Round 2 Discussion Thread

Heyhey, how many Champion Data stats guys does it take to change a light bulb?
Three of course! One to make the call and take the old bulb out, one to place the new bulb in,
and one to take it out again and replace it with a completely different new bulb.
Simples.

Have heard that he does have OP but also got a head knock last week.

I think Port are just playing it safe this week as the Showdown is in round 3 and we need him for that.

My source is normally on the money.

"Robbie will be the first to say he wasn't as clean as he would've liked," Hinkley said.

"He's had some groin issues and stuff over the summer, but it's not stuff that stops a player of Robbie's quality.

"I think Robbie will play pretty well this week."

:huh:

Anyone who has ever actually bothered to investigate how things are scored (by reading the various sources of info about SC scoring), will tell you it's not controversial at all.

The controversy is in people's heads... because what they THINK they know about scoring is wrong.

For instance, as previously mentioned- hitouts to opposition LOSE points.
Grundy had a million hitouts, but probably LOST a heap of points from ones that went to tiggers.
In these cases he literally would have been better off not contesting the ruck or losing it to nank.

Another 2 examples- there is NOTHING special about a clearance or an inside 50.

There's plenty more commonly assumed 'facts' about SC scoring like this.

Rather than blaming some conspiracy about CD favourites in the first instance, go and actually read with your own eyeballs how the scoring works.
If you still believe we didn't land on the moon and CD play favourites....
Dreamteam.com.au is for you, not supercoach.
Thank you for schooling me.

You make a lot of assumptions on what you 'think' I may or may not understand about SC scoring. The discrepancies that have been pointed out time after time when looking at stat lines and impact on games proves this. It's happened far too often to be an anomaly or 'in our heads' as you put it, but hey, please continue kissing CD on the dick. I'm sure that's a first.

FYI. The earth is flat.

Following on from The_Steadier's points. See below for how statistics are scored as per HS article:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...a/news-story/7385b9a5cdd20375bf2ed606a02fe1d0

SCORING
Goal 8
Behind 1
Score Assist 3.5
CONTESTED FOOTY
Intercept Contested Mark 8
Contested Mark 6
Contested Possession at Ground Level 4.5
Intercept Possession 4.5
UNCONTESTED FOOTY
Mark on a Lead 5
Uncontested Mark 2
Handball Received 1.5
Gather 1.5
RUCK CONTESTS
Hitout to Advantage 5
Hitout to Advantage 0
Hitout Sharked -1
FREE KICKS
Free Kick 4
Free Against -4
50m Penalty Against -8.5
HITTING TARGETS
Effective Kick 4
Effective Handball 1.5
Ineffective Disposal 0
Clanger Disposal -4
ONE-PERCENTERS
Tackle 4
Spoil 2
Shepherd 1.5

Obviously additional to the above is individual scaling to a game total points scored of 3,300 points.
SuperCoach FAQ said:
By using Champion Data's comprehensive rankings system of over 50 different stats
i dont count fifty in the info you provided.

SuperCoach FAQ said:
Due to the large number of factors affecting scoring, we cannot publish the full system.
this gives them plenty of scope to just make shit up as they go along.

for what its worth i think they're reasonably accurate and its certainly the best scoring system in any of the fantasy games.

Gee to take Butlers crappy 67 or roll the dice with Pickett or Parfitt if the latter even plays.

Hmmm!
Take it 67 for a rookie is bird in hand 2 in da bush.

45 to 18 hit outs though.

Don't tell me Nank had more HTA than Grundy.
Grundy 2 more possies, 1 less mark and 1 goal 1 compared to Nank. Plus he had a better DE%. That's more points not less. Add the HTA and there's no way Nank is with in 12 points of Grundy.
So I guess you'll be trading in Nank this week then? Jealousy is a curse.

Umm no he didn't... Goldy kicked a lazy 4 goals from memory and we won the game by less than a kick...
Ummmmm yes he did, I was down there. Goldy had a blinder in the first quarter and was on 80 or 90 at quarter time and motored along after that. Gawn did stuff all in the first quarter but dominated in the last three. That game was one of the best game by two ruckman I've ever seen, they were clearly #1 and #2 on the ground which is incredibly unusual.

One of the best games of footy I've watched in a long time, despite the result.

Kadog, i opened an account specifically to ask you the name of the bird in your DP.. who is it?
That's what we love to see on this board; someone with the right priorities!!

Kadog, i opened an account specifically to ask you the name of the bird in your DP.. who is it?
LOL. Her name is Cass Martin.

Gym junky. Now I'm not normally attracted to women with masculine features, actually I find it repulsive.....but there's just something HOT about this gal. Check out her insta. She's a beast....literally.

Why is everyone complaining about the CD scoring system?
Christ, imagine if it was logical?
We'd have as many posts as the Dream Team board and this place would be dead.
TheOz's famous meltdowns at CD are legendary and half the reason I even bother to log on here.
More bullshit, bring it.........

Not you too Kadog? All of my respect for you just 'slide off the face of the Earth'.
LOL I was kidding.

The conspiracy forum>Earth is flat is a riot :tearsofjoy:

TheOz's famous meltdowns at CD are legendary and half the reason I even bother to log on here.
My meltdowns have been targeting the reporting of their scores rather than the scores themselves, except for Laird last week who was violated in every orifice.

LOL. Her name is Cass Martin.

Gym junky. Now I'm not normally attracted to women with masculine features, actually I find it repulsive.....but there's just something HOT about this gal. Check out her insta. She's a beast....literally.
das it

My meltdowns have been targeting the reporting of their scores rather than the scores themselves, except for Laird last week who was violated in every orifice.
Yes, you are yet to return to last year's form - I assume you're warming up for the year.

LOL I was kidding.

The conspiracy forum>Earth is flat is a riot :tearsofjoy:
Figured as much mate.

Have not seen, will have to check out for the quality gags.

Geez you weren't kidding about lady Cass, she truly is a unit!

Finally, bringing this right back around to a 'Round 2 Discussion' I am in a pickle. I need to trade out Riewoldt to avoid a donut in the forward line. Already have Kennedy and Dahlhaus. I could go either:

a) Macrae. I feel the safest option, however would leave me with approx $100k for inevitable double rookie corrections next week.
b) Steele. Is he legit? Would leave me with approx $300k for corrections.
c) Hannan. Would fill a hole this week, next week bring in Nank.

Oh you're gonna fit in just fine around here :D:thumbsu:

Tis true, his milkshakes bring all the boys to the yard

Whining about CD has to be the most pointless thing you can do as a human. Clearly a goal in the last quarter in a close game should be worth more than one in a 10 goal blowout.

I wonder how SC would fare if the scoring became black and white and there was no cap on the total. Oh, yeah, I'd just be playing DT.
I reckon there are more pointless things humans can do, like an arts degree.

So I guess you'll be trading in Nank this week then? Jealousy is a curse.
He's a must have by the looks.
Plus he's ruck cover for the rest of the year.

The way cash gen is looking a tonne scoring ruck/fwd for 366k is almost a necessity

Gee to take Butlers crappy 67 or roll the dice with Pickett or Parfitt if the latter even plays.

Hmmm!
Are you serious? After last weeks rookie carnage? I loopholed Butlers 67 but I'm sure as hell taking it.

At the current rate it will take Pickett 2-3 games to beat that :)

Are you serious? After last weeks rookie carnage? I loopholed Butlers 67 but I'm sure as hell taking it.

At the current rate it will take Pickett 2-3 games to beat that :)

Am doing the same with Barrett in the Mids with the E on him and see what he does, plenty of rookie loopholes to be used this week!

I can see Pickett bobbing up for us on Sunday for some reason and kicking a few goals.