Round 24 Fixture

Its ok, Freo vs Hawks on now. All good.

PS : May 15th to July 12th is less than 2 months, back to school for you.

You need to calm down.

What is with the childish personal insults? I’m not the AFL, I don’t schedule the games.

Imagine being soo worked up about the timeslot that your team plays; despite not even having the logical foresight to consider the original venue the game was scheduled for.

Reflect on yourself before you start throwing insults towards others mate. Maybe then you won’t need to come back and edit in your argument about how long it has been since the schedule has been released, mate.

You need to calm down.

What is with the childish personal insults? I’m not the AFL, I don’t schedule the games.

Imagine being soo worked up about the timeslot that your team plays; despite not even having the logical foresight to consider the original venue the game was scheduled for.

Reflect on yourself before you start throwing insults towards others mate. Maybe then you won’t need to come back and edit in your argument about how long it has been since the schedule has been released, mate.

Hardly worked up.

You call these insults.

Laughable.

By the way, ever played in Ballarat, Darwin, Cairns, Canberra, Alice Springs?

I’ll go back to my board now.

The fact they put the rd23 Essendon v Stkilda game on Friday night and us vs gws on the Saturday when we have 2 rd24 games to play right before our likely first finals series is insane.

They should genuinely just switch those matches now, it’s laughable we’re gonna have 13 v 15 as the prime time Friday night match in Rd23

No word yet. My guess
Thurs Essendon v Carlton
Fri Port v Suns
Sat early North v Crows
Sat t GWS v Saints
Sat n Eagles v Swans
Sat n Collingwood v dees
Sunday early Richmond v geelong
Sunday arvo Brisbane v hawthorn
Sunday night Dogs v Freo

Wednesday night Suns v essendon

Thursday (7) - Essendon v. Carlton
Thursday - Port v. Gold Coast
Friday (7) - Brisbane v. Hawthorn
Saturday - North v. Adelaide
Saturday Twilight - Collingwood v. Melbourne
Saturday Night - West Coast v. Sydney
Sunday - Richmond v. Geelong
Sunday (7) - Western Bulldogs v. Fremantle
Sunday Twilight - GWS v. Saints

Wednesday Night (7) - Gold Coast v. Essendon

THU: CARL v ESS - MCG
FRI: COL v MELB - MCG, 7:20
FRI: PA v GC - AO, 8:40
SAT: NM v ADEL - MRVL, 1:30
SAT: RICH v GEEL - MCG, 4:30
SAT: WCE v SYD - OS, 7:30
SUN: GWS v STK - ES, 12
SUN: BL v HAW - G, 3
SUN: WB v FRE - MRVL, 6
WED: GC v ESS - PFS

Collingwood vs Melbourne on the Thursday night, then a Friday night double of Ess-Carl and PA-GC, would be the fairest option.

It would be surprising if the Bulldogs got stuck with two late Sunday home games in a row to finish the season.

The AFL will want a game with possible finals implications on the Sunday twilight / night, they've done it the last couple of years and have a real hard on for it. They'll want to give them the best possible chance of teams jumping in and out of the 4 and the 8 during the last weekend.

As others have noted, you'll need to get the Essendon and Gold Coast games done early to let them front up on the Wednesday after.

Keeping those factors in mind, and also factoring in AFLW as per Teen Wolf 's comments, I reckon:

Thursday Night:
Brisbane v Hawthorn (7)

Friday Night:
Essendon v Carlton (7)
Port v Gold Coast (Fox)

Saturday:
North Melbourne v Adelaide (early) (Fox)
West Coast v Sydney (twilight) (Fox)
Richmond v Geelong (night) (do 7 get the rights to this?)

Sunday:
GWS v St Kilda (early) (Fox)
Collingwood v Melbourne (Middle slot) (7)
Western Bulldogs v Fremantle (Twilight or maybe even night) (Fox)

Wednesday Night:
Gold Coast v Essendon (who has the rights to this one?)

Pretty awful final round. Why would you schedule something like Richmond v Geelong when you were planning this all out?

What are the odds Essendon and Gold Coast agree that Essendon forefits and nobody has to play?

honestly it'll be interesting if Gold Coast find themselves in a spot where winning that last game against Essendon doesn't affect the ladder - would they just say '**** it' and not play??

I know the difference between 4th and 5th is substantial, but would you rather a proper rest like the other teams and finish 5th, or push for that 4th spot but you go into that final with less of a break than the other teams

edit : wait I just realised even with that Wednesday game they will still get atleast an 8 day break before a final - but it'll be interesting either way

By the way, ever played in Ballarat, Darwin, Cairns, Canberra, Alice Springs?

The first three AFL games played at Cazaly’s Stadium in Cairns featured Richmond.

Richmond played a game at Marrara in Darwin before Adelaide did.

Richmond has played in Canberra has many times as Adelaide has in the past 20 years.

Want to try again, mate? Or you still struggling to understand that the Crows game was originally scheduled for Ballarat

Remember that there is not supposed to be a Thursday night game in the final round (and Round 23).

Seven are allowed to broadcast 23 Thursday games per season. My guess is that this year will be 22 Thursdays (R1-R22) + the Wednesday game in Round 24 being considered the last of the 23 'Thursday' games.

My guess:

Friday 22nd August
Essendon v Carlton @ MCG 7.20pm (Seven)
Port Adelaide v Gold Coast @ Adelaide Oval 8.20pm

Saturday 23rd August

North Melbourne v Adelaide @ Marvel Stadium 12.35pm
GWS Giants v St Kilda @ ENGIE Stadium 1.20pm
Collingwood v Melbourne @ MCG 4.15pm
West Coast v Sydney @ Optus Stadium 7.35pm

Sunday 24th August

Western Bulldogs v Fremantle @ Marvel Stadium 1.10pm
Richmond v Geelong @ MCG 4.10pm
Brisbane v Hawthorn @ GABBA 7.20pm (Seven**)

Wednesday 27th August

Gold Coast v Essendon @ People First Stadium 7.20pm (Seven)

**Seven are broadcasting an AFLW match that Sunday afternoon, suggesting the free-to-air mens match will be a night game.

Round 24 Fixture