Round 3 Trades

We're in the season proper.... They time for speculating on mid priced, non-keepers is passed. It's GNR or nothing moving fwd.

If you started with Bonner, Taranto, Fisher, Christensen, great. If not, now is not the time to bring them in. You're either going up or down, NOT sideways. Otherwise, you're wasting a trade.

The ONLY exception is if you think they're a keeper.

I think you’ll find its not...

Go to tooserious my friend, find Danger, punch in 130 scores and he stops losing significant value at around 700k

The magic number during season is about x5.1, not x5.4. Prices converge on average * 5.1 if you look forward enough games. If the calculator says otherwise it is mistaken. x5.4 is the start of season price based on last season's average.

Any Hunter Clark owners out there? What are ya'll doing with the flog?

Hold for now and ditch for Higgins in a few weeks?!?
I'm holding, but only because I have Ryder and my spud POD (J Trengove) to deal with this week.

Will loop Clark with Brayshaw this week, as I also have M Crouch!

What can I say, 2018 could have started somewhat better.......

Thinking Ryder to NicNat and Trengove to Boak/T Taranto/J Martin/McLean.

We're in the season proper.... They time for speculating on mid priced, non-keepers is passed. It's GNR or nothing moving fwd.

If you started with Bonner, Taranto, Fisher, Christensen, great. If not, now is not the time to bring them in. You're either going up or down, NOT sideways. Otherwise, you're wasting a trade.

Taranto is a keeper.

I also thought Menapoo and Lambshit were keepers.

The magic number during season is about x5.1, not x5.4. Prices converge on average * 5.1 if you look forward enough games. If the calculator says otherwise it is mistaken. x5.4 is the start of season price based on last season's average.

True. Formula for breakevens that I have is:
((current price/5100) x 3) - last 2 scores

For price change it's:

(last round score - breakeven) x 450

Plug this into excel for a more accurate calculator than tooserious.

SC Gold shows it dropping to $696k by round 9 based on a 133 avg for the next 7 games. Danger will only drop to $660k if he has a few stinkers along the way. But I'm hoping for a few 200s :D

upload_2018-4-5_13-11-42.png

lol. Why would I make stuff up

Too serious has him at 690k in round 23 if he averages 130

http://tooserious.net/forum/player_calc.php?id=365&pcid=46681#EI50cSvP7HTfihUs.97

Calculator looks bugged, 3 round average is frozen at 146.

Easy example to check is to look at 2017 Dangerfield where his price barely moved after 3 rounds. Since price changes are determined entirely by comparing last 3 round average to current price, this tells us how the system would price him if he kept getting the same average (138.7).
The price was $717k. 717 / 138.7 = 5.17, not 5.4.

You can also see for yourself tooserious is bugged since it lists his BE at that point as 148, he didn't hit the BE but his price remained the same.

Taranto averaging 90 seems plausible. Was getting lots of midfield time with Whitfield going down back. Can't see that getting taken away with Scully going down and no one to come back and push him out of his spot. Talented player, question was always on fitness and opportunity and he seems to have both this year. Funnily enough it looks like himself + cogs may take away from Kelly's potential this year
Hopper to come back in, probably this week. He and Taranto might be rotated between midfield & half forward like they were last year.

No Greene or ZGL either though, so Hooper probably doesn't impact Taranto that significantly.

Impacts him more so IMO. Taranto probably a better forward than Hopper. Hopper could get Taranto's mid minutes (in the short term) while Taranto covers for Greene & ZGL at HF

That is exactly what im thinking, Taranto would play the forward pressure and tackling role a lot better than Hopper would

This is exactly what I've been thinking of late.
Was really looking at bringing in Fisher or Bonner for underwhelming rookies. But with the risk of them averaging the same as I rookie being quite high, I'm thinking money might be better spent on actual rookies and extra cash for upgrades (like Danger!)

Have gone with:
Bontempelli > Coniglio
Hibberd > Bonner

First trades of the year which should allow me to go Naughton > Simpson next week.

Lil ripper thanks mate.
Brayshaw or ldu may become him when he is on his bubble.
They will be my only rooks with enough value.
Will be interesting as to where RICH play Higgins ? .....if it's midfield :thumbsu: ....apparently has a super tank, with elite 3km time trials

You two both make great points and was exactly the trade off I was making in my head.
The trade you've suggested lets me field a better balanced team, not have an injured rookie, hold an extra 17k, but takes Parker over Oliver. I rate Parker this year but think Oliver is likely to average 5-10 more across the year.

I didn't want to be making such tough calls R2 :(

Given the likelihood I challenge for top 100 this year already looks shot I'll have to play for cash league, and that makes me more likely to take this route...
Just bear in mind re fwrd's that Ahern and Higgins are back in the frame for selection .....this may alleviate the need to bat as deep with the Forwards ?

Have gone with:
Bontempelli > Coniglio
Hibberd > Bonner

I'd love to jump on Conigs who looks a cheap keeper, but I'll just have to let him go. No way of doing it without trading fit players and using 2 trades. Got to concentrate on getting to Mitchell and Danger as soon as practical before my season is gone! :D

Hibberd will survive in my backline until end of year or he's injured. Can't believe he won't bust out the odd big ton here and there to minimise the damage.

I think your two will feel great this week, and a regrettable mistake by about round 18. I usually run out of trades before I run out of ideas or money.

Sicily getting a week and ZGL being hurt have killed my plan to get Coniglio.

Don't want to get stuck playing Fritsch, Ryan and Venables this week, I'd rather field Murphy against the Saints, so Hibberd out, Sicily swings back, Robbie Gray comes in.

Wasn't keen at Gray before last week, but when he had the second most CBAs I quickly changed my mind.

Hunter Clark out for Barry too.

Sicily getting a week and ZGL being hurt have killed my plan to get Coniglio.

Don't want to get stuck playing Fritsch, Ryan and Venables this week, I'd rather field Murphy against the Saints, so Hibberd out, Sicily swings back, Robbie Gray comes in.

Wasn't keen at Gray before last week, but when he had the second most CBAs I quickly changed my mind.

Hunter Clark out for Barry too.
Port bye doesnt piss you off?