Prediction Round 20, 2025: Changes vs Fremantle

For those calling for Cripps' head, this comes up every week. Why? Honestly, I would love to know what it is people are seeing (or not seeing) that I am not (or am).

For a start, he calls for the ball to be kicked long to him. What, is he going to take a pack mark over big key backs?

He should be more focused on preventing opposition half backs running the ball out.

Our mids need to stop kicking it long to him. Wouldn’t drop him yet as there is no obvious replacement.

In: hewett, Reid, gross, allan, brock

Out: owies, bazzo, JWilliams, petrucelle (still handballs to ghosts), kelly

Put Harley’s name on-ball and then sell raffle tickets for the other positions. Donate the proceeds to a worthy charity. At least a charity would benefit.

Congratulations to Sue from Armadale, you’re this week’s CHF. We insist you stay on the oval until quarter time, but after that, feel free to go missing for the rest of the game.

For a start, he calls for the ball to be kicked long to him. What, is he going to take a pack mark over big key backs?

He should be more focused on preventing opposition half backs running the ball out.

Our mids need to stop kicking it long to him. Wouldn’t drop him yet as there is no obvious replacement.

In: hewett, Reid, gross, allan, brock

Out: owies, bazzo, JWilliams, petrucelle (still handballs to ghosts), kelly
He provides a option and the players kick it to him normally because he is the only one with the football smarts to get in a spot which a player can kick the ball too . THe amount of times in the first qtr Cripps was the long target from the kick in was wild. No one above 6ft 3 figured out that when a kick in takes place you should run where you are 55m near the ball and then try mark it for some reason other then Cripps

Put Harley’s name on-ball and then sell raffle tickets for the other positions. Donate the proceeds to a worthy charity. At least a charity would benefit.

Congratulations to Sue from Armadale, you’re this week’s CHF. We insist you stay on the oval until quarter time, but after that, feel free to go missing for the rest of the game.
Hmm, not a bad idea.
Stop making sense!
Just put a blindfold on, move the magnets around, throw darts at the whiteboard, play spin the bottle, hold a chook raffle, play musical chairs, do the hokey-pokey and Bob's your uncle!

He provides a option and the players kick it to him normally because he is the only one with the football smarts to get in a spot which a player can kick the ball too . THe amount of times in the first qtr Cripps was the long target from the kick in was wild. No one above 6ft 3 figured out that when a kick in takes place you should run where you are 55m near the ball and then try mark it for some reason other then Cripps

Sure. But he isn’t going to out mark someone 6ft 3. He isn’t even going to split the contest, often it’s an intercept mark and a turnover.

We are missing waterman badly.

Best game harley has played
A few extra tried hard
But this is not going to go well next wek against freo

We backed in the seniors this week and got nothing.

It doesn't get any lower than this, now it's time to play the kids properly.

Owies, Cripps, Kelly need to have a spell and Champion, Gross and Grego deserve a run.

Bazzo - who I like - came in for Brock for **** knows why and needs to swap back. If we're handing out charity then give Chesser a run.

Kelly out, Hewett in
Owies out, Gross in
Petrol out, Chesser in
Basso out, Brock in
Either B or J Williams out, A Reid in

Seen enough of Owies to say he is a bust, for now. Gross may not be a forward but he can't do worse than Owies.

Chesser has been playing well in the WAFL, and we need to give him another go before his contract expires.

We have seen enough of Petrol over the years to know his capabilities.

So play Flynn against Jackson and Darcy? Solid plan.
I'll admit that it is unlikely to happen this week but we're losing the ruck battle anyway. All I'm saying is that three tall forwards isn't working. Jack can handle the second ruck duties.

That may just be the poorest forward line ever filled by an AFL team.

But WTF else are we supposed to do? Who else do we have?
No shi ay

But if the main task is given time the smalls is to not let the ball out without a fight and the main task of the talls is to bring it to ground if you can't mark it then just reset and try something.

Our entire team lacks defensive pressure, but mainly our forwards and defenders.

Owies and JWilliams out of the F50, replace with Champion and Newton/Long.(small forward line)
Dewar out of D50, replace with Baker.

Put Hutchinson into CBAs/HFF to replace what Graham was doing until Graham is back. Get him to just tackle non-stop, dont even look at the ball.
Chesser can do Hutchinsons role for a couple of weeks.
Maric and Dewar flip a coin to see who gets that other wing role.

Brock and Bazzo swap.
Duggan to play lockdown only.
McCarthy to be the main distributor again idk why they took it off him.

Lineup something like:
FB: Ginbey Edwards Baker
HB: McCarthy Brock Duggan
C: Chesser Hall Maric/Dewar
HF: Cripps Shanahan Hutchinson
FF: Champion BWilliams Ryan
R: Flynn Reid Hewett
Int: Hall Brockman Cole Newton/Long
Sub: Allan/Gross/Newton/Long/Dewar/Maric

Owies suckkkks. Should never play footy again for anyone. Gone
Yep while you should never right off a player in their first year at a new club as a lot turn it around in their 2nd. It’s starting to be a bit to a worry this is another player we targeted and looks a miss (early days) new list team not getting many ticks early.

The Jack Williams experiment isn't working but he is a better player than Bailey Williams. Drop Bailey, bring in another runner.

Jack TOG played 48% of the game.

0 marks
0 kicks
0 handballs
0 taps
0 tackles
0 ranking points

So yep, agreed. Whatever the experiiment is.......its not working.

Well. At least a few more folks will have had their eyes opened to what Graham was bringing to the midfield mix.

I thought Crippa actually busted his arse until I turned it off. Unfortunately he was trying to play the Darling/Waterman link up role which he is just undersized for.

TK extension. Surely whoever advocated for that is getting sacked in 5 weeks?

Absolutely critical we get a mature body in to support Harley next year. The kid is worth whatever he is asking IMO. The way he is rising to the challenge in the face of adversity from every angle you can think of is phenomenal. Heart of a champion. But he needs a chop out or we'll break him.

Out: TK, Bwilliams/JWilliams, Owies
In: Hewett, Ballan, Gross

It probably doesn't matter what happens at selection. I reckon last night was the backbreaker. A lot of trust will have been burned internally with the effort that was put up. Suspect we get flogged for the rest of the year to finish the year in a heap :/