Prediction Round 20, 2025: Changes vs Fremantle

You pay like a $10k fine or something, from memory.

Sure, I'd have preferred to see Gross instead of Petch also but ultimately, I wonder if he's prefer to play 45 minutes in a flogging, then have to run around Optus for an hour after the game, or just not play.

You pay a fine if it’s unforced. Graham being rubbed out for four weeks after teams were named would have been plenty of justification to switch another player into the squad.

That still would've technically been an unforced changed to our emergencies, no?

Withdraw Graham
Bring either Williams or Long into the 22 for him
Add Petch or Hunt to the emergencies
Fly that player over instead of Gross
A veteran potentially misses two weeks of footy instead of a draftee, and it’s much less important to his development.

Withdraw Graham
Bring either Williams or Long into the 22 for him
Add Petch or Hunt to the emergencies
Fly that player over instead of Gross
A veteran potentially misses two weeks of footy instead of a draftee, and it’s much less important to his development.
Huh?

Both emergencies went into the side, as Graham and Ryan both went out.

That means we had no emergency in Adelaide, hence Gross being flown over. If we wanted a new emergency, then that'd have been an unforced change.

Huh?

Both emergencies went into the side, as Graham and Ryan both went out.

That means we had no emergency in Adelaide, hence Gross being flown over. If we wanted a new emergency, then that'd have been an unforced change.

Sorry in advance for everyone this is boring.

• The team flew Friday with two emergencies, Williams and Long. The third emergency was Gross. Graham was in the 23.
  • On Saturday morning Graham’s suspension was announced.
  • At that point, instead of pulling Gross out of the WAFL and flying over to sit on his bum in the Robran Stand, we could have instead made the changes I set out, and put a non-young developing important player in the stands.

Sorry in advance for everyone this is boring.

• The team flew Friday with two emergencies, Williams and Long. The third emergency was Gross. Graham was in the 23.
  • On Saturday morning Graham’s suspension was announced.
  • At that point, instead of pulling Gross out of the WAFL and flying over to sit on his bum in the Robran Stand, we could have instead made the changes I set out, and put a non-young developing important player in the stands.
So, would we have had to pay the fine or not, considering we'd be swapping out one of our emergencies?

If Gross was named as emergency there's no fine. There's only a fine if we replace Graham with a non-emergency listed player. The fine in recent instances has only been a few grand anyway.

12.1 Submission of Official Team Sheet

(a) Each Club shall complete an Official Team Sheet online for each Match in which the Club participates no later than 60 minutes prior to the time scheduled for the commencement of a Match unless otherwise specified by the Executive General Manager Football.

12.3 Amendment to Official Team Sheet – Emergency Player

(a) After a Club has submitted its Official Team Sheet 60 minutes prior to the scheduled Match start time, it may subsequently replace a Player listed on that Official Team Sheet only with an Emergency Player or the Substitute Player that was listed on the Official Team Sheet before the commencement of play of the Match (as defined in the Laws of Australian Football), provided the Player who is being replaced is unable to play because of injury, illness or personal circumstances.

If Gross was named as emergency there's no fine. There's only a fine if we replace Graham with a non-emergency listed player. The fine in recent instances has only been a few grand anyway.

Ok so we could've swapped Gross out for someone else a day early instead of paying the fine then?

It's only if you use a non-emergency listed player within 60 minutes of the match?

Ok so we could've swapped Gross out for someone else a day early instead of paying the fine then?

It's only if you use a non-emergency listed player within 60 minutes of the match?

Correct RE Gross, it seems any emergency can be brought in at any time between the team announcement and up to 60 mins before the game. After that 60 min mark the change has to be due to a legitimate reason like injury. This is probably how teams like Geelong get away with it, the rules literally allow for it.

The rules imply you're not allowed to use a non-emergency listed player at all after the 27 player squad is lodged. Its happened in the past though and the AFL only gave out minor fines

TLDR yes Gross could have played

I feel like this is such a wasted season for Schlong. Owies and Cripps basically playing the whole year and him getting quickly punted probably wasn't on many peoples bingo cards. He did start poor though.

Gross and Bo Allan have also royally been dicked around and had rough first seasons. Struth.

Grego been left in the WAFL to rot. When he was in an elite patch of form our genius coaches punted him out of the midfield and back into defense to nip that straight in the bud.

Good to see some leadership from Kelly, Owies and Cripps though. If not for those guys I reckon we'd be on the bottom of the ladder with one win 🚽

Our senior players have gotta be the worst in the comp.

If cripps, owies, duggan and kelly are regularly getting games ahead of youngsters next year.

Over It Im Done GIF by Jasmine Masters

Owies struggled with his accuracy in his first few seasons, but improved significantly in his last two.
Hopefully his 6.9 so far this year is just an anomaly but the accuracy eerily to his first couple of seasons but his form is much worse...
Can't see him last til the end of his contract if it continues.

Owies struggled with his accuracy in his first few seasons, but improved significantly in his last two.
Hopefully his 6.9 so far this year is just an anomaly but the accuracy eerily to his first couple of seasons but his form is much worse...
Can't see him last til the end of his contract if it continues.
Delist with one year to go Zac langdon style

Nice melt.

As shit as some of our senior players have been, if you play too many young players they'll all be gassed by half time and we'll lose by 100+ every week.

Is that good for morale?

It'll change next year when they get another preseason into them.

Also on Gross. Clearly he's struggled when played as sub and as a HFF, so there's nothing wrong with him developing in the WAFL like Hall has.

He's a first year player who just got his contract extended, he hasn't been 'mismanaged'.
Tim Kelly is gassed by qtr time...

The senior players IMHO are less fit then the younger players basically. It doesnt help thereafter that they are slower therefore less likely to be able to apply defensive pressure

What chance Maric returns to sub?
Dewar has been ok.
Both of last week's vests dropped (Pet/JWill)

What chance Maric returns to sub?
Dewar has been ok.
Both of last week's vests dropped (Pet/JWill)
Personally I'd add Hutchinson and Owies as sub candidates.
Hope that Mini has the balls to make TK a sub one of these days if he continues to be mediocre. Perhaps not tell him until the day so he doesn't "drop himself to the WAFL" lol.

Imagine if we get a brawl? Harley Reid and Brady Hough trying to manhandle 15 men at once while Tim Kelly and Liam Duggan cry in the corner will be a fight for the ages

Thing with Owies is, I think he is fine to have on the list as depth and playing WAFL until needed. Solid senior body in the twos.

But no, he’s a fckn automatic inclusion no matter his form. Shits me
Wrong area of the park to be a WAFL depth player for us. We need midfielders in our WAFL depth dept which Owies isnt.