W. Bulldogs (1-1) v Carlton (1-1)
Sat 22 Feb, 3.10pm AEDT
VU Whitten Oval, Footscray
7mate (Melb, Syd, Bris)

Gold Coast (1-1) v Brisbane (2-0)
Sat 22 Feb, 4.10pm AEST
Metricon Stadium, Carrara
7mate (Bris)
Tickets (Free entry for Suns members and Lions AFLW members)

Fremantle (2-0) v C'wood (2-0)
Sat 22 Feb, 4.10pm AWST
Fremantle Oval
7 (Perth) and 7mate (Melb, Adel)

GWS Giants (1-1) v West Coast (0-2)
Sun 23 Feb, 1.10pm AEDT
Blacktown ISP, Rooty Hill
7 (Perth) and 7mate (Syd)

Richmond (0-2) v Nth Melb. (1-1)
Sun 23 Feb, 3.10pm AEDT
Ikon Park, Princes Hill
7 (Melb, Perth) and 7mate (Syd, Adel, Bris)

Geelong (0-2) v Adelaide (1-1)
Sun 23 Feb, 5.10pm AEDT
GMHBA Stadium, South Geelong
7mate (Adel)

Viewers outside major metro markets, check your local guides (or ask me, I don't mind) for free tv coverage details in your area.

*All games are broadcast live on Foxtel and Kayo, and free to stream via the AFLW app, the AFL app, the AFLW website, the AFL website and the Telstra TV AFLW app.

ST KILDA v MELBOURNE
Moorabbin, Friday, 21 Feb, 7:10pm (local time)

B: T.White 29, T.Luke 22
HB: H.Priest 14, A.Brown 2, T.Lucas-Rodd 18
C: N.Exon 15, J.Sedunary 10, M.McDonald 1
HF: C.Munn 13, K.McCarthy 9, C.Greiser 17
F: K.Shierlaw 12, G.Patrikios 21
Foll: R.Watt 7, O.Vesely 23, C.Phillips 35
I/C: D.Guttridge 5, R.Dillon 25, A.Drennan 8, N.Xenos 27, I.Shannon 11
Emerg: S.Johnson 6 P.Kelly 16

In: T.Luke, I.Shannon
Out: C.Fitzpatrick (injured), C.Whitfort

B: L.Birch 9, M.Downie 2
HB: S.Lampard 8, S.Goldrick 23, D.Pearce 6
C: S.Heath 30, T.Hanks 28, C.Emonson 11
HF: K.Hore 10, E.Zanker 29, S.Scott 12
F: T.Cunningham 1, A.Newman 16
Foll: H.Cordner 21, K.Paxman 4, M.Gay 3
I/C: G.Colvin 32, C.Sherriff 18, N.McEvoy 17, M.Guerin 22, E.O'Dea 5
Emerg: B.Tarrant 20, K.Petrevski 31

In: M.Guerin
Out: A.Kemp (injured)

WESTERN BULLDOGS v CARLTON
Whitten Oval, Saturday, 22 Feb, 3:10pm (local time)

B: A.Gogos 36, L.Spark 11
HB: K.Herron 31, E.Gamble 14, N.Ferres 16
C: B.Hunt 21, K.Lamb 27, G.Lagioia 12
HF: G.Newton 5, B.Toogood 8, K.McLeod 6
F: E.Georgostathis 17, D.Berry 7
Foll: K.Rennie 24, E.Blackburn 2, A.McCarthy 15
I/C: E.Brown 9, D.Marshall 26, I.Huntington 4, H.Scott 22, B.Lochland 1
Emerg: N.Callinan 10, H.Munyard 20

In: I.Huntington, B.Lochland
Out: N.Callinan, A.Van Oosterwijck

B: G.Pound 6, C.Wilson 20
HB: K.Harrington 9, V.Laloifi 8, N.Stevens 21
C: C.Dalton 15, K.Loynes 2, S.Hosking 10
HF: B.Walker 14, T.Harris 7, N.Plane 32
F: A.Downie 30, D.Vescio 3
Foll: B.Moody 16, G.Egan 1, M.Prespakis 4
I/C: J.Hosking 11, L.McEvoy 13, L.Brazzale 12, G.Gee 19, J.Edwards 25
Emerg: B.Vernon 31, C.Jones 22

In: J.Edwards
Out: J.Doonan

GOLD COAST v BRISBANE LIONS
Metricon Stadium, Saturday, 22 Feb, 4:10pm (local time)

Gold Coast
B: J.Pregelj 42, J.Hickey 4
HB: S.Virgo 22, L.Ahrens 7, S.Watson 14
C: T.Ernst 19, H.Dunn 24, C.Hammond 29
HF: B.Perry 16, L.Kaslar 11, K.Surman 26
F: E.Hampson 21, K.Howarth 23
Foll: L.Bella 2, J.Yorston 5, J.Stanton 17
I/C: J.Hewett 20, D.Heslop 25, P.Parker 1, M.Ritson 12, T.Thorn 15
Emerg: S.Riley 8, A.Hamilton 30

In: T.Thorn
Out: S.Riley

Brisbane Lions
B: C.Svarc 25, S.Webb 4
HB: R.Lugg 11, K.Lutkins 13, S.Campbell 20
C: E.Zielke 8, B.Koenen 3, N.Grider 10
HF: L.Arnell 16, J.Wardlaw 30, G.Bodey 15
F: D.Davidson 14, S.Conway 12
Foll: J.Keeffe 27, A.Anderson 18, E.Bates 1
I/C: I.Dawes 17, O.O'Dwyer 9, L.Postlethwaite 6, G.Collingwood 7, M.Moloney 28
Emerg: J.Ellenger 5, J.Zanchetta 2

NO CHANGE

FREMANTLE v COLLINGWOOD
Fremantle Oval, Saturday, 22 Feb, 4:10pm (local time)

B: J.Cuthbertson 29, E.Gooch 8
HB: A.Stannett 24, P.Seth 18, L.Mascall 14
C: K.Grieve 13, H.Miller 19, B.Webb 26
HF: E.Antonio 12, R.Roux 17, A.Sharp 1
F: S.Duffy 6, G.Houghton 27
Foll: M.Strom 21, K.Bowers 2, K.Antonio 15
I/C: K.Flood 44, J.Stewart 7, L.Pugh 32, L.Rohde 11, G.O'Sullivan 22
Emerg: E.O'Driscoll 3, M.Clifford 4

NO CHANGE

B: A.Porter 9, S.Livingstone 12
HB: L.Butler 23, A.Brazill 10, C.Molloy 2
C: S.Rowe 7, S.Casey 22, S.Chiocci 17
HF: A.Sheridan 14, J.Lambert 13, B.Bonnici 8
F: M.Cann 25, R.Schleicher 18
Foll: S.Layton 1, E.Fowler 15, S.D'Arcy 4
I/C: S.Dargan 46, B.Davey 3, J.Allen 6, J.Membrey 21, K.Stratton 41
Emerg: M.Shevlin 35, E.O'Dea 50

In: R.Schleicher, B.Davey, K.Stratton
Out: E.O'Dea, S.Alexander, M.Shevlin

GWS v WEST COAST, Blacktown
Sunday, 23 Feb, 1:10pm (local time)

GWS
B: P.Randall 21, T.Hetherington 9
HB: J.Dal Pos 7, E.Bennetts 22, A.Lister 14
C: Y.Bonner 27, A.Eva 2, R.Beeson 6
HF: A.Schmidt 11, C.Staunton 13, J.Hicks 5
F: I.Nielsen 25, R.Privitelli 19
Foll: J.Allan 39, B.Tully 36, A.Parker 3
I/C (from): N.Barr 8, L.Steane 20, J.Barclay 34, L.Stephenson 12, H.Zreika 24, T.Mackrill 32, S.Halvorsen 30

In: J.Barclay, T.Mackrill, S.Halvorsen
Out: E.McKinnon

B: C.Perera 27, T.Radan 26
HB: B.Smith 14, S.McDonald 35, M.Dowrick 5
C: M.Bowen 1, I.Cameron 19, N.Kelly 12
HF: A.Atkins 9, K.Gibson 2, M.Collier 8
F: G.Kelly 15, T.Tester 23
Foll: P.Laurie 25, D.Hooker 17, E.Swanson 13
I/C (from): B.Devlyn 7, C.Guard 4, H.Bullas 24, E.Bonser 6, K.Orme 32, C.Davidson 33, D.Pisconeri 11

In: E.Bonser, C.Davidson

RICHMOND v NORTH MELBOURNE
Princes Park, Sunday, 23 Feb, 3:10pm (local time)

B: S.Sansonetti 18, A.Makur Chuot 34
HB: L.McClelland 16, P.Monahan 2, G.Seymour 28
C: E.Wood 17, K.Brennan 3, R.Miller 15
HF: S.Frederick 14, K.Jacques 10, C.Bernardi 6
F: C.Wakefield 8, M.Brancatisano 5
Foll: A.Edmonds 11, M.Conti 4, G.Campbell 43
I/C (from): L.Tesoriero 7, L.Bailey 12, S.Molan 1, A.Woodward 13, H.Burchell 9, H.McLaren 29, C.Fitzgerald 26

In: E.Wood, H.McLaren, C.Fitzgerald
Out: T.Stahl (injured)

B: T.Randall 16, B.Gibson 18
HB: T.Nestor 24, D.Hardiman 31, J.Grierson 19
C: J.Trend 21, A.Riddell 7, E.Kearney 9
HF: S.Abbatangelo 1, K.Gillespie-Jones 5, E.King 4
F: E.King 60, K.Ashmore 10
Foll: V.Saad 39, J.Garner 25, J.Bruton 35
I/C (from): A.Gilroy 8, D.Bateman 11, S.Wright 17, B.Lynch 20, E.Gavalas 22, M.King 23, A.Green 26

In: B.Lynch, M.King

GEELONG v ADELAIDE
Kardinia Park, Sunday, 23 Feb, 5:10pm (local time)

B: M.Brown 19, M.McMahon 24
HB: M.Keryk 45, M.McDonald 11, M.Hickey 18
C: S.Van De Heuvel 27, R.Webster 21, N.Morrison 9
HF: J.Crockett-Grills 6, P.McWilliams 23, J.Ivey 5
F: M.Boyd 26, R.Garing 12
Foll: A.O'Connor 14, R.Cranston 30, O.Purcell 16
I/C (from): M.Maguire 7, D.Higgins 2, G.Rankin 10, R.Caris 1, G.Clarke 17, R.Goring 44, A.McDonald 3

In: M.McDonald, M.Boyd, R.Goring
Out: D.Taylor (injured)

B: D.Cox 31, S.Allan 39
HB: S.Li 19, M.Rajcic 32, C.Cramey 22
C: A.Foley 3, A.Hatchard 33, J.Mules 23
HF: N.Gore 7, C.Gould 1, S.Thompson 14
F: C.Gum 5, D.Ponter 15
Foll: J.Foley 24, E.Marinoff 10, E.Jones 2
I/C (from): A.Considine 16, M.McKinnon 21, C.Biddell 12, N.Allen 8, M.Newman 17, N.Campbell 20, R.Forth 27

In: C.Cramey, M.McKinnon

Last edited by a moderator:

Have they come up with some kind of terrible name for the AFLW Q-Clash?
The Qwash
What's worse than a bad original name? A bad unoriginal name, of course! See trophy base:
yyAFLW_QClashQup.png

ST KILDA In: T.Luke, I.Shannon Out: C.Fitzpatrick (Injured), C.Whitfort (Omitted)
MELBOURNE In: M.Guerin Out: A.Kemp (Injured)

W. BULLDOGS In: I.Huntington, B.Lochland Out: N.Callinan (Omitted), A.Van Oosterwijck (Omitted)
CARLTON In: J.Edwards Out: J.Doonan (Omitted)

GOLD COAST In: T.Thorn Out: S.Riley (Omitted)
BRISBANE In: None Out: None

FREMANTLE In: None Out: None
C'WOOD In: R.Schleicher, B.Davey, K.Stratton Out: E.O'Dea (Omitted), S.Alexander (Omitted), M.Shevlin (Omitted)

GWS GIANTS In: J.Barclay, T.Mackrill, S.Halvorsen Out: E.McKinnon (Omitted)
WEST COAST In: E.Bonser, C.Davidson Out: None

RICHMOND In: E.Wood, H.McLaren, C.Fitzgerald Out: T.Stahl (Injured)
NTH MELB. In: B.Lynch, M.King Out: None

GEELONG In: M.McDonald, M.Boyd, R.Goring Out: D.Taylor (Injured)
ADELAIDE In: C.Cramey, M.McKinnon Out: None

My tips

St Kilda v Melbourne: I'd like to be kinder to the Saints with my tip this round. They earned it. But the five-day break won't let me. If any R3 match had to clash with the WT20 WC opener, I guess this should be the one. Gonna do my best to keep an eye on both though. Melb by 50

W. Bulldogs v Carlton: Here’s the 21 each team will be fielding on the weekend…
12 of their 13 remaining premiership players (Callinan dropped)
2 number-one draft picks
3 other top-ten draft picks
1 mid-range draft pick
3 from overseas

17 of their 18 remaining smashed grand finalists (Van Dyk injured)
1 number-two draft pick
1 other top-twenty draft pick
2 mid-range draft picks
…on that alone, I'd take the Dogs. I'd also say both teams should still be in contention after 3 rounds, though I suspect that won't be the case. 1-2 is not an unrecoverable position, although having two really poor performances early in the season is pretty much code red. Results aside, one of these teams might turn it around from last week and find their mojo, but I doubt both will. Carl by 18

Gold Coast v Brisbane: Tough mental game for the Lions. Regardless of personnel they are a team that thrives on the underdog tag. As the hunted(!), their record is fairly terrible. There wasn't a whole lot of forward-line fluency for the Suns in their breakthrough victory (3 marks inside 50, for example) and that's something a Starcevich-coached team is likely to feed off, whether they're favourites or outsiders. Bris by 12

Fremantle v C'wood: The test both teams need right now, with more at stake for the Dockers given they seem to have already nailed down their desired style of football. The Magpies, despite clearly turning the corner and utilising a brand I more firmly believe in as a long-term path to success, still have a lot of creases to iron out—including what to do if, or when, Jaimee Lambert's form tapers off. However, the imminent threat of flattening out after a big week rests closer with Freo. Coll by 1

GWS Giants v West Coast: Reckon I can pinpoint the moment Erin McKinnon got herself dropped, not that an opposite number streaming past to easily collect a loose ball during last Saturday's defeat was isolated to 2018's All-Australian ruckman... but you can't axe the whole damn team. The Giants are yet to show any improvement from last year—a poor 2019 yes, but they did take care of the teams they were definitely meant to beat. If the Eagles correct just one thing from their previous road trip, let it be conserving some tickets for beyond the first quarter. GWS by 24

Richmond v Nth Melb.: Considering their 250 disposals against the Suns was the 4th highest ever in an AFLW game, and Brennan had more possessions in R2 than any Fremantle player in the 45-point Derby win, I'd feel foolish and/or drunk claiming Richmond's problem is the captain didn't get enough of the ball. Since KB laid the second-most tackles (six) by a Tiger on the weekend, her toughness or leadership isn't a worry either—Erin Phillips btw has only had that many in a game twice (once in a prelim, and once in a grand final). If we're going to talk about reputation vs output, or disposal efficiency, why not focus on the combined 4xAA forwards kicking 1.5—the real reason for Richmond's Carrara loss. Kangas are just going at the moment, expecting to see at least one quarter of their best footy this weekend. NM by 30

Geelong v Adelaide: Both teams struggled at times (or the whole time, in the Cats' case) to penetrate the forward 50 last week, and now they each get to add an experienced rebound defender to up the ping-pong factor. For all the holes you could pick in the Crows' great escape against the Saints, their overall blueprint to winning matches remains palpable. Geelong have done the bare minimum selection-wise by including Boyd, who should at least be able to clunk a few on the HFF and allow for some semblance of structure. Adel by 6

Great insight Teen Wolf and I am hard pressed to go against those tips bar Freo v Pies.

Freo will kick a couple late in that game to win by a 15 or so. Lookign forward to that game.

And as always hoping the Blue & Gold can get a win! :D

Great insight Teen Wolf and I am hard pressed to go against those tips bar Freo v Pies.

Freo will kick a couple late in that game to win by a 15 or so. Lookign forward to that game.

Very nearly reserved my upset tip for the Suns instead, but I've been talking up Collingwood as a prelim team too much in the past 9 months to be swayed by just a couple impressive Freo performances.

Sundays Changes

Greater Western Sydney v West Coast, Blacktown International Stadium, 1.10pm AEDT

GREATER WESTERN SYDNEY

B: P.Randall 21 T.Hetherington 9
HB: J.Dal Pos 7 E.Bennetts 22 A.Lister 14
C: Y.Bonner 27 A.Eva - C 2 R.Beeson 6
HF: A.Schmidt 11 C.Staunton 13 J.Hicks 5
F: I.Nielsen 25 R.Privitelli 19
Foll: J.Allan 39 B.Tully 36 A.Parker 3
I/C: N.Barr 8 L.Steane 20 J.Barclay 34 L.Stephenson 12 H.Zreika 24

Emerg: T.Mackrill 32 S.Halvorsen 30

In: J.Barclay
Out: E.McKinnon

WEST COAST

B: C.Perera 27 T.Radan 26
HB: B.Smith 14 S.McDonald 35 M.Dowrick 5
C: M.Bowen 1 I.Cameron 19 N.Kelly 12
HF: A.Atkins 9 K.Gibson 2 M.Collier 8
F: G.Kelly 15 T.Tester 23
Foll: P.Laurie 25 D.Hooker 17 E.Swanson - C 13
I/C: B.Devlyn 7 C.Guard 4 H.Bullas 24 E.Bonser 6 K.Orme 32

Emerg: C.Davidson 33 D.Pisconeri 11

In: E.Bonser,
Out: D.Pisconeri

Richmond v North Melbourne, Ikon Park, 3.10pm AEDT

RICHMOND

B: S.Sansonetti 18 A.Makur Chuot 34
HB: L.McClelland 16 P.Monahan 2 G.Seymour 28
C: E.Wood 17 K.Brennan - C 3 R.Miller 15
HF: S.Frederick 14 K.Jacques 10 C.Bernardi 6
F: C.Wakefield 8 M.Brancatisano 5
Foll: A.Edmonds 11 M.Conti 4 G.Campbell 43
I/C: L.Tesoriero 7 L.Bailey 12 S.Molan 1 A.Woodward 13 H.Burchell 9

Emerg: H.McLaren 29 L. Lesosky-Hay 23

In: E.Wood
Out: T.Stahl (hamstring)

NORTH MELBOURNE

B: T.Randall 16 B.Gibson 18
HB: T.Nestor 24 D.Hardiman 31 J.Grierson 19
C: J.Trend 21 A.Riddell 7 E.Kearney - C 9
HF: S.Abbatangelo 1 K.Gillespie-Jones 5 E.King 4
F: E.King 60 K.Ashmore 10
Foll: V.Saad 39 J.Garner 25 J.Bruton 35
I/C: A.Gilroy 8 D.Bateman 11 S.Wright 17 E.Gavalas 22 A.Green 26

Emerg: B.Lynch 20 M.King 23

In: None
Out: None

Geelong v Adelaide, GMHBA Stadium, 5.10pm AEDT

GEELONG

B: M.Brown 19 M.McMahon 24
HB: M.Keryk 45 M.McDonald 11 M.Hickey - C 18
C: S.Van De Heuvel 27 R.Webster 21 N.Morrison 9
HF: J.Crockett-Grills 6 P.McWilliams 23 J.Ivey 5
F: M.Boyd 26 R.Garing 12
Foll: A.O'Connor 14 R.Cranston 30 O.Purcell 16
I/C: D.Higgins 2 R.Caris 1 G.Clarke 17 R.Goring 44 A.McDonald 3

Emerg: M.Maguire 7 G.Rankin 10

In: M.McDonald, M.Boyd, R.Goring
Out: D.Taylor (ankle), M.Maguire, G.Rankin

ADELAIDE

B: D.Cox 31 S.Allan 39
HB: S.Li 19 M.Rajcic 32 C.Cramey 22
C: A.Foley - C 3 A.Hatchard 33 J.Mules 23
HF: N.Gore 7 C.Gould 1 S.Thompson 14
F: C.Gum 5 D.Ponter 15
Foll: J.Foley 24 E.Marinoff 10 E.Jones 2
I/C: C.Biddell 12 N.Allen 8 M.Newman 17 N.Campbell 20 R.Forth 27

Emerg: A.Considine 16 M.McKinnon 21

In: C.Cramey
Out: A.Considine

WibblingChicken

Feb 8, 2020

I'm with you Biggie.

Lovely predictions and insight from Teen Wolf, but hard to pick Freo losing at the moment.

I'm also not so brave as to think my team will win by 50, a pretty extraordinary margin in AFLW. I'd like to think we have too much experience for Saints, but Saints haven't been terrible, so I doubt it will be a slaughter.

Melbourne by 20 We should have too much skill across the park...hopefully.
Carlton by 12 Bulldogs aren't terrible, but seem to be lacking a little cohesion. Huntington and Lochland are pretty big INS. Carlton big names to stand up, though, especially if Loynes can get through the match.
Brisbane by 18 Suns have been the best of the newbies, but Brisbane defence looks too good for the Suns attack.
Freemantle by 16 Freemantle are a very good side, at the moment. Collingwood played beautifully last week, but I'm waiting for consistency from them before tipping them to topple a good team in good form.
GWS by 18 GWS haven't impressed, it is a good time for them to play the team most struggling in the competition.
North Melbourne by 24 Richmond will fight, but North Melbourne will be much too skilful, especially in the air, negating Richmond's few big names in that area.
Adelaide by 7 Both teams showing good moments and spluttering, but Geelong desperately need to improve forward penetration. Adelaide are a pretty tough team to do that to.

Apr 10, 2010
AFC Wimbledon
It seems such a poor call to play the AFLW Saints v Melbourne and the Marsh series Bulldogs v North at the same time. Sure there are a lot of people who won't watch both but for those of us that would it would have been great to have four hours of footy straight through.

These are the decisions that could really show how much the AFL values the AFLW and wants to support it...

It seems such a poor call to play the AFLW Saints v Melbourne and the Marsh series Bulldogs v North at the same time. Sure there are a lot of people who won't watch both but for those of us that would it would have been great to have four hours of footy straight through.

These are the decisions that could really show how much the AFL values the AFLW and wants to support it...
Plenty more where that came from, given the extra overlap with the AFL H&A season proper this year. Imagine the clashes if the men's and women's season were to run fully concurrent as some people seem to want... totally untenable imo.

Trying my best but didn't notice that about Goldrick, j_i_d.

Stats very even other than lopsided I50s Melbourne's way and St Kilda with 10 more marks.

Oct 3, 2006
Gold Coast/Melbourne
Phillip Island Bulldogs/Lions AFLW
Agree, close game but I have Saints with the edge if Greiser keeps getting involved and KMac does a bit more shut down on Daisy - could easily see the old firm of Paxman, Pearce and Scott turn the screws in the last if they get a slight chance though.

WibblingChicken

Feb 8, 2020
Well, that was pretty disappointing. The exact opposite of my prediction that my team would show too much skill.

Both teams showed some running, and tackled hard. But our forwards were terrible.

1 goal from 9 scoring shots (with a few more landing short), 1 goal from 31 inside 50s (a conversion rate of about 3% has to be close to an all time record, doesn't it?), 14 more than the Saints. To be honest, Cunningham and Newman, great as they have been in past seasons, have hardly threatened the scoreboard at all this season, and Hore was well down today also. We are missing too many talls and too many in poor form to get any reward for our dominant midfield.

Saints, on the other hand, were plucky all game. They really are showing great things for a team so new. Their defence was all over our attack tonight. Defended very well, marked very well, disposed accurately, and took the chances they got intelligently.

Sigh. I thought our terrible goal kicking woes that have plagued us for the first 3 seasons and cost us finals spots despite having as good a win percentage as any team were over (not that I'm scarred or anything...….). But alas, it is not to be. Hope Guerin is OK, didn't look good when she went down with no one near her. And Goldrick. If a broken nose or some such she should be OK.