Autopsy Round 19, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Richmond

It’s pretty simple really. We have very few senior players leading the way & the good ones we have are all injured.

Just look at the way Richmond’s senior players are leading the way tonight. They actually have senior player performing in the midfield & all we have is kids.

We look really good at times and can string some good passages together which normally involve the younger players but they just can’t keep it up and get overwhelmed.

At other times I feel like the younger players try and do too much because they just aren’t getting any help.

Phil was right when he said we hadn’t hit rock bottom last year.

You have to make Harley Captain and trust he leads us out.
Nah, Harley doesnt have the head for it. At least not yet. He suffers from not having an experienced older mid in the side to tell him when to get off the chain and when to pull his head in. Like Duggan, the captaincy would just f*ck up his footy I reckon.

We gained Baker and Graham, but lost Waterman, Allen, Gov, Kelly and Yeo from our best 22

Far more went out than came in.
That's on us for pinning hopes on 30+ year olds in yeo and gov and Kelly. In fact sackable offense if somebody was preparing for those 30+ year old to not fall of the cliff

Should we be farkin surprised they would break down. Common sense.

Surely that was our last chance at a possible win for the season?

Otherwise…

Worst all time AFL/VFL win/loss record in a 22 game season.

*2025? - West Coast (1-17) 63.6%

1996 - Fitzroy (1-21) 49.5%

2013 - GWS (1-21) 51%

1972 - North Melbourne (1-21) 62.9%

1981 - Melbourne (1-21) 63.5%

Surely that was our last chance at a possible win for the season?

Otherwise…

Worst all time AFL/VFL win/loss record in a 22 game season.

*2025? - West Coast (1-17) 63.6%

1996 - Fitzroy (1-21) 49.5%

2013 - GWS (1-21) 51%

1972 - North Melbourne (1-21) 62.9%

1981 - Melbourne (1-21) 63.5%
Maybe the last game if Sydney send all their bloke in for surgery once they are officially knocked out of the finals.

I think this night, right here is the lowest point in clubs history, simple as that.

I'm not angry at the senior players, because most of them are irrelevant losers who don't matter. It's not actually their fault that the club is stupid or desperate enough to pay them- if you were them wouldn't you take the money from the one team in the AFL willing to give it to you?

But I'm very angry at the delusional ****heads who run west coast and have managed to destroy a once proud club.

No Harley no eagles.
Mulmtiple spuds without the mental ability or inate skill to compete at AFL level.
J Williams has always looked mentally weak. Just a disgrace today - no leading no thought for team mates.
Final quarter showed that with effort we can do something - but poor skill, poise and haveing not forward targets destroyed us.
Our long term problem has been drafting and trading abetted by a lack of leadership. Short term make Baker captain and never split - top 10's win matches. Even Ginbey is a tryer only - compete well but of the pace and lacks skill.

That's on us for pinning hopes on 30+ year olds in yeo and gov and Kelly. In fact sackable offense if somebody was preparing for those 30+ year old to not fall of the cliff

Should we be farkin surprised they would break down. Common sense.
Not sure Gov broke down? Even Yeos was a collision and not soft tissue. The drop off of Kelly is next level….. then to hand him a 2 year deal…….. wtf

I didn’t watch the last half of the second half but. Only positives were Harley and Harry Edwards.

The rest was ****ing horrible.

I commented Duggan was pretty good but after that he was utter trash. Will go down as the worst captain in club history and I think it will take years for him to be over thrown.

Tim Kelly is poison to have a around this group. Utter trash footballer that shouldn’t be playing league footy. The contract angers be but will anger me is that we still won’t have enough cattle around next season to keep him in the fringes.

Get.In.The.Bin.

Club is ****ed.

Baffling that we can serve that up. We are in that dark zone where no matter how poor the opponent we will manufacture a losing performance.

Soul destroying. Really disappointed with tonight.

Positives:
  • Reid. Mini is right, if we had a team of players who played with his heart, we'd be unstoppable.
  • Ginbey. Tried hard and can hold his head up.

Negs:
  • Skills. (can't hit teammates with handballs. BBW dropping 50 marks)
  • Decision making. (any handball is to whatever blue shirt is visible and it's usually a hospital handpass)
  • Work rate. (where is everyone when they counter? where is everyone when we're trying to run and play on? in fact, where is the playing on?)
  • If it's not giving the opposition ruck a PB game, it's giving someone a run down tackle highlight for the ages.

The team is incredibly young so a lot of the negatives hopefully subside with time, but boy it was difficult to watch.

Super Mega Ultra Emo Negatives:
  • Believing, again, that bringing in Kelly would result in some leadership and impact.
  • being a side that relies on Reid, a second year player to do it all. So when he's tagged, we immediately get bent over.
  • 2025 draft is being called weak and shallow. So our chances of drafting a couple of decent players to plug gaps is low. That leaves us with just 2026 to draft more players before Tassie annihilates all the talent for 2 (3?) years.

No one is talking about it but our forward line is actually shocking at the moment. Yeah the delivery hasn't been great but no one in there looks like doing anything. Cripps, Owies and Ryan are all cooked. Bailey does one good thing a game. Jack is using the games to catch up on sleep and Shanahan is too green.

Autopsy Round 19, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Richmond