Autopsy Round 22, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Adelaide

Do we win that with Jake and Harley? Or Yeo and Allen?

I don’t know. All you can do is put your best team of that week out there and hope they turn up, regardless of who it is and who they’re against.

**** me, the boys turned up. Had an absolutely massive dip against a side that has been rampaging far better teams than us (if you can imagine such teams existing).

Not buying this “they have no idea how to win” shit. McCarthy’s exiting 50 creatively. Hough’s brilliant kick with all the pressure in the world. They took it on, they didn’t go into their shells. They tried to open the game up which had been working for three quarters. Sometimes when you’re 18th and missing all of the pillars of your team, you lose to the best team in footy.

A bit shit, for sure, but it’s turning. Hang in there.

Positives
  • Hewett and Kelly both massive in different ways. Both have had arguably their best two games of the season in the two weeks Reid hasn’t been there to bail our mids out. Hewett’s hands, Kelly’s contested workrate (lol?). Don’t shovel dirt on him yet? Maybe?
  • Shanahands. Crows backline eating people alive this year and he looked nothing like a 19 year old leading the forwardline for one of the first times.
  • McCarthy, tick, makes it happen.
  • Ginbey. Bloke’s 20. 200+ gamer and, when I mentioned earlier we’re missing our pillars, we’re sort of not anymore given what he’s shown this year.
  • Baker, next captain, how many times can it be said
  • Flynn busted his ass today. Need to address the ruck stocks badly, but it really isn’t for a lack of trying from these blokes. Archer’s cameo in there also very good.
Negatives
  • Didn’t get the result, a bizarre thing to be saying in a game we were 10 goal underdogs. A $1000 bet on the Crows netted you $20, that’s how heavy the favourites were. Really would have been special.
  • Chesser started like the best player on earth then faded. Davis needs to pick up the speed and physicality of AFL footy, but who cares pump games for now.
  • Gross one touch. I get why they subbed him off, nobody needs to like it but you tie the coach’s hands somewhat when you’re that quiet. Big offseason for him and hope he can finally get some midfield minutes because he’s wasted as this nothing HFF.
  • Reid presented hard but really never gives us much as a forward. Good in the ruck though.
  • Backline inundated late and we completely ran out of legs again. Such is life in many ways, but we’ve got one win and it’s almost all down to an inability to run out the last 10 minutes of games every week. Flood gates territory.
We’re going to make it, but ** that would have been a special reward for the work they put in. On to the…what’s that say…Bulldogs. ** sake.
Some of the inability to run it out is because of the crap kicking. You not only have to chase the opposition players attacking moves but also have to sprint to reach our own bombs which are mostly wasting leads and not to the advantage of out own players. Generally the skills and ball movement were good but then in the last, we just started bombing it again despite players presenting with leads or making themselves loose options.

Least experienced team in footy, typically the youngest too. Another preseason into the boys, you can see the vision.

HT leads: Adelaide, Brisbane, Collingwood, Melbourne, Port, St Kilda, Essendon

3QT leads: Adelaide, Brisbane, Port, St Kilda, North

Mostly mid tier teams but a few scares in there too. Couple more fourth quarter leads that don’t fall into the above. It’ll turn as they learn to run out games.

The only 2 real negatives, Hamish coulda gone harder late 1st qtr for their goal and maric coulda put less mayo on his corked thigh when the game was on the line basically. Stand in the hole son! Your team mates did it all day!!!

Proud supporter tonight, we were always in it for a change..
a great watch and we had a fair dinkum crack!!

I'm really not worried about Brock's build, he came in as a late SSP so didn't have a full preseason. We don't want him too bulky as his close down speed and acceleration are his big strengths.
I don’t disagree but think he needs a bit more strength through the core, which will come with age. I have been a fan from day 1 and not really sure why he gets dropped. We should be getting as many games into him as possible. His speed, acceleration and kick are a weapon.

Was a great game. Almost everyone cracked in (Gross was obviously quiet and Bazzo is finding his feet and a bit out of his depth at times).

Not to pot Kelly, as he had an excellent game, but how he can be so flat footed at stoppages and players just burst past him does my head in. A lot of our players suffer from the same affliction so unfair to pot him. Not sure if it’s because they have no confidence in the hit-outs so are reactive. Anyway, that aside, hope we keep getting performances like that from Kelly and all our players.

The only 2 real negatives, Hamish coulda gone harder late 1st qtr for their goal and maric coulda put less mayo on his corked thigh when the game was on the line basically. Stand in the hole son! Your team mates did it all day!!!
I think that's a pretty harsh interpretation on Maric who looked seriously sore.
Many of his teammates don't put in when they aren't injured.

So so close but so much work to do clearly.

Positives:
  • McCarthy boy oh boy he is absolutely special. A pre season under his belt and look out.
  • Kelly continues to impress, influential out of the middle and what we wanna see heading into next year.
  • Baker. That’s all really
  • Liam Ryan best game for a while looks exquisite at times
  • Reuben Ginbey oh he’s good SO GOOD
  • Chesser’s first half

Negatives:

• Chesser’s second half
  • AReid just not giving enough need way more from him as the second KPP and back up ruck
  • Sucks for grossy cause I’m a huge fan of him but needs a big pre season and some time in the midfield and not on the flank
  • Some very ordinary kicking again.. why don’t we lower our vision argh

Proud of the fight, 2 more games to go to show that fight and maybe pip an upset win? You never know

I don’t disagree but think he needs a bit more strength through the core, which will come with age. I have been a fan from day 1 and not really sure why he gets dropped. We should be getting as many games into him as possible. His speed, acceleration and kick are a weapon.
Core strength is good and you're also not wrong, it's just his outer muscles, biceps and chest, he's better off being stringy as he is.

I really really rate the Sandman. I'm delighted with him.

So so close but so much work to do clearly.

Positives:
  • McCarthy boy oh boy he is absolutely special. A pre season under his belt and look out.
  • Kelly continues to impress, influential out of the middle and what we wanna see heading into next year.
  • Baker. That’s all really
  • Liam Ryan best game for a while looks exquisite at times
  • Reuben Ginbey oh he’s good SO GOOD
  • Chesser’s first half

Negatives:

• Chesser’s second half
  • AReid just not giving enough need way more from him as the second KPP and back up ruck
  • Sucks for grossy cause I’m a huge fan of him but needs a big pre season and some time in the midfield and not on the flank
  • Some very ordinary kicking again.. why don’t we lower our vision argh

Proud of the fight, 2 more games to go to show that fight and maybe pip an upset win? You never know
I reckon we need to caveat Reid's performance with the fact he had a foot issue in the late first quarter and was notably hampered all game.

You lads should be proud of that performance. Absolutely outplayed us and should have won. I reckon next year you'll be much higher up the ladder.
Go on lads, ride the slightly fortunate but not undeserved win and win the thing. Proper club with whom I have a lot of admiration.

Do we win that with Jake and Harley? Or Yeo and Allen?

I don’t know. All you can do is put your best team of that week out there and hope they turn up, regardless of who it is and who they’re against.

**** me, the boys turned up. Had an absolutely massive dip against a side that has been rampaging far better teams than us (if you can imagine such teams existing).

Not buying this “they have no idea how to win” shit. McCarthy’s exiting 50 creatively. Hough’s brilliant kick with all the pressure in the world. They took it on, they didn’t go into their shells. They tried to open the game up which had been working for three quarters. Sometimes when you’re 18th and missing all of the pillars of your team, you lose to the best team in footy.

A bit shit, for sure, but it’s turning. Hang in there.

Positives
  • Hewett and Kelly both massive in different ways. Both have had arguably their best two games of the season in the two weeks Reid hasn’t been there to bail our mids out. Hewett’s hands, Kelly’s contested workrate (lol?). Don’t shovel dirt on him yet? Maybe?
  • Shanahands. Crows backline eating people alive this year and he looked nothing like a 19 year old leading the forwardline for one of the first times.
  • McCarthy, tick, makes it happen.
  • Ginbey. Bloke’s 20. 200+ gamer and, when I mentioned earlier we’re missing our pillars, we’re sort of not anymore given what he’s shown this year.
  • Baker, next captain, how many times can it be said
  • Flynn busted his ass today. Need to address the ruck stocks badly, but it really isn’t for a lack of trying from these blokes. Archer’s cameo in there also very good.
Negatives
  • Didn’t get the result, a bizarre thing to be saying in a game we were 10 goal underdogs. A $1000 bet on the Crows netted you $20, that’s how heavy the favourites were. Really would have been special.
  • Chesser started like the best player on earth then faded. Davis needs to pick up the speed and physicality of AFL footy, but who cares pump games for now.
  • Gross one touch. I get why they subbed him off, nobody needs to like it but you tie the coach’s hands somewhat when you’re that quiet. Big offseason for him and hope he can finally get some midfield minutes because he’s wasted as this nothing HFF.
  • Reid presented hard but really never gives us much as a forward. Good in the ruck though.
  • Backline inundated late and we completely ran out of legs again. Such is life in many ways, but we’ve got one win and it’s almost all down to an inability to run out the last 10 minutes of games every week. Flood gates territory.
We’re going to make it, but ** that would have been a special reward for the work they put in. On to the…what’s that say…Bulldogs. ** sake.
all of that

TBH I was expecting a shellacking today after the weather cleared up , the tackling and pressure on Crows players was very good.. Ball use and system was first class for much of the day and a welcome sight to see ..Tim Kelly was a beast, ❤️’s the game again .His efforts inspired a lot of the boys today to keep going ..

Positives
  • TK welcome back, more of that please.
  • McCarthy was huge, iust an all round gun. That play in the 4th that Ryan buggered up would've made Judd proud.
  • Shanahan great presence in the F50 for his first season.
  • Hewitt stayed involved with some really good playmaking and fast hands in close.
  • Ryan's goal kicking much improved today.
  • Flynn was really important today. Probably the best game from our ruck in the last couple of seasons.
  • Ginbeast down back. Just an animal, crashes packs, lays huge tackles, body lines the ball. Just does everything it takes, can't be accused of being built like Tarzan plays like Jane crap, this bloke is a legit hard nut.
  • Hamish Davis was good. Second highest tackles behind Graham with 7 tackles. Who would've thought.
  • Clay Hall is quality. Played a good game.
  • Hough back to his best in the backline again.

Negatives
  • Chesser great in the first half, evaporated in the 2nd.
  • Owies, Gross limited impact
  • Bazzo. Not seeing it unfortunately. He's just tall but not a particularly good mark, kick, or a good mover.

You lads should be proud of that performance. Absolutely outplayed us and should have won. I reckon next year you'll be much higher up the ladder.
Was a good contest but the Crows the better side today. Your lads fought it out well. Just cleaner when they need to be.

Autopsy Round 22, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Adelaide