Round 2 results

Simple call to the Police before the event helps.

Just to add to what Humpa wrote, we (OFC) developed a Social Function template a couple of years back, which must have all criteria ticked off before it can be run. This includes providing local police with times of function start/end, type of function, and we get feedback from them as to how many times we can expect them pop through to check up on things. Essentially the problem will usually be outside the premises as uninvited guests are refused entry. Police will usually handle the external issues ! The other problem (especially being in Olinda) is the 12am rush hour, when functions finish. As part of the template, designated drivers are known in advance (usually the oldies lol) cabs are pre-booked so the OFC members are usually covered. The uninvited will usually linger afterwards, with nowhere to go and no public transport and cabs available. This is where violence and property damage usually occur !!!

Advertising on Facebook is almost a moot point now. Only 2 years ago, we essentially told our members that "zero" advertising on Facebook is allowed. If you actually sit quietly and watch these functions, it only takes one person to be on there phone (which they all do) and make one post to someone that the function is "going off", and they come by the car load and you don't even know most of them. You're totally reliant on 100% in attendance not spreading the word, and I'm not really sure thats a realistic goal...

Just my thoughts !

Not blaming anyone oldtimer, but I think you'll find your wrong when you mention that the coach didn't post invites or info on Facebook as I have seen contrary. I feel sorry for the committee and supporters plus club patrons who do the right thing and work hard to keep the club going. Above comments are correct about license's etc. sounds like a hell of a risk to take for a one off money spinner plus not a great situation to put your volunteers eg: bar staff and people minding the door in. How do you reckon they would feel if something went awry and it cost the club. From where I sit it looks like this was not at all thought out.

We all have 20/20 hindsight don't we.

You're spot on 'bloked'...lol jks...For all clubs out there, please consult with this peanut before going ahead with your functions as he will show you how to do it properly. He will also light his scented candles and get out his tarot cards and look into the future to foresee any future crowd troubles. He will now referred to as Kerry "bloked" Kulkens.

Has wandin or it's coach done something to you in the past bloked? From the sounds of it sat night wasn't an ideal situation but reports I heard suggest that everything was handled ok and police were fully co operated with when any request was made including the eventual decision to shut the event down. No property damaged or people hurt. I'm sure lessons were learnt out of it. So relax mate, no harm done, the jilted lover routine is tiresome.

local paper says 3 Police hit with bottles! Not really co operative!

Was at the Wandin V Healesville game yeah nah mmmmm. Do you want to enlighten us to what happened up there Saturday night bloked? Maybe Oldtimer or Oldwaterboy can? The place is about to implode is the word.
crikey, just returned from a month on the beaches up north to find everyone having a crack at wandin.......again. probably not the ideal start to the season they would have been hoping/expecting but the ladder does read 1 win , 1 loss. hardly a worry i would have thought. both monbulk and upwey, zip and 2, zip and a draw respectively would not have been expected to be in their postions but am sure they are not too worried just yet as well. hopefully wandins new players can gel together and silence a few critics in the coming weeks for the coaches and clubs sake. as for the function finger, obviously facebook sounds like it was the problem, surely the club wouldnt have thought it would end the way it did and i am only going by what the forum users are posting which is always"fact" but if it was as bad as all say, as oldtimer quoted, lesson learned i am sure. lets just give the club a go. trying to rebuild after a lean few years. remember that there is another 9 clubs out there. seems to be a fairly even comp this year going by scorelines. good to see emerald get a first up win. olinda seem to be going well and the woori circus looks to be up there again.

Wand(er)in is the new Silvan. Deserve to get a crack.
The only thing your new players have done is double the town population. Should of put them to better use as bouncers at the unders do.
Lets see. Wandin belted by Healsvile who were belted by Warby who were belted by Mt Ev.
How much time do you want?

Last years minor prems and the prems, Monbulk and Upwey, played off for bottom spot yesterday. Must have been a cracker.

I saw Warby and Healsville. It's official. Healesville are god-awful. The Barclays old man must do the best players. Maybe one of us was at a different game.

Went over & had a look at Healesville v Warby yesterday. Solid win by Warby & controlled whole first half. Bloods up pressure in 3rd & looked better. Barclay moved forward in 2nd half & they looked more dangerous but then their back line looked more vulnerable. Warby seemed fairly balanced over the ground. Anyone go to Upwey v Monbulk?

On a side note saw an interesting end to the Ressies game. Warby down by 2pts with a player having a shot from 40m after siren. About 20 players in goal square watched as ball went through 1/2 post height. Warby start to celebrate. But then umpires chat & Healesville start to celebrate & awarded win. Did not seem touched to me so does anyone know what happened? Did goal umpire call it touched by a Healesville player?

Broken Bone - free kick awarded for shep on goal line i believe.

Taj - Couldn't agree more re the best players - I was staggered to read who they gave...

Yeah ball went through above post high non controlling umpire deemed that as it went through so high players jostling in the square where more than five meters from the ball. If that's a rule it's the first time it's ever been enforced.

Broken Bone - free kick awarded for shep on goal line i believe.

Taj - Couldn't agree more re the best players - I was staggered to read who they gave...

Thanks RHT couldn't work it out. Gutsy call by the umpire. There were about 20 players in the square so I am sure there was push & shove both ways. Having said that no one would have been any where near touching the ball. That is 2 after siren results in 2 weeks. What are the rules in this instance? Man in White can you fill us in?

The controlling umpire asked him what he'd paid and he said the ball was further than five meters so any body contact was an infringement. There was no in the back or high or front on just 20 blokes in a goalsquare.

Yeah ball went through above post high non controlling umpire deemed that as it went through so high players jostling in the square where more than five meters from the ball. If that's a rule it's the first time it's ever been enforced.
Where have you been?
It's been a rule for ever. But you never took much notice of rules anyway.
The ball has to be within 5 meters before you bump anyone. I think the ump paid it before it got to the goals because he saw the jostling in the square.
Dont know how you can pick it out tho when the square had more guys than Wandins clearances.

Where have you been?
It's been a rule for ever. But you never took much notice of rules anyway.
The ball has to be within 5 meters before you bump anyone. I think the ump paid it before it got to the goals because he saw the jostling in the square.
Dont know how you can pick it out tho when the square had more guys than Wandins clearances.

I was the runner so heard first hand. There was no one infringement it was a collective of players jostling for position his words not mine. If this was paid each week there'd be over 500 frees a game.

Geez - busy week in the spotlight! As usual, I'm cautious about talking about incidents taking place in my own matches - even more so in games that I was nowhere near. So - talking in general terms. It's a common thing we all see; long bomb towards goal with usually just full back and full forward on the goal line. Usually a fairly even battle and in all honesty usually one where the whistle only gets brought out if absolutely needed. Mostly because the full forward is doing his best to shepherd the ball through and the full back is doing his best to find a position to at least spoil or hopefully mark. By the letter of the law a lot of this argy bargy is usually happening when the ball is well more than 5 metres away but more often than not, neither player is being disadvantaged and it's usually just a damn good show of strength.

However if the battle is not even and one player gets despatched like a Kenworth hit him, it's probably an instance where a shepherding free is warranted. Mainly because in the first example both players are generally already on the line and pushing off each other simultaneously. In the second instance, one player is usually late for the contest - runs in purely just to take out the other player.

Went over & had a look at Healesville v Warby yesterday. Solid win by Warby & controlled whole first half. Bloods up pressure in 3rd & looked better. Barclay moved forward in 2nd half & they looked more dangerous but then their back line looked more vulnerable. Warby seemed fairly balanced over the ground. Anyone go to Upwey v Monbulk?
Terrible conditions, but the game was fast and furious as is traditional with these two sides.
Monbulk looked very good early despite bad kicking, only for Upwey to fight back late in the first Q. Hawks controlled second Q and extended a good half-time lead into the 3rd before Upwey slammed on 5 goals in last 15 mins of great footy. Monbulk dug deep and the younger smalls fed Juice to dominate the finish. Both sides really wanted to win and that forced some errors.
Langers, Juice, Gray best for Monnie. Gooley, Heinrich Mitchell for Upwey were all good when conditions didn't really suit skilled play.
The ANZAC ceremony was very well done. Well chosen words, good trumpeter, neatly organised and the crowd got involved when invited to sing the National Anthem.
Great day all round.

The ANZAC ceremony was very well done. Well chosen words, good trumpeter, neatly organised and the crowd got involved when invited to sing the National Anthem.
Great day all round.

As ooposed to healesville where the singing of the national anthem was awful! but he tried so i guess that's the main thing!

Any truth this is being looked into?

taj mahal i do not do the best players so go fuc yourself

As mr sheen would say ch barclay winning. A fine example you set especially around the bar there during a game. Seems to me that you and your mates are a good reason that healesville retains their good young players. I for one would love my children to play there with such warm friendly supporters like yourself and not only that but well educated ones. The future is bright. How are the unders going if you don't mind me asking?