Prediction Round 16, 2025: Changes vs Collingwood

I'd play Owies because of the pressure he applies , Carlton walked the ball out of our forward line ( not in forward line in 1st qrt .)

In - Owies , Shanahan , Johnson , Bazzo .

Out - Edwards ( injury ) , Allen ( injury) Hunt , Flynn .

Out- Hunt, Kelly, Oscar, HEdwards*, Hutchinson

In- Grego, Hough, Shanahan, Bazzo*, Long

B- Ginbey - HEdwards/Bazzo - Allan
HB- Duggan - Brock - McCarthy
C- Dewar - Hewett - Maric
HF- Brockman - BWill - Baker
F- Shanahan - JWill - Ryan
R- Flynn- HReid - Hough
B- Grego - Graham- Cripps - Hall
Sub - Long

2R- BWill - Baker - Hall - Brockman/Ryan

With Allen and Edwards going out it's possible we now have the worst everything in the league.

Our spine - when fit - is Allen and Waterman at one end, McGovern and Edwards at the other. 2 AAs with one at the end of his career, not the best not the worst. This week it will be Jack Williams and maybe Archer Reid at one end and Sandy Brock and Bazzo or Shanahan at the other.

It's discussed often that our ruck division is the worst going around. Doesn't really matter who we pick or in what combination it still sucks. And our midfield is poor, especially with Yeo not playing all year.

Who has a worse forward 6, midfield or back 6 than WC?

Surely shannohan gets the call up either forward for Allen or back for edwards. Can not see a universe where the west coast eagles make owies earn his spot back from injury through the WAFL (instant credits crew for traded players) so unfortunate for champion and long. Hough back in to play midfield/ back following daicos or bobby. Would prefer us to play a small backline against Collingwood but likely that won't happen as our selection committee has 2 brain cells.

Would be nice to drop cripps and debut champion but he maintains his spot as neither long or champ are kicking goals in the wafl and loch is not good enough. Kelly isn't going anywhere unless he has another sub 5 disposal game the club will impload like last time when he was dropped.

Would like to see both Hunt and hutch ommited but chesser isn't fully match fit for afl yet and Davis has taken a step backwards in his performance at wafl lately. So likely just Hunt out for Dewar to play his role and hall playing full minutes.

Our game against Pies will be their 6th game in a row in Melbourne - just saying. :mad:
No doubt we get done, but hopefully it's a competitive done!

With Allen and Edwards going out it's possible we now have the worst everything in the league.

Our spine - when fit - is Allen and Waterman at one end, McGovern and Edwards at the other. 2 AAs with one at the end of his career, not the best not the worst. This week it will be Jack Williams and maybe Archer Reid at one end and Sandy Brock and Bazzo or Shanahan at the other.

It's discussed often that our ruck division is the worst going around. Doesn't really matter who we pick or in what combination it still sucks. And our midfield is poor, especially with Yeo not playing all year.

Who has a worse forward 6, midfield or back 6 than WC?
If you’re going currently. Essendons back 6 is very average. Rack up numbers kicking it sideways.

Out: Allen, Hunt
In: Reid, Owies

Reckon with the bye Edwards will be fine. Unfortunately for Shannahan he's been switched back so not really ready for a call up forward. Also if we need cover for Oscar up forward playing either or both of the Williams twins more minutes i50 is superior to bringing in a debutant, and Archer Reid in as ruck support for Flynn is a role Jobe can't play.

If Owies is fit he'll come back in, no question. Plus side to this is Cripps has played all his good footy this year with Owies in the side so can perhaps expect him to lift again. Is what it is, Cripps is fading but they aint dropping him for Owies.

Not going to drop Kelly or Hutchinson after just inking fresh deals that people are criticising, the club has stated they are integral to future plans so would not expect either to be dropped. Really no-one else out there who could be on the chopping block so minimal changes I think.

I love Crippa but it is looking like he is coming to the end and I have also been very bullish on Long but am getting less enthused the more I see. But what you have just said here is just non-factual.
Long has never kicked more than 1 goal in a game, his season tally of 2 goals from 7 games is on par with his career average of 0.3 goals per game (compared to Crippas 1.2) and his tackling is also half of what Cripps does (1.7 ave vs 3.2ave).
Im big on pumping more games into the kids in the back end of the season, even if it is at the expense of a senior player who may provide a bit more, but lets not make stuff up to justify it.
Yeah maybe I got a bit excited about long and remember him kicking some goals last year and assumed he was a 1 goal a game player but since his return from that knee injury he hasn't been able to capture that form he had previous to it. I was pretty bullish on him but yeah maybe he's not going to cut the mustard hence us drafting in another small forward in the mid-season draft. I'm sure your right with those stats it's just I feel like every week whoever is playing on cripps gets ~1000 metres gained. I've been a massive cripps fan over the years I just think he's lost a lot of nimbleness and players are getting away from him too easily.

Edit: Also I was just generalising rather than checking the stats book.

Turf out like 6 players... Have to make a statement...

In... Champion, Shanahan, gross, Grego, Johnston, chesser, reid

Out... Ryan, Duggan, hunt, Allen, Flynn, Kelly, Dewar

We cannot be worse with these changes... Which is an indictment on the club
Yeah mate
Let's drop the guy who just won a Rising Star nomination.
**** my brown dog.

And I thought your post yesterday was stupid.

If it is the injury that is being reported then that is apparently a 8 week one which takes us to Round 22 so I would say season is likely.

Kinda sad that he may have played his last game for WCE.

It's on the minor side could only be two - six weeks , we should shut him down for the season though because he's had injury from the pre season and now this .....needs the rest regardless of where he plays next season .

I get that we played poorly, and changes are required.

But so far this week I've seen suggestions we play J Williams in the midfield, Ginbey as a KPF and Kelly as a tagger.

And we have two weeks of this before the next game...
Reckon Noah long should be played at ff to replace Oscar...

🤣