Autopsy Round 2 vs Bravedogs. Things learnt

treat it like he was on the boundary and problem solvered, clubs know its the vogue rule change this year.

True.

Problem is that the interpretation swings so bloody wildly in game that it seems a bit of pot luck.

IIRC the law is can be in the square and punch though and under perceived pressure. How pressure is "perceived" seems to vary umpire to umpire.

Mills had plenty of time imo
yeah in hindsight he should have grabbed and turned inboard. but ohwell hes still young and will learn. didnt cost us the game in the end, harry and his marshmallow effort against bont had more impact

mills deliberate was tough but fair i think. Should have just grabbed it and let momentum/tackle take him over
KB says it definitely wasn't deliberate because Mills had someone on his back & it was a kick towards goal & Mills punched it through thinking he was under pressure & in the square. He wasn't to know that Picken pulled up?Mick Malthouse backed him up too based on how it has been adjudicated up until now.

Good argument I reckon.

True.

Problem is that the interpretation swings so bloody wildly in game that it seems a bit of pot luck.

IIRC the law is can be in the square and punch though and under perceived pressure. How pressure is "perceived" seems to vary umpire to umpire.
The rule is nonsense they way it was interpreted. The question is perceived to whom? If its a subjective test, that is, it is the perception of the player, then clearly Mills THOUGHT he was under pressure. If its an objective test of what the umpire BELIEVES should have been he a perception of a player in Mills position then the rule is complete nonsense and the AFL rules committee are a bunch of clowns.

Seemed like the new interpretation as a strict interpretation. The type that doesn't get paid when it would be a nothing behind but the perfect time to get caught up in the atmosphere and ping him. Basically now with the AFL giving it the thumbs up the umps have just brought themselves another bucket load of pressure to interpret those the same for the rest of the year. Plenty of other free kicks that were a disgrace last night that should be scrutinised more than the Mills one.

yeah in hindsight he should have grabbed and turned inboard. but ohwell hes still young and will learn. didnt cost us the game in the end, harry and his marshmallow effort against bont had more impact
or pretended to take it, fumble then rush. If he took possession he would of been away as Picken gave up on the play....yep...lets reward the player who gives up on the play...bravo AFL

Seemed like the new interpretation as a strict interpretation. The type that doesn't get paid when it would be a nothing behind but the perfect time to get caught up in the atmosphere and ping him. Basically now with the AFL giving it the thumbs up the umps have just brought themselves another bucket load of pressure to interpret those the same for the rest of the year. Plenty of other free kicks that were a disgrace last night that should be scrutinised more than the Mills one.
seems like bs to me.....over reaction by AFL to take away a legitmate option that still costs a point....remember 2012.... a really expensive rushed in that one.

They are now hanging their hat on the word "Physical" for under physical pressure. Umps can then interpret physical how they see fit. If they want to lean on that word to make sure the Mills call is correct then every time a player rushes one without being touched should be called. If that doesn't happen then the AFL have just corruptly defended their umps as in the right.

Quoting my own post as I just saw the exact thing happen in the Bombers Brisbane match with zero physical pressure a metre out and just continued to run over the goal line with the ball..... but nothing called

They are now hanging their hat on the word "Physical" for under physical pressure. Umps can then interpret physical how they see fit. If they want to lean on that word to make sure the Mills call is correct then every time a player rushes one without being touched should be called. If that doesn't happen then the AFL have just corruptly defended their umps as in the right.
exact

Agree with that except Liberatore is just a cheat. Just throws it. No doubt his ethics were fine tuned by listening to his old man describe the eye gouge he put on Paul Kelly. Liberatore is really a dog. Literally
A great waste of oxygen like his old man, hate coke sniffers.

I wouldn't care if they were consistent with it. But they're not. The real baffling decision of the night was the free paid against aliir on Boyd.
Honestly I don't care so much that was paid

What I do care about is the 25789053 frees Buddy has missed out on in the past 12 months for exactly the same thing.

Pay it sure, but pay them all.

Mills simply was too obvious.

Apart from that thought Lloyd was exceptional. Reid sublime. Jack not as bad as reported. JPK is a God.

We have 2 ripper kids as well.

But again, over and over, too much was left for too few.

Parker and Hanners are passengers. I cannot see the point in playing them as they are obviously injured. If not injured then they should be kicked in the state real quick.

They really need to work out how to structure up. So many times we had no choice but to kick it to there back screen allowing them to start a running counter attack. Horse needs to get smarter but who am I kidding.

Happy the side did well for it's experience level but gee whiz, some senior guys need to have a look at themselves.

Noble losses don't get you 4 points.

Oh and that Jones hit. Shame on us for not going harder after that. Spurred on the Dogs? Who cares? The next 10 hits from us should have been as hard. This side for a long time has been too "nice".

Good on the kid for flying the flag. Few more should follow.

Honestly I don't care so much that was paid

What I do care about is the 25789053 frees Buddy has missed out on in the past 12 months for exactly the same thing.

Pay it sure, but pay them all.

Mills simply was too obvious.

Apart from that thought Lloyd was exceptional. Reid sublime. Jack not as bad as reported. JPK is a God.

We have 2 ripper kids as well.

But again, over and over, too much was left for too few.

Parker and Hanners are passengers. I cannot see the point in playing them as they are obviously injured. If not injured then they should be kicked in the state real quick.

They really need to work out how to structure up. So many times we had no choice but to kick it to there back screen allowing them to start a running counter attack. Horse needs to get smarter but who am I kidding.

Happy the side did well for it's experience level but gee whiz, some senior guys need to have a look at themselves.

Noble losses don't get you 4 points.

Oh and that Jones hit. Shame on us for not going harder after that. Spurred on the Dogs? Who cares? The next 10 hits from us should have been as hard. This side for a long time has been too "nice".

Good on the kid for flying the flag. Few more should follow.
Completely agree with everything mate! I have a feeling our engine will start to rev this week and the season will take off. Including hanners and parker.

I liked Jones' thinking & intent. He went in hard for the ball, was in mid air & couldn't pull out. I don't think he went in deliberately targeting Cloke for a bump... It just worked out that way (so yeah, ended up as a stupid bump). But the idea and intent was correct. Go hard for the footy & do not GAF about who's in the way. If they are then they'll know about it.

I loved it & hope he keeps doing it for the rest of his career with us.

The way the AFL is going with front on bumps, if he keeps that up will see more time suspended than playing.

I will give you a clue what he was thinking." I have to spoil this drop kick and punt's (wharfie rhyming slang) attempt to mark and I am not gutless and will go in with guts". Or it might have been - ' By jove I mustn't upset this nice fellows equilibrium and not hurt him". Ever played the game mate?
Yes but gone are the days where you could shirtfront a player (sadly) , have to adapt to how the AFL want the game played.

In Harry's defence.....he had no chance against Bonts

For sure. The the prior opportunity rules rewards the team that stands back and allows the other team get possession . The dogs were masters of letting the swans get ball, take one step and tackle them. When they got the ball they were pretty good at throwing it and disguising it as a handball. Very little is done at the moment to reward the inside midfielder which sydney is full of.

Which probably explains the tackle differential.....

Dog hangs back and waits for Swan to pick up ball
Dog grabs Swan. Umpire pats Dog and gives Dog a biscuit (free)

At this rate soon no-one will dare take possession. Everyone will be tapping to team mates. It's becoming AFL volleyball

Soundly reasoned. But what good is it if Sinclair knows the Swans game plan but can't take possession of the ball? He simply fails to mark the ball. Until that happens there is no upside at all. Better that we give the new ruck apprentice a crack at it. He can learn on the job.
Sinclair was good at start of 2016. Perhaps he could surprise. As along as we have an extra tall target (or decoy) and a second ruck. Reid could have had 10 if he had been plonked forward and left there.`

Which probably explains the tackle differential.....

Dog hangs back and waits for Swan to pick up ball
Dog grabs Swan. Umpire pats Dog and gives Dog a biscuit (free)

At this rate soon no-one will dare take possession. Everyone will be tapping to team mates. It's becoming AFL volleyball
And ....
Dogs drop the ball before the tackle and get a free for tackle without the ball. Either way, we got worked over.