Prediction Round 18, 2025: Changes vs Port Adelaide

So bench as selected of Bazzo, Jack Williams, Hutchinson, Maric and Champion
That bench feels way too tall for mine. I'd leave out Williams and Hutch for midfield rotations (Gross and Dewar).

If Flynn is our #1 ruck, I don't think you can play both Williams and Bailey.

To be fair, he had 2 kicks, with 8 handballs and had a grand total of 61m gained. Not sure you can read much into his disposal from that other than that he was not penetrative in anyway. Really need to see him further up the ground and see if he can turn into that 70-80m player, carry and kick and break a line.
The great thing about stats is that a poor tactical kick based an a terrible decision that impacts the team very badly is effective if it gets to a team mate. But two kicks - the shirking of contests is the biggest trigger to 'go back and practice kid'.

I like that TK dropped himself. Shows at least some awareness of his own form issues and rather than paper over the cracks he's going back to work on it.
Will he break back into the mids? I doubt it. But the WAFL has been screaming for an experienced head around the mid group all season so having him back there for more than 10 minutes is going to be huge.

May not impact at AFL level directly anymore but can still have a helping hand in the 2's.

For the rest of the team selection it's going to be a fascinating watch for the bench. Some players going to be stiff to miss which is a good place to be.

Happy that he would rather break into the side as a mid from WAFL level.

But he seriously needs to bring a harder two way running style into his game if he wants to be a full time mid at AFL level. Is that possible at his age and with his mindset? We shall see.

Timothy doesn't chase or pressure in midfield, it's not his game as a natural sweeping receiver and he point blank refuses to learn it

At half forward he doesn't fight to keep the footy inside 50 or crumb snatch goals. He's not clever enough or is too lazy to get out the back. Set shot is shocking, he wanders around like a doordash courier arriving at an apartment complex

well someone had to play Sheed's role given he retired

I see more of the vitriol directed at Tim Kelly here....

He's been dropped (and it sounds like he was aware his form wasn't up to it, so asked himself). No need to hurl abuse at the guy on the way down.

Echo the sentiments of others re Kelly. You could argue it's a pride thing, given a sub demotion is like basically getting dropped twice because you're likely out the following week.

See Hunt, Gross, Hall, Petrucelle etc.

Admire him for wanting to find form as a midfielder but gee whiz that's a fair mountain to climb given where he's at. Struggled as a WAFL mid last time and has very much been found wanting when played as a mid at AFL level, which we know is a big jump from state league.

Oh well. Got him for 2 more years 💔 so might as well back him in, might be able to be handy depth in future at the very least. Lord knows the Beagles could use him.

I like that TK dropped himself. Shows at least some awareness of his own form issues and rather than paper over the cracks he's going back to work on it.
Will he break back into the mids? I doubt it. But the WAFL has been screaming for an experienced head around the mid group all season so having him back there for more than 10 minutes is going to be huge.

May not impact at AFL level directly anymore but can still have a helping hand in the 2's.

For the rest of the team selection it's going to be a fascinating watch for the bench. Some players going to be stiff to miss which is a good place to be.
Im confused as to why we all agreed a 2 year deal if we didnt know what we were going to do with him and he didnt know what position he wanted to play and where we wanted to play him

We bought a couch without anywhere to put it and any thought on why we want it

Its amateur hour no matter how you put it

It's a risky move, might not show form at WAFL level and end up stuck there.

Jason Bateman Cotton GIF

Admire him for wanting to find form as a midfielder but gee whiz that's a fair mountain to climb given where he's at. Struggled as a WAFL mid last time and has very much been found wanting when played as a mid at AFL level, which we know is a big jump from state league.

Last time was only one game. Hopefully he’s given a longer run down at that level this time.

And he’s won a B&F as a midfielder, only two years ago, and been an All Australian at Geelong. So he is (or was) capable. The question is whether he’s just horribly out of form, or if he’s hit the cliff.

Last time was only one game. Hopefully he’s given a longer run down at that level this time.

And he’s won a B&F as a midfielder, only two years ago, and been an All Australian at Geelong. So he is (or was) capable. The question is whether he’s just horribly out of form, or if he’s hit the cliff.

Yeah we know he's been capable previously, but deary me that seems like a life time ago in the form he's been in doesn't it?

Doesn't it? Den?

At the very worst, we get a senior mid to play WAFL for a couple of years to lead the younger brigade, without having to get someone from the Ammos because no good WAFL players want to play for us.

Isn't this what people what people wanted, a mature body to bring through the younger brigade of mids, instead of leaving it all to an 18yo Tom Gross?

We have plenty of cap space to make up anyway, so this at least gets us around the hassle of finding good WAFL mids and the marquee player payments.

He may not light it up but he's at least a mature body whose best is better than most.

Best case scenario is he gets a chop out from the AFL for a while, starts enjoying himself beating up on tradies and gets back into form and is a gun again.

Was going to say exactly this.

If he happens to spend the next 2 years playing as a reliable inside mid in the WAFL then it kind of works out 🤷‍♂️

That bench feels way too tall for mine. I'd leave out Williams and Hutch for midfield rotations (Gross and Dewar).

If Flynn is our #1 ruck, I don't think you can play both Williams and Bailey.

Oh i agree - I would drop Jack Williams and play Bailey and Shanahan up forward and push Hutchinson to play as a marking half forward. I think though they would be keen to have the option of J.Williams as a full time forward, takes the pressure off Shanahan and the rucks (as they are...).

I could see Dewar getting in as stated but I don't see how Gross gets a run withoit dropping Clay Hall, which is unlikely at this stage.

After arguably back to back BOG's Gross can't just be a travelling emergency or Sub.
He has to start.
Bazzo for Brock a given. We know now what Brock can provide and he has proved himself to hold a spot on the list at the very least.
Owies also will start, no surer thing.
That leaves Cole, also names on the ground, Dewar and Long.
I think Champ and Williams will go back to play full game in WAFL.
Long to be Sub. Dewar travelling emergency. Or vice versa.
Ahhh, who the bloody hell knows.

I see more of the vitriol directed at Tim Kelly here....

He's been dropped (and it sounds like he was aware his form wasn't up to it, so asked himself). No need to hurl abuse at the guy on the way down.
Guys, the AFL have specifically set up a hotline for this. You should call it right now and get everything off your chest.

Looking at this positively...we are definitely short of a mature talent in the midfield.

Best case scenario Timothy finds some form in the WAFL whilst supporting the younguns, makes his way back to the 1's and doesn't look back.

Worst case scenario, he's helping the younguns in the WAFL. At least he knows he's been shit, I guess?

Larry David Sigh GIF by Curb Your Enthusiasm

He's not quick enough any more, he's a bit like Priddis he doesn't have many other facets to his game other than being a midfielder. The move to re-sign him was another poor choice by our club on top of re-signing Naitanui, Yeo plus other blunders as well. The club will come to terms surely and cancel his contract at seasons end.
Nah he's just gunna be a beagles depth player but yeah massive blunder re-signing him for 2 years amongst many others with our list management.