Round 2 Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter Sigmund

Slattery really struggles in my opinion. We would be better off having Johnson run around in that back pocket still. Neagle i feel needs to stay in the team, he will be much better this week at the dome. Houli probably the needs a run in twos, however Demps needs to play this week i feel. Once again for the reason its at the dome and he needs to play seniors.

Out: Slattery, Houli
In: Mcveigh (if fit), If not Myers and Jetta.

This would allow Dyson to be trialled as a backmen and Myers to start on the wing.

Out: Neagle.
In: Zaharakis.

Neagle looked slow and out of depth on the weekend, and I don't believe him and Lucas can't work. Zaharakis in after what appears as a stunning game on the weekend. If McVeigh is fit, he walks straight in.

Knights wont drop Neagle as he wants to get games into him and so he shouldnt. he did nothing and kicked 1 goal, instead of droping him we should keep playing him and see if he can find some form in the senoirs. Later on in the year if he is struggling then we might have to give him a spell down in the VFL.

Outs:Pears and someone else.
Ins: McVeigh and Jetta.

id say theres no reason to make changes this week , no one has earnt there spot in the 2s apart from David Zaharakis , so maybe he should come in for Neagle only changed id make
Id make a lot of possy moves but so team being like this

Backs
Ricky Dyson..............Tayte Pears.................Henry Slattery
Brent Stanton...........Adam McPhee............. Heath Hocking

Mids
Bachar Houli..........Sam Lonergan................Courtenay Dempsey
David Hille..............Jobe Watson....................Jason Winderlich

Forwards
Hayden Skipworth..........Paddy Ryder...........Angus Monfries
Alwyn Davey................Michael Hurley........Andrew Lovett

Bench
Scott Lucas , Dustin Fletcher , Matthew Lloyd ,Jay Neagle

is zaharakis ready for a debut? how has he been going at bendigo?

EDIT: dw, i checked the bendigo report and found out

Houli only made one real bad clanger. It was basically because no one gave him a lead, he got forced to hold on to the footy longer, and the umpire called play on. Ended up kicking it in to the man on the mark. Overall he had 78% Efficiency.

I was more concerned about Winderlich's kicking, and the like of Lucas and Hocking dropping easy chest marks. And Lloyd just shutting up shop. I would rather Lloyd or Lucas getting dropped, than Neagle.

Impressed with Hurley and his efforts. I've never seen a kid making his debut, kick out from behinds.

Zaka needs to be rewareded for his efforts and ofcourse, if McVeigh is fit he will walk in to the team.

For team balance, Hocking and Pears be dropped. (Though both were ok on the weekend).

Seems like most people are calling for Zaharakis to be included after 1 good reserves game, but I don't think we need to rush him in.

I'd actually prefer to get some experience into the side for this game, and if McVeigh isn't ready I'd like to see Nash or NLM come into the side.....even if I don't usually want them in our 22.

I'd also think about dropping Pears, but wouldn't want him to lose confidence considering he didn't exactly play badly against Port.

Like I said before, I don't want Bellchambers to be picked this week because he'll get killed anyway. I'd be saving him to take on Carlton who have no established ruckman.

Possible Ins: Nash, NLM, Jetta

Possible outs: Slattery, Houli, Pears, Dyson

I reckon we should make one, perhaps two changes max...the biggest thing we need now is continuity - Because we've got such a young side I'm willing to back our players in to bounce back from poor games - i.e. Houli & Neagle

I think it would also go a bit against Knights philosophy to not give the young blokes consecutive games.

That said I think the team could really benefit bringing in Zaha and Jetta. We need that spark and class.

Houli only made one real bad clanger.

One bad clanger?
He set up his teammates with hospital handballs because he still lacks basic decision making skills.

Seems like most people are calling for Zaharakis to be included after 1 good reserves game, but I don't think we need to rush him in.

He kicked three goals from the midfield and then four more playing forward.
How can we not reward that?

And Jetta has now been in our best two in both games and found the ball 50 times in two games. He's done exactly what has been required of him.

We're sending the wrong message if we don't reward those performances and don't make changes to a team that in the end got flogged by seven goals.

Those calling for Slattery, he had 90% efficiency, only Ryder, Hurley, Dempsey and Neagle (who only had it twice) had better and he won many more contests than he lost. Does the bloke have to hold his opponent to 0 disposals to be given credit?

No one calls for Lonergan's head (10 disposals, 3 clangers), Slattery gone.

IN - Zaka and Jetta
OUT - Houli and Lucas

Pears lucky, he's going to be a class act but his skill level was about the worst. If he plays like that again and Daniher puts in another good one, there should be a straight swap.

That's rubbish. Players like Winderlich, McPhee, Watson, Dyson etc who have been on our list for years, can't kick the footy to a leading team mate and even Hille stuffed up 2 to 3 handballs where it was a real clanger.

This bloke Houli sent a 30m bullet down Lucas's throat with his right foot (ie, non-preferred foot). I would imagine our forwards would be wondering why on earth can't the others do that, even with their preferred foot.

Houli did some really good things, liked how he left his opponent and helped out his team mate by intercepting a pass at a crucial time of the game. His handballing might be a direct instruction from Knights who said after the game, he wanted his players to take risks. Maybe Houli can work on that, but not in the reserves.

Already Skipworth is keeping Jetta out of the side, imagine if McVeigh, Prismall and Welsh are ready to play. We won't have any of our younger midfielders/forward pocket getting games. And 2 years down the track we won't have gone anywhere. Then you will still go and try to argue on the main board, why there is a perception Carlton youngsters are better than Essendon youngsters. At this stage they are better because Gibbs is nearly played 50 games, our 2006 draftees are no where near that.

Sure they should earn it. But Houli, Jetta, Reimers, Lonergan should all be a regular part of the side, because they have already shown plenty of promise, and apart from Jetta, others have been consistant.

Then you will still go and try to argue on the main board, why there is a perception Carlton youngsters are better than Essendon youngsters. At this stage they are better because Gibbs is nearly played 50 games, our 2006 draftees are no where near that.

Might this be because they had the #1 draft pick 3 years running and also got Judd as a bonus....Young'ns also look good when players around them have excellent skills....something our team cannot profess to have.

Outs- Neagle
In- Zaharakis

We need to keep the side settled as possible, let them learn to play consistently together. Also we should reward good Bendigo form and punish bad form in the seniors to encourage players to fight for their spots and create strong depth.

This bloke Houli sent a 30m bullet down Lucas's throat with his right foot (ie, non-preferred foot). I would imagine our forwards would be wondering why on earth can't the others do that, even with their preferred foot.

So you want him to play because he can kick thirty metres?

Houli did some really good things, liked how he left his opponent and helped out his team mate by intercepting a pass at a crucial time of the game.

Yep, that was great.

His handballing might be a direct instruction from Knights who said after the game, he wanted his players to take risks. Maybe Houli can work on that, but not in the reserves.

Take risks means run and take the game on.

Not stop, u-turn and handball to a teammate in a stationary position.

If that is Knights' game plan, then it is he that should go. However, what you are saying defies logic.

Sure they should earn it. But Houli, Jetta, Reimers, Lonergan should all be a regular part of the side, because they have already shown plenty of promise, and apart from Jetta, others have been consistant.

I'm all for playing young players, I'm not suggesting Sammy should get dropped. Just making an interesting comparison.

Houli has consistently been finding the footy, that's correct. But he's also been consistently making the same mistakes.

He needs to learn.

Might this be because they had the #1 draft pick 3 years running and also got Judd as a bonus....Young'ns also look good when players around them have excellent skills....something our team cannot profess to have.

Did you watch the game on Thursday night? Gibbs won a lot of his own ball, and has turned into one of the important cogs in their midfield already. Carlton's kids would be ahead of ours.

A note on Houli, it wasn't his best game and he did turn it over a lot, but he wasn't the only one. Hille made three or four decisions that were just as bad. We need to get games into him and he will improve.

I'd like to hope we keep bringing in some of the youngsters we have acquired in the off season. Predominantly most of our 50 - 100 game players are not premiership material and won't take us forward.

Nash, Lovett - Murray (past his use by date), Lovett (if he can't turn things around consistently), Dyson, Laycock, Monfries, Slattery, and Stanton (all passengers)

All have been on our list for quite some time and haven't really become great players. I don't hold high hopes for Jetta and we need more players of McVeigh's ilk.

It makes sense to have our youngsters play against their peers over this season (whilst there are so many fresh faces being groomed in the one season) in preparation for Knights' final season on his current contract.

Our pre-season didn't excite me and I'm tipping we'll finish bottom 4 again.

Zaharakis should've been included for round one in my opinion and Houli will improve as long as he doesn't have to look up to the players I mentioned above for work ethic.

I'd like to hope we keep bringing in some of the youngsters we have acquired in the off season. Predominantly most of our 50 - 100 game players are not premiership material and won't take us forward.

Nash, Lovett - Murray (past his use by date), Lovett (if he can't turn things around consistently), Dyson, Laycock, Monfries, Slattery, and Stanton (all passengers)

Lovett has given us no reason to doubt that he has changed his ways. Especially when he kept his cool after the coathanger to kick the goal, THEN let him know about it. Stanton was great yesterday, yet the mob will always think he's a plodder. People need to remember he's 22.

All have been on our list for quite some time and haven't really become great players. I don't hold high hopes for Jetta and we need more players of McVeigh's ilk.

You need to watch Jetta more, the kid is perhaps the biggest freak on our team for setting up goals and kicking them himself (and Davey) The amount of goal assists this kid gets is extraordinary.

It makes sense to have our youngsters play against their peers over this season (whilst there are so many fresh faces being groomed in the one season) in preparation for Knights' final season on his current contract.

It makes sense to play whoever deserves to be there, should be no free passes at this club.

Our pre-season didn't excite me and I'm tipping we'll finish bottom 4 again.

We won't finish bottom 4, though it will be difficult to make the lower region of the 8. 9-12 again most likely.

Zaharakis should've been included for round one in my opinion and Houli will improve as long as he doesn't have to look up to the players I mentioned above for work ethic.

Why should Zaharakis been in there? I'm one of the biggest supporters of Zaka on this site and BB, but the other players in the team had deserved it more. Having said that, he will be a 95% chance to play this week.

id say theres no reason to make changes this week , no one has earnt there spot in the 2s apart from David Zaharakis , so maybe he should come in for Neagle only changed id make
Id make a lot of possy moves but so team being like this

Backs
Ricky Dyson..............Tayte Pears.................Henry Slattery
Brent Stanton...........Adam McPhee............. Heath Hocking

Mids
Bachar Houli..........Sam Lonergan................Courtenay Dempsey
David Hille..............Jobe Watson....................Jason Winderlich

Forwards
Hayden Skipworth..........Paddy Ryder...........Angus Monfries
Alwyn Davey................Michael Hurley........Andrew Lovett

Bench
Scott Lucas , Dustin Fletcher , Matthew Lloyd ,Jay Neagle

Jetta has had two really good games for Bendigo and is a real chance.

Just to throw another name up , Daniher could be a forward option. He was reasonable against North and very good on Saturday despite the fact that Hawkins kicked some late goals on him.

That's rubbish. Players like Winderlich, McPhee, Watson, Dyson etc who have been on our list for years, can't kick the footy to a leading team mate and even Hille stuffed up 2 to 3 handballs where it was a real clanger.

Houli did some really good things, liked how he left his opponent and helped out his team mate by intercepting a pass at a crucial time of the game. His handballing might be a direct instruction from Knights who said after the game, he wanted his players to take risks. Maybe Houli can work on that, but not in the reserves.

Already Skipworth is keeping Jetta out of the side, imagine if McVeigh, Prismall and Welsh are ready to play. We won't have any of our younger midfielders/forward pocket getting games. And 2 years down the track we won't have gone anywhere. Then you will still go and try to argue on the main board, why there is a perception Carlton youngsters are better than Essendon youngsters. At this stage they are better because Gibbs is nearly played 50 games, our 2006 draftees are no where near that.

I think Jetta should come in and take Monfries place.

As far as Houli goes i thought he was ordinary. Hardy sighted in the first half and did a few good things in the third quarter but did not use the ball as well as he has done in the past.

And i think Zaharakis has to come in. His work in the forward line against Geelong on saturday was exactly what we have been missing.
A small forward who can kick crumbing goals as well as being an accurate set shot who can also play his part in the midfield rotations.

Why do some people want Dyson in the side?

He had 71% efficiency... we averaged 78%.

He lost his feet a number of times in the game and influenced the game in the oppositions favour.

In the last when the game was on the line he dropped a sitter in defence when he heard footsteps and then got tackled by Burgoyne and gave up the ball.

He made just as many, if not more than any other player.

I don't get it. :confused:

Why do some people want Dyson in the side?

He had 71% efficiency... we averaged 78%.

He lost his feet a number of times in the game and influenced the game in the oppositions favour.

In the last when the game was on the line he dropped a sitter in defence when he heard footsteps and then got tackled by Burgoyne and gave up the ball.

He made just as many, if not more than any other player.

I don't get it. :confused:

He didn't make as many mistakes as Houli. If you are so enamoured with statistics, then Bachar made 8 critical errors.

He provided more drive than Dempsey off half back.

And he competed well with Grey. I can only remeber Grey kicking 1 goal in the 2nd half.

Monfries was supposed to be playing a defensive half forward job on 19 year old Krakouer(20 touches).

Do the kicking efficiency stats include hitting teammates like Lucas and Mcphee, who dropped their marks, as inefficient? His kicks were definitely well placed. Our key forwards were shocking!

Dyson wasn't great, but is clearly trying really hard and deserves another shot.

And he competed well with Grey. I can only remeber Grey kicking 1 goal in the 2nd half.

Sorry, I forgot to include the bit where Gray took the mark outside 50 and Dyson was day dreaming on the mark allowing Gray to run around and gain a few metres which left Slatts one on one with Ebert who marked 20 out.

Basic stuff he keeps on stuffing up every game. Sorry but there are better players then him and they should be given a go.

Sorry, I forgot to include the bit where Gray took the mark outside 50 and Dyson was day dreaming on the mark allowing Gray to run around and gain a few metres which left Slatts one on one with Ebert who marked 20 out.

Basic stuff he keeps on stuffing up every game. Sorry but there are better players then him and they should be given a go.

Really? He went sideways. He didn't get past Dyson.

You see, what you want to see.

Changes I would like to see:

Out:

Slattery (would love to see a game where he didn't gift the opposition a goal from a clumsy free kick in front of goal, but it just aint going to happen)

Dyson (enough's, enough, the guy is a dud. He aint going to be playing when McVeigh and Reimers come back for round 3, so we may as well give someone else a try before then)

Neagle (can we stop wasting a spot on someone who can only get two possies a game. Time to get some endurance and confidence in the twos)

In:

Daniher (played well in NAB, deserves a game)

Bellchambers (we need all the held we can get against Lurch. Or perhaps we should just give up and try and expose him around the ground)

Jetta (forward line was non-functional last week. Jetta sets up a lot of goals)

Unlucky: Zaharakis (back it up again this week and then give him a shot)