Autopsy Round 18, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Port

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Did you see Horney-Toad's post game interview about that?

"I thrive on that sort of stuff." (Paraphrase)

Mate, you jumped ship at North coz you got into trouble for not attending a recovery session, then cried into your cornflakes when crowds started booing you so much that your coach stepped up and whinged to the media. You don't thrive on the shit-stir, unless it's going your way coz your team is punching down.

Just on this - am I the only one that this is not lost on? Kenny goes into bat for Horne-Francis coz crowds are booing him, just to have his own crowd boo another kid. Fantastic supporter base.
Port are absolute filth.

Even derm had a slight dig....something along the lines of "theres sore losers, theres also bad winners" referencing butters gloating after they were infront.

Today's game just made me absolutely furious with Graham and Yeo to be honest šŸ—‘ļø

Zero enforcers out there. Zero support for the box of fireworks that is Harley Reid.

Bloke led the team in disposals, contested possessions, clearances, tackles, pressure acts and metres gained.. all while being tagged by Drew

Unfortunately he also got made to look like a Pelican and bullied by 2 opposition flogs with more experience who did a number on him. Butters and JHF.

Zero support. Hough ****ing invisible (9 touches) Hewett unsighted (14D) save for a couple cameo appearances after QT. Hall did ok, our equivalent of Drew.

Very very frustrating game to watch and see Reid try to wrestle the momentum back with his bravado, but get let down with nobody else stepping up with him. Got made to look silly really.

Kane Kornes is going to have an absolute field day with this game I reckon. Gets to rim his boy JHF whilst also heaping shit on Reid, absolutely perfect.

Especially annoyed with Hedwards for gifting that charity goal to Horn Flog which he should've touched. His only mistake for the game I will add, which makes it worse šŸ¤¦ā€ā™‚ļø
This is why we need to actually look at a mature mid that can actually average over 20 possessions and can win a fair share of contested ball. Harley need all that he can. Love hewett and I think he’ll be special but with his tank and an injuries I do think he still a few years away from that break out year.

Yes we desperately need that player
Can’t have such a young and inexperience midfield week in and week out and expect to compete

Derm is actually good commentating us, at least comparatively. Knows more than anyone and is usually pretty positive about the future prospects of the team.
Main thing is he gets us semi-regularly and he remembers players. I remember he gave Dewar big raps near the start of the game today for his running power, he wouldve remembered as he commentating Dewars game earlier in the year when he was robbed of the rising star nomination.

Its only a small thing but it makes a big difference, its just a disgrace how little effort most of the "analysts" put in

Add Milan Murdock to our list instead of a potato like Campbell/Barnett/Rawlinson and he's instantly got someone for support.

Other than:
  • The permanently injured bloke
  • The moron who makes the homophobic slurs
  • Timothy

Derm is actually good commentating us, at least comparatively. Knows more than anyone and is usually pretty positive about the future prospects of the team.

Derm is prone to waffling on like a drunk uncle on prescription gummies but he doesn't really stick the boot in for the sake of it (say... the complete opposite to Ricciuto this afternoon for example). He still has a great feel for the game and appreciates it's different to the good old days even when he doesn't agree with it.

Still super enthusiastic about the game over all and it comes through in the call. I find him overwhelmingly inoffensive which is a win for listening to an Eastern states caller.

I used to hate him commentate but he's better than most these days. He at least does some research and has realistic expectations on young players.

Edwards being compared to Gov??

He was ok tonight, he also had some costly errors and somehow got nutmeged at a crucial stage.

I'm not going to bash him every week and he's best 22, but let's hope for the sake of the team that players like him, Owies, Cole (always been a fan) and Hutchinson start to fade out of the team over the coming years.
Another shit take on Edwards, you bashed him a few weeks ago (also undeservedly) as well from memory.
Did he steal your girlfriend or date your mum or something?

Edwards being compared to Gov??

He was ok tonight, he also had some costly errors and somehow got nutmeged at a crucial stage.

I'm not going to bash him every week and he's best 22, but let's hope for the sake of the team that players like him, Owies, Cole (always been a fan) and Hutchinson start to fade out of the team over the coming years.

You are not seriously blaming him for being nutmegged by that 1/1000000 kick :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

But, but...Kelly had a break out game in the Wafl...kicked 2 goals, one a great goal on the run from about 50m...stay tuned. :tearsofjoy:

To be fair, if Kelly could bring any of that form from the WAFL back to the AFL it'd be huge.

He was almost back to his old self in the WAFL.

It's not a long term fix as a pairing with Harley, but neither is Houghs 9 touches or Hewetts 14D contribution.

If we were aware of a possible Graham suspension and Ryan being sore, probably the wrong week for TK to go find form in the WAFL. We were so light on in the middle today, unfair for Harley to carry all the midfield battles like he did.

For the amount of talent Port have, great effort. That's a 10 goal loss last season, improvement shown!

Add Milan Murdock to our list instead of a potato like Campbell/Barnett/Rawlinson and he's instantly got someone for support.

Other than:
  • Timothy
Milan Murdock at AFL level would quickly be one of your whipping boys. Adding a journeyman WAFL player would accomplish nil.

Pos
  • Harley back towards peak fitness played a good game. Pity it’s all up to him
  • Edwards very good, intercept machine now
  • Baker gives such great effort consistently
  • Dewar is developing although had some poor moments
  • Shanahan looks the goods
  • Effort was there all day which is not something that could be said for previous few years

Neg
  • We continue to get so opened up in transition and out of stoppage: oppo seems to have nobody go near them
  • Harley was distracted in last quarter to our detriment
  • The same old passengers (BWilliams, Owies) and Butchers (Hutch, Duggan).
  • I’m ready to move on from Duggan
  • Our midfield is nowhere near up to scratch. Hewett doesn’t provide a contest or gets pushed aside too often, and is fading out of games badly. More preseasons will help, but I wonder how much of it is concentration and application. Hough is struggling a bit, not sure it’s his position, obviously is great back, but end of day this is first year in there and still relatively young. And Hall is second year player only. We just can’t compete with that combo atm. I fear we are years away from where we need to be in here.
  • Any chance of someone providing a contest for the outlet kick from D50?

I was only able to see brief periods of the game, but when I saw we were up in the 3rd quarter I was like damn, won't get my hopes up. Especially when what I saw was Port bombing it in again and again late in the 3rd. To get as close as we did seems like a mighty effort. For Port to just win at home vs a historically bad side with so many of our stars out is an indictment on them. There's no good reason they will win a flag before us. Indeed I think they are close to rebuilding/falling off a cliff.

Yes, frustrating to not win, but we've hung in for 3 quarters.

Now that wooden spoon is as good as locked in please beat Richmond next week. After seeing last night's abomination surely we have to, for pride's sake.

Other than:
  • Timothy
No i mean a proven AFL mid. While Graham is a dumb **** he was never going to meaningfully help out reid, he isn’t a notorious accumulator and while he does the team/defensive thing (which help a bit) he isn’t enough of threat for the oppo.

Yeo dying and TK’s Idgaf attitude has really hurt him. Not to mention even duggan going through middle last year had a but of impact

Harry has been better than I thought this year, but he still has some areas to work on.

Aaliir on one leg, played a pretty good game. Read the ball well.
We made zerk spatcheler look a decent player last half. Absolute dud that bloke.. harry over that spud any effing day

We Missed a chance on exposing their backs..
Sadly they were too cool around the ball.

Autopsy Round 18, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Port