Captains Round 18 VC / Capt thread

• Thread starter Thread starter toxic

But you are also using up your emergency. What if one of your other players is a late withdrawal such as Sam Mitchell last week? It's probably more likely to occur as we reach the end of the season and teams decide to rest players.

Besides, when was the last time Ablett got injured during a match? (touches wood)
He's only played less than 75% game time in a match 3 times in the last 9 years (r17 2006, r15 2008 and r16 2011)

I don't have that problem, half my team is out. I will be screaming up the ladder when Gaz gets injured #winning FML

But you are also using up your emergency. What if one of your other players is a late withdrawal such as Sam Mitchell last week? It's probably more likely to occur as we reach the end of the season and teams decide to rest players.

Besides, when was the last time Ablett got injured during a match? (touches wood)
He's only played less than 75% game time in a match 3 times in the last 9 years (r17 2006, r15 2008 and r16 2011)

You don't have to use a midfield emergency. You can loophole him with somebody on any line.

Choose two emergencies from your mids then, you don't have to choose one from each line

And sacrifice my other lines?

My point is, that I think using the captain loophole is overrated, especially while Ablett is playing. Yes it gives you a double shot but it also increase risks of a donut.

I would be curious to analyse how many points people have actually gained through the loophole.

And sacrifice my other lines?

My point is, that I think using the captain loophole is overrated, especially while Ablett is playing. Yes it gives you a double shot but it also increase risks of a donut.

I would be curious to analyse how many points people have actually gained through the loophole.

for me - using the VC/Capt loophole has probably gained me about 600 points this season. using the emergency loophole has gained me an extra 300 points i reckon so far.

For eg: If you have cox and Minson playing in the ruck and you have Nicholls as you back up.
Minson plays first - Cox plays second - there is no point leaving the emergency on Nicholls as it gains nothing. take the emergency off him and you can use it elsewhere. It doesn't always work out that you can have a spare emergency but quite often it does, it all depends on match order and players etc.
I always try and make my first choice (player who i think will score the most as VC) then try and choose my next best option after that as my security C
others like to gamble there VC and then use GAJ or Pendles as the insurance C.

personal choice / gamble either way

for me - using the VC/Capt loophole has probably gained me about 600 points this season. using the emergency loophole has gained me an extra 300 points i reckon so far.

lolwat? 600 points for the season? That's 35 points per round! Are you picking between Gary Ablett and Zac Dawson for captain or something.

Here is a list of my captain/vice captain choices so far:

sc captain.JPG
In rounds 1-3, I could not use the loophole because all my bench players were playing. :footy:
In round 4, my two captain choices were playing at the same time so the loophole was not possible. ;)
In rounds 5-6, I gambled and broke even with my loophole choices. o_O
In rounds 9, 11, 15 and 17, my first choice Ablett topscored for my team so any attempt to use the loophole could only have lost me points. :p
In round 16, I used the loophole and gained 33 points with Pendlebury topscoring for my team. :thumbsu:
In all the other rounds, neither my C or VC choice were my topscorer, I did not select the right men. :confused:
Only in round 8 did my VC outscore my C and only by 8 points. So i lost a potential 8 points in that round from not using the loophole. :(

So the loophole gained me 33 points so far. If I used it more often I could have gained another 8 points.
Although I could also have lost, for example, if i was content with Pendles 119 in round 9 and missed Ablett's 149.

Most of the time when Ablett didn't topscore, the topscore was achieved by a player I wasn't even considering for C or VC.

I'm going to have Ablett as VC for the rest of the season. A lot of my opponents in my cash league make him C. Why they do this is beyond me! I love having the POD option mid round.

Eg. There is a good chance that I will finish 4th and play the top team in the 1st final in round 20. What if Ablett scores 135 against the Dees on Saturday night? My likely opponent will have Ablett as C, if he doesn't then he would happily take 135.

Before the games start on that Sunday I will assess who is in the better position. If he has the advantage or things are to close to call than I will make Barlow C against GWS! If I come out of the GC game ahead then I will make Sinclair or Atkins C.

I know the loophole has cost me more than its made me over the year. But that wont stop me from trying again. Especially with Carrots on Gaz and Gaz coming off an absolute blinder.
I'll have the vc on ga and the big c on sj, who should be as hungry as a hippo.

lolwat? 600 points for the season? That's 35 points per round! Are you picking between Gary Ablett and Zac Dawson for captain or something.

Here is a list of my captain/vice captain choices so far:

View attachment 24594
In rounds 1-3, I could not use the loophole because all my bench players were playing. :footy:
In round 4, my two captain choices were playing at the same time so the loophole was not possible. ;)
In rounds 5-6, I gambled and broke even with my loophole choices. o_O
In rounds 9, 11, 15 and 17, my first choice Ablett topscored for my team so any attempt to use the loophole could only have lost me points. :p
In round 16, I used the loophole and gained 33 points with Pendlebury topscoring for my team. :thumbsu:
In all the other rounds, neither my C or VC choice were my topscorer, I did not select the right men. :confused:
Only in round 8 did my VC outscore my C and only by 8 points. So i lost a potential 8 points in that round from not using the loophole. :(

So the loophole gained me 33 points so far. If I used it more often I could have gained another 8 points.
Although I could also have lost, for example, if i was content with Pendles 119 in round 9 and missed Ablett's 149.

Most of the time when Ablett didn't topscore, the topscore was achieved by a player I wasn't even considering for C or VC.

Just for my info, who were your R3 & R4 for Rd 1?

Just interested,

Just for my info, who were your R3 & R4 for Rd 1?

Just interested,

Blicavs and Leuenburger (DNP).
I temporarily had Roughead as R2 and Rowe as F8 until Leuey started in round 2.

In round 3, Macaffer was dropped by I still couldn't use the loophole because my only option Cox (who topscored with 174) was playing before Ablett, so no swapping with Macaffer would have been possible.

I like gambling on uniques for VC in the hope that they will get a Rd high score to put me above the pack and hopefully arse a weekly prise. GAJ is usually my fall back Capt. Some of my VC's this year have included Murphy, Buddy, Gibbs, NRoo, Swallow, Stanton x2. None have worked out so far, but luckily my C choices have saved the day for the most part. Am considering putting the VC on Murphy this week instead of GAJ in the hope that GAJ will cop a MM special triple team tag. Then put the C on one of Pendles, Swan, Jelwood or SJ. Just think Murph is due to remind everyone of what he's capable off. He's had a few weeks back from injury, now it's time to go BANG with a 160+!

Blicavs and Leuenburger (DNP).
I temporarily had Roughead as R2 and Rowe as F8 until Leuey started in round 2.

In round 3, Macaffer was dropped by I still couldn't use the loophole because my only option Cox (who topscored with 174) was playing before Ablett, so no swapping with Macaffer would have been possible.

Thanks,

A lot of people I know started with Blitz at R3 and non-player (ie Currie/Naismith) at R4 and this provided some opportunity for the loophole,

I think you are completely missing the point of using the "loophole" mate

Not at all. But the loophole only works if you're nominated alternative player beats your regular captain's score. Now given the regular captain is probably Ablett, how often will your nominated alternative beat his score?

Ablett has top-scored for my team 5 times this year, more than any other player. So that means that on 12 other occasions I chose the wrong captain. But how reliably can you pick who will top-score in your team?

Usually the player who top-scores is not the player you predict it will be. For example, my only player who outscored Ablett in round 7 was Rockliff who was never in contention for captaincy - in round 10 it was Aaron Black.

Even if you do pick correctly, with Ablett's consistency it's unlikely the gains through the loophole will be much more than 10-15 points.

Furthermore, using the loophole can actually lower your score compared to using a sit-and-forget captain. Like when I used it with Pendlebury and was happy with his 136 before Ablett pumped out a 160.

It's just risk vs reward, especially when it costs you an emergency slot. I don't find it as valuable as some others.

Not at all. But the loophole only works if you're nominated alternative player beats your regular captain's score. Now given the regular captain is probably Ablett, how often will your nominated alternative beat his score?

Ablett has top-scored for my team 5 times this year, more than any other player. So that means that on 12 other occasions I chose the wrong captain. But how reliably can you pick who will top-score in your team?

Usually the player who top-scores is not the player you predict it will be. For example, my only player who outscored Ablett in round 7 was Rockliff who was never in contention for captaincy - in round 10 it was Aaron Black.

Even if you do pick correctly, with Ablett's consistency it's unlikely the gains through the loophole will be much more than 10-15 points.

Furthermore, using the loophole can actually lower your score compared to using a sit-and-forget captain. Like when I used it with Pendlebury and was happy with his 136 before Ablett pumped out a 160.

It's just risk vs reward, especially when it costs you an emergency slot. I don't find it as valuable as some others.

I just like having a "double crack" with Ablett as the ultimate first up insurance whenever possible!

As Ablett happens to be obviously the most popular C week in, week out. If he happens to have a 'slip up' you have a HUGE edge, over the field

You do realise that Carlton is the team Ablett has historically played the worst against, that is throughout his entire career, even if you usually go with the C on him, this is the week to give him the VC and try the loophole.

Oh I am totally using the loophole this week. But I don't expect it to work.