Roast Round 3 post game rant thread

Re: Not Happy!

Mate

You can think that all you like but there is a reason the coach always gets sacked first

Because it is his job

Mate... the guy with his head up is usually the one who gets it in the neck no matter how good he is.

Check out the multitude of high level soccer clubs around the world... the managers are good... but the players get into a rut and lose a few games and suddenly the manager is under pressure to get the players to perform better or get the sack... and what makes it even more ridiculous is that the team might actually be playing really well and they lose to a lucky goal.

The club doesnt care about things like luck or skills or things like that... they just want the positive results and therefore they get the axe if there is a run of unlucky results.

The coach is doing his best, but the players are letting him down, but because he is the focal point of the pyramid, he gets it in the neck.

You look at the most successful clubs in the soccer world... they have long term managers.

Ok...

Calm Down. Some perspective please!!!

THAT WAS SHIT

- No backline run...none. Never broke the lines once. Where was Gibbs, JR, Walker etc running through the idfield
- Kicking it long to Fletcher time after time. After 18 years, we haven't worked that out?
- Disposal was crap because ball movement was slow. Need gamebreakers who can run.
- Brock injured (apparently) ...but bad luck. Hadlee in
- Warnock is not a ruckmans arseh*le. Gutless, no contested marks (1 handed attempts FFS), no linkage and no vision. Give me jacobs any day
- Can we make up our minds where Waite will play?
- Where the hell was Gibbs tonight?

Now the not so shit stuff

- Lucas can get the footy....just needs to kick.
- Hendo led up well all night
- I reckon irish's role was to play out of the square to keep fletcher out of the play. Sacrificed his game ok, but needs to lift when the ball is on the way out
- Jamo and Scotland :thumbsu:

more rant to follow...

Nailed it :thumbsu:

Mate... the guy with his head up is usually the one who gets it in the neck no matter how good he is.

Check out the multitude of high level soccer clubs around the world... the managers are good... but the players get into a rut and lose a few games and suddenly the manager is under pressure to get the players to perform better or get the sack... and what makes it even more ridiculous is that the team might actually be playing really well and they lose to a lucky goal.

The club doesnt care about things like luck or skills or things like that... they just want the positive results and therefore they get the axe if there is a run of unlucky results.

The coach is doing his best, but the players are letting him down, but because he is the focal point of the pyramid, he gets it in the neck.

You look at the most successful clubs in the soccer world... they have long term managers.

You are very naive

Who gives a flying you know what if the coach is doing his best.

If the team isn't performing it is ultimately his responsibility and he must pay the price for poor performance

Ratten won't coach Carlton to a flag and he must be removed. I'm sure he will last the year but ultimately when we finish 11 to 16th his fate will be decided. Hopefully the club is talking to potential replacements right now

We have tactics?
Ratten actually evaluates the skills of players?
We have kills coaches?

How do you get a job?

We have tactics and during training when Ratts is drilling the players in the tactics, he will also be evaluating how players are going and takes that to the match committee. If a player impresses during training, then the player should be selected for the match the following week.

We have the development coaches who are supposed to be working with the players to help develop their skills. And they dont seem to be doing the job properly.

And whats how I get a job got to do with this?

We have tactics and during training when Ratts is drilling the players in the tactics, he will also be evaluating how players are going and takes that to the match committee. If a player impresses during training, then the player should be selected for the match the following week.

We have the development coaches who are supposed to be working with the players to help develop their skills. And they dont seem to be doing the job properly.

And whats how I get a job got to do with this?

Watching at home the cameras are right on the forwards face and it is amazing to see them looking everywhere right up to the last sec of their run in - there is no way they are endeavouring to kick to a specific target like they do when aiming for a team-mate - they are just banging it in the general direction of the goals and hoping for the best UNBELIEVABLE :rolleyes:

Re: Walker vs Joe Anderson

FFS i'd hate to take you blokes to war, you'd fu*kin leave me there, wouldn't be surprise you blokes would find a hole to hide in:spade:
His been out of the game for how many seasons cause of injury's and you blokes want to put a bullet in him and fu*k him off, put on the boots and your self in that sought of environment and see how you go :mad::thumbsd: next you'd be knocking juddy and co

You are blinkered when it comes to Walker.

You cannot blame injury for his woeful kicking & lack of heart.
Yes he has pace and agility but no consistency.
We would be better without him in our list. At least some others would get a chance to prove themselves.

You are very naive

Who gives a flying you know what if the coach is doing his best.

If the team isn't performing it is ultimately his responsibility and he must pay the price for poor performance

Ratten won't coach Carlton to a flag and he must be removed. I'm sure he will last the year but ultimately when we finish 11 to 16th his fate will be decided. Hopefully the club is talking to potential replacements right now

And you are very stupid for not recognising that the players are also responsible for the poor performances despite what Ratts does.

If a business owner is making all the right business decisions, but their staff is screwing around and the business goes broke because of it... who is at fault there? The owner can replace the staff, but then there is still a training period for the staff to get up to speed. While they are training the business is still suffering and the owner is still making all the right decisions.

It is the same here... Ratts might be ultimately responsible for the performance of the team, but if the team isnt performing to the levels he is setting then is it ultimately his fault for the poor performance or does the team also have to accept responsibility for the poor performance? Ratts can replace the players but the players have to have enough intestinal fortitude to get themselves motivated beyond what the coach already has.

Watching at home the cameras are right on the forwards face and it is amazing to see them looking everywhere right up to the last sec of their run in - there is no way they are endeavouring to kick to a specific target like they do when aiming for a team-mate - they are just banging it in the general direction of the goals and hoping for the best UNBELIEVABLE :rolleyes:

I agree... the camera was right on Eddie when he was running in and he was looking for options.

We need to get in a specialist coach or a couple of specialist coaches to work with the KPP's

Please mods don't merge everything into here - what did Joey v Walks have to do with Not Happy :confused:
Post game rant.

We seem to choose these games to lose our heart. Very weird indeed. That's the problem of having a new generation who do not appreciate what beating the old enemy means to the Carlton Football Club as an institution. Maybe that is it ... Watson, Neagle, Fletcher ... father/son selections who would have been Bomber supporters and had the hatred drummed into them. Carlton's most passionate player is an Irishmen who never heard of us before he came over to Australia. Passion always win out and we lack it at the most inopportune times.

And I don't want your girl - even though you are supposed to give her to me for jinxing us.

She would only remind me of the game where I realized we may not see a GF in Juddy's time

Huh?:confused:

If tonights game was a game of chess,Ratten would have been blindfolded,spun around ten times and been put in front of a scrabble board:D
SERIOUSLY that was some bad smelling cooking Blues:thumbsd:

We seem to choose these games to lose our heart. Very weird indeed. That's the problem of having a new generation who do not appreciate what beating the old enemy means to the Carlton Football Club as an institution. Maybe that is it ... Watson, Neagle, Fletcher ... father/son selections who would have been Bomber supporters and had the hatred drummed into them. Carlton's most passionate player is an Irishmen who never heard of us before he came over to Australia. Passion always win out and we lack it at the most inopportune times.

Jesus champ, tonight was a no brainer.

Number 5 is back in his Biblical form next week,
but hell, tonight was a pencil in.

You obviously dont read your own threads ;)

In your 3zip bumber thread - I said that she was to be mine if you have jinxed us by starting such a thread :mad:
Maybe it is your posts that I don't read? ;)

Besides, I never agreed. We started such a thread last year too by the way.

Maybe I should be superstitious come round 19 and leave it. Giving a sucker an even break is definitely not working for us.

Jesus champ, tonight was a no brainer.

Number 5 is back in his Biblical form next week,
but hell, tonight was a pencil in.
Hey, I am hearing you. It was a heartless performance all around, and once again, I reckon the supporters are suffering more than the players who will still get paid.

Six in a row against the Bummers. Not friggin good enough.

Seriously, Ratts must have no idea. Surely somewhere along the line he should be able to come up with something to counter Essendon's dominance over us. Guess what dumbo their going to try and run us off our feet for a change.

Skills are deplorable. What the hell do we do at training???

Knights and co must lick their lips when they play us. Insipid, heartless and total lack of intensity against a second rate side.

Ratts=Knights' bitch. No game plan or creativity. Reactive rather than proactive.

Seriously lacking leadership.

Great decision contesting Judd's suspension last year; NOT, just dumb, we lost the final for heaven's sake what did we have to gain???

Walker is a spud:(

Look forward to 1-8 record.

Sorry but I'm totally, totally frustrated.

If tonights game was a game of chess,Ratten would have been blindfolded,spun around ten times and been put in front of a scrabble board:D
SERIOUSLY that was some bad smelling cooking Blues:thumbsd:

Why are you guys bagging your own coach ?? I thought Ratten did a wonderful job tonight !!