PREAMBLE: BOYZ II MEN

ByJDfHgCIAEvNUm.jpg:small

Matt+Spangher+DH1YaItCcmRm.jpg

Quinten+Lynch+pR_0KeVEcoam.jpg

Jarryd+Roughead+Hawthorn+Hawks+Media+Session+eUlP6bkpXmVl.jpg

LAST TIME WE MET

479440544-rd-14-melbourne-v-west-coast-gettyimages.jpg

R12, 2014, Hawthorn 19.9 (123) d West Coast 12.7 (79) at Aurora Stadium

Do you guys remember 2014? I don't. Back when we last played the Hawks in godless Tasmania, Dean Cox and Darren Glass were still playing, Brown and Mackenzie were both in an upright position and Jeremy McGovern was still a riddle wrapped in an enigma wrapped in an out-of-shape forward. None of that makes sense to me anymore. Anyway, it wasn't pretty. Roughhead (affectionately referred to as "that big red bastard" by one poster in the aftermath of the game) gave us - and particularly Ezy - a fair old reaming, kicking a lazy eight goals. It was our third straight loss and enough for even the more sensible among us to acknowledge that our season was probably farked. Let us never speak of it again.

FORM GUIDE

1416181813152_Image_galleryImage_A_sunburned_Attorney_Gene.JPG

George Brandis isn't the only one who wishes he didn't get...sunburnt.

The Hawks got beaten at their own annoying possession-heavy game by a resurgent Richmond, who are at the very least probably not going to finish ninth this year. Deledio kicked three goals in the first quarter, France towelled up Roughie and Maric won the ruck battle. They were probably due for an off game but it was still nice to see something bring the relentless Victorian media hype to an end. Richmond are now Premiership favourites so we may as well not bother with the rest of the season.

Honestly, the less said about our game last week, the better. Essentially, we both came second. But you'd probably have to give the symbolic victory to the Suns given they had no Ablett, no Rischitelli and a dominant performance from Harley Bennell, who looks increasingly unlikely to come home and don the wings. At least this happened, though...

YGuA5JB.gif

TEAMS

They haven't been announced yet. But if there's any good in this world, we'll be seeing the return of the Gov when we need him most.

jeremy_mcgovern-628.jpg

I love you Gov. I think about you at night when I sleep.

If last week taught us anything else (and it didn't), it's that going in unchanged makes us complacent and bad at winning and we should at least make one token change per week.

Likely team:

IN: McGovern, Butler
OUT: Barrass (unlucky), Hutchings (WAFL/delist)

Schofield McGovern Hurn
Ellis Sheppard Wellingham
Yeo Priddis Gaff
Masten Kennedy Hill
LeCras Darling Cripps
Naitanui Shuey Sheed
Butler Selwood Sinclair
Sub: Rosa

Hawks (mostly just guessing here):

Gibson Lake Duryea
Birchall Frawley Stratton
Smith Mitchell Hill
Gunston McEvoy Rioli
Breust Roughead Puopolo
Ceglar Hodge Lewis
Burgoyne Shiels Schoenmakers
Sub: Hartung

KEYS TO THE GAME

BoarWSgIcAA9MNa.jpg

"Elephants don't have keys."

1) Smart footy. We simply won't beat a side as good as the Hawks if we make bad decisions or use the ball poorly. In many ways our gameplan is similar to theirs so none of this should come as any surprise but the Hawks have a number of players who are excellent at reading the play and setting up loose behind the ball. They're also capable of playing fairly tall, which means we can't afford to just bomb it into our forward 50 in hope (I'm looking at you, Rosa).

2) Managing their smalls. Newsflash: We don't play well against dangerous small forwards. Hawthorn have one of the best in Rioli and one of the most opportunistic in Puopolo. Our defensive zone will likely come under more pressure this week than it has all season but we need to hold it together and not get sucked into too many one-on-ones. We'll also need big games from the likes of Wellingham, Ellis and Butler, assuming he's named.

3) Offensive pressure. This has been a strong point for us this year and we'll definitely need it this week. The Hawks have so many dangerous players in their backline - Gibson, Burgoyne, often Hodge and/or Mitchell - which makes them so dangerous on the rebound. We simply can't let Hodge float around unattended as I've seen so many teams do this year because he will carve us up. Cripps has been huge for us all season and we'll need him firing this week.

4) Converting our chances. We kicked 11.17 last week. That speaks for itself.

5)Nic Nat and the midfield. There's talk on the Hawks board that Hale will be out this week - and he was pretty shit against Richmond tbh. You'd think NN and Sinkers would come out on top of McEvoy and Ceglar but Nic will have to be on the top of his game to give us a chance, given the Hawks' midfield depth. He delivered his worst performance in quite a while against the Suns but has thrived in the big games this year. Needless to say, the likes of Priddis, Shuey, Yeo and Sheed all need to step up too.

PREDICTION

654936_thumb.jpg

My head says we're probably going to lose, but my heart and my groin say **** that! We can't lose to these poo-and-wee-coloured pricks! Believe! Eagles by 1 point.

Butler will be rusty after some time out and will take a long time to adjust to the tempo of the game. Expecting him to leak a couple of goals early.

McGinnity will have zero impact.

Reckon we will revert to 2014 WC and lose by 40-50 points

Butler will be rusty after some time out and will take a long time to adjust to the tempo of the game. Expecting him to leak a couple of goals early.

McGinnity will have zero impact.

Reckon we will revert to 2014 WC and lose by 40-50 points
So they dropped a midfielder and a forward for a back man and a crab. So we are playing 1 less forward this week, lets drop a guy who has kicked 20 plus goals this year for someone who hasn't kicked 20 in his career. Lets hope he is only the sub and plays less than a quarter because running around like a headless chook is okay for that length of time but any more than that and we are basically playing one short

Tough game, hoping we can really shove it up them & show the world what we stand for. A victory here would make the boys believe in themselves. A loss will leave all the question marks about our side still open.

I want to believe.

So they dropped a midfielder and a forward for a back man and a crab. So we are playing 1 less forward this week, lets drop a guy who has kicked 20 plus goals this year for someone who hasn't kicked 20 in his career. Lets hope he is only the sub and plays less than a quarter because running around like a headless chook is okay for that length of time but any more than that and we are basically playing one short
I am gutted about McGinnity being in the team. Okay Butler and McGovern are good players The GOV is a star. I would have played Hill as the sub to be honest let him come on and kick one or two goals which is all he needs to do as a small forward.

Good write up. Give us a win eagles. We have gov, that's all we need!.... (and 21 other competent players)
#loveTheGov

Out: Hale
In: Hail

Bom's latest for tomorrow sounds pretty grim.

Cloudy. Very high (90%) chance of showers, most likely in the morning and early afternoon. The chance of a thunderstorm in the late afternoon and evening, most likely over western suburbs, with possible hail. Winds westerly 20 to 30 km/h turning south to southwesterly 25 to 35 km/h during the day.

Good write up. Give us a win eagles. We have gov, that's all we need!.... (and 21 other competent players)
#loveTheGov
Yep, man only wish we had Duggan and or Tunbridge injury free. Its sad that we would put fait in two young rookies over Pat McGinnity

We lose this one but win next week and I'm happy with that.

Hawks by 18.
We need to be positive, yes the Hawks are favourites, but we have to turn up and give it a red hot go if we loose then so be it. But if we want to be considered a top two side then we have to start winning these games, lets face it we are not going to play St Kilda, Melbourne, GWS in the finals

I expect a low scoring grind with the Hawks skill slowly opening us up, mind you I wouldn't be surprised if we smashed them by 50 points either. In my dreams we jump out the blocks and take full advantage on the scoreboard. Game settles into a grind before we kick away in the final quarter.

We need to be positive, yes the Hawks are favourites, but we have to turn up and give it a red hot go if we loose then so be it. But if we want to be considered a top two side then we have to start winning these games, lets face it we are not going to play St Kilda, Melbourne, GWS in the finals
Yep I agree with all of this but still think we lose this game and then get angry next week and carry it through to the finals.
I hope we win but wont be too fussed if we lose, as long as we are competitive and shows some good signs.

Get Hill back and angry after being replaced by Ginners.
Finally come to the realisation that Selwood is going and play Colledge instead.
Tomorrows game gives the coaches another look at the Hawks before finals when it really counts.

Goddammit. ...so basically the hawks will feel right at home. >_<
Does wet conditions reduce the gap between skill levels, or widen it?

That's going to be the golden question I guess

Yeah sounds like it might be a slog fest which could benefit either way.

Was just hoping to see how our gameplan held up to the best without some satanic weather butting in.

In wet weather mcginnity in for hill is a plus hopefully he smashes a few of their old gits like hodge mitchel burgoyne and lewis .