Prediction Round 2: Changes v Melbourne

What’s with the doom and gloom with McVee?
Thought Clark was worst?
Give him a few weeks.

Liking Walker, McVee and Clark. Dramatically different to last year.
Add in Ryan for Chapman, Cox for McDonald and it’s a balanced side.

Out: McDonald, Chapman
In: B.Cox, Davies/Draper

Chapman isn’t a third tall and needs the confidence to take on the game again. He's a medium defender that has good skills when he uses them - but he hasn't used them in years.

I would've selected Ryan over a third tall defender but he's been ill and didn't play today at Peel. He's probably a few weeks away. Think we need that third tall and at least Davies/Draper can kind of kick a footy (compared to McDonald).

Really need some running ability/speed injected into the midfield.

Think we've got to stick with Darcy now we've picked him even if it was probably a mistake to play him today.

No one mentions Switta?

Had 2 kicks (one of those a free kick which he was never gonna kick).

I’m not saying we drop him, but he should be under scrutiny, if he delivers the above in the next few weeks. Won’t hold my breath on it.

No one mentions Switta?

Had 2 kicks (one of those a free kick which he was never gonna kick).

I’m not saying we drop him, but he should be under scrutiny, if he delivers the above in the next few weeks. Won’t hold my breath on it.
Big Switta fan but he was a non-factor in this game.
Can only assume they're going to try and play him into form.

Big Switta fan but he was a non-factor in this game.
Can only assume they're going to try and play him into form.
Why does he get the opportunity to be played into form?

Yet Fyfe, Ryan and co come thru the WAFL.

Switta played some good football last year after a run at it, but an absolute favourite of the coaching group.

Out: Darcy (try find a suitor for him and his 5 year contract ASAP), McDonald, Chapman, Worner
In: M.Cox, B.Cox, Ryan, Simpson

But that won’t happen because we have an ultra-conservative laurel-resting coach who plays favourites and doesn’t value selection integrity so:

Out: Longmuir
In: preferably any experienced assistant, list is primed so shouldn’t be too hard

But that also won’t happen because we have two sycophants in Garlick and Brierty who worship the ground he walks on so:

Out: Garlick, Brierty
In: inanimate carbon rod

Cox > Darcy

Darcy playing 45% TOG is egregious with the impact he had. Do you know how unfathomable it is to play 56 minutes in today's game. They chose against their better judgement to pick an unfit player for a pivotal position and it backfired. Is that arrogance or ignorance. It also begs the question, is Darcy's fitness level due to the setbacks from the surgery or his level of professionalism? They can rectify this by dropping Darcy and making him earn his spot back. High performing institutions have standards and boy did we drop them today.

Yeah sorry.

I’m over the team at this point mate.

If it was up to me I’d tag the coach directly but he doesn’t seem like the type to be on BigFooty.
Have a ****in sook.

Out: Darcy (try find a suitor for him and his 5 year contract ASAP), McDonald, Chapman, Worner
In: M.Cox, B.Cox, Ryan, Simpson

But that won’t happen because we have an ultra-conservative laurel-resting coach who plays favourites and doesn’t value selection integrity so:

Out: Longmuir
In: preferably any experienced assistant, list is primed so shouldn’t be too hard

But that also won’t happen because we have two sycophants in Garlick and Brierty who worship the ground he walks on so:

Out: Garlick, Brierty
In: inanimate carbon rod
B. Cox and Ryan will happen.

Have to consider Banfield as a medium forward. Really missed that today. Switta just struggled in Frederick’s role. Having a decoy medium forward would help.

B. Cox and Ryan will happen.

Have to consider Banfield as a medium forward. Really missed that today. Switta just struggled in Frederick’s role. Having a decoy medium forward would help.
Ryan didn't play today due to illness. I doubt we'll see for at least another week.

Sounded like Cox is big chance for next week from the JL presser. Tbh I don't think we'll need him against Melbourne but McDonald really was that hopeless.

In- New identity, new jumper, new Name
Out- Current identity, Purple Barney the dinosaur looking jumper, and the Fremantle Dockers.
We are due a rebrand, we've been in this embarrassing purple power ranger crap for too long. Bring in some change.

Is Brayshaw carrying something? I thought he looked out of sorts against Adelaide and was terrible by his standards today.

We played the game with Darcy, Pearce, Switta, Young, Dudley, NOD all lacking conditioning. It was way too many. Poor team selection, but I don't see any (except NOD) being dropped for a fitter alternative, as the staff will view these first few games as getting necessary miles into their legs.

Is one game for the above enough to have them cherry ripe? Because if they still need more match fitness, then I'd be nervous about bringing any of B.Cox, Ryan, Simpson into the side, as that will be more underdone players.

Say what you will about Banfield, but at least he is usually fit as a fiddle and I can see him getting a game if we want to change something up.

M.Cox should absolutely play instead of Darcy, but it's not going to happen unless Darcy is injured (whether it be genuine or fake). They could admit the mistake and cover their arses with the "pulled up sore" card, then bring him back through Peel.

Ryan didn't play today due to illness. I doubt we'll see for at least another week.

Sounded like Cox is big chance for next week from the JL presser. Tbh I don't think we'll need him against Melbourne but McDonald really was that hopeless.
Illness? With what?
I would just swap McDonald for Draper. Mihocek is still a freaking tough player.

You’re right. Bringing another player in to regain form/fitness is a stupid idea. Particularly with Darcy and Pearce

Is Brayshaw carrying something? I thought he looked out of sorts against Adelaide and was terrible by his standards today.

We played the game with Darcy, Pearce, Switta, Young, Dudley, NOD all lacking conditioning. It was way too many. Poor team selection, but I don't see any (except NOD) being dropped for a fitter alternative, as the staff will view these first few games as getting necessary miles into their legs.

Is one game for the above enough to have them cherry ripe? Because if they still need more match fitness, then I'd be nervous about bringing any of B.Cox, Ryan, Simpson into the side, as that will be more underdone players.

Say what you will about Banfield, but at least he is usually fit as a fiddle and I can see him getting a game if we want to change something up.

M.Cox should absolutely play instead of Darcy, but it's not going to happen unless Darcy is injured (whether it be genuine or fake). They could admit the mistake and cover their arses with the "pulled up sore" card, then bring him back through Peel.
Especially against Gawn. Darcy at 50% TOG and Jackson. That’s totally unfair.
Just say **** it, rest Darcy, get him up to conditioning and play Cox. That is what he is there for

Illness? With what?
I would just swap McDonald for Draper. Mihocek is still a freaking tough player.

You’re right. Bringing another player in to regain form/fitness is a stupid idea. Particularly with Darcy and Pearce
Was mentioned in JL's presser that Luke Ryan missed WAFL today because of feeling crook.

Assume he'll be fine in a week or two but if he needed more minutes missing this week doesn't help.