Roast Round 3 post game rant thread

We have no forward line structure. We did but we gave him away for being nothing more than a drunken dill. Sounded good for some off-season but now we don't get the 4 points reality bites. We made our bed and now have to lie in it. We did have a choice with Fev. No problems with losing Fev per se but why get rid of him without a contingency plan. Put us in a big poo. Despite what we thought of him he could turn sh1t into gold. Not only that we felt we were going so good for talls we didn't feel the need to draft a KP forward. That now bites too although a KP forward would take a couple of years. Be handy in a couple of years though when you look at the side now.

Do you ever post anything other than this repetitive drivel???? You wouldn't know half the talls from a bar of soap in last years draft. Get off the plonk while your liver is still ok :thumbsu:

We have no forward line structure. We did but we gave him away for being nothing more than a drunken dill. Sounded good for some off-season but now we don't get the 4 points reality bites. We made our bed and now have to lie in it. We did have a choice with Fev. No problems with losing Fev per se but why get rid of him without a contingency plan. Put us in a big poo. Despite what we thought of him he could turn sh1t into gold. Not only that we felt we were going so good for talls we didn't feel the need to draft a KP forward. That now bites too although a KP forward would take a couple of years. Be handy in a couple of years though when you look at the side now.

Panos and Talia would be dominating in our forward line right now.

You are a clown.

Was AJ unwell? I am sure I saw him vomiting at the end of the 3rd quarter.

I think that they showed it at the start of the second half... and he was definitely blowing chunks.

He is another one of the few who leave nothing out on the pitch week in week out...

We need a player who can win the game off his own boot...... a leader who makes his teammates WANT to perform better and make more of their opportunities.... someone with a really HOT girlfriend...

Mr Judd, your audience awaits :D

Good GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!1 This site is in meltdown. The shit has hit the fan on here.:eek::thumbsd:

*Just finished watching the game (i was away for my brothers wedding this weekend) and was disgusted with the effort, one of the more disappointing games of the last few years...........very pagan era like :( bring on the crows i spose.:thumbsu:

Lets face facts:

Getting rid of Fev was a dumb move. Not only was a good footballer but he bought back that old Carlton arrogance

Ratten is the worst coach in the competition

We hardly have one quality big forward

Aside from our number 1 picks, we have drafted poorly

McLean was a stupid trade. He is slow, fat and injury prone

If we had any brains, we shoyuld have traded Walker last year. He will have little value at the end of this year

Henderson will never make it as a key centre half forward

Jamieson is our only skilled key defender

We rely on Murphy, Judd and Gibbs with the odd cameos from the likes of Simpson, betts and a couple of others

Next you will say something like Geelong rely on Ablett, Bartel and Corey with cameos from Johnson, Chapman and a couple of others - DUH

(ps You forgot Kreuze)

Only other stupid point I feel like refuting is the Hendo one - you are so wrong

Fev is 28 years old and only has 2-3 years left in the game and would have been retiring just when our window for #17 opens up... Our contingency plan for that was what???

Nothing... nadda... there were no plans at all. At least now we have a chance of developing a new forward line... without having Fev around for that couple of years unfortunately... but it will be a work in progress for this year.

Our potential future KPF's are currently sitting on the rookie list and could be an option to come in next year.

For one of those rookies to turn into a premiership class KPF is similar to winning 1st/2nd div in the lottery. For Carlton to leave it to luck for future KPFs is a tad poor on the planning side.

I'm sure they wil ltry and rectify it in the next draft...albeit a weakened draft, and a situation where we will have to wait 3 years to see the first KPF player perform...aagh...we are in trouble for 17 as Judd's time expires when Carlton finally bring through 2-3 KPP players of quality.

c.
The corridor.
This is my one singular hate of what we are doing and not just from last night.
This was the case last year as was in the first game against Richmond.
We just don't use it.
Why?
I don't know and am happy to be corrected by someone that understands proceeding better than I.
We virtually hand the corridor over to our opponent every game.

My opinion of why we don't use the corridor is this: we have no confidence.

When a player doesn't have an option on, or doesn't back their own skills, the "percentage" or "low risk" option is to kick long to the boundary line.

I think our players lack confidence in our game plan, in their team-mates and in their own skills. They're so worried about making a mistake that they go for the easy option, the long "low-risk" kick down the line.

Until we have the confidence to run the ball thru the middle and back our own skills, I can't see us fixing this problem.

When a player doesn't have an option on, or doesn't back their own skills, the "percentage" or "low risk" option is to kick long to the boundary line.

I think our players lack confidence in our game plan, in their team-mates and in their own skills. They're so worried about making a mistake that they go for the easy option, the long "low-risk" kick down the line.

Until we have the confidence to run the ball thru the middle and back our own skills, I can't see us fixing this problem.

I can't see how going down the line is the percentage play when we kick it out on the full so often. At least going down the middle we could take the game on, the way we play now it seems just a matter of time before we turn it over.

Couldnt get to the game and havent watched a single snipet of it on the telly/net so far. I'm coping ok.

Me too. I missed it thankfully and feel no pain.

Without viewing it - I could guarantee you one thing - umpiring would have favoured Essendon. I remember a game in 2008 where Essendon got 3 goals from 50 metre penalties... it was the difference in the end.

Me too. I missed it thankfully and feel no pain.

Without viewing it - I could guarantee you one thing - umpiring would have favoured Essendon. I remember a game in 2008 where Essendon got 3 goals from 50 metre penalties... it was the difference in the end.

I heard the umpiring was shit all-round, not particularly favouring one team over the other.

In any case, the umpiring excuse doesnt sit well with me. With the side Essendon had in, this game shouldnt have even been close imo. Might be a long year I'm afraid, hope I'm wrong.

For one of those rookies to turn into a premiership class KPF is similar to winning 1st/2nd div in the lottery. For Carlton to leave it to luck for future KPFs is a tad poor on the planning side.

I'm sure they wil ltry and rectify it in the next draft...albeit a weakened draft, and a situation where we will have to wait 3 years to see the first KPF player perform...aagh...we are in trouble for 17 as Judd's time expires when Carlton finally bring through 2-3 KPP players of quality.

It's actually only weakened by the OTT concessions to GC, at least at this stage of the year it looks like quite a deep talent pool.

As far as your bolded bit, they weren't there in 09 anyway. Trading one in (and having a good look in this years draft) appears to be the best go.

I can't see how going down the line is the percentage play when we kick it out on the full so often. At least going down the middle we could take the game on, the way we play now it seems just a matter of time before we turn it over.

Yeah, but when you play through the corridor the turn overs are more likely to hurt you the other way, and fast....you don't have time to get numbers back....if we don't have confidence in our skills it is likely to be far more damaging the other way turning it over through the corridor.

It's actually only weakened by the OTT concessions to GC, at least at this stage of the year it looks like quite a deep talent pool.

As far as your bolded bit, they weren't there in 09 anyway. Trading one in (and having a good look in this years draft) appears to be the best go.

Good to hear this draft might run deep...hopefully we get lucky this time with a quality KPP, winger and HBFer :p

Think you're right with the trading bit as well. But wont the trading bit be hard with GC holding better picks than us to trade for a quality player?

yeah, I reckon Swann and Icke have their work cut out for them, but would rather them working it than anyone else.

Monday arvo and I still can't get over the shambles that was Saturday night!

My footy weekend was terrible... lost a few tips Carlton/Geelong/Adelaide/Weagles my supercoach captain (Reiwoldt) gets injured as does Dangerfield from my midfield (not to mention I have Bower on the bench).

Then to top it off Brisbane remain undefeated as do the Saints (although feel great they Beat the Pies how they did.. but I still hate the Saints)...

The only thing that was going for me is that I didn't put the house on Carlton winning when I was so sure they would.

This loss will burn with me for some time... unless Carlton goes to Adelaide and has a massive win (since Adelaide is so depleted a small win won't do).

Trying hard but here's a little whimper of a "go blues"

Given that it was universally thought by all that we should have won this game easily, I wonder what real effect it will have when we look back at 2010???

In 2008 and 2009 we finished higher than Essendon each year and yet lost to them twice both seasons.

What would the additional 8 points have done for us in those years?

2008 Finished 11th on 40 Points - The additional 8 points would have had us on the same points as Collingwood who finished 8th and as such we may well have played finals that year.

2009 Finished 7th on 52 Points - The additional 8 points would have had us finish on the same points as Collingwood who finished 4th. Based on % we would have been either Top 4 or worst case, hosted a home final week 1.

2010 ?????

Of course the past is the past and can't be changed, but in hindsight our bogey team has indeed caused us considerable pain in the past 2 years in the eventual wash up of each season.

Let's hope we turn things around for Round 19 and smash them as we should !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the game...hard to keep a lid on the joy I'll admit.

If I can make a few suggestions:

* Getting the hard ball. I notice a number of you have made comment about Essendon players being first to the ball. anyone can sag off the back of packs looking for cheap and easy footy. And that's the problem that i saw. Not enough of your blokes were prepared to sacrifice themselves. When the opposition has a first gamer getting 14 contested possessions, the question has got to be asked.

* The boundary. Carlton is not Collingwood. Keep it down the guts.

* Second stringers stepping up - really didn't happen a lot from your side and that has to be a worry, if the stars are struggling.

All in all..see you in Round 19.

* Getting the hard ball. I notice a number of you have made comment about Essendon players being first to the ball. anyone can sag off the back of packs looking for cheap and easy footy. And that's the problem that i saw. Not enough of your blokes were prepared to sacrifice themselves. When the opposition has a first gamer getting 14 contested possessions, the question has got to be asked.

* Second stringers stepping up - really didn't happen a lot from your side and that has to be a worry, if the stars are struggling.

Can't disagree with any of the pazman.

No doubt you'd be a happy man at the moment as only a Bomber tragic would have gone into that game confident of victory with the team you guys have at the moment. Shit we were ordinary! :mad::o

This is what we are lacking. In the old days used to keep stats on how often players ran past - we should as I ask you

How often have you seen Thornton run past for a handball?

How often have you seen Jammo run past for a handball?

Do you only notice JR, Army, AJ and Bower doing it every 2nd or 3rd week?

The backline has to be a sprinboard

I just think we may not have the balance quite right......fair enough we were worried about openng ourselves up to counter attacks with a fast moving brand of footy using the corridor, but I suspect we have become that obsessed with adding controlling the footy as plan B (and switching play to the fat side, and chipping around until something opens up) that we may not be quite working on plan A enough.....

No doubt getting number 5, and some team balance back and playing blokes like Gibbs and Walker in the right roles will help with plan A. Plus we haven't really seen a McLean, Judd, Murphy, Gibbs and Simpson midfield released in anger yet. Walker, Carrazzo, AJ and JR to do jobs, Scotto and Army dashing out of D50, and pumping games into Lucas, Robbo, Yaz and Hendo.....plenty to look forward to :thumbsu:

Yes, we seem to have a lot of guys who are happy to be on the receiving end of a handball out of a pack from our inside midfielders... but we only seem to have a couple of guys who are interested in getting in under the pack and working the ball out to one of the receivers.

I think that this might be more to do with physical size than anything. I wouldnt mind seeing the same guys who took care of our 3 bad boys from the boat cruise come in and do some conditioning work with the rest of them so that they can come to terms that they are capable of getting stuck in themselves.

We have seen what happens when we move the ball in our free flowing game style and have confidence in our skills... every thing seems to come off and we can rip teams apart in the space of minutes when we work the ball fast through the corridor... but as someone else said, it's possible that they wanted to keep the ball away from Fletcher and so they played it down the wings on the boundary line and lead into the pockets and the flanks. This is a game plan we dont need as we are much better playing the ball through the middle and into our forward line.

Some of the second stringers were ok and did step up to the plate and played well... it's just that there were more than enough average second stringers who didnt play at their best and because the stars were having a decidedly average day at the office, they were shown up more.

Should be an interesting return match I think...