Toast Round 2 = Carlton 85-106 Collingwood

Much better showing.
Our leaders really stood up--Pendles, Adams, Moore, Sideobttom all strong.
De Goey brilliant.
Crisp was massive---i have always been against him playing as a mid but when he breaks as freely and as hungrily as he did tonight---he was in everything. If he is touching the ball 15 times a mid--it doesnt work. However 30 + touches and 800+m gained...that's huge and that gives our mids a point of difference.

We scored freely and played with more dare.
Perhaps winning clearances cleaner and at least evenly enabled us to do that.

Next week will be the test as to how this team and coach backs up.

He did start a couple of centre bounces, not many, but he did receive on the link in the corridor a few times too.
Someone just posted the centre bounce stats for each player - looks like he played wing changing in the centre square. Leave him there. He was outstanding and with Sidey, it gives us excellent back up to Pendles and Adams - We need one or two of Sier, Daicos, new kids to be able to contribute around stoppage too. I'd like us to play JDG mainly forward, as I think he's an awesome forward and not an awesome mid.

Like the way Tyler Brown taps the ball around and gets in to a better position before taking possession. He is quite skillful and will be a good'n for us. Best game I've seen Cal play for a while. The Goo is a forward pure and simple. Daicos all class. Moore is a demi-god. Sier showed some really good signs. Cox was...well..errr...Cox. He's important for us for sure. Checkers was superb. He keeps getting better. I could go on.
The biggest worry for me is how we will go against a side that closes it up.

I think Roughy was excellent too. He's been overlooked but he was back to his best last night. He looked very energetic, jumped well and took a lovely mark as well as crunching a Carlton player's ribs. He also punched the pill with intent and defended well all night. He wasn't the same last year after a couple of bad concussions.

I’m still trying to smell what they are cooking... [emoji39]

We win clearances, we look more lethal. Bulldogs killed us in the area. That was the biggest turnaround for us.

Someone just posted the centre bounce stats for each player - looks like he played wing changing in the centre square. Leave him there. He was outstanding and with Sidey, it gives us excellent back up to Pendles and Adams - We need one or two of Sier, Daicos, new kids to be able to contribute around stoppage too. I'd like us to play JDG mainly forward, as I think he's an awesome forward and not an awesome mid.

If that is correct (wing), that is a very very good sign, a few times he gave us drive of hb and a few intercepts in the d50. That means two way running! Maybe the gods (or the panel. lol) are listening to us. So maybe a high hb running two way to give his mates a hand?

On another note, when you're talking coalface mids, Bear was pretty good with hands outta there, in contest and stoppage too.

And a few will shout me down coz 1 he's one of the whipping boys but - and I've said this before - Cal is / was pretty good around the stoppages and in contest, and at times can dish off with hands to a free player. Sure he's not the best disposal, but has a beauty of a side step in close at times. Keep him in there too, just use him as a ferret for the footy I reckon. Just boundary side and stoppage but, not keen on him delivering lace out to a leading Goey with any efficiency.

In a perfect world it'd be nice to just rotate him off the pine after every bounce whenever the need, but the inter cap and all.:rolleyes:

We win clearances, we look more lethal. Bulldogs killed us in the area. That was the biggest turnaround for us.

Actually the blose won that area, we equaled them around the stoppage but they got us at the bounce 17-12. I'm willing to bet though that we had better bounce clearances on the overall - particularly when we scored well, 1st half.

I just saw Adams’ tackle on Williams in the last quarter again..... that’s probably my favourite moment since the 2018 finals series. Incredible stuff.

As good as that Varcoe one on the schu in the QF that year, actually Tays was better coz twas against the blose.

Was a vast improvement, my one concern is the reliance on the same 6 or so players to Stand out. Hopefully a few others step up.

looking forward to the vfl to track the progress of the kids

Think we had more than 6 contributors Stormer, in fact if you only look at who had disposal and better DE you might be closer to a 10-12. But from the tele or low in the stands it's hard take notice of the lesser likes setting up behind and in front of the ball when and when we did not have the pill.

Wouldn't have got the job done with just 6 contributors.

Gave a like for the vfl development but.

They're like shooter mcgavin re.. they eat pieces of shit for breakfast.. ahahahaha.. oh God.

Agree mate. Still too many kicks to people’s feet, or 10 feet in front of them. Kicks oob. Turnovers right in front of goal. We’re not confident or skilled enough to play the way we teased in the pre-season.

Think bit of Both. Not Skilled enough with lack of Confidence.

Though it was miles better then it was vs the Dogs

Not sure how you can blame a specific journo for that. If Browne hadn’t run with it, Edmund or one of the other ones would have. The info was clearly being leaked by the Treloar and Stephenson camps, so our hand was always going to be exposed.

Browne knows a lot as he is Family Friend of the McGuriers

listening to talk back as I work, loving the carlton die hards melt down. sack everyone, get new players......the knives are being sharpened in scumsville and we handed them the sharpener. HAHA
suck a big one blues!

Microwaving there Membership Cards?

I normally pay an upfront fee for 10 replacement memberships for the yr re.. so I don't have to wait a mth to have one sent out to me.. already microwaved 2 of em.. the dogs loss.. and the Madge getting selected this week and that re.. might need to top up a bit.. 2 microwaved 2 weeks in ffs re.

Crisp playing mid opens up a spot in defence. Enough of our flankers are on shaky ground that you shouldn't need to throw the kids straight into the midfield - give them exposure in another parts of the ground. Midfield is asking too much.

I think our core stoppage players this year need to be Adams, Crisp, Pendles and Sidey (maybe Sier). I'd be surprised if any one else is ready. Others will come in and play high half forward, wing, etc. and get some time at stoppage. But I'd be expecting a big gap between what they will produce in there and the guys I've listed.
I think definitely also Sier. He was alright.

Toast Round 2 = Carlton 85-106 Collingwood