No player young or old deserves to be called heartless.
You wonder why they get mental illnesses these kids.
As I said before, support or be part of the problem.
Go Freo!
You only have to read whats been said about Cox.

No player young or old deserves to be called heartless.
You wonder why they get mental illnesses these kids.
As I said before, support or be part of the problem.
Go Freo!
It'd be interesting to see the results for Williamson and Fisher in particular versus ladder position. Same with Margetts.Some Free Kick and Umpire stats for those that are interested;
3 - Leigh Fisher
Has umpired 15 Fremantle games.
The total Free Kicks For and Against in those 15 games is 218 For vs 280 Against.
Freo have won the Free Kicks in 2 of those 15, had equal Free Kicks in 2 and lost the Free Kicks in 11 of the 15.
22 - Nathan Williamson
11 Freo games.
206 FF vs 222 FA.
Won FKs in 4, lost in 7.
32 - Jacob Mollison
15 Freo games.
282 FF vs 307 FA.
Won FKs in 4, equal in 1, lost in 10.
Additionally, in Western Derbies during Lyon's tenure (2012-) our Free Kicks stats are;
Total Free Kicks in 15 games, 245 Frees For vs 298 Frees Against.
Won the Free Kicks in 5, and lost the Free Kicks in 10.
Is this honestly who we are? Compiling free kick stats in advance of a game? People complain about Margetts and Dalgleish non stop, neither of them are on our game And the complaints. Pre loading the excuses is just weak, fan behaviour like this is the reason our club thinks it’s fine to carry on without a spine, near enough is good enough, just beat the Eagles and it’s job done. So easily pleased.Some Free Kick and Umpire stats for those that are interested;
3 - Leigh Fisher
Has umpired 15 Fremantle games.
The total Free Kicks For and Against in those 15 games is 218 For vs 280 Against.
Freo have won the Free Kicks in 2 of those 15, had equal Free Kicks in 2 and lost the Free Kicks in 11 of the 15.
22 - Nathan Williamson
11 Freo games.
206 FF vs 222 FA.
Won FKs in 4, lost in 7.
32 - Jacob Mollison
15 Freo games.
282 FF vs 307 FA.
Won FKs in 4, equal in 1, lost in 10.
Additionally, in Western Derbies during Lyon's tenure (2012-) our Free Kicks stats are;
Total Free Kicks in 15 games, 245 Frees For vs 298 Frees Against.
Won the Free Kicks in 5, and lost the Free Kicks in 10.
Couldn’t agree more. It’s probably a controversial opinion to have on here but I don’t care about the Eagles more than any other team. I want Freo to be the best team in the league, not just better than the team up the road. The fact is, the Eagles are a vastly more successful team on and off the field. Winning a game against them isn’t going to change that. I would happily lose every year to the Eagles if it delivered us premierships.Is this honestly who we are? Compiling free kick stats in advance of a game? People complain about Margetts and Dalgleish non stop, neither of them are on our game And the complaints. Pre loading the excuses is just weak, fan behaviour like this is the reason our club thinks it’s fine to carry on without a spine, near enough is good enough, just beat the Eagles and it’s job done. So easily pleased.
If we lose the derby (for the ninth time in a row), people are already prepared to make it about the umpiring? **** the derby, **** the eagles, how about we build something here that isn’t based on how it stacks up to them?
I am looking forward to attending my first ever derby just hope there is some respite to this rainCouldn’t agree more. It’s probably a controversial opinion to have on here but I don’t care about the Eagles more than any other team. I want Freo to be the best team in the league, not just better than the team up the road. The fact is, the Eagles are a vastly more successful team on and off the field. Winning a game against them isn’t going to change that. I would happily lose every year to the Eagles if it delivered us premierships.
C'mon. Get over yourself.Is this honestly who we are? Compiling free kick stats in advance of a game? People complain about Margetts and Dalgleish non stop, neither of them are on our game And the complaints. Pre loading the excuses is just weak, fan behaviour like this is the reason our club thinks it’s fine to carry on without a spine, near enough is good enough, just beat the Eagles and it’s job done. So easily pleased.
If we lose the derby (for the ninth time in a row), people are already prepared to make it about the umpiring? **** the derby, **** the eagles, how about we build something here that isn’t based on how it stacks up to them?

For a very long time my approach to the WC was that they are just another team amongst 17 or less others and that it would be giving them too much credit to think of them as otherwise. What sets them apart from other teams though is their excessive reliance on staging for free kicks (to the point they must seriously train it a lot), their obnoxious CEO, their white-anting of Freo from the start, bitey Masteney, how they reacted to the Gaff act, overhype and media saturation in WA to name a few.Couldn’t agree more. It’s probably a controversial opinion to have on here but I don’t care about the Eagles more than any other team. I want Freo to be the best team in the league, not just better than the team up the road. The fact is, the Eagles are a vastly more successful team on and off the field. Winning a game against them isn’t going to change that. I would happily lose every year to the Eagles if it delivered us premierships.
Is this honestly who we are? Compiling free kick stats in advance of a game? People complain about Margetts and Dalgleish non stop, neither of them are on our game And the complaints. Pre loading the excuses is just weak, fan behaviour like this is the reason our club thinks it’s fine to carry on without a spine, near enough is good enough, just beat the Eagles and it’s job done. So easily pleased.
Good stuff mate, hilarious stuff, obviously I’m just guy that loves his team and goes to games when I can.You have been in high-level internal meetings obviously.. what position is it you have at the club to know that 'this is the reason our club thinks it's fine to carry on without a spine etc... you would, of course, have meeting minutes or another level on insight to know this with such conviction. I am surprised you have risked your job to share this but respect you're wanting to change our apparent behaviour as you, on the inside know it is our behaviour which causes professionals in their roles to not want to achieve highly.
I don't think there has ever been such an insightful post on this board, nor has there been a true insider who is in these meetings been willing to share with us. This post should be POTY! How privileged we are to get such deep insight to the inner working, culture and planning of the club...
Nothing that is said on these boards is in anyway reflective of what the club thinks or how it operates. Just because 75% of the supporter base talks up the Derby and bangs on about West Coast doesn't mean the club do internally. I mean, if you listen to Ross talk about he couldn't be more emphatic about how it is just another game.Good stuff mate, hilarious stuff, obviously I’m just guy that loves his team and goes to games when I can.
The point is pre-emptively gathering umpiring stats and complaining about the media, the conspiracy of it all, all the favours the Eagles get, the conditions of our creation 25 years ago and everything else under the sun is weak. I’ve Said it before that we were such a basket case for so long that operating professionally for this last decade or so seems to be enough for some people. We’re not ruthless. We as a fan base seem to hang our hat on little milestones and contextual victories, without seeing the bigger picture. Seems like most on here will throw out a loss to Carlton if we beat the eagles, and if we lose the excuses are already lined up. Why is that? The world isn’t against us, but people would rather gather umpire data on a Wednesday in case the club loses on a Saturday. That’s so spineless.
I just want to support a club that will do what it takes to be the best team in the comp, not the best in the state. We beat GWS and Collingwood, we’re clearly improving and going the right way, but dumb losses like Melbourne and Carlton probe that there’s a way to go. Beating the eagles would be a nice step in the right direction, not the sole goal of our season to ensure we snap some streak. I just want a bit of sustained success from this core before Fyfe etc retire, I’m sick of derbies being put on a pedestal. We get nothing for a derby, not really, but it seems that beating the toast and looking at how we stack up to our neighbours is priority one. It’s embarrassing.
I understand that, I am talking about the fan base. That’s why I said we as a fan base.Nothing that is said on these boards is in anyway reflective of what the club thinks or how it operates. Just because 75% of the supporter base talks up the Derby and bangs on about West Coast doesn't mean the club do internally. I mean, if you listen to Ross talk about he couldn't be more emphatic about how it is just another game.
Stop trying to attribute the clubs outlook based on supporters and you will soon find your issue as highlighted above doesn't actually exist.
Nothing that is said on these boards is in anyway reflective of what the club thinks or how it operates. Just because 75% of the supporter base talks up the Derby and bangs on about West Coast doesn't mean the club do internally. I mean, if you listen to Ross talk about he couldn't be more emphatic about how it is just another game.
Stop trying to attribute the clubs outlook based on supporters and you will soon find your issue as highlighted above doesn't actually exist.

Banfield was producing some good numbers for Peel.
Given some Lyon pressers/interviews that I've seen in 2019, I really don't think he feels comfortable now using a tagger.
He has mentioned it on more than one occasion as an example of how Freo are trying to be more attacking and less defensive.
Last year I'm sure he would have swung Banfield on to Curnow once the red alerts for Curnow clearance numbers went off in the coaches box.
If my suspicion isn't the reason as to why he didn't move Banfield on to Curnow, then I would very much like to know what was the reason ... because I reckon it probably cost us 4 points on Sunday. (Ed Curnow had his best game of his career, 20 Contested Possessions and 16 Clearances).
If your not WC though, flog, campaigner, is all you read on their board, they only deal in absolutes.Hawthorn supporters hate Essendon and vice versa
Carlton v Collingwood
PA v Adelaide
It's ok to hate your crosstown rival, its healthy , good for the competitive juices.![]()
Good stuff mate, hilarious stuff, obviously I’m just guy that loves his team and goes to games when I can.
The point is pre-emptively gathering umpiring stats and complaining about the media, the conspiracy of it all, all the favours the Eagles get, the conditions of our creation 25 years ago and everything else under the sun is weak. I’ve Said it before that we were such a basket case for so long that operating professionally for this last decade or so seems to be enough for some people. We’re not ruthless. We as a fan base seem to hang our hat on little milestones and contextual victories, without seeing the bigger picture. Seems like most on here will throw out a loss to Carlton if we beat the eagles, and if we lose the excuses are already lined up. Why is that? The world isn’t against us, but people would rather gather umpire data on a Wednesday in case the club loses on a Saturday. That’s so spineless.
I understand that, I am talking about the fan base. That’s why I said we as a fan base.
We’re a fan base that gathers umpires stats ahead of time and gets upset about the media conspiracy against our team. It’s fun to beat the Eagles, it is, but why can’t we ask for more than that? Seems all our fans care about is beating west coast so losses to Carlton or Melbourne are quickly forgiven.
And no I don’t think the fans are reflective of what’s going on behind closed doors, but a ruthless fan base can influence the club, make them realise enough is enough on certain things. I’m not suggesting this is needed, but things like boycotts work, fans ramping up pressure against under performing coaches work. I think we’re a very satisfied fan base provided we have a few nice wins and grab a derby every now and then. The bench mark for our fans never seems to be we must win a premiership.
I like the path we’re on, I do, but you make progress by demanding results, not by patting each other on the back because of age profiles and which team has more 50 gamers and what the umpires have done to us in previous games.
Get stuffed mate, I’m not getting in a dick measuring contest because I don’t work for the club. I didn’t claim to have intel. My point was that a satisfied fan base doesn’t make waves, doesn’t push the club to excel. I believe in sport the world over, the fan base can make noise and can be quite influential in setting expectation. The organisation has to respond to pressure from the fans eventually, this is true in every sport on earth.Makes comment about the way the club thinks and uses definites to make a strong point... called out on it and then admits he doesn't know what the club actually thinks despite previously saying he did...
And then below you claim it is supporters you were talking about when initially you were clear about it was what the club thought and that they were happy with average etc.. Glad we have that sorted out and can have a reasonable conversation now.. which I think you have done below.
I agree about the derby btw - which is why I have said 10 wins for the year is the goal. I don't care who we get them against. If we get 10 I am pleased with the year. More than that and we have been a roaring success.
I don't agree that we are a satisfied fan base at all... I think most people can see we have made great improvement and our rebuild is on the right track. If we don't make the finals next year there will be a lot of people calling for blood.
I understand that, I am talking about the fan base. That’s why I said we as a fan base.
We’re a fan base that gathers umpires stats ahead of time and gets upset about the media conspiracy against our team. It’s fun to beat the Eagles, it is, but why can’t we ask for more than that? Seems all our fans care about is beating west coast so losses to Carlton or Melbourne are quickly forgiven.
And no I don’t think the fans are reflective of what’s going on behind closed doors, but a ruthless fan base can influence the club, make them realise enough is enough on certain things. I’m not suggesting this is needed, but things like boycotts work, fans ramping up pressure against under performing coaches work. I think we’re a very satisfied fan base provided we have a few nice wins and grab a derby every now and then. The bench mark for our fans never seems to be we must win a premiership.
I like the path we’re on, I do, but you make progress by demanding results, not by patting each other on the back because of age profiles and which team has more 50 gamers and what the umpires have done to us in previous games.
For a very long time my approach to the WC was that they are just another team amongst 17 or less others and that it would be giving them too much credit to think of them as otherwise. What sets them apart from other teams though is their excessive reliance on staging for free kicks (to the point they must seriously train it a lot), their obnoxious CEO, their white-anting of Freo from the start, bitey Masteney, how they reacted to the Gaff act, overhype and media saturation in WA to name a few.
But beside all that it's high time Freo breaks through, fighting tooth and nail, to beat them again. It will be another huge step in their development beating an older and highly established team in a hyped up game. Above all it's very doable.
Get stuffed mate, I’m not getting in a dick measuring contest because I don’t work for the club. I didn’t claim to have intel. My point was that a satisfied fan base doesn’t make waves, doesn’t push the club to excel. I believe in sport the world over, the fan base can make noise and can be quite influential in setting expectation. The organisation has to respond to pressure from the fans eventually, this is true in every sport on earth.
As a fan base, we are getting softer. We prepare excuses days in advance, inexcusable losses are explained away with age brackets and tables, everything is always someone else’s fault on this site I’ve noticed. We used to have an edge, we used to be a raucous crowd that had a **** the world attitude. Other people have said as much this week, I’m not alone in thinking this. Plenty of people go to Freo games now just for a fun little outing, hope it’s a close game and maybe the boys can win. but back in the day it used to be a real backs against the wall mob mentality. You knew where you stood, you knew who not to cross. We didn’t have the cattle to mount a big premiership charge, but we stood for something. Now we’ve flirted with success for a few years and now we seem to have attracted a bunch of fans who near enough is good enough. We are coming into a window where we should be looking to claim the flag, and I hate to think that the fans are happy for a long drawn out build that causes us to not maximise Fyfe Walters the hills etc because we weren’t vocal enough in our expectations. I’ve said it in this thread, I like the direction we’re going in but we need to find a ruthless edge fast.
I think we’re a satisfied bunch, you don’t, that’s fine we can disagree there, but no need to pull apart every line like I’ve betrayed my point because I’m just a punter not some club employee.
Anyway I’ve made my point, should we lose to the Eagles for the ninth time in a row i can’t wait to see which umpires fault it was this time. Hope like hell we win, because we need a win, not because we need bragging rights over some campaigners down the road.
Every fan base whinges about umpires, but I’ve never seen someone bust out a table of umpiring statistics four days before a game. Lining up the excuses early is shameful.Please don't pretend that every fanbase doesn't whinge about umpires, handouts etc. If it genuinely made a difference then fans would realise pretty quick smart and every post on this forum would be a 'one week at a time' type cliche because every fan wants to win a premiership. Beyond paying for memberships and screaming at games there's not much we can do. And signing up as members of a loser club isn't some sort of 'accepting mediocrity' thing, because you could say that about the millions of AFL members who don't support the reigning premier each year.
I agree that most Freo supporters accept mediocrity. I also agree that most supporters were bored with the way we play and are frustrated with the lack of change and improvement over the last couple of years. A few of our games this year have been really entertaining and enjoyable though, so yes there is some improvement but I also agree that as a club we do need to become more ruthless in our pursuit of success.
I’ve read on here where some of our supporters sign their personal intelligence over to the club because they support the club regardless of whether they can see that things are wrong. How ******* stupid. I support Freo so therefore everything they do must be right and I must support every person and decision that the club makes. Dear oh dear.