Round 4 Team

Simpson, Houlihan, and Scotland are not back-pocket players.

The quicker Browne and Armfield are developed for that role the better...

Oh and I think Kreuzer should play forward or as a ruck rover with Cloke and Hammer rotating as the ruckmen.

That's all well and good Gilly, but from what I have seen, his defensive pressure is almost non-existent. Would much prefer to see him line up on the wing, where he has been damaging for the past 2 years.

In an ideal world....you're right HBF, a small defender has to a) beat their man, b) provide rebound off HB.....I'm not arguing against your point, just looking for some logic in it all.

Would like to see him stay in the team. Gives us some toughness around the ball.
Has looked good, thought he would be a certainty.
But with Grigg O'Halipin and Browne looking to come in, would there be room as 3 need to make way..?

What a joke. We get a guy like Hampson who has only played 3 games of footy, but we all believe he could be something really good in a few years, then in only his 4th game you give hime 36% game time then drop him. I thought the Cloke, Hampson, Kreuzer combo would work well. And would help limit the pressure on Kreuzer? More importantly Hampson needs game time - lots lots more game time. Can't play Kreuzer for long stints at CHF if he is the back up ruckman.

Mate, i think your spot on. It makes no sense to me why he was dropped. Ratten is putting way way to much pressure on Special K. By the looks of things, he has to play CHF while back-up ruckman (O'hAilpin plays). He was great last week but that will not happen week in week out this early on in his career.

By the way, i don't think we weren't to tall last week, i thought it was just right. We just have players to underdone at the moment to play the way we did for four quarters.

:eek::eek: All i can say is that Russell better bloody well not be playing!!

Didn't think Grigg had done much to earn a recall after his soft start to the year. Carrazzo AND Scotland still in! :confused: Maybe Scotto because it's the Pies but i'm not convinced.

Looks to be another conservative week by our Match Committee. :mad:
What a joke. We get a guy like Hampson who has only played 3 games of footy, but we all believe he could be something really good in a few years, then in only his 4th game you give hime 36% game time then drop him. I thought the Cloke, Hampson, Kreuzer combo would work well. And would help limit the pressure on Kreuzer? More importantly Hampson needs game time - lots lots more game time. Can't play Kreuzer for long stints at CHF if he is the back up ruckman.
Harden the ____ up!

Sooks.

We'll drop Scotland, Houlihan and Carrazzo to play kids who don't deserve a game. :eek: :rolleyes:

I think Browne will play after being named and Houlihan will be dropped from the team.

Could be Browne v Lockyer if Murphy doesn't play on him again.

Hampson missed round one and needs to play to get match fit after spending alot of time on the bench last week.

Good decision.

Cloke and Kreuzer can handle Fraser and Wood.

I think Bentick might miss, but he'd be a good match up for one of Collingwood's mids who aren't the quickest group going around.

Bentick v Burns would be a good match up.

Great to see Grigg promoted. :)

I think Browne will play after being named and Houlihan will be dropped from the team.

Why would they continue to experiment with a new kid when all Ratten has been saying in the media is how they want to get their pride back. Surely beating Collingwood would go much further to restoring pride than any other team, therefore, why stick in a fresh kid when you've got an experienced player who I hope they play in the forward line?

your contradicting yourself. hampson is our future ruck and needs gametime, but how will he get it behind cloke and kruzer?
by sending him to the ants' he can play the full match and get that game time. its not about punishing the kid, its about developing the kid, and playing 40% of a game is shit development.

I won't disagree that playing someone when you're only planning to give them 40% game time is stupid. But I wasn't contradicting myself - I never said Kruezer should be back up ruckman this week! The three gives us flexibility though. Glad to see others agree this is a backward step. We never practice what we preach...we say we will look after Kreuzer and then after one game we wan't him to take over the world.

There is a very strong expectation that Kruezer will suffer second game blues after such a good debut. I think that he shows a degree of maturity not seen in many other debutantes and he'll have another effective game wherever they play him - putting him back in cotton wool is a mistake.

Harden the ____ up!

Sooks.

We'll drop Scotland, Houlihan and Carrazzo to play kids who don't deserve a game. :eek: :rolleyes:

Could be Browne v Lockyer if Murphy doesn't play on him again.

Hampson missed round one and needs to play to get match fit after spending alot of time on the bench last week.

Good decision.

Cloke and Kreuzer can handle Fraser and Wood.

I think Bentick might miss, but he'd be a good match up for one of Collingwood's mids who aren't the quickest group going around.

Bentick v Burns would be a good match up.

Great to see Grigg promoted. :)

I beg your f#@ken pardon! :mad:

The VERY reason i want change in our structure is so WE HARDEN THE F@$K UP A BIT. Haven't you read any of my posts this past couple of weeks brightspark???

Blokes like Browne ans Armfield are so much tougher than the likes of Hoops, Russell, Scotland - AND Grigg for that matter - it's not funny.

THINK BEFORE YOU POST. ;)

Why would they continue to experiment with a new kid when all Ratten has been saying in the media is how they want to get their pride back. Surely beating Collingwood would go much further to restoring pride than any other team, therefore, why stick in a fresh kid when you've got an experienced player who I hope they play in the forward line?
Maybe constantly picking an experienced player even though he doesn't chase, lead and provide defensive pressure is part of the problem. Browne was roughing up Scotland at training according to a Blues fan and has the type of attitude we need. :thumbsu:

He has played senior footy in the WAFL last year and is ready to go since he was named in the bests.

I beg your f#@ken pardon! :mad:

The VERY reason i want change in our structure is so WE HARDEN THE F@$K UP A BIT. Haven't you read any of my posts this past couple of weeks brightspark???

Blokes like Browne ans Armfield are so much tougher than the likes of Hoops, Russell, Scotland - AND Grigg for that matter - it's not funny.

THINK BEFORE YOU POST. ;)
:rolleyes:

How is naming Grigg in the 18 conservative? ;)

If we drop Russell and Houlihan, we will have to replace him with another tall midfielder with speed and skill for team balance.

What has Armfield done?

It's no use being hard if you can't get a kick or kick to save yourself.

I will be rapt if we drop Houlihan. :thumbsu: :)

Banno on Pendlebury. :cool:

:rolleyes:

How is naming Grigg in the 18 conservative? ;)

If we drop Russell and Houlihan, we will have to replace him with another tall midfielder with speed and skill for team balance.

What has Armfield done?

It's no use being hard if you can't get a kick or kick to save yourself.

I will be rapt if we drop Houlihan. :thumbsu: :)

Banno on Pendlebury. :cool:

Every bit as much as Grigg - not that's been a hell of a lot.

Why bring in a softish outside runner with average disposal and a debatable work ethic when we can bring in a tough-as-nails runner with average disposal who WILL work his backside off for the team? :rolleyes:

This is Bullshit! Are we trying to lose?

Whats Wiggins have to do? He played a blinder last week in the bullants. BOG.

So what if he's not the future of the club, he would have more effect on the game than the other inclusions.

Angry Face.

I would imagine that Hampson was more rested than dropped. He only had a knee op a few weeks ago and the reason he probably only had 30-odd% game time was maybe he was good enough to pass a fitness test but in real game situation he may have still been a little sore. Maybe they brought him back a little too early?

guys how about jake edwards
wat do u rate as his chance of playing this weekend?

and why was he omitted in the 1st place?

I cannot beleive the amont of pressure carlton are putting on Matt, its absolute BS.

The kid is going to get a hammering this week ffs.

Meh, call me a cynic, but I don't really mind ins and outs at this stage (although It is pleasing to see another kid hopefully get a game in Browne) cause honestly I reckon we have no hope in hell of beating Collingwood, just got to try a new gameplan and stop the damage on the scoreboard.
Of interest is if we can actually keep a team under 100 points for a change, we won't win the game, but if we can keep the Pies under 100, I'll be happy.

Round 4 Team