Unofficial Preview Round 20, 2025 v Suns @ Carrara, July 26th 1.20pm.

On Crunchtime today Adam Simpson was talking about what playing a rebuilding team was like (in the context of Essendon's issues), and he referenced a game where the eagles played a team that celebrated scoring 100 points... when the eagles scored 160.

He said "I won't say which team it was" but I KNEW STRAIGHT AWAY SIMMO:

View attachment 2371654

Anyway Harris and Dizzy are the only 2 players left who played in that game (assume Zork was injured and froggy was in the NEAFL team).

Leppa was grinning ear to ear in press conference about kicking 100.
I remember this one so well.

"another loss Leppa"... "how good was the 100 points ey"

Need to remind myself that he's a triple premiership player from time to time, because if I dwell on the coaching stint then 🤮 🤮 🤮

I must have had stockholm syndrome by this point because i remember thinking gee we have kicked plenty of goals today, might be a good season...

On Crunchtime today Adam Simpson was talking about what playing a rebuilding team was like (in the context of Essendon's issues), and he referenced a game where the eagles played a team that celebrated scoring 100 points... when the eagles scored 160.

He said "I won't say which team it was" but I KNEW STRAIGHT AWAY SIMMO:

View attachment 2371654

Anyway Harris and Dizzy are the only 2 players left who played in that game (assume Zork was injured and froggy was in the NEAFL team).
One of only five games we scored above 100 that year, only winning two of them. To be fair, that 102 in week 1 would've been our third highest score in the year previous.

🤢

Glad we played on friday and getting a full 6-7 day recovery before meeting the Suns.

I expect their game against Crows on Sunday arvo will be brutal as well so let's see how they pull up.

Doedee not ready. In fact, cant really see Tom play senior footy this year. Gardner is the man 100%.
Ok. I haven’t seen Doedee in the reserves. Gardiner it is then. Let’s hope he finds form.

Agree with Reville despite all the hype he is only averaging 10 possessions as a 24 year oldmid which really shouldn’t be putting him above other guys like Robertson etc. Also they may want to revisit the Bruuuce chant as it sounds like boos to those don’t know on TV which is not a great look

1752912305177.jpeg

Doedee absolutely will not get any game time this year. His rehab seems to be doing a lot worse than Coleman, and when he's not playing, its because his body isn't up to a week to week schedule yet. Zorko should get up, then again, kiddy can easily come in for him. Its a conundrum though, because you can't rush kiddy because of his last injury, but you can't risk Zorko as well if there's any doubt. One thing, i hope we keep Marshall in our team. I can't remember a player whose played so few minutes, but has looked so effective.

Reville or Marshall the sub next week with Bailey returning.

Reville was okay for his 11 disposals with only 67% game time.

Most posters know my view on the sub so either will do next week.

Only other change barring injury could be we run with 1 ruck.

I would keep Marshall in and drop Reville.
Fort is more use than Day but that is faint praise. Hopefully Oscar continues to improve. He could have kicked two.
What would be great is a packed house. The Suns and the Giants have to start to generate some income. The worst thing that happened last year was the dismal crowd at our final against the Giants.
I an starting to doubt the Giants financially
Good points on the Giants and the Suns. My biggest worry with both is the talentless marketing team the AFL have to roll out any programs other than their stock standard stuff from AFL dominate areas. The talk about taking away academies or changing them constantly is just lunacy for these 2 clubs. The Gold Coast like the Sunshine Coast is a collection of communities, people whom live there describe themselves as living at a specific beach, there is no overall town centre, no real main street and town hall. It takes a different sort of marketing to pull those communities together. The Giants have their challenges as well in a very non-all area, rugby league heartland but more so soccer due to a high % ethnic background. Connecting with various ethnic groups and bringing them together with a common cause is very hard to achieve you only have to look at soccer and the racial issues they have had.

The Suns and Giants are in high growth areas much more so than some of the traditional clubs now struggling or the new ones proposed. I do think the Suns are getting closer now with their academy bringing the 'beaches' and their local clubs together, it's just the 'Melbourne' based traditionalists that are set on destroying it.

I think this is gong to be a very hard, physical bruising encounter. Real little brother taking it up to big brother stuff. .

A genuine qclash with feeling and meaning.
Yep was just thinking if ever Gold Coast are going to try and build themselves up for a Q Clash you surely reckon this will be the one.

suns will be playing their 6th game post bye, none of them have been easy games, and a 6 day break vs 8 day break after a late sunday game.

For a young side they might not be all that fresh for our game.

I reckon Hardwick hates us though and will be very keen to knock us off. 0-3 in the q clash for him will sting.

Another massive game - given we have the pies the week after we would be out of the 4 if we drop the next 2 (i an giving gc the essendon win already)