Review Round 4. The Pineapple Grapple.

• Thread starter Thread starter Sunny_

Harbrow dislocated elbow. Swallow has a bad hip injury, been injected cpl times already. That 3rd qtr was bloody disgraceful but still not as bad as our fwd line which is even worse... And if Tape fumbles another ball I'm cutting up my membership card.

And now Gaz hyperextends his right knee... I'm going to the bar for the last few minutes.

Worse than Round 2 last year. Worse than Round 6 last year.

Harbrow, Swallow, Gaz, all injured. On the back of last weeks great effort, in the local derby, this is definitely up there as our worst performance ever. The lack of fitness is also a worry.

Can't think of any highlights. Sam Day took a few good marks...

edit: not to mention the lack of protection/support of ablett. getting smashed around all night by raines and only time i saw any form of help was a small bump from bennell. when you know you most influential player is getting heavy treatment, you need to act.

Dog act by Raines
Yet another no-talent journeyman who just hits and scrags a champion
Basically intentionally threw his body under Gary and took his legs out
Hopefully will be cited for tunnelling

As far as the game went...okay first half...second half was as bad as I've seen
One step forward two steps back

Dog act by Raines

That is a bit harsh. I doubt Raines intended to deliberately injure Ablett. It is his job as a tagger to let Ablett know that he is always there and pressuring him.

Absolutely pitiful. The boys seem intimidated and the skills are woeful at times. Caddy who rates himself as a tough nut was hopeless he needs to put his body on the line.Sick of people saying how good he is have not seen much to date. I am all for playing the young kids but honestly we need the bigger bodies in there and around ABLETT. When the Bull is fit he must go straight in and Isles as well. At least they are reliable and do not shirk a contest. I would put both in the mid and see how we go. What the hell is going to happen next week against NORTH if we get smashed by Lions.

Dog act by Raines

Hahahaha funniest thing I've seen. He was going for the ball, with no intention of taking Ablett out.
Just because he smashed Ablett. :rolleyes:

Way too disappointed to really post anything right now. Was the huge game from last week too much? Just really died in the second half.

All I care about right now is Ablett. Seems at this stage that his knee is structurally good. Jarred and swollen, but good.

GC SUNS
@GaryAblettJnr has jarred his knee, the medicos are confident that there is no structural damage. Will examine again tomorrow & update.

Lauren Phillips ‏ @LaurenPhillips_
Just got info that structurally Gary's knee is ok- looks like there is no serious damage. Fingers crossed. Thanks for your concern

Hahahaha funniest thing I've seen. He was going for the ball, with no intention of taking Ablett out.
Just because he smashed Ablett. :rolleyes:
biased opinion. doesnt count.
really thought karmichael hunt has stepped up onto the big stage and is really getting his own footy and his fitness has improved. now he has to improve his disposal, handball wise as he often handballs it too far infront of his teammate. i reckon he needs to show some fancy side-steps :P i cant wait for that day to happen.
he could be a really good player for gold coast.

seriosly .. why would you not be playing you senior players ?? Stanley? Iles ? both play reserves & dominating? what have they done wrong ? or are they injured???

mate you've got the AFL's biggest joke coaching your football team..you get to laff every week

AFL's biggest joke just got his 2nd win for the season mate.

:thumbsu::rolleyes:

Can I say from a nuetral perspective Karmichael is looking pretty good!! I mean no Gary Ablett but hes improved immensly from last year... guess hes not as much as a failier as I thought...Izzy on the other hand

I hope Gaz ends up OK. He's been quite resilient in the past, so I can't imagine that there will be too much trouble. As for Raines being a low dog for 'taking out' a more skilled player, I think we are all capable of better posting than that.

Dog act by Raines

Reactionary and not needed. Raines did a top job on Gaz tonight, despite his 33 possesions. Your best player being accidentally injured does not take away from our hard-working tagger's efforts.

I hope GC can back up this week with a hard effort next week. The younger bodies seem as though they need a rest and recovery focused week this coming week.

Go Lions (followed closely by the Suns).

Disappointed to hear this, I missed the first half, and apparently that was our only good play.

Good to see K in the touches, highest tally of 21 possies for the game, good development from him.

This would be warning bells for the coaching staff. Stanley and Iles need to get in there, the smaller suns players were bullied by the bigger Brisbane bodies from what I saw around the contests and around the pack.

I think it is also time Dixon was brought back in, he seems to have hit some form in the NEAFL, he is a big body that we need to make a contest in the forward line, he is one player that may not be bullied around.

Day still seems out of touch, amazing propect but needs to go back to get his hands on the Sherrin in the NEAFL.

Brown is so frustrating to watch and Fraser looked slow tonight.

Disappointing by any stretch that we couldn't stick with them, hopefully next week we can compete with the hot Roos.

Can I say from a nuetral perspective Karmichael is looking pretty good!! I mean no Gary Ablett but hes improved immensly from last year...

I agree. He really showed some good signs tonight. Some great awareness in patches.

I hope Gaz ends up OK. He's been quite resilient in the past, so I can't imagine that there will be too much trouble. As for Raines being a low dog for 'taking out' a more skilled player, I think we are all capable of better posting than that.

Reactionary and not needed. Raines did a top job on Gaz tonight, despite his 33 possesions. Your best player being accidentally injured does not take away from our hard-working tagger's efforts.

I hope GC can back up this week with a hard effort next week. The younger bodies seem as though they need a rest and recovery focused week this coming week.

Go Lions (followed closely by the Suns).

One player was on his feet and had eyes for the ball
The other player was playing the man as he had been all night and went to ground and knocked the other players legs from under him intentionally.
At best a trip
No different to Adam Goodes' tackle in my opinion
I watch Gazz get tagged and scragged by second raters every week and now they're getting congratulated for it
One guy's trying to play footy and the other guys trying to stop him.