Autopsy Round 18, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Port

Butters is just an animal out on the field that's all.

Gun.

Don't forget their midfield has got 3 or 4 seasons on ours. More when u add Wines and Boak.

Just big bodies again. they're all gonna win out in the end.
Butters' game tonight highlights just how much we need an outside mid. He racked up early but didn't really damage us until the rest of Port started to nullify us, at which point Butters destroyed us.

Negatives
  • Didn't see Hough all game. Not sure what he was doing.
  • Cripps looks done. His last month it looks like he launched himself off Bluff Knoll.
  • Hewett starting to fade after a good start to the year.
  • I dont like to knock a young player but Hall is a bit of a nothing player. Gets decent stats but too often ball watching or reactionary. He doesn't seem to have that urgency that other young players have. Would much rather Gross come in next year if Hall hasn't improved.
  • This year blows.

Positives
  • Hedwards. I'll be first to admit I never thought he would make it but he's playing like peak Gov atm. He looks like a unit now too like he could literally fold someone in half.
  • Baker is a machine. Just keeps going like the energiser bunny. Solid chance at captain next year.

He just needs a fit Yeo and it'll all be far easier for him.

At present, he's taking the role of the senior #1 midfielder in his second season, which is pretty insane when you think about it.

If not Yeo, then at the very least a fit Hewett, another year into Hall and Hough actually doing a preseason as a midfielder should spread the load massively.
Don’t disagree and frustration would be high and fair enough but still some really silly frees which you’d hope you’d see less.

We ain't kicking massive scores with the Fwd lines we have put out the past two weeks
Don't see why the forward line was really the problem, kicked plenty in the first quarter when they had the supply. Just ran out of legs in the second half, which you'd expect from such a young midfield lacking a couple of extra ball winners.

Almost forgot; I'm basically conceding that when Duggan kicks the ball it's being turned over now. Sad times coz he tries his guts out but his bad kicking has now become expected.

Biggest positive: Harley telling JHF he ran home to mummy after 1 year.

I Love It Chefs Kiss GIF by Magic: The Gathering
I was getting ready for work so watching in and out, I was wondering if I'd misinterpreted. Pleased to see I didn't.

Positives:

Kids are very good, more than 6 months younger than the next youngest side this week. Midfield is very young and we were winning for 3/4 of the game.

Running games out comes with time but the future looks very good.

Negatives:

campaigners in here having a sook about Harley. You blokes reckon the port board cares that JHF and Butters are campaigners? Or only care about how well they play footy. The 20yo kid put us on his back today, I don’t give a **** if he wants to talk smack.

Harley deserves special recognition. He's playing for an awful side and gets targeted every week, but without fail he always steps up to tell every opposition player that they are a massive flog, and today's game was his masterpiece.

In a period where we've been terrible and I shouldn't feel justified calling other teams crap but still want to, he's been a standard bearer.

Almost forgot; I'm basically conceding that when Duggan kicks the ball it's being turned over now. Sad times coz he tries his guts out but his bad kicking has now become expected.

Going to be a sad decline for him but he'll be playing WAFL next year and we'll have a new Captain. I've always had a soft spot for him so a bit late to the party to lay shit on him but it's so obvious now I groan whenever we chip the ball to him in the back line and he's the obvious exit kick. Reckon that was at least 3 direct goals off his kicking tonight, and at least two weren't even the usual dump kicks.

He and Cole are the same.

From our list they’re almost irreplaceable as far as effort goes (replacing them with kids would be detrimental as frustrating as they are to watch) and at the very least they get their hands on the ball.

But that’s where the positives stop, serious lack of composure and cleanliness from both. Both need to be on Bakers level as senior players and they aren’t.

He just needs a fit Yeo and it'll all be far easier for him.

At present, he's taking the role of the senior #1 midfielder in his second season, which is pretty insane when you think about it.

If not Yeo, then at the very least a fit Hewett, another year into Hall and Hough actually doing a preseason as a midfielder should spread the load massively.
Its over for yeo, he is not coming back how you remember. This isnt 2018.

We did really well to scrap and scrape our way through what should have been an absolute trouncing in the second half of the second quarter and all of the third. We were second best and yet held on til late.

A lot to like. I know it's a low bar to celebrate, but we'd be the least bad 1-16 side ever.

• Harley. This is the first game where I've thought yep, okay, maybe he'll deliver on the hype and then some. He had a good game despite no help.
  • Shanahan. My god this kid is good. We've landed a winner there.
  • Hedwards. If Harley didn't get the chocolates for our BOG, this geezer surely does. He, Brock and Bazzo aren't out and out stars but they are all capable of very very good days. Hedwards reminds me of peak Eric Mackenzie.
  • Champion. Good effort lad. Showed some nice things.
  • Dewar also looked decent.
  • Hall too until he faded.

I actually didn't really notice McCarthy all that much in truth, but good to see he had another good game.

Downsides

• Duggan. STOP KICKING THE BALL.
  • Flynn and BWilliams both offered nothing.
  • Cripps has passed his use by date
  • Owies did nothing either
  • Umpiring. Soft

- Jack Graham. Do better. We have so few midfield leaders right now, we don't need you being a **** and missing basically the rest of the season for nothing.

Edwards being compared to Gov??

He was ok tonight, he also had some costly errors and somehow got nutmeged at a crucial stage.

I'm not going to bash him every week and he's best 22, but let's hope for the sake of the team that players like him, Owies, Cole (always been a fan) and Hutchinson start to fade out of the team over the coming years.

It's all good and within the parameters of rational expectation.
We needed Ryan and Graham out there..and will miss him for the Derby. (the nightly news now saying 'for a vile homophobic word'...I can't think of any one word that is 'vile'? :rolleyes:

But moving on, we just need a proper ruckman, a bit more midfield class around Harley, another preseason and trade period. We'll have Waterman back, maybe Oscar?, even old Yeo....and a super-invested Tim Kelly playing in the Wafl. Sheesh, even Hewett might improve. Gross should be the best midfielder to ever play AFL by then...and Hall, well he'll be the just the same, Hall! I've got my money on Hough...

Edwards being compared to Gov??

He was ok tonight, he also had some costly errors and somehow got nutmeged at a crucial stage.

I'm not going to bash him every week and he's best 22, but let's hope for the sake of the team that players like him, Owies, Cole (always been a fan) and Hutchinson start to fade out of the team over the coming years.
What ? Edwards was fantastic tonight.. i didnt think he had AFL level in him but his last month has been very good.

Autopsy Round 18, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Port