Review Round 14, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. GWS

Who were your five best players against GWS?

Not sure why Kai is being picked. He is offering nothing at the moment. He is not getting goals and he is jogging along behind the play in defence. He is a serious liability with his defensive effort. He really needs time in the twos.

Overall our forwards applied no pressure all night and allowed a quick exit all night. Midefield were equally ineffective. I thought the backs did okay but the ball was coming in too quickly with minimal pressure.

I thought Hipwood did pretty well in defence and I wouldn’t be against giving him a few games down there. Morris was really good.

Trying to get a feel of the game by reading posts rather than watching a replay is tough.

How do we get 31 scoring shots to 22 with no forward pressure & an ineffective midfield?

That was so f ing bad, I said at the time you would think they would have set procedures in place as to where to get off the bloody ground... incompetence of the highest order. :rolleyes: :mad: :rolleyes:
I feel this is not the first time I have seen this at the Gabba. The club needs to urgently investigate how this came about.
The idea that the driver of the golf buggy doesn’t know the correct exit from the playing surface is unbelievable and could actually be placing players lives at risk. Do better

At half time I was thinking we haven't done enough. We should have been 7 goals up and instead we left the door ajar for the Giants. And every time they came forward, they looked like they were more than capable of pushing it wide open.

Every time we went forward we were kicking to a contest and inside 50s were poor. Every time they came forward, they kicked to a one-on-one and to their player's advantage. Jesse Hogan of course loves playing us. Every time they came forward they did it with pace, accuracy, and most of all determination. We just fannied around, fannied around, fannied around, and then hit and hope.

The second half was the worst half of footy I've seen in a few years. We never looked capable of doing any damage, with the exception of Morris. Charlie, non-existent. Ah Chee dragged around the ground and ineffective forward. Bailey ..... well at least he kept running even if he was incapable of a straight kick.

Geelong next week could be horrible. I'm almost glad I'll be on a plane and probably not able to watch. The bye can't come quick enough.

I hope Payne is OK. It looked like not much but clearly he was in pain. Made worse by the ****wittery of the staff who had no idea where to take him.

Payne obviously in immense pain and they parade him around and display him close enough for the fans to reach out and touch him.

That was so bad. Appalling. Horrendous. Bloody useless.

Maybe I had too many beers at the pub, but I thought the decision to move hipwood down back was not a good one.

I feel we should have figured out matchups with the available backmen, not continue to sacrifice our forward structure

Morris liked it.

Shattered for Payne. Ruptured patella tendons are rare and just pure bad luck. He was back in the form we saw a couple of years ago too.

The security guard in our section said she has ruptured the patella tendons. Excruciating and nasty were her words.

But which one hurts more; and injury that throws out your structure or being a bit slow down back or in the forwardline?

GWS definitely didn't look slow despite having the taller team

Goes back to a pet peeve of mine that apparently if we have an extra tall we're too tall or an extra small then we're too small. Why doesn't it apply to our opposition?
GWS have very mobile talls. Ours are less so.

Bad one for Payne. I think Nic Newman did the same before rd1 and will miss the entire year.

The way they were transitioning the ball so easily from the back half especially after behinds, I think they were happy for us to keep taking shots knowing they’d get the ball back and stroll it down the other end.

Im joking about this. I think.

Bad one for Payne. I think Nic Newman did the same before rd1 and will miss the entire year.

Milera did one early last year too and ended up missing the year. I reckon O'Meara had a similar injury at Gold Coast, and I think it was one of his first main injuries.

The pain Jack was experiencing could mean a rupture of the Patellar tendon as reported by the club. A tear would be better but that still may require surgery from what i read.
The Quad tendon could also be an issue, hopefully not.
It looks like a 6–12-month recovery time to get back to where the athlete was before injury.
I read somewhere up to 17 months in some cases.

After a tendon repair surgery, the knee will typically be immobilized in a brace. As recovery progresses, the surgeon or physiotherapist will gradually unlock it to allow more movement.

Complete recovery and return to sports generally takes 4-6 months, although many patients report needing 12 months to achieve all their recovery goals.
So where is this patellar tendon

1749898553033.png

I feel this is not the first time I have seen this at the Gabba. The club needs to urgently investigate how this came about.
The idea that the driver of the golf buggy doesn’t know the correct exit from the playing surface is unbelievable and could actually be placing players lives at risk. Do better
From memory you are correct (Brown one comes to mind) but there are a few reasons.
People at the game would have heard an ambulance siren coming to the ground.
They may not have known which exit it was coming to
I know there is already one at the ground but play can't resume until at least one ambulance is present.
Also, it is not known if the ground ambulance paramedics are working on another patient from the crowd.

1749900868300.png

1749900427711.png

I genuinely think the holes in our forward line without a genuine key forward are catching up with us, Hippy and Cameron are just too unreliable. We can get the ball in there but just can’t score and it’s now costing us games.
I think it is injury to our usual 3 KPF setup and our depth in that area also being injured at the same time is more the issue.
Yes, it would be nice to have someone 3/4 as good as Daniher but that will have to wait for now.

Today was the first time since round 8 that we finally got 3 real KPF on the park, with Day doing ruck relief.
What happens, Payne goes down injured Q1 and just like that we are one short again with Hippy going to defense.

I think Morris (25 goals to date) can now be classed as a genuine key forward even though he is young.
Hippy had kicked 16 goals up to round 8 then had to ruck relief and only added 5 goals in those 6 games.
For me Hippy is a genuine key forward when playing that position with 2 other talls. That actually helps all 3 of them.
Day is going okay and doing a reasonable job but to date has not kicked a lot of goals but has also missed 5 rounds

Regarding Cameron he is very unreliable as you say this year as one of our smalls.
A big fall from grace this year so far with 14 from 12 games. Also often kicks 2 and 3 quick goals in a row then unsighted.
Runner up to Jo the past 2 years with 44 & 55 goals.
Won the previous 4 years with 54. 55, 31 (covid year) & 57.

So our goal kicking wasn't that bad but there's was good. Surely helped by little pressure and their key forwards having huge games

This is one of those statistical lies. Their goal kicking was good, but our goal kicking was bad. We missed 15 times - but statistically these must have been low percentage shots on goal if we were so close to our expected score. I’m going to forgive Morris his miss from outside 50 because there was 60 seconds on the clock.
If our players are missing 14 times, then they should be looking or creating better opportunities for higher percentage shots on goal.

The Positives, not that many.

Sam Day: First game back played his equal best game (Saints the other) so that was a good surprise.
Starcevich: Got through the game. Looked a bit sore at one stage when he came off in the last.
Zorko: Still playing well. Most disposals for the Lions also 18 pressure acts, 6 more than the next best defender Starch (13)
Zorko also led the Lions in tackles with 4. But that just shows how bad the team was in that department. Lions 28 GWS 42

The Negative.

By far the injury to Payne and the whole that needs fixing for 6-12 months. Could be closer to 12.

Two weeks running the opposition could not miss a goal and the Lions could not get those 50/50 shots and there were a lot both weeks.

Andrews form has been down in my opinion, even though his stats are similar to the previous few years.
Today he registered 10 disposals and 1 pressure act. In the 2nd quarter did not touch the ball or lay a tackle.
With Payne now gone for the season he really needs to step up and lead that backline.

I actually agree with a lot of posters in regard to Cameron. Fagan needs to send a message even if is just to sub.
But he needs some confidence back into his game and may get that in the VFL.

Levi Ashcroft had his worst game since being quiet against the Cats early in the year. We play the Cats next week.
It's a long year for a 1st year player.

Centre clearances: Losing those 10-18 puts a lot of pressure on our defenders. Need to come out at least square for a game.

Midfield: It really struggles when one of Neal, McCluggage, Dunkley or Will have an off or below average game.
Harris got owned today…he is not a one on one defender.
The Ashcrofts have become stars of the club way too soon without consistent performances.
Forty was great today. Won the hitouts by a lot but or midefield let us down again.’
Paynie gone for the year…need a plan B. Once again it can easliy unearth a future champion of the club.

I genuinely think the holes in our forward line without a genuine key forward are catching up with us, Hippy and Cameron are just too unreliable. We can get the ball in there but just can’t score and it’s now costing us games.

I can't agree with Eric being blamed for our forward issues. Was in genuine career best form then Day got injured and he had to ruck, and today he had to go back. Pretty clear to me that we are a worse team when he doesn't play exclusively as a forwrad.

The pain Jack was experiencing could mean a rupture of the Patellar tendon as reported by the club. A tear would be better but that still may require surgery from what i read.
The Quad tendon could also be an issue, hopefully not.
It looks like a 6–12-month recovery time to get back to where the athlete was before injury.
I read somewhere up to 17 months in some cases.

After a tendon repair surgery, the knee will typically be immobilized in a brace. As recovery progresses, the surgeon or physiotherapist will gradually unlock it to allow more movement.

Complete recovery and return to sports generally takes 4-6 months, although many patients report needing 12 months to achieve all their recovery goals.
So where is this patellar tendon

View attachment 2342700
I recently had pain issues in my left knee, it was very painful and I could barely walk for a few weeks, I missed my first Gabba Lions game(barring Covid) for decades because of it. While my knee issues are nowhere near as bad as Jack's I can appreciate the level of pain he must be going through.

I had an Ultrasound and x Rays.

Result was >

1- 6 x 3mm calcification at the quadriceps tendon insertion.
2- Patella tendon contains multiple large echogenic foci with posterior shadowing and peripheral hyperaemia measuring 18 x 3mm.
3- Left patella tendon measures 6.5mm AP compared to contralateral side measuring 4.6mm with hyperaemia consistent with tendinopathy.
4- Soft tissue oedema over the patellar region.
5- Prepatellar bursitis.
6- Proximal MCL intrasubstance tear measuring 9 x 1 x 3mm with increased vascularity.
7- Echogenic focus in the proximal MCL measuring 3mm
8- Bony irregularity at the lateral patellar retinaculum.

Conclusion was - Calcification, Bursitis, joint effusion, Proximal MCL tear.

Have only just started doing extended walks(not confident enough to change direction quickly or walk on uneven ground yet) and have not been able to do Yoga, Pilates or any trekking for well over a month, been doing regular Physiotherapy sessions both in office and at home.

I did do something stupid a few weeks ago and didn't call off my Melbourne footy trip for the Hawks game, It was an extremely painful trip despite painkillers, especially walking down the ramps at the MCG, we got an Uber and trams everywhere while down there.

Mine was more a repetitive strain injury as I was continuing to exercise while feeling mild pain in the area along with the natural wear and tear of a 65 year old very active man, I will get back into it, I just have to be patient and diligent with my recovery and not rush back into it which I am prone to do.

This isn't going to be popular but blaming this on goal-kicking is lazy analysis. You'd bank on Cal to hit his snap, and Bailey is more likely to kick 2.1 than 1.2, but what gimme shots did we miss? People are fixated on goal-kicking because by comparison GWS were ridiculous.
Yes
Far as I could tell at the game
We only muffed a couple of shots the rest I’d put down to poor entry or maybe our method more so than the actual shot on goal.
Giants kicked them from everywhere without a doubt
But there’re transitions from back half was great football
That’s what we lack.
One other point is shutting down the play when the ball is in our defensive half
Wow wee there were times we just stood off and let them kick away , no wonder they could make good decisions with the ball.
So maybe we need to be more aggressive at the ball carrier
Morris another very strong game.
Ended up at the German club for a jug of wheat beer
So good
Memories of lunchtime in cortina( I know Italy but in the alpine and so close to Austria)
Bit hard to get overworked or upset or enthusiastic about the team atm.
It’s like I’m feeding off our desperation or lack of it. It’s not like 2019, that’s for sure. Hopefully we start getting fair dinkum with our methods and desperation.
Still what a great day, better than working.
One last thing
Why is most of the football over on the vulture street side maybe I need to change to that side.

Review Round 14, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. GWS