Review Round 14, 2025 vs Melbourne

Mead has to come out for a Lorenz. Needs to go back and find the football in the ressies. Most of his touches today were him diving on the ball and then handballing to nobody along the ground. Offers so little atm I feel sorry for him.

Are you forgetting he's coming off an ACL and limited pre season?

Totally. Thanks.

But, then, it would have been better for him if he had done a “late preseason”, then played a few SANFL matches, all before getting back to AFL footy. Am I wrong?

Enjoyed that game. Great team effort but some performances stood out. Rat has improved a lot, credit to him. Georgie led from the front as good forwards do & should have kicked 9 goals. All class by Butters. Rozee worked into the game well & Horne-Francis provided the spark when we needed it. Bergman as reliable as usual.

On to next week.

Oh it’s you again. Richards is a very average footballer who has done very little all season. The bar is low at the club though as he only needs to eclipse Mead’s output to keep his place, yet he didn’t even muster that milestone today.
Unfortunately hes too small. Agree hes an average player but hes better than Mead.

That Rozee intercept mark to transition goal shows the difference in him as an intercepting defender compared to a Farrel or Burton. They would’ve killed that ball to the boundary for a stoppage and played it safe. He, Bergman and Rats are integral for that part of our game currently.

It felt like Port had a forwards coach for the first time in a very long time.
After seeing plenty of footage of Chad being Josh's shadow during the week, perhaps he was given more say.

Its hard watching Burton not being able to bend his back.

Melbourne being off the short break certainly helped.
Something to build on.
Enjoyable watch.

This week
1750010428045.png

1750010534717.png

The previous week...
1750010168979.png

Attachments

• 1750010335623.png
    1750010335623.png
    6.8 KB · Views: 3
Yeah. wtf was that about? The sun was drifting behind the heritage listed moreton bay trees behind the hill in the 3rd qtr and you needed to turn on your smartphone light to see the person next to you.

Pretty close to bringing out the sherrin with the bell in it I reckon.
It was as if the instruction to turn the lights on were set in stone before the game started, that instruction was ‘turn them on at three quarter time’. There was obviously no plan b. I think to the television viewer, the cameras are so sophisticated that the resultant poor light makes viewing at home still ok.
Still makes the SMA look like a hillbilly organisation!!!

Perhaps it is just me as it has yet to be mentioned by our other esteemed BF posters. In the second half of the game, to me I noted some petulance about Rioli’s game and attitude. Just seemed to be a bit half hearted out there. Or, perhaps it was just me!

An open style game that suits our players but will not get a look in come finals.

Georgiades has been close a few times recently to getting a bag. Very impressive leading and marking. Too fast for old man May.
Ratugolea has been a rock in defence and really change our profile down there with Rozee. Helped to straighten us up and start attacks.
The Hornet came back into the team and looked the goods.
Rozee super impressive off half back and improving with runs and intercepts.

Sweet needs some time in the SANFL.
Everyone played well enough because it was an open game.
Only Butters was smothered but he's working out the tag.

Mead and Liddy were OK but could be upgraded.

They killed us early with clearances but we were playing well off half back.

If Petracca and Oliver cared, they would've come close.

Criticism of Richards seems symptomatic of how bad our forwardline and depth are. Richards is the definition of solid role player - ultra consistent effort and output. Sure he's not a star, but you know he's going to do his job every week.

Unfortunately, the bar for role player has been skewed by continued selection of your Meads, McEntees, Evans et al. who have regular games of 6-7 nothing touches but retain their spot.

Criticism of Richards seems symptomatic of how bad our forwardline and depth are. Richards is the definition of solid role player - ultra consistent effort and output. Sure he's not a star, but you know he's going to do his job every week.

Unfortunately, the bar for role player has been skewed by continued selection of your Meads, McEntees, Evans et al. who have regular games of 6-7 nothing touches but retain their spot.
Tad harsh on Evans he's what 19 second year blues .. first year was outstanding he should be getting played before Burton ECT to grow in the role no point playing in the magpies one week power the next but I do agree regarding mead McEntee

Enjoyed that game. Great team effort but some performances stood out. Rat has improved a lot, credit to him. Georgie led from the front as good forwards do & should have kicked 9 goals. All class by Butters. Rozee worked into the game well & Horne-Francis provided the spark when we needed it. Bergman as reliable as usual.

On to next week.
Must admit I did too as a spectacle. I felt like there was once again zero crowd atmosphere, and I don't think I really cheered at all. However it was a good watch. That was some seriously high quality football and intense pressure against a massively in form team. That same team got within a point of the Pies on the MCG last week and played that same level, if not even a little more deadly against us, but we stood up. Our defence was again tremendous and the ball movement was perfect. Love seeing Rozee out of the middle, glad our preseason thoughts have been vindicated.

With the season clearly over, I can definitely feel a little change in the way I'm viewing the team now. Hinkley's gone, they aren't sacking him, so I've come to the acceptance that we should just sit back and hopefully watch some good development of the team. Esava, Liddy, Jackson, JHF, Georgie, Sinn, Burgoyne, those are the parts I enjoyed watching, and personally I probably even enjoyed watching the SANFL more the other day, just keeping an eye on the developing Whitlock, Moraes, Evans, etc.

The future is not looking great, but it probably isn't as bad as we sometimes think. If Whitlock can pair with Georgiades in 3-4 years, we can find another key back like Ramm to come through, and find another top line mid, then there's still potential that we can rise up again as Tassie enter. Really just need to find a way to keep Bergman & Butters for mine.

Maybe the final round can be Ken and Koch.

Onky problem is that I wouldn't trust Koch to hold up the no sign.
I've got a slight variation in mind. Koch & Ken are the pair but the whole crowd gets to show their Yes or No sign with the question posed - Should we keep either of them?

Tad harsh on Evans he's what 19 second year blues .. first year was outstanding he should be getting played before Burton ECT to grow in the role no point playing in the magpies one week power the next but I do agree regarding mead McEntee
I think this is in reference to Evans of the Francis variety as opposed to Logan.

Mead had more disposals this week but I struggle to see why we pick him, other than his surname. He seems to hold up all momentum every time he gets the ball in space. I just looked and he only had 85m gained, that’s pretty ordinary for a 50 gamer.

Review Round 14, 2025 vs Melbourne