Autopsy Round 2 vs Bravedogs. Things learnt

Few things from this game..

1-Dogs wont be going back to back
2- In a year that is going to be pretty close, a 0-2 start wont hurt us if we can perform like that with so much inexperience, down a rotation, umps being totaly inept and we run the Premiers to the line...
3- Haywood was terrific, Newman was terrific, Fox was good , a few times I thought he could of gone a little harder however he did get into the thick of things
4-Florent will be a good one as well with a bit of a build on his tank
5-Hanners...wtf?
6- Sam Reid and Buddy will be the one two punch we have lacked. When the midfield actually get going this will be a devastating duo
7- We need Tippet to keep Reid out of the ruck
8 -Our depth is evolving,its still not great but its not as bad as some would have us believe.

If you listen to the umpire in the background he said Cloke marked it before Jones made contact
It was basically simultaneous...shades of Easton Wood I would of thought

Hayward was good for you blokes tonight, found a ripper there.
I really liked the look of him in the JLT and tonights performance was a really nice debut. He did alot of good things with the ball and will be very proud of his debut game I think...

Really dissapointed that the umpires continue to have such a big say in the outcome of our games against this mob.

Reid was colossal tonight kicking 6 goals and missed one he should have got

Buddy went bang and turned the game to give us a chance.

Kids were great tonight, even though its been a rough start to the year we keep on finding good young players

Tippetts being Tippett

When are the umpires going to get a song the dogs can play instead of this drivel.

I hope the AFL come out and ask some hard questions of the umpiring department.

Next time we play the brave ones you need to amend your thread title:
R? v Bravedogs + umpires

Lots of positives for Sydney from this game. Jealous of the young players coming in and playing like they're ready for finals - Hawthorn's youth is barely VFL-ready.
Schoemakers isn't youth anymore :p

Season isn't dead. 0-2 is bad but considering we're missing two key scoring options, and Rampe, and debuted three kids we did so well last night.

Reid is just playing how I know he could once fit. It's been a while but you don't just lose your talent.

If we string 2-3 wins together we're capable of still finishing top 4 and challenging.

Wow. Wow. Wow. I don't even know what to say about this game. I've never felt so spirited and proud to be a supporter of this club but still be so furious and enraged. The umpiring in this game was disgraceful, and so bias i'm still ******* pissed about it.

But ken oath our boys were magnificent tonight. The kids (Florent, Hayward, Fox, Newman) were all good, some even had great moments, especially in tight and tough patches of the game. Naismith is still an awkward-as-**** dinosaur to watch but you can't fault his effort. That's really all I wanted at the end of the day is just an effort. Lloyd never stopped running, JPK was a bull inside, Buddy bounced back from his absolutely heinous first half, Reid handled the pressure on him well and did all the things asked of him and more, and even the lesser-lites like Laidler tried hard. It's all about the effort, win or loss.

Which brings me straight back to our core group of senior guys. Grundy, Parker, Hannebery, Jack and Smith. What the **** is going on with these guys? They play like horse-shit one week and follow it up with arguably a worse performance this week when we needed them more. Granted Jack tried, but his decision making and execution was deplorable. Parker and Hannebery may be carrying injuries (it certainly looks that way) but if they are going to be named in the 22 they need to put up better stuff than the crap they've served so far this year. As for Grundy and Smith I know they don't have much help down back but there were multiple occasions in this game I saw them blatantly not trying. This just adds salt into the wound after their games last week.

But I think the major props here should go to Horse. Some give him flack on here for being an imperfect coach but he did a hell of a lot right tonight. Swung Reid back occasionally, which I usually hate. But he picked really crucial, clever moments to swing him back. His selections of the three debutants were pretty great, as they all looked ready for senior footy, as was his decision to back Florent. We just looked more capable than ever of handling the Bulldogs giant midfield spread, and a lot of their stars had really quality games. I reckon Horse had everything ready and loaded to combat the disgraceful opponents just didn't have the personnel on hand to execute it.

Wow. Wow. Wow. I don't even know what to say about this game. I've never felt so spirited and proud to be a supporter of this club but still be so furious and enraged. The umpiring in this game was disgraceful, and so bias i'm still ******* pissed about it.

But ken oath our boys were magnificent tonight. The kids (Florent, Hayward, Fox, Newman) were all good, some even had great moments, especially in tight and tough patches of the game. Naismith is still an awkward-as-**** dinosaur to watch but you can't fault his effort. That's really all I wanted at the end of the day is just an effort. Lloyd never stopped running, JPK was a bull inside, Buddy bounced back from his absolutely heinous first half, Reid handled the pressure on him well and did all the things asked of him and more, and even the lesser-lites like Laidler tried hard. It's all about the effort, win or loss.

Which brings me straight back to our core group of senior guys. Grundy, Parker, Hannebery, Jack and Smith. What the **** is going on with these guys? They play like horse-shit one week and follow it up with arguably a worse performance this week when we needed them more. Granted Jack tried, but his decision making and execution was deplorable. Parker and Hannebery may be carrying injuries (it certainly looks that way) but if they are going to be named in the 22 they need to put up better stuff than the crap they've served so far this year. As for Grundy and Smith I know they don't have much help down back but there were multiple occasions in this game I saw them blatantly not trying. This just adds salt into the wound after their games last week.

But I think the major props here should go to Horse. Some give him flack on here for being an imperfect coach but he did a hell of a lot right tonight. Swung Reid back occasionally, which I usually hate. But he picked really crucial, clever moments to swing him back. His selections of the three debutants were pretty great, as they all looked ready for senior footy, as was his decision to back Florent. We just looked more capable than ever of handling the Bulldogs giant midfield spread, and a lot of their stars had really quality games. I reckon Horse had everything ready and loaded to combat the disgraceful opponents just didn't have the personnel on hand to execute it.

Hanners and Parker must be 70% fit. I guess the question is whether a 70% fit Hanners/Parker is better than a 100% fit someone else.
At least the opposition will respect them on reputation and not take liberties.

Hanners and Parker must be 70% fit. I guess the question is whether a 70% fit Hanners/Parker is better than a 100% fit someone else.
At least the opposition will respect them on reputation and not take liberties.

Seriously they are horribly out of form. IMO if they're injured even slightly, get them out of the team. They are way too important to be drudging out on the field every week just hoping they'll miraculously rediscover form if they're not in the shape to do so. Give them a week's rest. They are two absolute machines who have taken more for this team over the last several years than any other. They need a break, give them one. They don't need a break, they have to show that.

Not sure that we have the luxury of giving them a break given our injury list.
Perhaps if we get Heeney back one of them can take a week or 2 off?

Not sure that we have the luxury of giving them a break given our injury list.
Perhaps if we get Heeney back one of them can take a week or 2 off?

They can't even kick the thing or attack a contest with any ferocity whatsoever. That's not beneficial for them, let alone us as a team, because we'll need them for the rest of the year. It worked wonders for Heeney last year when he had a respite, he came back better than ever and was able to run out whole games in the midfield. They're just out of form and look to be out of shape. They're too important in the long-term to worry about the short-term risks

If they're not injured and just struggling for form then what?
Back to NEAFL? That would be silly.
They'll come good.

If they're not injured and just struggling for form then what?
Back to NEAFL? That would be silly.
They'll come good.

Of course they'll come good. And in the mean time we will continue to have two mids doing FA, butchering the ball and hardly getting any movement at all. Not saying they should be rested or sent to the NEAFL. I'm just saying the selections each week have to reflect the form being shown. The fact that Parker and Hanners have both been not only down on form but ridiculously below their usual standard is concerning and begs the question of whether there's something more than just "having a down patch"

We lost the following; free kicks (18-31), contested possessions (153-169), tackles (74-84) and disposals (352-412) and yet I walked away feeling confident for the future, not only longer term, but for this season as well.

Some of the experienced players are struggling for form (and fitness?), the younger players mostly ran out of legs later in the game and we are conceding significantly more scores from the I50 entries that we normally do, yet I am comfortable that we have the talent, desire and endeavour to continue to compete and contend and that whilst obviously not ideal a 0-2 start, with the current depleted team, is far from a portent of a significant fall down the ladder.

One player I will mention who has received some mild criticism in this thread, but I believe no praise is Aliir.
A somewhat nervous start (and a horrible dropped mark), but yet again he demonstrated an ability to not drop his head, to take the game on and his ragdogging of million dollar Boyd was a sight to behold.
Aliir was playing only his 14th senior game tonight. I want to see him continue to take the game on, to fly for his marks, to use his strength, to show dare and leadership in the back half.
He is the future down back and I like he plays as if he knows it.

Re the horrible dropped mark - at the time and on replay I'm pretty certain that it was having his arms ripped downwards.

Happens a bit but probably should have been paid.

One of the real frustrations on the night was how Kennedy was having his arm held as he approached contests. It was really blindingly obvious yet the failure to pay it was staggering. In the context of a game where the swans were having frees paid against them with monotonous regularity it was appalling to watch.

I had to wait until this morning to post because of my frustration on the night.

I do want to say a few things about the umpiring before talking about the game and our team. This is really cathartic for me and nothing much will be said that hasn't been said by others.

I will start by saying that the better team won. For much of the night we simply couldn't get enough hands in the ball and our disposal wasn't quite right for a lot of it.

But the umpiring. Honestly. It seriously hurts the game as a spectacle when one team is getting frees at will and the other just isn't. The frequency of the two handed push of the ball by the dogs was terrible. But what seemed bizarre was the way that if a swan player tried to break free of the tackle it was htb but if a dog took the tackle - which they did this was not htb

I know the allir one has been talked about but there was no doubt that for clokes second goal cloke firstly initiated contact second had both arms around his opponent and thirdly then had his arm around allirs neck. What is frustrating about this is that had it been franklin at the other end you can guarantee that would have been paid against us and had it been grundy it would have been paid against us as well.

The other allir one - well that actually happened quite close to where I was sitting and I was watching the contest. What actually happened was the u,pure turned away from the contest and then looked back and saw Boyd with his arms outstretched like he'd been held and not heading to the contest. The actual event of Boyd being unwilling to attack the drop of the ball entirely went past the thinking of blind mouse. And he simply guessed. He guessed wrong and he deserves to be dropped for that decision alone.

A few comments about the opposition. Their spread is ridiculously outstanding given how good they are in the contest. Like gws they are a bit lime kryptonite because they are as good inside and better on the outside. Further players like Bont are streets above our best midfielders - wow can that boy kick a ball.

Now a few things about our team. First the ups
Franklin - after a slow start was probably the best player on the ground in the second half.
Hayward was outstanding - his kicking was brilliant - his hands aren't quite there yet but if that improves he will be a really great half forward for us.
Allir- despite getting frees awarded against him changed our defence by having a runner - you realise how much he is missed when Rampe isn't there as well. Because absence those two there really isn't much run from the back line.
Newman was very good with the ball - not as good defensively but he did his job - but his kicking is like sucklings and boy he can hit it.
Lloyd was good all night. Best game I've seen him play tbh
Jones was good. I've liked his season. He's hard at it and we need that.
Florent was good but by three quarter time looked absolutely stuffed - he didn't have much in the way of run by the end.
Reid - we have missed him as a target. As a target he's great. I don't like him playing in the backline because his field kicking is just average and the goal in the third quarter from his kick into the corridor which just went ten metres too high allowing the dog player time to spoil Kennedy
Fox - tried really hard. He just needs to kick it himself and take the responsibility to have a shot.
Marsh - I liked him last year and like him more now. He's not a great defender and hasn't god great awareness but he has a real go and isn't afraid to peel off to create the contest

Now the downs.

Jack shouldn't be playing. He has never had a right side but his pace has been badly effected and he simply can't get up to speed. Coupled with his limitations that have always existed - no right side and ordinary skills other than to a leading forward - he is really struggling.
Mills - he really just needs to concentrate on being the best he can be. He's not super quick and he's not going to break lines so he's got to be just a bettter player - the letting Bont run past him on his left foot was not great
Parker was just terrible. Not as a terrible player but just that we need so much more from him.
Hanners was even worse. Seriously his field kicking was just turnover city. Shocking kicking.
Grundy. His marking was really poor. Pity cos he wasn't bad but because he spilled a few marks and one critically. But his feet were even worse than normal. There simply wasn't a contest where he didn't fall over.

When you look at this list you wonder frankly how we were in this game. Every good player (as seen by the external persons) other than Kennedy and buddy was really ordinary.

I'm still pissed off with the umpires but we've lost two games where our better players have been ordinary, it does give me some hope that if they get some form back we'll be ok

That pass to a running Buddy in between 2 dogs players was sublime. Will get better with more senior time.

Exactly what we have lacked the last few years. Also thought his defensive side of his game has improved which is important