Game Day Round 18, 2025: West Coast vs Port Adelaide

Who is the biggest Port Dickhead of All Time?

Yeah? What's your point?

DS said match payments were $3-ishk and I said Kelly would've been on at least $5k, which the article I posted supports.
The point I was trying to make, albeit not well, was I thought some players didn't have match payments factored into their contracts.

They get paid a set amount regardless which would make Kelly missing a match irrelevant.

Maybe not.

Kelly only has 2 options Fremantle or West Coast because his wife won't leave the state unless a club would pay him a lot more money that West Coast which isn't happening. Fremantle don't need him so he reluctantly signed with West Coast. I can't imagine there was any talk about signing on so you can help the younger players and play some WAFL. Part of that would be playing as the sub when needed a role he clearly rejected.

From Kelly's perspective take the only offer available and work from there. Why West Coast gave him that deal nobody knows. I assume because the complete lack of experience in the midfield and they thought Kelly could be a mid fwd rotation, but why they gave him 2 years and why they couldn't see that his defensive failings would be exposed in a fwd line already containing Liam Ryan and an ageing Cripps and a midfield with Reid and Hewett is the question.

Kelly only has 2 options Fremantle or West Coast because his wife won't leave the state unless a club would pay him a lot more money that West Coast which isn't happening. Fremantle don't need him so he reluctantly signed with West Coast. I can't imagine there was any talk about signing on so you can help the younger players and play some WAFL. Part of that would be playing as the sub when needed a role he clearly rejected.

From Kelly's perspective take the only offer available and work from there. Why West Coast gave him that deal nobody knows. I assume because the complete lack of experience in the midfield and they thought Kelly could be a mid fwd rotation, but why they gave him 2 years and why they couldn't see that his defensive failings would be exposed in a fwd line already containing Liam Ryan and an ageing Cripps and a midfield with Reid and Hewett is the question.

Sunk cost fallacy

Gave up good picks for him, long term deal, coming from the Geelong footy factory they thought it was a big big win

As mentioned previously, the hate for TK might be tempered a little if we found out his contract extension was for SFA.

We’re not in the four walls to know why a seemingly unnecessary extension was given, and why it was two not one year.

But there is a scenario where they’ve said to him we’ll extend your contract for two years on SFA $$$, on the basis you play most of your time in the WAFL - because we need more experience in that team.

TK gets to be in Perth every weekend with his family and, even on SFA, is still on a far better wage than a labourer.

But I know that possibility won’t sit well with the haters.
Well you can have one two examples … Sumich reckons it’s $800,000, Gossage reckons it’s $400,000

We could see a very different fwd line this week which will be a good thing. Firstly we need a link up player to get up the ground and deliver the ball in instead of bombing it to 3 gigantic tall fwds with no ground level support. I would rather Jack Williams hold his spot and Flynn go out but Maric who is a prototype third tall fwd or Hutchinson or Dewar as mid sized marking options would not only improve the fwd line it would improve the form of Maric or Hutchinson who are not wingmen. Maric destroyed Fremantle in the 1st derby last year and has not played forward since.

Forward pressure is the other issue. Forward pressure requires a collective effort and if Ryan is out with Kelly and Long comes in to play alongside Champion and Owies we should see a big improvement in that area.

I find it hard to believe that Kelly would have re-signed for a low contract offer.

Why not? It's still good money compared to being retired.

Milk another couple years on 400-500k "low wage" for your family and you're still better off than being a sparky on >150k and having to actually work.

This is coming from a former sparky flog.

Even if he was a business owner, which could be the case, he's still not going to be hitting that measly AFL wage.

As mentioned previously, the hate for TK might be tempered a little if we found out his contract extension was for SFA.

We’re not in the four walls to know why a seemingly unnecessary extension was given, and why it was two not one year.

But there is a scenario where they’ve said to him we’ll extend your contract for two years on SFA $$$, on the basis you play most of your time in the WAFL - because we need more experience in that team.

TK gets to be in Perth every weekend with his family and, even on SFA, is still on a far better wage than a labourer.

But I know that possibility won’t sit well with the haters.
I heard his management shopped him around to Fremantle so naturally they put in a bid higher than ours with no intention of taking him but to force us to at least match their bid our new genius list manager obviously fell for it. Their is a world we could have potentially traded kelly to freo for semi-decent compensation. Anyways my point is it's not SFA.

To be fair guyz...

He actually loses money by playing WAFL as he doesn't get his AFL match payment like he would if he was the sub.

WAFL means he stays here with his family over the weekend rather than go away for whats likely 25 mins of actual game time.

I'm not entirely sure what match payments are up to these days (3k rings a bell) but likely he'll be burning a few thousand by staying.
That tells me his juicy 2 year extension means a pittance of 3k-5k is inconsequential to his finances.

Well you can have one two examples … Sumich reckons it’s $800,000, Gossage reckons it’s $400,000

There's no way its 800k. Everyone thought he was on around 1mill or more when he came over from Geelong but Simmo said publicly recently that that figure was way overs what the reality was.

It's likely he was on 800-900 on his initial deal and his current deal is around 300-400 mark. That's around the median for an AFL player, and Kelly is a median player.

There's no way its 800k. Everyone thought he was on around 1mill or more when he came over from Geelong but Simmo said publicly recently that that figure was way overs what the reality was.

It's likely he was on 800-900 on his initial deal and his current deal is around 300-400 mark. That's around the median for an AFL player, and Kelly is a median player.
His salary this year is north of $1m.

Unusually unexcited about this game.
Boredom must be catching up with me, late season ennui.
Anyway, get up, get down, lie flat, coach recline, sofa surf, whatever, it's lame day!

Excited Game Day GIF by SuccessionHBO

Jesus f*cking Christ, Jack...

And FOUR games? Are you f*cking kidding me? In the most fine happy league on the planet this crap is worth GAMES?!
It’s ok, you can threaten to send the boys around to someone’s hotel and only get a game off but call someone a name then sit out a month