Preview Round 15, 2021 | North Melbourne vs Gold Coast Suns @ Blundstone Arena | Saturday, June 26 @ 1:45pm

SonofSamsquanch

Enjoy decent coffee but don't dunk yer biscuits
Mar 31, 2016
Victoria
Likey to be heavy Dew in Tassie.
1624422041587.jpeg

shinboner spiggs

Aug 19, 2012
Jazz, West Indies
If we are ever going to start knowing how to win, we won't get a better opportunity than this week.

Also, GC don't exactly know how to win in the back half of seasons. Their recent record is deplorable.

View attachment 1161473
They do know down hill skiing, and this makes us liable to a team like them.

desperate to be wrong.

Nutjob

Oct 23, 2014
anyone think phillips is a chance to play this one? i think he's earned the right to play a predominately inside mid role in the seniors, at least for a game or two

Who do you want to have less midfield time out of Cunnington, Simpkin, LDU and Powell?

I want him in as much as the next bloke, but right now it’s a struggle to give him midfield minutes.

DrZaius

GENERATIONAL
Mar 28, 2016
norf
If we are ever going to start knowing how to win, we won't get a better opportunity than this week.

Also, GC don't exactly know how to win in the back half of seasons. Their recent record is deplorable.

View attachment 1161473

Round 21 2018: Jack Riewoldt sitting on 48 goals, BBB leading the Coleman with 54.
Riewoldt kicks 10 against an insipid GC side that only have won 1 of their last 14 and ends up on 65 for the year taking out the Coleman. BBB comes second with 61.

Round 23 2019: Jeremy Cameron on 58 goals going into the final round, BBB sitting on 62 after a bag of 10 when we demolish a Port side (remember that game) with a finals spot on the line.
Cameron kicks 9 against a GC side that has now lost 18 games in a row and ends the year with 67 taking out the Coleman. BBB comes second again with 64.

* this plastic McFranchise joke of a 'club'.

Now watch them come out and play an absolute blinder this weekend.

Agree. He does a tonne a work which you don’t see on camera . Often running hard selflessly making space for others . Problem here is that we have posters who are only arm chair & stat review experts who don’t attend games & rely on the puppets in the commentary box or media to voice their opinions.
As you Know , there is nothing like being at the actual game and seeing the whole game in front of view .
I concur with this big time. Was actually thinking of a thread along these lines.
I think there’s a lot of really poor analysis and opinions from people who just watch TV and don’t go to games.
You don’t get a real sense of players performance. Particularly defensive efforts, positioning and running efforts to cover for the team.
I love going to games because you bypass the bullshit filter you get from the media - at the games, it’s a more direct engagement with the play.

Mr north man

Mar 12, 2016
:D

We're 1-1-11 mate
If The Suns have any sort of pride they will fire up which means danger for North plus I’m not one for the priority pick but if Gold Coast do a number on us big time it maybe time to be given one.
But will all know the AFL they will buckle to other clubs especially the ones that benefited in the past to not award North one.

RossHenshaw

Sep 12, 2020
I concur with this big time. Was actually thinking of a thread along these lines.
I think there’s a lot of really poor analysis and opinions from people who just watch TV and don’t go to games.
You don’t get a real sense of players performance. Particularly defensive efforts, positioning and running efforts to cover for the team.
I love going to games because you bypass the bullshit filter you get from the media - at the games, it’s a more direct engagement with the play.
Well said , that is why I reckon Snake is full of 💩 with his BS posts . Can’t believe people give him any time of day ...?!
He is the king of openly Not going to the footy (non member) but full of opinions. (Most of which I’ve heard already from these media campaigners) .

Mar 14, 2002
Gasometer Wing
Kangaroos
These attending games thing

How does this occur?

GC are coming...
Gold Coast Suns issues revealed: cultural issues, boozy warning signs and failed leadership | Herald Sun
Gold Coast Suns football boss Jon Haines goes by the nickname “The Cameraman” at AFL HQ.

It’s a moniker Haines earned spectacularly for himself after filming senior coach Stuart Dew urinating on a pub wall and posting it to friends on WhatsApp.

Alcohol has never been far from the equation at the hapless Queensland expansion club, as it was last Saturday night when the beers were flowing freely for a large group of players at the Burleigh Pavilion in Burleigh Heads.

Fresh off a listless 50-point loss to Port Adelaide, the celebrations spilled over to a raucous house-party at nearby Burleigh Waters that wound up in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Young players are allowed a social life, but for several observers it was another warning sign that the wheels are again falling off at the AFL’s $250 million disaster club.

And while outspoken Suns chairman Tony Cochrane declared on Fox Footy on Monday night that he did not believe the “go-home” retention factor would be a problem this time around, others insist up to a dozen players, including top draft picks Ben Ainsworth, Will Brodie and Brayden Fiorini, are eyeing the exit door.

Stream selected Fox Footy shows on Kayo Freebies completely free this June including AFL 360, On The Couch, Bounce & more. No Credit Card. No-brainer.Register Free Now

Images from a video of Stuart Dew urinating in public.

It’s not the way highly-paid Gold Coast chief executive Mark Evans imagined it when he rolled into town four-and-a-half years ago promising to fix the game’s cash-guzzling problem child.

At a gathering with a group of Melbourne football journalists at Cochrane’s Gold Coast home on the eve of the 2017 season, Evans was asked why he had made the move from the AFL’s lofty football operations post to become leader of the Suns. His response was that he wanted to become the next chief executive of the AFL. But like so many who have come before him, Evans is finding out that unwavering self-assurance doesn’t guarantee success on the Glitter Strip.

More than two years ago, Evans launched the “Challenge Accepted” promotional campaign aimed at reversing the flagging fortunes of the club.

“This is a real reset of mindset and attitude,” Evans declared. “We need to inspire the community by what we do on the field and the manner in which we do that.”

But among the revellers on Saturday night were a group of Southport Sharks players from the second-tier competition who now joke that they are the best football team on the Gold Coast.

The Suns under Evans’ watch – even after being gifted another round of generous draft concessions at the end of 2019 – have failed to break the cycle.

Evans has overseen the sacking of coach Rodney Eade and the appointments of Dew, Haines, list boss Craig Cameron and coaching consultant Neil Craig.

After 74 games in charge, Dew, 41, has a worse win-loss record than the two senior coaches who came before him – a miserable 22 per cent.

Dew’s critics say he can be too emotional, takes negative feedback badly and has fallen out with several assistant coaches.

Cochrane failed to fully endorse him this week, admitting that everyone at the expansion club was under pressure.

“Let’s not gild the lily; the coach, the CEO, the president, we’re all under pressure, we’re all under the pump, because we need to be. What we’re serving up, it’s not good enough. And that’s a whole of club problem,” Cochrane said.

Chief Executive Mark Evans. Picture: AAP Images

Football boss Jon Haines. Picture: Getty Images

The delisting of the contracted Jarryd Lyons (a move not supported by Cochrane) has proved embarrassing, a generous five-year deal for Adelaide’s Rory Atkins raised eyebrows and Cochrane’s ill-timed barbs about Tasmania last week only shone a light back on his own club’s operations.

Despite entering the competition 12 months after the Suns, Greater Western Sydney has humiliated its older expansion brother with years of on-field excellence. The ground lost in player development and player welfare in the Suns’ formative years has never been made up.

When it was suggested to a senior Suns official a few years ago that he should hire highly-respected Giants welfare managers Craig and Melissa Lambert to help bolster player retention, the official openly laughed.

A greater focus was belatedly placed in that space at the end of the 2018 season when highly-respected Brisbane Lions Norm Smith medallist Shaun Hart and ex-Lion Matt Kennedy headed up an expanded welfare team, but both have since left the club.

Kennedy told News Corp this week he had serious concerns about the club’s current leadership.

“There was a dismissiveness and a lack of acknowledgment about the problems at the club,” he said.

Mark Evans and Tony Cochrane at the announcement of Stuart Dew as head coach. Picture: AAP Images

“They just didn’t want to know about the behaviour of senior club figures that is holding them back. I’ve been on the coast since I was eight-years-old and would love nothing more than a powerhouse AFL team up here.

“And I’ve known some of the Suns players since they were teenagers, have a deep affection for them and crave that they have some success.”

Kennedy and Hart presented a document to club bosses at the start of last year detailing what they believed were the Suns’ cultural problems.

There was also a view that it was a mistake for prized draft picks Ben King and Jack Lukosius (and later Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson) to be living at Evans’ Gold Coast home, singling them out from teammates.

It goes to a “paranoia” one club figure said about the next batch of high-end talent walking out on the club.

Others say the forced exits of respected assistant coaches Dean Solomon, Nick Malceski and Ashley Prescott (as well as Hart and Kennedy) during last year’s Covid cuts ripped the soul out of the club.

They say it’s an indictment that many of the Suns’ sacked staff are now entrenched in key roles in local football – Malceski is coaching Labrador in the QAFL, while Steve Daniel, Matt Lappin and Matthew Primus are on the coaching panel at Southport.

Few past players, coaches or front office staff have ever left the club on good terms as the leaking of the damning Haines video last year demonstrated.

Former Collingwood president Eddie McGuire last week hinted at the prospect of further football department concessions for the Suns, but patience among rival clubs is wearing thin.

Next up for the Gold Coast is a clash against the bottom-placed Kangaroos in Tasmania – an Australian Rules heartland state some are now saying should be given its own team at the expense of the Suns.

Psicosis

May 7, 2012
Bird Rock
Midfield battle going to be a fascinating one. It’s the main area of concern and even with their outs, is a 50/50.

Smith, Miller, Greenwood, Anderson, Rowell, Fiorini, Ellis

Vs

Goldstein, Cunnington, Simpkin, Thomas, Davies-Uniacke, Dumont, Powell

Miller is a serious player. Arguably best runner in the game and he’s going to cause us some headaches. If Jy is the best runner at the club, then this is his match up. Cannot have him go head to head with Cunnington as he will burn him out. If Jy can limit Touks influence and run with him, whilst the other guys go to work, we should get on top.

Jun 4, 2013
Former Collingwood president Eddie McGuire last week hinted at the prospect of further football department concessions for the Suns, but patience among rival clubs is wearing thin.
They're at the tail end of THREE YEARS of concessions!

Wearing thin? These blokes must have the patience of saints, because the mere idea of it makes me seethe.

Oct 9, 2003
Singapore / 30,000 feet
Eagles (NFL), Suns (NBA)
Midfield battle going to be a fascinating one. It’s the main area of concern and even with their outs, is a 50/50.

Smith, Miller, Greenwood, Anderson, Rowell, Fiorini, Ellis

Vs

Goldstein, Cunnington, Simpkin, Thomas, Davies-Uniacke, Dumont, Powell

Miller is a serious player. Arguably best runner in the game and he’s going to cause us some headaches. If Jy is the best runner at the club, then this is his match up. Cannot have him go head to head with Cunnington as he will burn him out. If Jy can limit Touks influence and run with him, whilst the other guys go to work, we should get on top.
Maybe we send Bailey to Miller, he has the tank for it.

Don’t think he needs a hard tag, happy to go head to head in the contest. Just think he needs to have someone that’s going to go with him between stoppages.

Some of his repeat efforts and link up running this year has been unreal.

I want him to get 0 touches and 69 clangers.

In all seriousness he is the one who can really carry the suns, the more time on the ball he gets the more damaging he will be. Lowkey I’d just shut him down, so he has less of a presence.

Mar 16, 2001
Melbourne VIC
Wales, Eastwood, West Ham
GC are coming...
Gold Coast Suns issues revealed: cultural issues, boozy warning signs and failed leadership | Herald Sun
Gold Coast Suns football boss Jon Haines goes by the nickname “The Cameraman” at AFL HQ.

It’s a moniker Haines earned spectacularly for himself after filming senior coach Stuart Dew urinating on a pub wall and posting it to friends on WhatsApp.

Alcohol has never been far from the equation at the hapless Queensland expansion club, as it was last Saturday night when the beers were flowing freely for a large group of players at the Burleigh Pavilion in Burleigh Heads.

Fresh off a listless 50-point loss to Port Adelaide, the celebrations spilled over to a raucous house-party at nearby Burleigh Waters that wound up in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Young players are allowed a social life, but for several observers it was another warning sign that the wheels are again falling off at the AFL’s $250 million disaster club.

And while outspoken Suns chairman Tony Cochrane declared on Fox Footy on Monday night that he did not believe the “go-home” retention factor would be a problem this time around, others insist up to a dozen players, including top draft picks Ben Ainsworth, Will Brodie and Brayden Fiorini, are eyeing the exit door.

Stream selected Fox Footy shows on Kayo Freebies completely free this June including AFL 360, On The Couch, Bounce & more. No Credit Card. No-brainer.Register Free Now

It’s not the way highly-paid Gold Coast chief executive Mark Evans imagined it when he rolled into town four-and-a-half years ago promising to fix the game’s cash-guzzling problem child.

At a gathering with a group of Melbourne football journalists at Cochrane’s Gold Coast home on the eve of the 2017 season, Evans was asked why he had made the move from the AFL’s lofty football operations post to become leader of the Suns. His response was that he wanted to become the next chief executive of the AFL. But like so many who have come before him, Evans is finding out that unwavering self-assurance doesn’t guarantee success on the Glitter Strip.

More than two years ago, Evans launched the “Challenge Accepted” promotional campaign aimed at reversing the flagging fortunes of the club.

“This is a real reset of mindset and attitude,” Evans declared. “We need to inspire the community by what we do on the field and the manner in which we do that.”

But among the revellers on Saturday night were a group of Southport Sharks players from the second-tier competition who now joke that they are the best football team on the Gold Coast.

The Suns under Evans’ watch – even after being gifted another round of generous draft concessions at the end of 2019 – have failed to break the cycle.

Evans has overseen the sacking of coach Rodney Eade and the appointments of Dew, Haines, list boss Craig Cameron and coaching consultant Neil Craig.

After 74 games in charge, Dew, 41, has a worse win-loss record than the two senior coaches who came before him – a miserable 22 per cent.

Dew’s critics say he can be too emotional, takes negative feedback badly and has fallen out with several assistant coaches.

Cochrane failed to fully endorse him this week, admitting that everyone at the expansion club was under pressure.

“Let’s not gild the lily; the coach, the CEO, the president, we’re all under pressure, we’re all under the pump, because we need to be. What we’re serving up, it’s not good enough. And that’s a whole of club problem,” Cochrane said.

The delisting of the contracted Jarryd Lyons (a move not supported by Cochrane) has proved embarrassing, a generous five-year deal for Adelaide’s Rory Atkins raised eyebrows and Cochrane’s ill-timed barbs about Tasmania last week only shone a light back on his own club’s operations.

Despite entering the competition 12 months after the Suns, Greater Western Sydney has humiliated its older expansion brother with years of on-field excellence. The ground lost in player development and player welfare in the Suns’ formative years has never been made up.

When it was suggested to a senior Suns official a few years ago that he should hire highly-respected Giants welfare managers Craig and Melissa Lambert to help bolster player retention, the official openly laughed.

A greater focus was belatedly placed in that space at the end of the 2018 season when highly-respected Brisbane Lions Norm Smith medallist Shaun Hart and ex-Lion Matt Kennedy headed up an expanded welfare team, but both have since left the club.

Kennedy told News Corp this week he had serious concerns about the club’s current leadership.

“There was a dismissiveness and a lack of acknowledgment about the problems at the club,” he said.

“They just didn’t want to know about the behaviour of senior club figures that is holding them back. I’ve been on the coast since I was eight-years-old and would love nothing more than a powerhouse AFL team up here.

“And I’ve known some of the Suns players since they were teenagers, have a deep affection for them and crave that they have some success.”

Kennedy and Hart presented a document to club bosses at the start of last year detailing what they believed were the Suns’ cultural problems.

There was also a view that it was a mistake for prized draft picks Ben King and Jack Lukosius (and later Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson) to be living at Evans’ Gold Coast home, singling them out from teammates.

It goes to a “paranoia” one club figure said about the next batch of high-end talent walking out on the club.

Others say the forced exits of respected assistant coaches Dean Solomon, Nick Malceski and Ashley Prescott (as well as Hart and Kennedy) during last year’s Covid cuts ripped the soul out of the club.

They say it’s an indictment that many of the Suns’ sacked staff are now entrenched in key roles in local football – Malceski is coaching Labrador in the QAFL, while Steve Daniel, Matt Lappin and Matthew Primus are on the coaching panel at Southport.

Few past players, coaches or front office staff have ever left the club on good terms as the leaking of the damning Haines video last year demonstrated.

Next up for the Gold Coast is a clash against the bottom-placed Kangaroos in Tasmania – an Australian Rules heartland state some are now saying should be given its own team at the expense of the Suns.
I mentioned in the media thread that I’d been watching Making Their Mark and Dew is not coming out of it looking good. Not just because he’s next to footage of Simpson and Hardwick, who communicate and coach brilliantly, but the kind of things this article talks about. If concessions could fix that place, it would be fixed. No more.

It's the fourth quarter that worries me. Im confident that we can be better than them for three, but our last quarter fade outs seem worse than even theirs.

Also, rabble they might currently be and with key injuries currently, they've still won three more games than us.

We certainly can win this, but i don't anticipate it will be a walk in the park.