Autopsy Round 16, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Collingwood

Aug 11, 2011
Bloody good effort. Blueprint clear as day, list churn well on its way, plenty to like.

Positives
Shanahan is a smooth operator.
McCarthy belongs.
Baker is a god.
Hough, huge. Gave Daicos a bath prior to the empty calorie last five minutes.
Harry Edwards, wowee. He’s growing, just in time.

Not spending too long on the negatives, I’m sure the permamelts will get it covered. Left a few snags out there, commentary and umpiring in a who can glaze Collingwood more comp, plenty of growth in this side against a Pies team 2.5 games clear on top.

Lots to like. Attack the last stretch of the season, it’s starting to click.

Positives
  • We stuck it out all game
  • Hough was great coming back in
  • Harry stopping some of the Pies' forward entries
  • Baker / Graham
  • Some of our ball movement was :fire:
  • Shanahan did well
  • McCarthy is a ripper
  • Hall looked to be the player we were hoping for when we drafted him.

Negatives
  • Goal kicking...

Hall looked great. Exactly what the eagles need at the moment. This is probably an unfair criticism because he didn't really do anything wrong but... I don't think I've ever seen Hutchinson do anything to the advantage of the eagles team? like what does he actually do? I didn't know Kelly's contract got extended as well. Hutch until 2029 and Kelly another two years. like why entertain mediocrity in such an exciting part of the eagles history.

Positives
  • Hall (Rising star nom?)
  • Hough, will be interesting to see what a full preseason in the midfield will do. Perfect 3rd man with Harley, Hewett.
  • Rucks broke even.
  • When we break even in the midfield we are very competitive
  • Shanahan plays the rest of the year.
Back line extra mention
  • Duggan
  • Maric, McCarthy creating so much
  • Baker star
  • HEdwards mini is moulding him.
  • Bo’s run.
Neg.
  • Hunt has to be his last game for us.
  • Jack Williams goal kicking. Normally so good
  • Small forwards need a lift.

POSITIVES:

Nick Daicos, bloody unbelievable

Josh Daicos' brother was really good

Peter Daicos' son played a very good game

NEGATIVES

Nick Daicos didn't have 100 touches and kick 10 goals

The only negative might have cost us the game.

Jack Williams coughing the ball up 11 second at the end of the third. Goal. And then missing from dead in front to take the first goal of the fourth, that went down the other end for a pies goal 20 seconds later. 18 point turn around

Yep.
Maybe it's a bit harsh but he's there now to step up and take responsibility in the absence of waterman and Allen.

He missed set shots he should be kicking and that error before 3 quarter time was just deflating.
1 goal 4 or something? Kick those and the games much tighter with a possible win.

+Harry Edwards. So many on here being proven wrong by this guy
+Liam Baker. As above
+Shanahans first goal
+ Maric, McCarthy, Hutchinson, Hough, Hall. All these guys i think will be AFL footballers and showed alot tonight
+Harley is coming good. Hewett and Ginbey over Wardlaw was a god damn master-stroke

-Jack Williams goal kicking
-Sandy Brock
-Jayden Hunt had one touch as sub and turned it over. Just no more please
-the commentary. 18th v 1st and we were leading alot of the game. Yet zero enthusiasm when we did anything. Huddo lost alot of points in my eyes tonight

Positives

• Baker and Graham inspirational. Lead from an effort standpoint
  • Such a young team tonight really took it to an experienced and galvanised Collingwood away. Extremely proud of the boys.
  • Again, YOUTH 5 x 1st year players in the team tonight: B. Allen, S.Brock, T.Mccarthy, J.Shanahan..... PLUS, Reid. Hewitt. Hough, Brockman, Hall, J.Williams, Maric, Ginbey, all 22 and under. Incredibly young team playing a very aggressive game-style is impressive to say the least.
  • McQualter's game plan really showing fruits.
  • Adding top picks in this years draft to this group would be incredible
  • Shanahan showed some incredible signs tonight, looking like young JK.

Negatives

• Our rucks got dominated. There was a passage in Q2 where Flynn lost 4 contests in a row leading to 3 goals. Cameron was an extra midfielder around the ground too.
  • Goal kicking. Is the fast pace play making the boys fatigued and affecting the shots?
  • Surely we have someone better than Hunt as the sub. Downright embarrassing.
  • Kelly had a good second quarter but otherwise was invisible
  • AFL treats Harley with pure disdain. Different set of rules for Harley.

The only negative might have cost us the game.

Jack Williams coughing the ball up 11 second at the end of the third. Goal. And then missing from dead in front to take the first goal of the fourth, that went down the other end for a pies goal 20 seconds later. 18 point turn around
That and the umpiring was the difference. Take that out and it would've gone right down to the wire, we couldve pinched it.

Yep.
Maybe it's a bit harsh but he's there now to step up and take responsibility in the absence of waterman and Allen.

He missed set shots he should be kicking and that error before 3 quarter time was just deflating.
1 goal 4 or something? Kick those and the games much tighter with a possible win.
I hope he really learns from his mistakes.

There have been a bunch of games lately where there have been good signs, lots to take away, obvious evidence that we're improving etc etc but **** me actually winning one would make everything feel so much better.

Lock the kids in for the rest of the year (accepting that actually getting that win is a little harder) and hope to get the same level of effort week to week and we'll be ok but yeah.. having something a little more tangible to point to would be great

All a good learning curve again. With experience these mistakes will nit be as pronounced.
Lots to like again.
Patience
1 win is annoying but this is the true year one of the rebuild, where we're not relying on senior players and developing our young core.

I think we'll end up with 3 or 4 wins this season, and get maybe 6 or 7 next. 2027, if we play our cards right, might be when we escape the bottom 4. But depends what other sides are doing. North and Richmond will likely rise, and who will fall behind us, if anyone?

Positives
Really good effort

Shanahan gunna be a star.
McCarthy calm head down back with skills to back it up.
Baker effort to the last.
Hough going to head to head with daicos and ddin't lower his colours.
Harry Edwards involved in some tough contests and still taking intercept marks really improving now that he's got +50? games.
Brockman had a good first half.
EDIT: I know hall turned it over a bit but I can see him being a +30 disposal midfielder link man in the future

Thought most of the young guys played well.

Negatives
The usual story pivotal moments where they gain momentum at the last minute of the 3rd.
Fitness is an issue we can't seem to run out games playing this frenetic style probably take another pre-season for our young midfield to build the tank to take on the top teams.
Thought mini got outcoached a bit in the second half when McRae made some adjustments that we couldn't match like using pendles a lot more. Also thought hewett could have spent more time in the midfield.
Boys looked tired and didn't use the sub early enough also dunno why hunt was the sub either.

B. Williams just doesn't offer enough as a ruck forward he's a good honest tryer and I respect he's been a good servant of the club just doesn't cut the mustard.
Dump kick duggan gets in the right spots but his disposal lets him down.
Cripps yeah didn't think he offered enough last match to keep his spot this week.

Negatives
  • Kick straight we win, simple as that, cant be missing goals from 25 out straight in front at any level let alone the top, I love Jack but he should have kicked a bag tonight
  • Periods of the game, admittedly getting shorter this year where the game plan seems to be hack kick on the offense and jog back and wait for the opposition to score on turnover
  • The judgement in the air of most of the team is horrendous, constantly out positioned and caught watching the man instead of the ball
  • TK 1 very classy goal, a whole lot of nothing else 2 more years????
  • Brock needs to ask himself if he has it in him to play competitively at the highest level, a few real squibs tonight
  • Harley Reid's maturity is holding him back from playing top line footy, cost his team goals and position at crucial times with lazy petulant behaviour
  • Jack Hutchinson is not a midfielders bunghole, play him as a lead up forward for ****s sake
  • Umpires not even worth mentioning, actual cheating
  • Jamie Cripps does not have another year in him,

Positives
  • The team assault on collingwood was something to behold, sticking tackles, getting a hand in, knocking it on all hallmarks of great sides and the type of footy that stands up in a final
  • Brady Hough brilliant
  • Players starting to trust each other on the lead and when making space, need skilled midfield distributors- Sharp and Rodriguez are a must
  • I love Jobe Shanahandz style, Keep him in, could be anything and looks to have a few more gears
  • Liam Duggan played a great game
  • Clay Hall knows how to win the footy and seems to be picking up the pace of the game
  • Baker and Graham showing how to fight it out
  • Getting some respect back

Duggan had less turnovers than:
  • Nick Daicos
  • Josh Daicos
  • Tom McCarthy
You'd think he's the worst player to ever pull on a jumper though reading the gameday threads.
He was terrible in the first half. Literally every disposal was either smothered or went to the opposition. He got better in the second half and laid a good bump.

Autopsy Round 16, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Collingwood