Autopsy Round 13 vs Brisbane

Has it yet been mentioned that when Dixon won a free in the first quarter the shot clock started the moment the umpire blew his whistle? By the time Dixon got up off the ground and had the ball thrown to him it was already down to 23 seconds .....
The lady in front of us at the game picked that up. But he didn't have anyone standing near him waiting to pounce, plus the umpires didn't apply a hyper-literal interpretation of the rule.

this is one of those games where i really think we also should be acknowledging how well Brisbane played. they've been very competitive in many games this year. took the bulldogs to the final 10 minutes at etihad, beat gold coast on the gold coast, thrashed freo last week. They played a very aggressive style of footy tonight, and it's very easy to see the potential for growth that they have on their list. I know they're bottom but i would argue that the way they played tonight was not that of the 18th ranked side. Compare the way they played this week to other teams this week (North Melbourne, St. Kilda, Gold Coast and Carlton), and they probably beat all four of those teams by comparison.
Spot on
Brisbane were better than a lot of posters give them credit for. We should've been cleaner with our disposals and maybe won by more
but at the ground I said to a mate Brisbane are still in this early in the last. Our season starts v C/wood and it's a bit rich and
arrogant to be thinking anything less than 10goal win as a failure. As to the crowd it was fine by me. Frankly looking at other games
we should be proud of our attendances. I couldn't give a stuff what others say.
Structure and personnel have been discussed ad nauseam so wont comment further.
We won and we move on. Time to get over it peoples.

OK let's get started. Had a good sleep and with a trusty coffee at hand I'm now ready to go.
Firstly, the Lions came over here with just one thing in mind - there is going to be damage so let's keep it to a minimum. I reckon they did the "old one but a goodie one" of switching play from one side to the other in the defensive half at least 10 times and on a least 2 occasions they switched it back to where it first started - a double switcharoo. A great time waster! Our forward lines were always clogged up by them.
OK we won semi ugly. I say that because for goodness sake at the end we won by 40 points - an ugly win is when you just scrape over the line by less than 10 points.
Guess how many goals Essendon kicked last week? The same as us but I guess you could say they got there goals from "champagne" football - but in the record books it will still show that both kicked 18 goals!!
Looking back over the game with the 22 players that suited up, we certainly can make improvements to that list.
Out from that 22 will obviously be Polec and players who should be omitted are Young - a horror first half with about 5 clangers, but did improve later, Impey - I've always said he just plays little cameo roles with last night there was not a single one which is a liability to out side. I would give Neade another game - his forward pressure in the first quarter resulted in goals to other players and when he kicked the last goal most of the Port players came round back slapping as if he had kicked his first goal That bit of body language from his team mates showed to me that they want Jake in the side.
So that's 3 omissions, to come in and this will be based on the 2's game against Sturt. Palmer for Polec. Big call, but Jesse has been in superlative form. Obviously our forward line need some height, so any two of Eddy, Frampton and Howard. Also players like Austin, Drew, Atley, White and Lienert could be considered. Jasper to stay where he is. A new role must be found for Trengove or back to the 2's and perhaps a convenient "general soreness" injury could be found for the captain.
Before I finish and get back to my now cold coffee, Dan Houston, must never be treated like he was treated several weeks ago when he was omitted from the side. That was pure stupidity!

The lady in front of us at the game picked that up. But he didn't have anyone standing near him waiting to pounce, plus the umpires didn't apply a hyper-literal interpretation of the rule.

The Geelong players dictated the umpires actions on that fateful night. Therefore, all the AFL has to do is take that power away from the players. Don't have a shot clock in public view. The umpires are all wired up, so let the guy in the box tell them how much time is left. The fact it's even up on the scoreboard at all suggests the whole thing is done for show and effect. Get rid of the scoreboard shot clock. Fixed.

Remember when we played s**t against Brisbane and lost? This didn't happen this time. Embrace that fact.

Absolutely agree. I really want to like Impey but I think I like the idea of him more than the reality. His highlights make him look amazing, but that's what they are, not consistency. I hope he comes good like Pittard did I really do.
Good like the guy playing sanfl today. Because he got dropped while players like neade, young, impey, hartlett spud it up

I know it was only a half of football but Dixon looks more like a natural Centre half forward to me. He looked commanding and creative and we definitely looked better as a whole with him there and Ryder at FF. I can't see a spot for Trengove if Howard or Eddy come in.

We kicked 18 goals but they often seemed like such hard work.
This piece right here. The ridiculous amount of time, effort and even luck it seems to take us to kick a major is unfathomable at the top level. It's been a recurring trend over the past 3 years, but before that we were a team known for being able to score free-flowing and fast goals in abundance. Mind you, when your so-called 'top-tier' players are spraying simple set shots from 30-metres out, every goal looks bloody difficult.

Forgot to mention that out of the Lions 12 goal, 2 came from very sus fee kick and there were 4 "joe the goose" goals. But I guess the record book will still show they kicked the 12 goals.
However. both those two goals that Eric Hipwood kicked were gems. He's built very similar to Todd Marshall! Food for thought?

Forgot to mention that out of the Lions 12 goal, 2 came from very sus fee kick and there were 4 "joe the goose" goals. But I guess the record book will still show they kicked the 12 goals.
However. both those two goals that Eric Hipwood kicked were gems. He's built very similar to Todd Marshall! Food for thought?

will be a great player for the maggies over the next 5 years.

Anyone else notice the shot clock start even before the ball was returned to Dixon when he kicked his goal in the 1st qtr?

AFL claims to be a professional organisation but it is amateur in so many ways.
Yes. Pointed out by a friend at the game. Are the AFL trolling him?

However. both those two goals that Eric Hipwood kicked were gems.

Both those free, esp the first, were mindbending from the maggots????? Crowd went bunta for ages and they replayed it several times on the big screen just to embarrass the umps too.

And yes Brizzy payed the rope-a-dope perfectly - 5 goals bounced through. If only we had kept one man back so those 5 were intercepted, and also stoped those Joe the Goose's, but...... Ken/all forward/no loose defenders/team defence/yada yada yada, etc etc etc.
:mad::rolleyes::thumbsdown:

R Gray misses 4 set shots almost straight in front from 25 to 30 metres. **** me drunk :(

Our field and goal kicking is a shambles and has not improved one iota since 2014. In fact it has gone backwards. Huston the only player I have confidence in with ball in hand; over even Polec now, who continually burns it.

Best (in order, from top to bottom):
Paddy
Ollie
Polec
S Gray
DBJ
R Gray (coulda been sooooo much better if he learns to kick straight)
Huston (just)

Rest:
Way below par - Neade (Ken) and Broadbent ('Tiser) wraps I just don't get. Sorry!

Highlights:
4 points

Lowlights:
Not enough time

Forecast:
not good for next 4 weeks :thumbsdown:

Conclusion:
Forget last two weeks and move forward to the Wobbles match - and pray we get the mojo back :rainbow::rainbow::rainbow:

I felt for Young who picked up 37 possessions and 5 goals running all over Alberton then he's jammed into a forward pocket for nine touches and a couple of goals.

If that's all the coaches want then play Marshall. He could do that and it would be investing in the future.

Remember when we played s**t against Brisbane and lost? This didn't happen this time. Embrace that fact.
Nobody is ungrateful for the 4 points, but the fact remains that we need to take our game to another level over the coming weeks, or we'll be left behind. The season proper starts next Saturday at the MCG.

I felt for Young who picked up 37 possessions and 5 goals running all over Alberton then he's jammed into a forward pocket for nine touches and a couple of goals.

If that's all the coaches want then play Marshall. He could do that and it would be investing in the future.
Palmer or Atley or Marshall or Frampton or just something different. It was a perfect opportunity to do something different and look towards our future. But Marshall in preference just because he was our #1 draft pick and you'd expect that would at least get him 1 game in his first year.

Both those free, esp the first, were mindbending from the maggots????? Crowd went bunta for ages and they replayed it several times on the big screen just to embarrass the umps too.

And yes Brizzy payed the rope-a-dope perfectly - 5 goals bounced through. If only we had kept one man back so those 5 were intercepted, and also stoped those Joe the Goose's, but...... Ken/all forward/no loose defenders/team defence/yada yada yada, etc etc etc.
:mad::rolleyes::thumbsdown:

R Gray misses 4 set shots almost straight in front from 25 to 30 metres. **** me drunk :(

Our field and goal kicking is a shambles and has not improved one iota since 2014. In fact it has gone backwards. Huston the only player I have confidence in with ball in hand; over even Polec now, who continually burns it.

Best (in order, from top to bottom):
Paddy
Ollie
Polec
S Gray
DBJ
R Gray (coulda been sooooo much better if he learns to kick straight)
Huston (just)

Rest:
Way below par - Neade (Ken) and Broadbent ('Tiser) wraps I just don't get. Sorry!

Highlights:
4 points

Lowlights:
Not enough time

Forecast:
not good for next 4 weeks :thumbsdown:

Conclusion:
Forget last two weeks and move forward to the Wobbles match - and pray we get the mojo back :rainbow::rainbow::rainbow:

Is there a kicking coach, specialist, working with the players? If there is, fire him! If there isn't, why not hiring one?!

True.

At least we have a defensive system now that allows us to hold up crap teams even when we are playing crap

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I just finished watching the replay, and it only strengthened my opinion of how poor that performance really was.

As per the live `performance ' :rolleyes: the Power players' disposal by foot was horrendously bad, the number of times a Port player with 3-5 metres of space either kicked the ball lace out to a brisvegas opponent, or to no-one in particular, which resulted in a turnover, had to be seen to be believed.

It was literally a carbon copy of the number of times our players wasted the ball against wet toast, and I would love to be as sure of winning x-lotto as I am that the brisvegas coach based his game plan on that game.
Fortunately brisvegas didn't have the skill to make us pay, a better team probably would have.

Re Jacko as a forward, he unfortunately has N F I how to play the role, which was encapsulated when he ran onto a loose ball about 70 metres from goal in the last qtr, and instead of soccering it towards goal (there were two Port players with no opponent running hard towards the 50 on his far left for what could have been a joe the goose), he stopped and tried to pick it up with 3 opponents up his clacker. o_O

Given the same set of circumstances a genuine forward would have almost certainly done much better with that opportunity.

As long as we learn from it. If we go into next week's game without making the structural changes required we will get slaughtered.

I will invoke the power of rock legend poet and visionary Bruce Springsteen when I quote

The change was made uptown
And the big man joined the band
From the coastline to the city
All the little pretties raised their hands

#amiright RussellEbertHandball

I know it was only a half of football but Dixon looks more like a natural Centre half forward to me. He looked commanding and creative and we definitely looked better as a whole with him there and Ryder at FF. I can't see a spot for Trengove if Howard or Eddy come in.

You like him at CHF because What you are seeing him do is this foreign concept called "leading".

Compare to Charlie the tree Dixon, standing with his arms up and 3 defenders hanging off his limbs. So of course he looks better.

Until he kicks it to Jake Neade standing under 2 taller defenders.

All you need to do is put another tall GENUINE FORWARD in the forward line with him to foil for him. But we know Ken refuses to do that.

He will when rotating 2 of trengove, Ryder and westhoff in there without Dixon, or west Hoff for a few minutes with him.

Otherwise his preference is 4-5 smalls in the forward line.

It's just pure stubbornness. Ken knows better.

Now you could put a case he does. But not when you look at the performance and his track record. Maybe he is a good coach. But playing a game with a nonsensical forward line structure is like going into the V8 supercars race with a v8 but turning 2 cylinders off. I mean, why would you do that?

So yes, Charlie leads, marks, turns kicks looks great. Almost like tredrea right.

But he's kicking that to Jake neade. Let that sink in.

We have Brett Eddy. We have Howard. We have others.

But we are using Jake neade as the tactical foil for Charlie Dixon, pushing him 70, 80.....100! Metres from goal.

There is no logic to this

Poor Charlie Dixon looked like Willie Wonka in the forward line surrounded by oompa loompas. I actually saw Sam Gray at CHF. No wonder they changed it up after half time. Brisbane play that long skinny drink of water Hipwood we can play Marshall......

I watched a bit of the replay this morning and saw Hipwood and ch 7 footy show and they showed a few of Hipwood's highlights and I was tempted to start a Skinny Hipwood vs Skinny Marshall thread, but decided to put some basic facts in here to show that if you have talent bugger how skinny you are when you are a teenager, just play them if they are in good form at the lower level.

Eric Hipwood drafted pick 14 2015 draft
dob 13/9/97 so still a teenager, stats 200cm 85kgs see Brisbane's profile link day he was drafted here
now 202cms 92 kgs according to his profile on Brisbane's player profile page here
He debuted Rd 13 last year, played all 10 games remaining straight and has played all 12 games this year
http://afltables.com/afl/stats/players/E/Eric_Hipwood.html

From the AFL's draft profile page
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-10-30/25-days-to-the-draft-meet-the-tall-and-agile-eric-hipwood
The Query
The club that ends up with Hipwood will probably need to be relatively patient, because he is still growing and will need time to develop. To this point, Hipwood is still too skinny to take on a key position in an AFL team and one pre-season won't be enough time for him to stack on the required kilos to do that. His lack of size at times means he can get pushed out of marking contests that he perhaps shouldn't, but that should be fixed with time in the gym and some more footy education. Despite his exciting season, Hipwood is raw, so may take some time.

Todd Marshall drafted pick 16 2016 draft
dob 8/10/98 so still a teenager, stats 198cm 86kgs see Port's profile link day he was drafted here
now 198cms 88 kgs according to his profile on Port's player profile page here

From the AFL's draft profile page
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-26/tomorrows-heroes-marshall-seeks-to-bowl-them-over
The Query
Marshall was never really able to piece together a complete game this season, leaving recruiters to sift through moments rather than matches of dominance. In 11 games for the Bushrangers he kicked 22 goals this year, but never more than three in a game. His quieter form for the Allies was also a disappointing patch for him, and showed he needs to get more of the ball. He averaged fewer than six disposals in his four appearances in division one, and fewer than 10 for the Bushrangers across the season.

Marshall is still lightly framed too, which can limit his marking one-on-one and force him to get most of his touches on the lead. The 197cm prospect is only 85kg, so will need to add some muscle to his frame over summer to be able to compete better in marking contests. Injuries and cricket commitments have limited his ability to have a full pre-season, however, so he hasn't had that chance yet.