Round 2 vs Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter cats2rise

Just got back from the bombers/roos game and they were very impressive. Their biggest asset from today's game is they have speed, they hit targets today but the roos didnt pressure the ball carrier after quater time, our stronger bodies is what will hurt them most.

Davey, Jetta, Houli, Lovet-murray are lightning quick but dont have the bulk of a chapman/ablett etc. If they play like today i dont think it will be a blowout but we should be comfortable, monica will sorely be missed this week.

My early week thoughts...

Essendon smashed North today with their pace. They ran rampant through the middle of the ground and fast delivery to Lloyd gave Gibson no chance of stopping him.

So the danger is obviously pace and fast ball movement to Lloyd. Lucas's absence will be important because without Egan, we don't have a nice matchup for him. Scarlett will fare better than Gibson did today.

But we are a different kettle of fish to North. Remember the Qualifying final against North? We tore them up pretty similarly to the way Essendon did today - with scintillating run through the corridor. The difference is that Geelong have the balance right between attacking and defending. Geelong put relentless pressure on their opponents and stream the ball forward with precision on the rebound. How Essendon handles the man-on-man pressure will be telling.

Also, red-hot pace is most dangerous on the rebound. Essendon destroyed North today rebounding the ball after a turnover or a contest. Geelong don't turn the ball over as often and win more contests. The opportunities for Davey et al to burst away will not be as many.

Michael and Fletcher will get Mooney and Hawkins and should handle them pretty well so we'll need plenty of input from Chapman, Johnson and Stokes.

It will be interesting to see who will get Gaz. Has it been McVeigh quite a bit in the past? Gaz is terrorising at the moment. He could have kicked 3-4 goals on the run against Port after breaking away from his opponent.

Ottens looks to be a likely inclusion so should give Ablett, Bartel and Corey an easier ride than last week.

Geelongs bigger bodies will play a major part. Our midfield is far too big and too many options in there for Essendon to cover us. If both Rooke and Otto play then that brings two big tough players into an already strong side.

Any word on Hunt?

can't wait for this it will be a great match early in the season... I'm confident though especially if we get back both rooke and ottens. Even if they dont come back I would think the cats should win. Big crowd and a fast game cant wait for this.

I think you will beat us. I am just hoping we can take it up to you again like we did last season (well, for the first half anyway) I think it will actually be a tight game. Good luck to both sides. :thumbsu:

before you lost Hird & Daveys last year, it was a good tight game. infact you guys gave us one of our harder nights of last year. I always look forward to the bombers clash and this year should be a real classic.

That was great game. The score only blew out after Essendon had no bench in the final quarter.

Stupid AFL should have scheduled this one at the MCG.

My early week thoughts...
It will be interesting to see who will get Gaz. Has it been McVeigh quite a bit in the past?

It was last time. McVeigh got reported for hitting Jnr off the ball IIRC.

It was obvious today that Essendon has modelled their game plan on ours. Get it through the corridor and play on whenever you can. However both the Dons and North's disposal aren't as clean as ours. Meaning more opportunity for us to turn the ball over and less opportunity for Essendon to create turnovers. North were at time awful with missing passing team mates with handballs going behind them. At the same time Essendon's kicking into the forward line was suspect on several occasions.

Should be a good game but I am going with a few friends who are Essendon supporters so I hope we spank them. Will need to improve our kicking based upon our 2nd half against Port.

I think Ottens is a good chance to return, but Rooke is unlikely. With the speed of the Bombers, I fear Tenace will be retained, and if Hunt pulls up OK as reported after the Port match, West will probably be the only one dropped from Round 1's team.

Missing Lucas will be a big one for them - means that Egan's absence wont be nearly as pronounced. If we get Ottens back then midfield dominance will be ours. I think this will be an interesting game but if we get on top early then it might blow out. The Bombers are a tough crowd to pick but I think they will be a bit hot and cold this year.

We should win comfortably but I am expecting them to test us as they did last year.

I'm already licking my lips in anticipation of this match. If Geelong play to the form they showed in the 1st half last week, and Essendon play to the form they showed in the 2nd half yesterday, this game could be a shootout with the ball going from one end of the ground to the other at a lightning pace. Should be an absolute ripper!

I just hope Paul Roos and Ross Lyon take note.

watson killed north at the stoppages yesterday, but you guys have 3 or 4 who can do the same. that's where you have a definite edge - bigger, more developed bodies around the contest. realistically, it's 1st versus 13th, so you would expect a comfortable Geelong win, especially with 13th coming off a shorter break. i just hope we (essendon) stick to the fast moving game style, even if it breaks down at times under geelongs man on man pressure.

of course, if it is the Geelong from round 1's second half who turn up, that willhelp us no end.

Im shattered im going to miss this game :( had it all planned out with the group of mates i was going to go up with and nearly had my hands on some premium seats until i found out we have a praccy match this weekend, (geelong ammos:D). But i gotta put my own footy first, especially wanna impress and try get myself a gig in the midfield:D, and smash lara

Best of luck to ya mate....I missed quite i few Geelong games when i was playing.....But doing my knee has free'ed up a bit of time for me now :thumbsu:
All the best !!:)

Hey Cats fans.

I havnt been able to find this info out anywhere else so hopefully you can help me.

With this being Geelongs first home game of the season, will they be unveiling the premiership flag at this game or waitning until the first game at Kardinia park?