelly, Brockman, Graham
Sub: Dewar
Emergencies: Ryan (held over), AReid, Maric

Ryan to get a week off, looked very sore tonight. That causes a reshuffle, Hutchinson to play forward with the occasional CBA, Hall to get rewarded for his WAFL form.

McCarthy in for Maric, pushes Cole (or Duggan, or Baker) up to a wing.

Allan into the 22, Dewar to sub.

Billiams back to help combat Xerri, AReid misses out as a result.

Ryan won’t be managed, if he is fit he will be playing. If he’s not playing it’s because he is injured.
Cole and Duggan need to go, Hough needs to go back.
Long also to go, Gross offers more.
Give the new recruit a go now.

Ryan won’t be managed, if he is fit he will be playing. If he’s not playing it’s because he is injured.
Cole and Duggan need to go, Hough needs to go back.
Long also to go, Gross offers more.
Give the new recruit a go now.
Ryan limped off the ground at the end of the game, was in a lot of pain.

Maric and Hutch OUT
Hall and McCarthy IN

Had such bloody high hopes for Hutch this season but I'm just not seeing it. Doesn't rack it up, turns it over, struggles to read the play. A spell in the wafl for this newly contracted player of ours for 4 years.

Maric has got NFI what he is doing in the backline and cant defend to save his life. Needs to be moved out of defence, it ain't working. Put him back in the forward line or on a wing (in the wafl).
I was at the game and from what I could see he had the fat side defensive wing role for a lot of the game. Dreadful role to play, same role masten played for a few years

That practice game was 33 degrees and had a crazy sea breeze. Sunday looks really good, 19 degrees and sunny, light winds. I was at the practice game and driving pased the oval these last few weeks it looks mint 👌.
Heaps of portable grandstands around the oval and all the redeveloped areas around the ground are nice and grassy now. Should be a ripper game.
the stands may also help with the wind not cutting through

OUT: Maric, Hunt
IN: McCarthy, Hall

Hutch to the sub role

Maric to the WAFL to develop his craft on the wing perhaps

McCarthy in to be the designated kicker - pls god no more Duggan kick ins
yeah hutch sub or even dropped for Hall i could handle

8 possies last week v adel not much better last night. zero impact of late.

View attachment 2331681

Curtis has been one of the best small forwards in footy this year. Excited for people to act like he’s a spud who only turned up against us when he kicks one in the first quarter.

I’d be tempted to pull the trigger on Hough for the time being and back in a Harley/Hewett/Graham/Hall/Brockman/Ryan rotation
I'm not saying he's a spud he's become a great small fwd. He could definitely be like Higgins was v us and kick an annoying handful of goals.

Larkey has kicked bags v us for fun the last few years but hopefully better midfield efforts limit his opportunities

I would like to see the outcome if we put a ban on dump kicks. Doesn’t matter if you are caught holding the ball or handball to a teammate under pressure, but no dump kicks. I reckon overall we’d be miles better off.
Take on the tackler more u reckon? We look better running it

In: McCarthy
Out: Hutchinson

Shouldn't be too many unforced changes.

4 years for Hutch is unfathomable...

Allan to start.
Hutch has the raw ingredients to make it. I think he has a higher ceiling than what is on show at present, just needs more game time and another preseason. To be given 4 years means the coaching sees value in him (I know that doesn't always stand up looking at our history of players and contracts, but it's a calculated investment or risk). He's versatile, that'd help. Otherwise you'd think a 2 year contract would be prudent.

can we go a game without giving away a 50m penalty ?

The stand/protected area ones are just so arbitrary and seemingly called at random.

I can remember 2 clear ones where the Geelong player basically brushed shoulders with our guy with the ball, not even following their man. Crickets.

Then they ping Reid (was probably there) and Allen. 🤷

One thing I think Maric needs to work on is his attack on the mark when taking a mark.

He too often gets caught out standing still waiting for the ball, which allows the oppo to come in with speed and contest the mark. Turning what should be an easy uncontested mark in to a disputed ball.

Think he set up Allen’s third (?) with a great intercept and fast entry.

Obviously by the time we’re good Hunt will be long gone as a factor, but this feels a little misplaced. Feel like his skills are nowhere near our worst.

If we move him on it’ll be because of his age/wanting to pump games into younger option, not because of anything he’s done particularly wrong. Usually bobs up for a goal every other game too which doesn’t hurt.

And I will note I had him as an our last week, because I don’t think pumping games into a younger wing is a bad thing.
That was the point. He's a known quantity, works hard but is limited talent wise. This is a development year. Throw Bo Allen onto the wing or McCarthy.

Take on the tackler more u reckon? We look better running it
Yep take on the tackler, get the handball chain going, force players to improve their evasive skills, improve teamwork and blocking. All of those things.

To me, not only does dump kicking usually result in a direct DH turnover, it stops the team from learning to move the ball out of the back half properly and further delays our development.

The stand/protected area ones are just so arbitrary and seemingly called at random.

I can remember 2 clear ones where the Geelong player basically brushed shoulders with our guy with the ball, not even following their man. Crickets.

So we keep getting pinged every game it’s like 2 / 3 each week

So it has to be coaching the lads don’t know how to man the mark

I'm not saying he's a spud he's become a great small fwd. He could definitely be like Higgins was v us and kick an annoying handful of goals.
1748824481344.png

they both seem to be the best forward in their side. probably helps that the king is dead, so long live the king?

The Reid one pissed me off. Any other player just gets told to go back a metre in that situation. Harley does it, whistle and 50 straight away.

Jack Graham didnt look right to me come the end of the game. I feel he wont get up and nor will Ryan. I think Maric/Dewar move was all wrong so need to switch that back right away. Brock needs a spell to improve his decision making. Too costly last night. We will need 2 rucks to go with Xerri also

IN: Hall, BWilliams, Bazzo, Gross
OUT: Graham (managed), Ryan (inj), Reid, Brock

McCarthy and Chesser to come in after 2 more WAFL hitouts I think. Prep them for the GWS game

Yep, the Reid one was definitely there.

No Harley tax. Duncan marked it cleanly and then Harley went about a metre over the mark as if he was stopping him from playing on when he was unlikely to do so given Harley should have just stood the mark.

The Liam Ryan one was a joke. He was at least 10, if not 15, metres inboard of the Geelong player. But Leigh Fisher was seemingly adamant to give Geelong a good start and was going out of his way to call everything he possibly could their way.

As you say, there was a couple that could have gone our way that went uncalled (as usual).