Review Round 3, 2023 - Bulldogs vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against the Bulldogs?

For me it was really just a poor effort. Effort as in work rate and effort as in attention to basic footy techniques. Our system serms to be more of an offensive based system which is fine but if effort is not applied to the basic of footy then any system will break down which our has in the start to this season.

The most disappointing aspect for me is the lack of improvement in a number of our guys who have played around 100 games now and who just aren’t showing the improvement you would expect from them at this stage of their careers. Hipwood,McCluggage,Rayner,Berry and Bailey are all in this category at present. Without them lifting in form and consistency we are going to struggle to reach premiership level. And they all appear to have flatlined or even regressed at this stage of the season when they should be the ones taking charge when we are under the pump.
Yes you make a good point. Although I thought he was pretty good against Dogs, Starc has been down a bit also. That is why if we regress there just has to be a serious examination of some of the assistant coaches. Some of them have been there a considerable time.

Sometimes it takes a fresh set of eyes, a new voice and perspective and players respond. Look at how Oscar Baker played for Dogs on Thursday night compared to some of his games for the Dees.

Can he drag the older players with him?
I think he can, his energy is infectious and I believe others will get onboard if he lights the fire with a big tackle in the forward line.

Still think its only a tweak or two away from clicking week in week out. We'll be fine.
Completely agree, can’t believe the overreactions over a 2 goal loss away against a team under the pump in the media all week.

JUH and Lobb kicked 7 of their 10 goals and we also had more scoring shots than them as a team. We didn’t play well for much of the match either, so I’m actually not that concerned with dropping that one considering we’re only three weeks into the season.

Completely agree, can’t believe the overreactions over a 2 goal loss away against a team under the pump in the media all week.

JUH and Lobb kicked 7 of their 10 goals and we also had more scoring shots than them as a team. We didn’t play well for much of the match either, so I’m actually not that concerned with dropping that one considering we’re only three weeks into the season.
From what's been said we deluded ourselves that pre season form meant something and thought we'd really improved.

Certain good players dropped off their work rate.

This week we're under no illusions and have a lot in our favour so that should give us a good idea as to where we're at.

after being at the game tonight and watching the seconds as well IMO i thought DEV was a standout in the seconds.
The bulldogs applied pressure on us the whole game. We continually tried to try our handball game but from the start to the end of the game they were on our tails the whole game. What i did not like being at the game was that we did not seem to try and change our game style once during the game. We continually tried to handball through the whole night to players that were under pressure all the time. Even when dunkley took the mark late in the game we tried to run the ball through the midfield with handball and stuffed it up again. Frustrating tonight, bulldogs were happy to get down and dirty and in for the fight and scrape and we did not have that same ferocity and did not seem to have another gameplan to go to or even try. Went to the after match function and not much was going on there as well. Could not get photos or signatures of the player of the ones who turned up or any of the seconds players who were present. Overall what a real shitty night.
Watched the second and agree we Dev. We certainly lacked grunt and pressure In that main game. There was a bit turnout of Lions supporters especially where I was down in the forward pocked on Level 1 cheer squad end. Good on you Paul Mac for staying back as myself with heaps of other lions were peeved off and we’re out of there on the sound of the siren and heading for Southern Cross. That’s disappointing about the lack of players turning up and no to photos. Given the few game we get in Melbourne that is crap.

Hippy was a bit of a swingman before he was drafted. From memory he was an u18 All Australian centre half back.

I'm all for trialling him in defence.

He's not a good enough mark and definitely not a good enough kick. He'd be more of a liability in defence than he currently is in attack.

While he played a bit of time in defence in u18s it wasn't even the majority of championship games from memory - he had a lot of time up forward too.

Watched the second and agree we Dev. We certainly lacked grunt and pressure In that main game. There was a bit turnout of Lions supporters especially where I was down in the forward pocked on Level 1 cheer squad end. Good on you Paul Mac for staying back as myself with heaps of other lions were peeved off and we’re out of there on the sound of the siren and heading for Southern Cross. That’s disappointing about the lack of players turning up and no to photos. Given the few game we get in Melbourne that is crap.
Cheers Lockie.
We were on fence in forward pocket level 1 so not far from you.

Hippy was a bit of a swingman before he was drafted. From memory he was an u18 All Australian centre half back.

I'm all for trialling him in defence.

I'd prefer Hipwood plays reserves, kick a few bags and comes back with renewed confidence. Andrews, Payne, Joyce are just finding their feet together. I think we need to steer away from squeezing players in to their non-preferred roles as they are some kind of stars who need to be in best 22. I'd argue Andrews new lease of form is due to him not having to look after all the talls around him and Joyce/Payne are being competent about doing their jobs and releasing Andrews to do what he does best. I think adding Hipwood in there would take things backwards.

Voss appears to have implemented a good plan since he took charge for Blues - you play a role in 2s, you'll get that specific role in 1s when it becomes available. You won't be squeezed off just to fit in some other high profile player. We need a plan similar to that so the likes of Ah Chee, Prior and Deven can go more specialized in reserves and keep their spots in best 22.

I'd prefer Hipwood plays reserves, kick a few bags and comes back with renewed confidence. Andrews, Payne, Joyce are just finding their feet together. I think we need to steer away from squeezing players in to their non-preferred roles as they are some kind of stars who need to be in best 22. I'd argue Andrews new lease of form is due to him not having to look after all the talls around him and Joyce/Payne are being competent about doing their jobs and releasing Andrews to do what he does best. I think adding Hipwood in there would take things backwards.

Voss appears to have implemented a good plan since he took charge for Blues - you play a role in 2s, you'll get that specific role in 1s when it becomes available. You won't be squeezed off just to fit in some other high profile player. We need a plan similar to that so the likes of Ah Chee, Prior and Deven can go more specialized in reserves and keep their spots in best 22.

The second paragraph is exactly what we do. Hence the amount of time Dev spent in the forward line last year in the reserves

Is it worth watching the replay or should I just watch Seinfeld repeats?

From reading part of this thread and looking at the votes we have a lot of good players not playing up to their ability this season eg. Clugga, Berry, Starc, Joe, Zac, Linc, Charlie, Hippy. :sadv1:

Go The Puffy Shirt

How's your tolerance for pain?

The second paragraph is exactly what we do. Hence the amount of time Dev spent in the forward line last year in the reserves

That's good then.
We won't see Hipwood in defense as part of trying to squeeze him in.

I reckon Hippy should watch videos of Cameron. He used to be a key forward that relied on his athleticism, run forward, turn back and outrun his opponents. He has changed his game to a more leading and marking player but still using that athleticism. Hippy needs to change as we are getting the ball into our forwad line too slow meaning our forward 50 is usually really packed.

Damming footgae of our fwd line and in particular Hipwood on the First Crack. Kane Cornes also showed horrid footage of our fwd line on teh footy show clips i saw.

I hope the coaches show this sort of footage b/c it is evident that Hipwwod doesnt know how to play as a key position fwd. Hasn't he played around 130 odd games?

Im starting to come around that Hipwood needs to find a new position or down back - even further they think we need a new key - what a shame we just gave one away and with next to no currency, its not like we are getting 1 anytime soon.

Some thoughts on our season so far. I'm a glass half full person so work with me here.

1st game. Port & Hinkley getting smashed in the media. They got them self primed to smash us. Just like Dad said in his interview.

2nd game. Lions smashed in the media and playing at home. Hold big grudges against Melbourne. Lot of talent in our team. We win but it is a hard physical game early in the season leaving the boys sore.

3rd game. Doggies & Bevo smashed in the media. They got them self primed to smash us and we are still sore from last weeks game. Coupled with a changing game plan, new players still syncing and we are off the mark and lose by a couple of goals away.

Pies game coming up. Lions switched on. Game on. Not sure we will win but confident we will have a go. I don't think our season is finished or a disaster yet.

Gave me a chuckle.

There is a Simpsons meme where Lenny tells Homer’s co-workers at the nuclear power plant: “Get ready, everybody, he’s about to do something stupid”. There must be plenty of Lions fans who feel the same way about Joe Daniher. Unlike Homer, Daniher is prodigiously talented, but he is prone to too many moments of madness for a player of his ability and experience. Teammates can sympathise with a bout of yips in front of goal, but they are less forgiving when, with the game on the line, they make position and are torched by a turn-and-burn Hail Mary from outside 50. Coach Chris Fagan has foreshadowed an uncomfortable review on Daniher’s game.

Gave me a chuckle.

:think:Who is/was more enigmatic Joe Daniher or Jared Brennan?

Review Round 3, 2023 - Bulldogs vs. Brisbane Lions