Opinion Round 17 Changes vs. GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I don't think Dawson is prone to soreness, he's not old yet and let's be honest his play style isn't taxing on the body. Just because Johnson is a tall that doesn't mean he's replacing another tall defender.

The match committee usually go down the 'like for like' path...not saying it's definite but that is more likely where the percentage bet would be.

I don't think the match committee would be going a like-for-like to put Johnson back in considering with both him & McPharlin out we've been playing small up back.

Well it's been like for like when a 'like' player is available...otherwise they have been playing guys like Ibbo as a tall.

Apeness to ruck in the forward half as a Clarke replacement ?

Works for me. Especially if Mundy and Fyfe go third man up to help him out as they have in recent weeks.

Haven't seen Barlow, Mundy and Fyfe go third man up very much in the past (which is kind of strange when you consider their heights), but have seen them doing it more. Could be part of a cunning plan to sneak Apeness into the team a little quicker.

Difficult week for ins and outs seeing as Lyon has made comment about Morabito and Apeness.

I'm glad he has given those 2 another game.

Pav and Johnson in. I wouldn't be surprised to see Sheridan, Griffin or Deboer also come back. Not all together but in replace of some 'rested'.

I wouldn't mind seeing Crowley rested. I doubt that will happen.

I'd also like to see Clancee given a whole game along with Silvia and told this is it boys, perform or see you later. With Silvia, perhaps give him some minutes in the midfield and play Fyfe more out of CHF.

Griffin to spend more time in ruck whilst Sandilands rest up forward and on the bench.

So after all of that I'll go with.

In: Pav, Johnson, Deboer, Griffin
Out: Crowley, Dawson, Spurr, Clarke

Another possible solution. If Johnson and Pav are to come in, I wonder if it could be for Dawson and Mayne. Dawson was in the weights room today. Mayne, when I was lining up for his signature today, made the comment that we shouldn't get too close to him as he was a bit crook. Bit of man flu I think. Unlikely to keep him out at the pointy end but I wonder if it may inspire a resting to allow Apeness and Pav to work together...

Not as the expense of Spurr, no.
I do not believe Spurr going to be dropped, he has been in great form in the last 4 or 5 weeks. However should he get injured how would MDB go covering for spurr's role? I know this would not happen but I think he might be reasonably good down back.

I actually don't mind it either, but I would probably have Clancee ahead of MDB. After that we don't really have too many options do we? Brady Grey, possibly.

No worries mate.

Are you on the selection committee?

There's 163 posts with ideas and speculation, but you should've just written first and told everyone what WILL happen.

I hope that's you Bushie, if not welcome to the forums whoever you are.

Why would they rest players when there is a bye coming up? If you were going to though, it makes more sense to me, to rest them against St Kilda, no travel and the game before the bye.

^ Agreed, don't see many, if any players getting rested this week

Expect Sandilands to not make the trip east next week though, and possibly a few others