Round 2: Adelaide v St Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter DaveW

Originally posted by macca23
St Kilda's forward set-up looks very good on paper, and the key to any chance of them winning the game. I think our defence is in for a busy time.

The best way to keep their forwards quiet is to starve their supply by winning the mid-field. If we do that then we should be home because our forward line looks too strong for the Saints if it is given a reasonable supply.

Our forward line does look good on paper, but a lot of our guys are really underdone. It will be Hamill's first game since Round 1 of the Wizard Cup, and Koschitzke has played about 3 quarters of footy in the last 6 months. Most of our players really fell away in the second half against the Roos, so I hope the hard surface of the Dome doesn't have too much of an affect. If we come to play on Saturday then we are capable of puting up a good fight. Our disposal was very average last week, but the controlled conditions of Colonial should improve our skill level. Hopefully we can be competitive. It will be a tough ask to beat you guys, but if we put in a good performance and push you all the way then I will be happy.

Does anybody remember the "beat up" before the game that St Kilda were given leading into the 97 GF?

Of course you do. Remember how nobody (except the true believers) gave us a chance of beating them.

I reckon this game will be closer than you think.
Weve been touted as tall poppys all pre season which doesnt sit well with me. Id much prefer to be a well fed underdog...
:(

Still think we will win; but I get nervous when such glee and celebration abounds.

Macca the black book has cobwebs on it mate:D

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
St Kilda's forward line-up does look good, but we have a backline capable of holding them. However, I reckon our forward line has more of an edge on the Saints backs with our 3 talls. They may have 2 shift one of their forwards to cover Stevo/Carey/Perrie. But the bottom line in Colonial is midfield dominance, which I'm confident, particularly with our rucks giving us 1st use.

I think you are right Kane. The Crows do have the edge in their backline and ruck. This is where the game will be won. The Saints disposal coming out of defense lets them down all too often.

It looks a more balanced side with Hammil and Kosi, however the Crows have to start warm favourites.

Can Mcleod please have an off day for once against the Saints? Fantastic player but always tears us to shreads.

Oh BTW congrats Mark Bickley. A great achievement of 250 games.
Always thought Bickley was one of the cleanest players in the League (apart of the one out of character incident against Port last year). Seems like a very likable bloke as well.

He has done the AFC proud over the years.

Good luck tomorrow, heres hoping your team gets about 6 minor injuries (keeps them out of tomorrows game only) during the course of the game. My team may have a chance then ;)