Autopsy Round 20, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

We have won one game this year you fool. After four years of hell there is almost nothing pointing to improvement. The only positive this year is the back of Simpson and a semi combative style but we are at least 10 or more quality AFL players short of a list.
So do you want a different coach?

*obvious improvement, aside.

Meh, it was fine. about the result we all expected.

Nice of Kelly to actually rock up for a game. Thought Hutch and Cole had one of their better games. McCarthy was good as was Maric.

Shanahands went missing a bit, Owies was invisible.

Overall didn't really learn much from that game that we didn't already know

Hopefully some of the WAFL boys push for selection tomorrow

So do you want a different coach?

*obvious improvement, aside.
You have dealt yourself out of reasonable conversation in my mind. I have no problems with this coach doing his best picking up from complete organisational dysfunction though the Simpson era. But we are toast, relying on bottom up list revival. Unfortunately the kids are too few and not good enough to do that *Harley aside.

So do you want a new coach or not?

Shanahands went missing a bit, Owies was invisible.
Shanahan was much better than Archer Reid.

Uncharacteristically shanked a set shot out on the full and then was stiff not to get a goal assist when a 15m pass was called play on by the umps but I thought he presented up and clunked a few marks in those great mitts of his.

Archer Reid had one diving mark and a tap on and that was about it.

Between Jack Williams’ game last week and Archer’s today the mid-forward connection piece is a worry.

Uncharacteristically shanked a set shot out on the full and then was stiff not to get a goal assist when a 15m pass was called play on by the umps but I thought he presented up and clunked a few marks in those great mitts of his.

Between Jack Williams’ game last week and Archer’s today the mid-forward connection piece is a worry.

Both went missing really, agree that it says more about our delivery. Always a tough ask to have two teenagers as your main key forwards.

Have posted about it in another thread but I think we're getting close to needing to trial one of the two in defense, my pick would be Archer.

So do you want a new coach or not?
Comprehension clearly not your strong suite..

All the young key forwards have been shoe-horned years too early. Who knows which if them will progress. As for now, normally we'd have the likes of Allen, Waterman and a halfway decent ruck rolling through there as key targets.

Comprehension clearly not your strong suite..

All the young key forwards have been shoe-horned years too early. Who knows which if them will progress. As for now, normally we'd have the likes of Allen, Waterman and a halfway decent ruck rolling through there as key targets.
So what's your point and solution, seeing as comprehension isn't my string suit?

I feel like whatever your point is it's heavenly weighted by the fact you're having a derby sook.

Agreed. This year is a mulligan because he barely got any input into the side due to late onboarding.

If we're looking at another near-winless season next year his head will be in the metaphorical noose.
I hope the whole club can start fresh next year with him in charge

They may be down for a year or two, but what has happened to us is, honestly, unprecedented.

Its going to be a long time before we see a fall from grace as bad as this. We were premiers 7 years ago, and since than have basically been fighting for wooden spoon in 5 of those years, breaking every conceivable worst ever record on our way, with very very faint light at the end of the tunnel.

Carlton also have the benefit of being a big Vic club and all the advantages that come with that. We don't.

We shouldn't be pointing the finger at or whataboutism any other club until we actually start being competitive again
The original poster who I replied to made note that we have the worst list and will for the next three years where as I noted I’d much prefer our predicament to that of Carlton’s.

They are on the edge of requiring a rebuild and will need to do so during a period where an expansion club is entering the competition and the draft has never been so compromised due to academy and father and son selections.

If you do not think that is going to be challenging for any club then you are mistaken.

I’m not concerned with where we’ve been the past few years, it’s irrelevant to me now as we know we are rebuilding and the process is already a few years in however I will play devils advocate here and comment on two point you made.

Firstly that Carlton might only be down for a few years and secondly that being located in Victoria and being a big vic club gives them advantages that we don’t have.

Are these the same advantages that have prevented Carlton winning a premiership the past 30 years and not making a grand final for 26 years?

I’m assuming Essendon have the same advantages and yet they haven’t won a final in 21 years didn’t it take the Tigers 38 years to win another flag after 1980?

There are valuable lesson one can take from those clubs, the same lessons we have now learned the hard way.

You can’t be solely focused on the present, it’s the future you must invest in and you can’t rush a rebuild.

The decisions we have made the past two years, the decisions we are continuing to make moving forward might hurt now but will set us up hopefully for sustained success not just a quick dead cat bounce up the ladder.

That’s what Carlton have continued to do half way through numerous rebuilds and where do they find themselves now?

What we are going through isn’t unprecedented, even just recently North have had a similar track record. It’s unprecedented for us but I hope we have learned much from our downfall.

Is there anywhere you can draft sprinters from ? grab a half dozen 100 metre track sprinters and teach them footy skills, why you ask me? because the current level of skills we have on our list is crap so getting some pacey footy-talentless athletes means they have one skill more than our current list - Pace.
This is the Campbell Chesser and Tom Lamb strategy. Doesn’t work

Nothing wrong with the kid, he’s a good player. I can’t see him being a midfielder with his complete lack of athleticism and size, a fact that in our team he’d look like shit as our outside players don’t have the same freedom as other sides.
He doesn’t need athleticism and size, he knows where the footy is going to be, is clean, has awareness to evade, and uses the ball well. There are lots of examples of this type of player who are very good. I don’t know why so many people are in denial that’s he’s going to be a gun, and is very good already.
People say well he’s in a better side he wouldn’t be doing that at West Coast. But that’s really not the point. There are lots of draftees who play at decent teams like Freo and don’t perform nearly as well as Reid is. This proves his quality.
Who knows, maybe Bo will become just as good as him. But the argument that M Reid is a front runner or just the icing is just copium

Positive adjacent.

North seem destined for their sixth consecutive bottom two finish and traded their R1 this year for a pick in the late 20s.

Bizarrely our bottom two counter is currently zero in a row, soon to be one.

Slim pickings for positives, mind you.
Yep which makes the logic that we don’t deserve PP because we got ourselves into this situation very puzzling.
Because NM who have received a litany of picks do shit like:
1. Delist almost all the senior players (13 of them if I recall) at once and hence consign themselves to the doldrums
2. Refuse to pick a key forward with any of their last ten top 10 picks (have guessed a number here) and instead take about 8 midfielders
3. Trade out future pick 2 for a pick in the mid twenties (having traded their own pick in 20s out for………Caleb Daniel, who had become a fringe player at Dogs)
4. Absolutely ballsed up their 3 previous coaching appointments (Rhyce Shaw, the first ever coach to tap out half way through one season coz he’s overwhelmed, David Noble who was an administrator who they expected just to slot in as a senior coach, and Clarkson who fair enough was a sound appointment but has done SFA for the club since)
5. Probably a few other dumb things I can’t recall at present

I enjoyed seeing Maric put his body on the line a couple of times today. There was that one time in particular backing back into a pack full of leading players and getting shitmixed that I was quite impressed with.

Gonna be honest, I didn’t think he had those kind of efforts in him. Glad to see him show some physicality and bravery, if he can continue working on that area of his game he’ll become a really handy player for us.

Yep which makes the logic that we don’t deserve PP because we got ourselves into this situation very puzzling.
Because NM who have received a litany of picks do shit like:
1. Delist almost all the senior players (13 of them if I recall) at once and hence consign themselves to the doldrums
2. Refuse to pick a key forward with any of their last ten top 10 picks (have guessed a number here) and instead take about 8 midfielders
3. Trade out future pick 2 for a pick in the mid twenties (having traded their own pick in 20s out for………Caleb Daniel, who had become a fringe player at Dogs)
4. Absolutely ballsed up their 3 previous coaching appointments (Rhyce Shaw, the first ever coach to tap out half way through one season coz he’s overwhelmed, David Noble who was an administrator who they expected just to slot in as a senior coach, and Clarkson who fair enough was a sound appointment but has done SFA for the club since)
5. Probably a few other dumb things I can’t recall at present
Meanwhile we have:
  • Replaced our CEO
  • Replaced our head coach
  • Replaced our medical team
  • Replaced our strength and conditioning team
  • Twice split top 10 picks to bring in more talent
  • Taken a generational talent with pick 1
  • Moved on senior players (Barrass, Darling, maybe OA)
  • Targeted and traded in AFL quality senior players in the 26years+ category to fill a demographic gap (Hunt, Flynn, Baker, Graham, Owies)
  • Turned over our list significantly
  • Blooded nearly our entire list

Like... what more can we do?

I enjoyed seeing Maric put his body on the line a couple of times today. There was that one time in particular backing back into a pack full of leading players and getting shitmixed that I was quite impressed with.

Gonna be honest, I didn’t think he had those kind of efforts in him. Glad to see him show some physicality and bravery, if he can continue working on that area of his game he’ll become a really handy player for us.
He needed to put his body on the line when he won that free kick because he dropped an intercept mark he should have taken in the previous quarter because he squibbed it and dropped his head.

Much more encouraging physical display though from then on. Maybe Mini had a word after the dropped mark?

Also wonder if Amiss might be cited for that? Certainly wasn’t looking to contest the mark and I reckon that would have been classified as charging about 15 years ago.

He doesn’t need athleticism and size, he knows where the footy is going to be, is clean, has awareness to evade, and uses the ball well. There are lots of examples of this type of player who are very good. I don’t know why so many people are in denial that’s he’s going to be a gun, and is very good already.
People say well he’s in a better side he wouldn’t be doing that at West Coast. But that’s really not the point. There are lots of draftees who play at decent teams like Freo and don’t perform nearly as well as Reid is. This proves his quality.
Who knows, maybe Bo will become just as good as him. But the argument that M Reid is a front runner or just the icing is just copium
He’s going to be a very good outside player, at his peak may reach the levels of Sidebottom. Bo has a higher ceiling in my opinion, you can only get so far without athleticism or size.

Autopsy Round 20, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle