Prediction Round 2, 2025: Changes vs Brisbane

I had to take a break from footy after last weeks loss. I've stuck with this team though the highest highs and the lowest lows, but I have to say the feelings I had after watching us against Gold Coast last weekend...that was the flattest I've been in my entire time as a fan.

I had tempered expectations, like all here I just wanted to see some improvement and most importantly...maximum effort. I didn't expect to be let down so badly in that regard. You'd think with a new coach, new plan, fresh new faces, higher training standards, some harder bodies etc, that we could produce that at a minimum against a team we beat at home last year. Instead, we were all served a shit sandwich. The vision was ugly.

Anyway, this week I just want to see one thing. Maximum effort. I won't set my expectations any higher than that for now.

There's an opportunity here to redeem ourselves for last week. We can go ****en hard against the reigning premiers at home. I hope this team grabs it with both hands.

UP THE FARKEN COASTERS :blueheart::yellowheart:🦅

Get my boy Bailey up in ya keeeents!!

In all seriousness though the Petch selection is a little weird, expect him to be rolling through the centre but wish that opportunity was given to Gross or Hall.

We seemed a mid down on rotations last week, not only did we get beaten up in clearances but got ran off our legs as well.

Means the only actual, genuine stoppage midfielders in the pure sense we have out there are:

Harley - probably not fit enough for full midfield
Hewett - ditto
Kelly

That's it. Literally it. Could make a case for Graham but like Duggan I'd argue he's more of a flanker who'll do a role in there but isn't a stoppage craft specialist.

We have enough HFFs (assume they'll be rotating through like mad) - could have been the perfect balance for Hall to get another chance or Gross to pull out a performance with his back against the wall like he did for the B team in preseason. Think we're undervaluing fulltime stoppage players greatly.

Brisbane have Neale, Dunkley, McSuitcase, Ashcroft X2 and arguably Berry as actual stoppage players with the fitness to spend all game in there if they have to, but won't cause they'll rest amongst themselves and be cherry ripe every bounce. BBBBBBBBW is going to have to pull out another 13 clearance game this week.

I'll say this...

I much prefer Williams in this team rucking on his own compared to when he's in it sharing ruck duties with someone and playing FWD. Hopefully he channels some of that Bailey 2023 energy.

Hey mate, reckon you could give us another 6 to 7 posts about your thoughts on Bailey Williams? I didn't quite get the vibe you were going for in your first 10. Thx

Both ****en suck tbh. I’m a bit favourable to flynn as he’s been injured and his lack of games meant I’ve been to his mediocrity that much, which I cannot say for Bailey.

Frustrated Head GIF

Flynn the scapegoat for our shit mids.

Scapegoat? More like fn potato. He sucked before we got him, sucks now and will end his career sucking. I was at the ground and he was horrible. I get that Witts rules, and he does. I’m all for bringing in a different kind of horrible in Bailey, such is the state of our ruck stocks at present.

I vote they each take turns of playing and getting dropped each week until we concede the position completely or get a decent ruck option in.

In reality if it was BWill last week, we would have all been crying out for Flynn to come in. Witts is a beast and would have murdered both of them. Flynn is the better all round player and we have been way too reactionary after 1 game.
Surprising take. I mean in the end Flynn was pushed forward and 20yr old first gamer Archer Reid was sent in as the preferred ruck. Flynn had a shocker, he can bounce back but say what you want about Bailey, but considering he has essentially solo rucked for the majority of the last two years he's mostly been competitive, especially when fresh.

The arguments for BWill & Flynn are so mad to me. Some people way too passionate about either. They both stiiiiiiiiink

Bailey is like fish microwaved in the office kitchen, sure it stinks but if you're hungry you can overlook the fact he's not a forward.

Flynn played like a shit after a Phuket curry.

What is going on with Barnett and rucking? He was the best ruck in his year but it seems like we have given up on him as a ruckman and trying to turn him into a makeshift defender. Same as Jamieson. We really need to be looking for a ruckman over 205cm, preferrably closer to 210 and forget about this idea of turning 199cm and 200cm duds into ruckman. Unless they are like Nic Nat and can jump.

Surprising take. I mean in the end Flynn was pushed forward and 20yr old first gamer Archer Reid was sent in as the preferred ruck. Flynn had a shocker, he can bounce back but say what you want about Bailey, but considering he has essentially solo rucked for the majority of the last two years he's mostly been competitive, especially when fresh.
So competitive he was ranked the worst ruckman in the afl last year… how anyone can cheer his inclusion is baffling

He was clearly out played many times but he was almost always competing. This coming from an undersized ruck who was forced to ruck 2 seasons straight due to perma injured rucks. No one saying he is the answer but just surprising people are shocked as mini made it pretty clear Flynn was on shaky grounds when Archer in his first game was the preferred ruck towards the back end of the game

Looks like McQualter is already looking for his next coaching role at the Broncos. IMG_3649.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator: