Autopsy Round 14, 2025: Hawks sink the Crows

How dare you cast aspertions on our resident intellectual colossus, we should be eternally grateful that one of the great minds of our time has decided to share his genius with the footy public.

To give just one example, late on in the game Watson received a free and the camera panned to the crowd to show a young boy wearing a wizard hat. Our very own Noam Chomsky observed "A wizard fan I suspect"

Amazing! Even Sherlock Holmes couldn't have solved that one with so little evidence at hand. Gerard would no doubt have modestly shrugged that it was "Elementary" but it was only elementary to the permanently cleverest man in the room.
I've never really thought of him as the cleverest person in any room - not even the cleverest at the 360 table when Robbo was his offsider - but if he actually believes that himself, he must keep some interesting and not very insightful company.

Whateley wears a Geelong cap at school events.

His hawthorn hatred shone thru last weekend when a player ran into goal and held the ball to the crowd and he said “see that’s how you do it…celebrate with the crowd don’t taunt the opposition” being a crack at Ginnivan.

Hes a massive flog.

Surely people aren't arguing that Dunstall doesn't overcompensate while commentating?
I know I have found it frustrating that most commentary teams can feel pretty anti-Hawthorn, and at times, I've felt like it would be great to have an ex-Hawk stand up for the club in the game day coverage.

Even Jordan Lewis was feeling pretty anti-Hawthorn, up until Stinkly decided to have a crack at Ginni post game. He stood firm in his belief that it was inappropriate for a coach (who happened to be twice the age of Ginni) to decide to have a crack at a kid for having a laugh with his mate on Instagram. Since then, I think he's felt more balanced and often shows his pro-Hawks bias, which is refreshing.

It's tough listening when the commentary team is Whateley (a die-hard Cats supporter), Huddo (also a die-hard cats supporter), and Dunstall overcompensating. Then, in between quarters, you have Garry Lyon shaking his fist at clouds, and Jonathan Brown demonstrating the effects of CTE. Thank god for Buckley offering some sort of balanced insight, or the whole thing would feel like you're a socialist watching Sky News

Surely people aren't arguing that Dunstall doesn't overcompensate while commentating?
I know I have found it frustrating that most commentary teams can feel pretty anti-Hawthorn, and at times, I've felt like it would be great to have an ex-Hawk stand up for the club in the game day coverage.

Even Jordan Lewis was feeling pretty anti-Hawthorn, up until Stinkly decided to have a crack at Ginni post game. He stood firm in his belief that it was inappropriate for a coach (who happened to be twice the age of Ginni) to decide to have a crack at a kid for having a laugh with his mate on Instagram. Since then, I think he's felt more balanced and often shows his pro-Hawks bias, which is refreshing.

It's tough listening when the commentary team is Whateley (a die-hard Cats supporter), Huddo (who loves to rag on us, since we tear his blues apart regularly), and Dunstall overcompensating. Then, in between quarters, you have Garry Lyon shaking his fist at clouds, and Jonathan Brown demonstrating the effects of CTE. Thank god for Buckley offering some sort of balanced insight, or the whole thing would feel like you're a socialist watching Sky News
Huddo is rusted on Geelong

Nothing worse than having a brain fade and confusing Hudson with Maher. I feel shame.
Am understandable sub-conscious error as I reckon Huddo hides his allegiance almost as well as Dunstall does.

I can't imagine anyone mistaking Whateley as anything other than a Cars fan - because he's not professional enough to mask it.

Nothing worse than having a brain fade and confusing Hudson with Maher. I feel shame.

I know mahers wife quite well due to her being hawks aflw #1 ticket holder.
If he strays too much to the anti-hawks side, he'd be on the couch for a month

How dare you cast aspertions on our resident intellectual colossus, we should be eternally grateful that one of the great minds of our time has decided to share his genius with the footy public.

To give just one example, late on in the game Watson received a free and the camera panned to the crowd to show a young boy wearing a wizard hat. Our very own Noam Chomsky observed "A wizard fan I suspect"

Amazing! Even Sherlock Holmes couldn't have solved that one with so little evidence at hand. Gerard would no doubt have modestly shrugged that it was "Elementary" but it was only elementary to the permanently cleverest man in the room.

Dipper thanks for that. I snorted my tea when reading it... a burnt nostril is a small price to pay though for such a great line.

On GW, I thought he was good maybe 15 years ago when he was on the ABC, but I think that he's started to drink his own bathwater and now simply is an annoying pipsqueak (albeit with a big megaphone). He's a classic example of the Dunning-Kruger effect.

It’s funny watching cows supporters blaming ‘poor kicking’, when we kicked just three fewer behinds…
In the context of where the game was at up to half time I would agree with them.

They were all over us and scored 10 behinds to our 6 and only came away with a 15 point lead at half time which considering the conditions and the low scoring was a big lead in itself.

Imagine if they kicked just 2-3 extra goals and that 15 point halftime lead was instead 27-33 points. I really don't see us coming back from that margin considering we also found it hard to kick goals in the second half wasting plenty of opportunities.

Whateley wears a Geelong cap at school events.

His hawthorn hatred shone thru last weekend when a player ran into goal and held the ball to the crowd and he said “see that’s how you do it…celebrate with the crowd don’t taunt the opposition” being a crack at Ginnivan.

Hes a massive flog.
Funnily, as an opposition player I'd take just as much umbrage at that as for what Ginni did.

If I actually cared.

I really liked the result.

I really liked our response to playing a poor first half.

We clearly pinched that game, which is what Collingwood have been doing for the best part of the last 4-5 years.

I couldn’t care less about the output of commentators (former Hawks players or otherwise) or umpires.

Obviously that puts me in the vast minority here, but it’s far easier for me to watch and enjoy games if I do.

We won the game because we responded at half time and made more of our chances than Adelaide did.

Simples.

In the context of where the game was at up to half time I would agree with them.

They were all over us and scored 10 behinds to our 6 and only came away with a 15 point lead at half time which considering the conditions and the low scoring was a big lead in itself.

Imagine if they kicked just 2-3 extra goals and that 15 point halftime lead was instead 27-33 points. I really don't see us coming back from that margin considering we also found it hard to kick goals in the second half wasting plenty of opportunities.
yes, but also imagine if we had kicked 2 of the half a dozen set shots we missed as well. Swings and roundabouts and we out pressured them after 1/2 time and deserved the win as much as they. I actually thought we should have won by more due to our domination in the last 20 minutes.

I really liked the result.

I really liked our response to playing a poor first half.

We clearly pinched that game, which is what Collingwood have been doing for the best part of the last 4-5 years.

I couldn’t care less about the output of commentators (former Hawks players or otherwise) or umpires.

Obviously that puts me in the vast minority here, but it’s far easier for me to watch and enjoy games if I do.

We won the game because we responded at half time and made more of our chances than Adelaide did.

Simples.
After the Geelong and Suns games it was good to have a close game go our way. The players won’t always be playing their best but it’s so important for us to keep grabbing wins where we can.

Same thing got us going last year.

I didn't think he clearly marked it from the reply either. Commentators can question decisions. A lot of decision in footy are not clear-cut.
Agreed.

There's a simple rule I use to determine the bias or otherwise of a commentator: Would they call it the same way had the roles of the players been reversed?

Re the Meek mark, I reckon Dunstall would've called it exactly in the same manner had Thilthorpe taken a similar mark at the other end, i.e. he would have raised a question mark over it.

Re the Brodie Smith HTB, would Whateley have exclaimed "Oh, that was hot!" had Jarman Impey been caught HTB in a similar way? He almost certainly wouldn't have.

Therein lies the difference between the two.

These questions on the commentary are too detailed, IMO. I look at it this way: Do the commentators frame nearly every comment from the perspective of what someone did wrong then I don't like it. If the comment on what people are doing right then I'm all into it.

That Friday night crew is 98% obsessed with pointing out mistakes. Including Dunstall. Boring and tedious.

Dipper thanks for that. I snorted my tea when reading it... a burnt nostril is a small price to pay though for such a great line.

On GW, I thought he was good maybe 15 years ago when he was on the ABC, but I think that he's started to drink his own bathwater and now simply is an annoying pipsqueak (albeit with a big megaphone). He's a classic example of the Dunning-Kruger effect.
He went downhill pretty much immediately after he left ABC for that new contract at SEN. He's basically become a high brow Derm - uses 10 words when 2 will do and thinks his pronouncements are the word of God we all need to listen to.

It’s funny watching cows supporters blaming ‘poor kicking’, when we kicked just three fewer behinds…
And a lot of ours were easier.

Dipper

It all started to go wrong when SEN started advertising his slots as just "and then at 9...WHATELY!!!", in a breathy excited voice, as if it was akin to an audience with the Pope, or a private Taylor Swift surprise gig.

The cultivated "Most Intellectual Man in AFL' persona given full rampant voice...

It all started to go wrong when SEN started advertising his slots as just "and then at 9...WHATELY!!!", in a breathy excited voice, as if it was akin to an audience with the Pope, or a private Taylor Swift surprise gig.

The cultivated "Most Intellectual Man in AFL' persona given full rampant voice...
I miss Francis Leach, he was very good on SEN.

Wonder why he is doing these days?

Anyone with me in thinking Lloyd (the commentator) is kind of the antithesis of Dunstall and Derm, in that, since he has a not so wonderful history with us, he goes just a smidgeon over the top with his praise of us?