Review Round 24, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Hawthorn

Who were your five best players against Hawthorn?

So in the wash up, the draw against North was as good as a win.

Thank you Jack Payne.

That incredible spoil in the dying seconds may be the difference between a genuine shot at another Flag and just making up the numbers in the lower reaches of the Eight.

If my maths are correct, we finish sixth instead of third if we don't salvage that draw against North

How on earth can you denigrate a Lions player like that - disgraceful sh+te

He’s the most ignored poster on the Lions board for a reason. Join the party.

Thank you Jack Payne.

That incredible spoil in the dying seconds may be the difference between a genuine shot at another Flag and just making up the numbers in the lower reaches of the Eight.

If my maths are correct, we finish sixth instead of third if we don't salvage that drew against North

5th I think.

But yeah, talk about fine margins.

How on earth can you denigrate a Lions player like that - disgraceful sh+te

I can never understand the need to pot one of our own.

As long as they are wearing a Lions jumper, they deserve our support.................and our respect.

Our scramble defense is incredible to watch. Where has that come from
Time. Just time together. The back 6 have gelled incredibly well over the past 7 years and we’re now bearing the fruit of it. That core rotation of Andrews, Payne, Starcevich, Lester, Answerth, Wilmot have become a dependable battle hardened unit that trust each other and it shows every time they win a 1 on 1, make that spoil or any of the hundreds of other 1%ers made over a game.

Mix that in with elite ball users on the flanks in Zorko, Fletcher and Coleman and players floating through the side in previous years, your Rich’s, Adams, Gardner’s, everyone knows their role, what’s expected and to compete bloody hard with everything until the final siren.

I know a lot gets said about our star studded forward lines and midfield, but we’ve truly been blessed with a talented, dependable backline during Fagan’s tenure. Your back 6 wins you premierships!

Not gonna lie. Kind of please we finish 3rd and play first week at the MCG. It’s almost like a chance to get a feel
Of that ground and crowd and energy that will await us if we can make the grand final.
Win and a home prelim
If Collingwood upset crows we then get a Friday night prelim at the Gabba. With our sore bodies and niggles I think this year we would prefer the pre finals bye win the game and get another week off.

Fagan mentioned in the Fox interview with Brown and Lynch that Lester is weighing up his future. Another great game tonight, surely he chooses to go on.
Chris has clearly become more plugged in to the playing group after Joe's retirement caught him so unawares.

Not sure who else they have to call on 3KZ. Presume Andrews to Shannon Neale and Froggy to Jeremy Cameron so Darcy will have to take Dangerfield when he goes forward i would presume and Starce to Brad Close or Tyson Stengle.
He will need to improve then, because he was terrible tonight, especially on the deck. When Gunston beat him cold, one on one, early in the first quarter, the signs were not good. Tonight Gardiner got caught guarding space, he allowed his direct opponent to run off him, he lost his feet too easily and he spent too much time looking about for someone to hand his man off to or blame when everything came unstuck. If you watch the tape closely, at times he is literally walking and watching while his Hawthorn opponent goals.

If Payne were fit, Gardiner would not be selected, so perhaps we look at Joyce? At least he will have a crack. Certainly Ah Chee needs to spend more time in defense, but that robs us of the role he plays as a defensive forward and best match up for Stewart.

Whatever we do, the best solution is that Gardiner LIFTS.

Honestly the second half of last week and this week have been the most comfortable I’ve been with Day. Thought he’s been pretty solid and Gallop just has a higher baseline than someone like Henry because of his pressure and defence, thought he was solid too
Day had some good moments. If he kicked straight he would of been raved about 😂. He's athletically gifted that's for certain. A big mature body who is having a crack.

Not enough love out there for Darcy Fort.

Made it hard for ourselves but in the end we got there. Like earlier in the year when we beat the Hawks at the MCG we got them at the contest and were too tough for them. They are so dangerous on the outside but it's not going to work for them if they can't win contested ball. We probably should have won by five goals.

Everyone did there job but special mention to Wilmot and McCluggage and especially Darcy Fort. I thought he was superb. Won a lot of taps around the ground and his work rate up and down the ground was outstanding. Froggy Lester the wall down back once again and Starcevich's best game for sometime.

Cats had a very easy run into the finals. Lets hope we are primed for finals footy and they are a bit off. They certainly have a big advantage on the injury front.

Hopefully Neale and Berry back for first final.

Kick straight and we can go back to back - no team is tougher than us in the contest.

Fagan mentioned in the Fox interview with Brown and Lynch that Lester is weighing up his future. Another great game tonight, surely he chooses to go on.
Lets send him out with a flag this year...

Not enough love out there for Darcy Fort.
He mostly got smashed but he just keeps on having a crack. Even when he gets beaten you can still find a way to be happy with how he went about it.

First up, the umpiring tonight was DISGRACEFUL! They gave so much latitude to Hawks players who were tackled and incorrectly disposed of the ball. Then Jasper Fletcher gets pinged for holding the ball when he is tackled a nano-second after taking possession. Umpires appeared to be doing their level best to gift the game to Hawthorn.

Spot on mate.

The Fletcher holding the ball was a disgrace. Hawthorn players had been caught with the ball half a dozen times leading up to Flecther decision. We didn't get one call and then they ping Fletcher who had no chance !

How about the time Meek tried to break a tackle got caught dropped it and it was play on!

Starcevich decision was also mind boggling. Too many umpires out there. Need to reduce it by one.

Not sure who else they have to call on 3KZ. Presume Andrews to Shannon Neale and Froggy to Jeremy Cameron so Darcy will have to take Dangerfield when he goes forward i would presume and Starce to Brad Close or Tyson Stengle.
I’d it’s likely Starcevich will go to Dangerfield. Stengle will be the interesting one with no Answerth. In his prime Gardiner was able to play both tall and small, so he might be given that role.

its highly likely they put dangerfield into the middle now that theyve made finals

we might be better suited dropping gardiner and playing a small defence if geelong don't intend to play ollie henry

Honestly the second half of last week and this week have been the most comfortable I’ve been with Day. Thought he’s been pretty solid and Gallop just has a higher baseline than someone like Henry because of his pressure and defence, thought he was solid too
Day has kicked 3 goals in 12 games(would like someone to check that) and I reckon he has had under 10shots at goal. Gardiner, someone most would rate a poor forward kicked 4 in a match last year. Gallop has had 2 games in the seniors hardly getting a kick.
When both these two were on the bench late we looked much better.

3KZ is Football r u ok?

Lester is our never say die defender, routinely does amazing 1% things to save goals.

Massive loss when he is gone, as this is not really a trainable trait.

Review Round 24, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Hawthorn