Prediction Round 19, 2025: Changes vs Richmond

He has been there and done it so his opinion is probably pretty good. I have no idea also why we are resting Hewit, if he is injured fine but a rest?? Fair dinkum you have to be kidding.
Have you actually heard him talk lately, his opinion is not pretty good. Just because he is experienced and been there done that doesn’t excuse his vile behaviour. And again the running players do in modern footy is worlds apart to what old mate suma did back in his day.

I don’t mind your take sticking up for the foundations of footy, but I can’t see how anyone can defend what this moron says.

So we all know Hewett had some pretty severe foot injury that took a long time to finally mend.
Let's just say the foot doctor that helped him get over the injury has caught up with him for a review and said something along the lines of "if you don't give your feet a rest for a week or 2 it will start coming back and you may miss another season"
Ahh he's young he's 20 for F-Sake let him play, gee wizz in my day we would play 2-3 games in a weekend yada yada yada.
Yep let's risk one of our future key players because he's only 20 and "should" be fine.

Have you actually heard him talk lately, his opinion is not pretty good. Just because he is experienced and been there done that doesn’t excuse his vile behaviour. And again the running players do in modern footy is worlds apart to what old mate suma did back in his day.

I don’t mind your take sticking up for the foundations of footy, but I can’t see how anyone can defend what this moron says.

My point is more that it would not matter who said what he says, be it Leigh Matthews, Nathan Buckley, Kevin Sheedy, Gerard Whately, Gary lyon etc etc . WCE BF board simply hates anyone who is critical of the club and it's players even if its true.
I like honest opinions and I think you get that from Suma, clearly you don't and thats ok.

Here it is right up the front rant central

I used to enjoy listening to this show but it has become moronic. Tony Micale is just as bad as Sumich and bordering on being worse than Kane Cornes, actually they have gone past him. The show and station will have no listeners soon and be off the air which is a shame.

So we all know Hewett had some pretty severe foot injury that took a long time to finally mend.
Let's just say the foot doctor that helped him get over the injury has caught up with him for a review and said something along the lines of "if you don't give your feet a rest for a week or 2 it will start coming back and you may miss another season"
Ahh he's young he's 20 for F-Sake let him play, gee wizz in my day we would play 2-3 games in a weekend yada yada yada.
Yep let's risk one of our future key players because he's only 20 and "should" be fine.

No that is crap, how simple is it for the club to come out and say that following medical advice we have decided to rest Hewit. Stop cracking others opinions because you don't know anymore than we do what happens inside the club so we can only have an opinion on what they tell us. They have said he needs a rest. Why?

My point is more that it would not matter who said what he says, be it Leigh Matthews, Nathan Buckley, Kevin Sheedy, Gerard Whately, Gary lyon etc etc . WCE BF board simply hates anyone who is critical of the club and it's players even if its true.
I like honest opinions and I think you get that from Suma, clearly you don't and thats ok.
An idiot can be honest without being correct, informed or logical. Thats what an idiot is.

I used to enjoy listening to this show but it has become moronic. Tony Micale is just as bad as Sumich and bordering on being worse than Kane Cornes, actually they have gone past him. The show and station will have no listeners soon and be off the air which is a shame.

Case in point, anyone who is critical of our club has no idea.

Most on here dont have issues with well thought out analysis and criticism. Sadly, much of the modern media are click bait and sensationalist with little thought or intelligence used to form an argument. guess where your mate suma falls?

People have pointed out flaws in what he has said. instead of choosing to argue those points (for instance modern running and coming off a serious injury seems like common sense for a rest, but your implication its some sort of weak trait in modern footy), you are blindly accepting what suma says because he "has been there and done that" righto.

ps. no issue with what he said about petch. him getting a game is a bad move by the club. Everything else he said tho, just shows he has NFI.

Most on here dont have issues with well thought out analysis and criticism. Sadly, much of the modern media are click bait and sensationalist with little thought or intelligence used to form an argument. guess where your mate suma falls?

People have pointed out flaws in what he has said. instead of choosing to argue those points (for instance modern running and coming off a serious injury seems like common sense for a rest, but your implication its some sort of weak trait in modern footy), you are blindly accepting what suma says because he "has been there and done that" righto.

ps. no issue with what he said about petch. him getting a game is a bad move by the club. Everything else he said tho, just shows he has NFI.

I am not saying anything, I want the club to explain. You reckon he would be playing if we were playing for a finals spot?

It’s all well and good to say that we are bringing in senior players to try and get a win, but have you seen how our senior players play at the moment? We’ve got more chance of winning by leaving the young guys in the team because our senior players constantly stuff up our ball movement or they just don’t turn up.
The gross mismanagement of Tom Gross is also a red flag for me.

No that is crap, how simple is it for the club to come out and say that following medical advice we have decided to rest Hewit. Stop cracking others opinions because you don't know anymore than we do what happens inside the club so we can only have an opinion on what they tell us. They have said he needs a rest. Why?

Isn't that what 'managed' means?

Pretty sure they don't just randomly decide to manage players for no reason.

They do it with advice from S&C/medical team.

What other reason could there be for using the term "managed" if not for some type of medical issue/reason.
A 21 year old in his first full season after missing a whole year with a potential career ending injury that he has finally gotten on top of is "managed".
Mmmm I wonder why? Why isn't the club disclosing his full medical records so us fans/members can be at peace?

As a Member I put my faith in the people running the club, coaches, medicos etc to make the right choices.
If they need to rest or manage a player so be it, there must be a good reason.
Hewett.

Case in point, anyone who is critical of our club has no idea.

That’s rubbish. People in the media can be as critical of the club as they like if they’re genuine about it. By and large no one has a problem with that.

Sumich, on the other hand, hasn’t said a positive thing about the club since he lost out to Simpson for the top job in 2013, and he’s become progressively more unhinged about it.

Hewett has played 15 of a possible 17 games averaging around 75%TOG (excluding the 33% he played in the R3 derby when he was the starting sub)

Missed R4-5 with calf tightness and has played every game since

After not having played at all last season and coming off a modified preseason where his workload was purposely managed it should come as no surprise he might be a bit sore and in need of a rest

genius this bloke

Sounds like he's mentally challenged (or whatever the pc word is these days) or got a mouthful of broccoli? Just sounds as thick as a palette of bricks...wonder why he didn't get a coaching job? Was a Freo assistant coach ten yrs ago...should move on.

Sheesh, it's pretty simple stuff, he's banged up, body sore, needs a rest - what's the big deal? Had an interrupted preseason and again early this season, they've got a whole medico team working on this stuff, best injury list for ages, but let's make a conspiracy out of it? What does it matter 'why'? - he's a footballer, they get banged up, he has injury history. I'm just amazed (and grateful) that Harley hasn't copped an injury yet.