Roast Round 3 post game rant thread

Re: Not Happy!

Tell me this - if you were an AFL player whose skills needed improvement, would you wait for a coach to tell you to improve them or would you take it upon yourself to do so?

Remember, this is your immediate career you are talking about here.

Some players need guidance. Not all are smart enough to recognize their weaknesses and say well i need to focus on that on the training track this week. It's the sole reason clubs employ 50,000 coaches these days, to pinpoint these problems and work with the players to improve them.

Banned from kicking:
- Armfield tackle, run then handball that is all we ask
- Warnock may kick as a clearance bomb to the forward line
- Carrazzo can kick if not under pressure
- Henderson (unless having a set shot within 50)
- McLean under ALL circumstances
- Waite (sometimes)

The above should all handball to the nearest player until someone who is allowed to kick, does so.

Walker on Gumbleton was possibly a crucial error and sums up Ratten. Walker on Williams, and Thornton on Gumby might have made more sense to me, but then again, so would have keeping Anderson (though that itself is questionable). This along with Waite should be played as a loose defender all game, I don't care if we need forwards, I loved Waite back there, and it always helped us! Kicking long to ruckmen doesn't work for us, I'd rather see the cluster like the kickouts all the way up the ground.

New game plan: Stop being the 16th team for using the corridor. Stop ****ing around in the backline. Bring back contested football, we win the clearances, I don't care if it's a bounce or a throw in, so long as we're not being dodges by shit Essendon players.

Judd - if someone goes out drinking, he needs to handcuff them to Kreuzer, Robinson and Betts. This will teach them about heart and how to try their best.

We should accept all penalties from the tribunal unless it was an obvious mistake.

Our replacement Captain should not be in the backline. When we had a glimmer of hope, nobody could hear Jamison encourage them, someone like Setanta should have been selected to fire everyone up and celebrate.

Under all circumstances Setanta must NOT pick the ball up and kick it. He is far better at shepparding for someone else, or simply kicking it off the ground.

Warnock, Houlihan. On notice for being dropped. Armfield, Walker very close to that list.

Let us pray to god that Adelaide beat Melbourne and we don't have to play a hungry Adelaide in Adelaide.

Edit: Oh and Eddie can spend the whole week practising to pick up the ball and kick goals - 10 behinds for the year is not good enough. The rest of the team can practise to handball at a player, rather than in the air or to a player that has a player already on him (Houlihan)

Re: Walker vs Joe Anderson

10 Carlton players with worse disposal than Walker tonight.

My issue is that he tries to play an outside role too much when running through the midfield. He is supposed to be a hard nut, but likes to think he can do the fancy things. Go harder Walks!
so angry with so many I am not sure how you pick on 1.

No

It is the coach's job to make sure the players are ready to play, are motivated to play and have the necessary skills to play

It is obvious that Brett Ratten is not up to coaching the Carlton football club

Right, so the CFC are paying players an average $250,000 or so grand a year to be babysat, is that what you're saying?

If these guys can't get motivated and work on their games to get it up to scratch on the money they're on, well I'm in the wrong industry

As for the coaching tonight, clearly Ratts was outcoached in a tactical / strategic sense. I notice Walks has been given a thread because some supporters feel they need a whipping boy, but i don't know how Walks can be singled out amongst many disappointing efforts (and yes, I saw his two kicks over the boundary). And the reason I raise Walks is why the f*ck is he playing on Gumbleton & Ryder? He's actually had success up forward, so why not move him there? Meanwhile Waite is up forward where he rarely dominates a game, not playing down back where has has dominated (okay, he was moved there after half time for a bit, but why so late?)

Tell me this - if you were an AFL player whose skills needed improvement, would you wait for a coach to tell you to improve them or would you take it upon yourself to do so?

Remember, this is your immediate career you are talking about here.

They are not all that smart Sherbs - you know how many one sided players there are. Once believed that every player should have a contract/plan where they declare an area that they take full responsibility to improve while the coaching staff nominate another area they will take responisibility for - imagine the improvement possible (could not convince my Metro club to do it however :()

10 Carlton players with worse disposal than Walker tonight.

My issue is that he tries to play an outside role too much when running through the midfield. He is supposed to be a hard nut, but likes to think he can do the fancy things. Go harder Walks!

Listen, who cares how many there were with worse disposal, he is a spud, its not just his disposal its his effectiveness with it, he does not hurt teams, he makes poor decisions, and he cant hit the target that matters inside 50.

Yer him and his wannabee outside role worry me as well, because he is a spud that cant do any of the above.

Once you accept he is a spud, you look at him from a different perspective. You don't live in hope anymore, you dont have a wet dream when he has the occassional great game, cause you know what you are gonna get the following week, more spudlyness.

As a selection he is a failure, number 2, 22,52 dont matter, he is a spud, just embrace the fact, he would struggle to get a game in the top 8 sides. As it so happens we are crap so he gets a game.

so angry with so many I am not sure how you pick on 1.
Exactly right. The whole team stunk it up, but I knew Walker would cop it tonight and expected that maybe Russell haters would have a relapse. They are like dogs with a bone, unwilling to constructively dissect the team performance or be critical of their favourites.

A couple of my favourites players are Waite and Kreuzer .... these two were way out of touch tonight IMO. Forgettable games like most of their mates. If you want to be critical, you have to say more than 'they are spuds' 'can't kick' etc etc and you have to be objective and include others who were just as bad, if not worse.

Listen, who cares how many there were with worse disposal, he is a spud, its not just his disposal its his effectiveness with it, he does not hurt teams, he makes poor decisions, and he cant hit the target that matters inside 50.

Yer him and his wannabee outside role worry me as well, because he is a spud that cant do any of the above.

Once you accept he is a spud, you look at him from a different perspective. You don't live in hope anymore, you dont have a wet dream when he has the occassional great game, cause you know what you are gonna get the following week, more spudlyness.

As a selection he is a failure, number 2, 22,52 dont matter, he is a spud, just embrace the fact, he would struggle to get a game in the top 8 sides. As it so happens we are crap so he gets a game.

Okay, this is an example of a crap post and very much what our quality posting rules are about. Is he a potato? Has he got this far in his career without a shred of footballing talent? Then he is not a spud, a dud, crap or anything else you want to use. If you think his disposal is terrible, dissect the problem? How many targets did he miss? Was he the only one? Did he do nothing good at all tonight?

It's just lazy useless ranting for the sake of it. Try to find a better way to articulate your arguments please.

henderson could have been moved back also. entirely hindsight that thought is though. much better match up. something is wrong if we need walker back there (but, he has played some ok games if i remember... tredrea?), essentially bower injured but no backmen to take his place? neither through team selection or actually on the list?

As for Walks kicking a couple out of the full, I reckon the team would have had about 10 tonight, most under no pressure whatsoever, with possibly better options elsewhere. Never seen anything like it.

Try reading.

Right, so the CFC are paying players an average $250,000 or so grand a year to be babysat, is that what you're saying?

If these guys can't get motivated and work on their games to get it up to scratch on the money they're on, well I'm in the wrong industry

As for the coaching tonight, clearly Ratts was outcoached in a tactical / strategic sense. I notice Walks has been given a thread because some supporters feel they need a whipping boy, but i don't know how Walks can be singled out amongst many disappointing efforts (and yes, I saw his two kicks over the boundary). And the reason I raise Walks is why the f*ck is he playing on Gumbleton & Ryder? He's actually had success up forward, so why not move him there? Meanwhile Waite is up forward where he rarely dominates a game, not playing down back where has has dominated (okay, he was moved there after half time for a bit, but why so late?)

So what's your solution?

There are only 2 options

Sack the players and keep the coach.

We sack the players and draft only those that can kick perfectly, come out to play each week, beat their opponent every time, win contested footy and execute to a satisfactory level. Those that don't go back to the seconds and we put in the ones from the reserves that do. We do that every week.

Get a new coach

Find a coach that can get the best out of our list, have them psyched up to play every week, improve their skills and knowledge of the game, improve their execution on gameday. Give them the sense that they play for the most successful and feared football club in the AFL and are destined to play in Premierships.

Tell me good sir what is your solution to our current predicament

Add Russell to the list. 3 spuds that need to find a new home next season.

Thank god that you are just a useless supporter and have no say in the playing list or by the end of the year we would just have a coach there and we would have no players...

The funny thing when reading these doom and gloom posts after a loss is how people forget that the very same team that beat us tonight we're getting pilloried by people just like us (aka their supporters) just last week, and yet were able to come out this week and make what we all seem to think is a superior team look inferior.

I watched the Geelong game from last year this afternoon before heading out to see this game and it was like watching a different team. Yes, there have been some personnel changes, but the guys who played well and won the game for us against Geelong, were for the most part out on the park tonite. Judd, Fev, Stevens and Bower were playing admittedly, but tonite we had Waite and Jamison in. For what it's worth, Stevens had hardly any impact, Bower was mostly beaten on the night and Fev kicked 4 goals, 2 of which came after the game was over.

The point that I'm trying to make is that sometimes, for whatever reason (and if anyone ever works it out, they will make a lot of money) entire teams have an off night. Tonight was our off night. It burns that it always seems to happen against the Bombers, but by the same token we (and our skills) seem to lift against other sides (eg. Bulldogs).

Yes, we have a tough run coming up, but if tonight was an aberration, then we may not necessarily be staring down the barrel of an abysmal year.

Just trying to put a little perspective on things.

First of all Carlton tonight could not kick a ball to save them selves and we deserved to lose.

But can someone tell me with 3:50 to go in the 3rd when Yarran tackled Pears why this was not given dropping the ball? 1 of the worst non calls I have seen in a long time. There were a coulpe of others throughout the night but this decision took the cake.

Well mate if you were Walker I wouldnt want you in the same fox hole as me, you wouldnt be able to shoot straight.

I dont mind Tex, yes he's spent two years on the sideline getting used to new shoulders, so he deserves some slack.

But Incog43 :thumbsu:, you've made me laugh after the shi**est night ever.

F***ing Gold!

First of all Carlton tonight could not kick a ball to save them selves and we deserved to lose.

But can someone tell me with 3:50 to go in the 3rd when Yarran tackled Pears why this was not given dropping the ball? 1 of the worst non calls I have seen in a long time. There were a coulpe of others throughout the night but this decision took the cake.

It should have been, plain and simple. And from what I can remember they gave one to us a few minutes later which seemed to pretty obviously be to make up for it. Either way, the umpiring was pathetic tonight. A lot of oobvious ones missed and lot shocking ones payed. I think they evened out in the end though.

Is that even a rule of the game anymore? Seems the umpires couldnt give a rats left testie how the ball is disposed of from a tackle anymore. There were prob 10+ tonight that should've been paid. Get tackled, drop the bal, plan on. Ridiculous. Atrocious. There are some serious issues with the umpiring standards & general direction of umpiring altogether. We as fans need to do something - its our fuc*king game - these skinny as weak, white maggots & the AFL suits are bending it over with poor umpiring interpretations. The level of football continues to get better & better - the level of umpiring continues to decline.

The funny thing when reading these doom and gloom posts after a loss is how people forget that the very same team that beat us tonight we're getting pilloried by people just like us (aka their supporters) just last week, and yet were able to come out this week and make what we all seem to think is a superior team look inferior.

I watched the Geelong game from last year this afternoon before heading out to see this game and it was like watching a different team. Yes, there have been some personnel changes, but the guys who played well and won the game for us against Geelong, were for the most part out on the park tonite. Judd, Fev, Stevens and Bower were playing admittedly, but tonite we had Waite and Jamison in. For what it's worth, Stevens had hardly any impact, Bower was mostly beaten on the night and Fev kicked 4 goals, 2 of which came after the game was over.

The point that I'm trying to make is that sometimes, for whatever reason (and if anyone ever works it out, they will make a lot of money) entire teams have an off night. Tonight was our off night. It burns that it always seems to happen against the Bombers, but by the same token we (and our skills) seem to lift against other sides (eg. Bulldogs).

Yes, we have a tough run coming up, but if tonight was an aberration, then we may not necessarily be staring down the barrel of an abysmal year.

Just trying to put a little perspective on things.
It just seemed that our boys didn't run for one another or couldn't create space twas like watching the seasons of 2004-05-06 all over again:confused: but without that extra inside mid, our ruck work was a grade but the we just couldn't win the contest on the ground or work towards the right areas, i don't know may be that man on man had us baffled??

but to lose six times in a row against a mediocre team

I dislike Essendon as much as the next person but isn't the problem that we as supporters and players alike continually underestimate them? Honestly, what have we achieved this year to go into the game as hot favourites? A win against the Tiges? :eek:

Missing Bower, Judd (and Fevola!) out of Best 22 highlights the rest of the group aren't as crash hot as we'd like to overrate them. Essendon on the other hand have just as many young kids stepping up, great performance by 1st gamer Melksham, and their "bottom 6" is probably ahead of ours.

So what's your solution?

There are only 2 options

Sack the players and keep the coach.

We sack the players and draft only those that can kick perfectly, come out to play each week, beat their opponent every time, win contested footy and execute to a satisfactory level. Those that don't go back to the seconds and we put in the ones from the reserves that do. We do that every week.

Get a new coach

Find a coach that can get the best out of our list, have them psyched up to play every week, improve their skills and knowledge of the game, improve their execution on gameday. Give them the sense that they play for the most successful and feared football club in the AFL and are destined to play in Premierships.

Tell me good sir what is your solution to our current predicament

Well, it ain't sack anyone at this stage, champ.

Fact is we've come a long way in two years - remember at the end of 2007, when we finished last. Ratt's has been our coach since then and we've now played finals, so he's obviously doing something right, ain't he? It ain't that long ago. Or did you forget that? Sure, he stuffs up from time to time, but so does just about every coach in the league.

Last year, at least we played finals for the first time in, what 8 or so years. Ratts was our coach. Basically, I'd leave Ratts as coach and see how he continues to develop the list, because at day's end we've gone from last to a top 8 side, so clearly that's development

What I won't do is have a near jerk reaction over one disastrous match and sack the coach, which is what you're suggesting. What do you think would happen? We'll win the premiership in 2011?

As for a new coach, well, who are you suggesting? You're the one suggesting a new coach, not me, so which new coach will come in and win us a premiership and why? And in what time frame? How will that specific person you suggest make the difference you're looking for? Or are you simply going to leave it at "find a new coach?"

And as for the players being babysat (ie. it's not their responsibility to work on their skills or motivate themselves), then why are we paying them so much $, what for? For someone to wipe their arse?

Is that even a rule of the game anymore? Seems the umpires couldnt give a rats left testie how the ball is disposed of from a tackle anymore.

Yep, what's worse: Essendon player (Pears?) takes possession, is tackled by Waite. Player drops the ball and Waite is penalised for holding. :confused::eek::thumbsd:

It just seemed that our boys didn't run for one another or couldn't create space twas like watching the seasons of 2004-05-06 all over again:confused: but without that extra inside mid, our ruck work was a grade but the we just couldn't win the contest on the ground or work towards the right areas, i don't know may be that man on man had us baffled??

Finally.

Someone looks past the individual and at the game plan....

The Bombers came out with a totally different game plan tonight and our coaches were not prepared for it...

The Bombers picked a running side tonight that went 1 on 1 and we didn't cope...

Forget picking out individuals. We were beaten by a superior game plan...

Our physicality tonight was poor...

Could have sworn the umpire motioned that he'd dished out a handball. Maggot!