Unofficial Preview Round 23, Friday, August 15th 8.20pm AEST @Optus v Dockers.

Aug 31, 2015
By the Gabba.
Brisbane Lions
Valleys. Chelsea.
Massive Friday night game, must win if we want top 4. Fages in his presser said Starcevich's hammy was very minor and missing tonight was precautionary, said he should be right for this game.

Outs- Tom Doedee, Henry Smith, Will McLachlan, Bruce Reville.

Ins- Ryan Lester, Brandon Starcevich, Sam Day, Luke Beecken.

Sub- Bruce Reville.

It was also mentioned during the week that Kai is a possibility of returning next week.

I like the idea of Beecken but can't see it happening on this trip

Agree Day for Smith. Henry has promise but needs a proper pre season and some speed drills. 207cm beasts need a lot of fine-tuning. Day is incredibly good at not getting out-marked and that is all we need right now.
M

Gees McIvor brighten up. The dockers have been terrible the last few weeks.

If we bring the right attitude and pressure levels we will win.
Dockers are one of the most inform teams right now - they have won 11 of their last 12 games!

This will be a great win if we can get up on Friday.

Are we better served with Jaspa Fletcher up on the wing rotation with Berry/Marshall and Bailey more forward because of Charlie's struggles with his form?

Darcy Wilmot, Harris Andrews, Brandon Starcevich.
Dayne Zorko, Darcy Gardiner, Ryan Lester.

Darcy Fort, Will Ashcroft, Josh Dunkley.
Jarrod Berry, Hugh McCluggage, Jaspa Fletcher.

Zac Bailey, Eric Hipwood, Cam Rayner.
Charlie Cameron, Logan Morris, Callum Ah Chee.

Sam Day, Luke Beecken(7th back), Levi Ashcroft(mid), Sam Marshall(wing).

Sub- Bruce Reville.

If Kai is available as Fages suggested was a possibility he comes in for Marshall.

It would surprise me if Starcevich is back for this game. We really are so shallow for defenders at the moment. We will need to address that situation in the off season.

We will bounce back hard but the Dockers are a good side that will make our chances difficult. A 6 day turn around into a flight to Perth is less than ideal as well.

Forget about Dev Robertson as the sub or playing up forward.

Is there a reason why we aren’t speaking about Ty Gallop as the answer? I was lucky enough to be at the Crows game this year for his debut, and he covered the ground like a gazelle and barely made a mistake. Just seems to have far fewer critical deficiencies than Smith.

I was considering him but I'm not sure hes an option to ruck against Darcy and Jackson this week

The big forwards were woeful yesterday. They kicked 9 two weeks ago and Hipwood contested so well against Collingwood. Yesterday I can only remember one win of a contested ball by our talls ( I will watch the replay tomorrow). This allowed Sydney easy extraction continually. Smith was very quiet but Day is not the answer. Allan will be next year.
We have lost our full back and full forward from last year and they are hard to replace. Talls matter and our replacements have been OK they are not in the same class.

Ruck cover would be the answer IMO

Are we better served with Jaspa Fletcher up on the wing rotation with Berry/Marshall and Bailey more forward because of Charlie's struggles with his form?

Darcy Wilmot, Harris Andrews, Brandon Starcevich.
Dayne Zorko, Darcy Gardiner, Ryan Lester.

Darcy Fort, Will Ashcroft, Josh Dunkley.
Jarrod Berry, Hugh McCluggage, Jaspa Fletcher.

Zac Bailey, Eric Hipwood, Cam Rayner.
Charlie Cameron, Logan Morris, Callum Ah Chee.

Sam Day, Luke Beecken(7th back), Levi Ashcroft(mid), Sam Marshall(wing).

Sub- Bruce Reville.

If Kai is available as Fages suggested was a possibility he comes in for Marshall.
Yeah feel like this is probably our best team until Lohmann and Neale return. I’d probably stick go with Smith or Gallop as the 3rd tall forward, Smith has shown an ability to hit the scoreboard and Gallop would help with our forward pressure which has lacked a bit at times. I’d also be tempted to give Doedee another chance if we want to give Starce another week off. Going into finals I just think he’ll make less mistakes than Gardiner but there probably not much in it.

Kai in for Marshall and Neale in for Beecken with Jaspa going back once they’re ready and that’s our finals team imo

Dockers are one of the most inform teams right now - they have won 11 of their last 12 games!

This will be a great win if we can get up on Friday.
Dockers done what we should do beat the teams you needed to beat.
Port was way ahead they found a way.
I worry about the Talls against our backline. Ports backs not bad and got out marked in the last.

Did he say something about Kai in his presser last night? Sounded like Kai would return against the Hawks listening to Fages presser on Friday

my outs and ins
Smith for Day.. Just need someone to bring the ball to ground.
Lester for Doedee he just rusty
McLachlan for Starc
Then maybe Marshall or Bruce out of Beecken.

I try Fletcher in the midfield just need another hard at it mid to help Dunks.

Did he say something about Kai in his presser last night? Sounded like Kai would return against the Hawks listening to Fages presser on Friday
Yep, said he's a possibility but more likely v Hawks at this stage. Seemed very sure Starce would be back.

I've watched Beecken in the Ressie's, he may lack a little poise before disposing but boy-oh-boy that bloke don't like loosing. He is charging into pack, charging into opposition, grabbing balls and belting them out of defence - it just some times they don't go to a team mate. I'd like to see some one-on-one stats for him. I was supportive of Doedee getting a go but he was severely found out, we need a lock-down defender now with Lester back IF Starc doesn't make the trip. I dont like chopping and changing but Doedee was just too far off the pace.

Henry Smith getting side stepped was embarrassing and to have it done twice just showed up how quickly the Lizard worked it out but the Henry's goal was great work. I'm happy to give him more games yet, he does seem slow but the side steps were slowness of mind, that split second lapse to let the Lizard get 2 steps in.

Out McLaughlin for sure, back to reserve grade and play him in the backline to learn defence and when to keep his feet. See you next season Doedee, come back fitter with more footy under the belt, he was reactive not perceptive and to be an intercept defender you have to see in advance.

I've watched Beecken in the Ressie's, he may lack a little poise before disposing but boy-oh-boy that bloke don't like loosing. He is charging into pack, charging into opposition, grabbing balls and belting them out of defence - it just some times they don't go to a team mate. I'd like to see some one-on-one stats for him. I was supportive of Doedee getting a go but he was severely found out, we need a lock-down defender now with Lester back IF Starc doesn't make the trip. I dont like chopping and changing but Doedee was just too far off the pace.

Henry Smith getting side stepped was embarrassing and to have it done twice just showed up how quickly the Lizard worked it out but the Henry's goal was great work. I'm happy to give him more games yet, he does seem slow but the side steps were slowness of mind, that split second lapse to let the Lizard get 2 steps in.

Out McLaughlin for sure, back to reserve grade and play him in the backline to learn defence and when to keep his feet. See you next season Doedee, come back fitter with more footy under the belt, he was reactive not perceptive and to be an intercept defender you have to see in advance.
I love the way Beecken plays. Sure it's a big transition to Seniors but it's not as if we're going that hot that he can't be slotted in.

They will flog us.

Plenty to drop. Smith and Doedee are miles off it but the games this year will serve them well. Revillle has been big average. The shit unprofessional attitudes and feeling like you can turn up whenever you want hopefully will be out but Fagan hasn’t been able to get that out of them all year, so that’s unlikely.

Hopefully Charlie is dropped. As others have said, but for his name, he’d be gone.

Cupboard is bare. Frog and probably Day in (let’s be honest, Darcy and Jackson will annihilate whoever is in the ruck). Could care less if Starcevich is in (we need to get used to being without him anyway) so give Brain a go (Beecken isn’t being picked). Hopefully Kai in for Charlie. Dev in the 22 and perhaps either drop Marshall or put him on as sub.

It really doesn’t matter anyway.
Good afternoon Dylan, how’s the day treating you

Agree 100%. Him and the radio station both blame Fagan everytime we lose a game. Its so predictable with their normal rants coming in. You can almost write their posts for them. :D

Aside from the ruck issue, he does drop in and out of games a bit too much, which is to be expected as a first year player. He had a strong future with us and I love, absolutely love, his efforts around the ball…which tbh based on some of our forwards efforts might be a good thing.

But I simply cannot trust someone with a username DevRoboGun.