VFL Round 4 v Frankston Kinetic Stadium Friday April 18th 7.35pm

My take on the game.

Kozi, Blight and Gray all average at best. Young is better than Blight. Smith did alright but I’m not blowing my load over his 30.

McAuliffe was just ok. Smillie looked good when he had the ball but didn’t get it enough. Sonsie pretty good and hard to deny him being selected next game on that performance.

OHB better than Mate but **** me they are both useless overall.

Sims looked lively but didn’t get involved enough, Fawcett tried hard but kept ****ing up (think he missed two kicks to Bauer). Bauer just doesn’t get enough of the ball. 4 goals but ****s around trying to take hangers instead of dominating the game. He could’ve kicked 6+ and had 15+ disposals if he stopped dicking around. Alger good for the most part if he could improve a little from here he’d be a shoe in for selection.

was a positive to see our listed boys get some possessions
Sonsie - 35
smith - 31
McAuliffe - 25
Smillie is going to be a talking point- stay in the VFL and build up that fitness or we bring him up now?

Could we bloody get some commentators who don't openly barrack for the oppo every bloody VFL and CFL game?

Happens every bloody week.

Listen to Collingwood games and how much they are fawned over by the commentators.

Every time we play ANY BLOODY TEAM,the commentators bay for a Tiger loss.

I'M SICK OF THEIR BS!

EPL have their own commentary teams for each club.

I would love some commentators who ACTUALLY love us for a change!

Alger looks to be a very Toby Greene type forward in how he navigates contest. Reads it well off the boot and loves the nudge under the ball but also comfortable in leading up. His ability to hit the scoreboard so early in his career at VFL level, especially as a bottom end draftee, very encouraging.

Bauer, go see the girls in the office, pick up your final pay, all the best for the future. Unbelievably selfish game of footy from him.

Alger will need to toughen up, but has time.

Colina could still improve but barring quite sharp improvement he is not becoming an AFL footballer.

McAuliffe made a lot of poor decisions by foot when he had chances to set us up.

Smillie obviously great disposal but not sure he isn't a bit casual at times.

Raso is an old fashioned small forward, all about trying to kick goals for him, like to see him getting a bit more team orientated.

McCarthy didn't seem to enjoy the ground or the conditions.

Fawcett has plenty of time yet but if a club offered a 3rd round pick I would take it. Playing team first footy doesn't come natural to him, but seems to have a good tank and reasonable skills.

We had one big guy too many everywhere you looked. I think Sims, Fawcett, Blight, Koschitzke, OHB, El Nour would all benefit from having about 2 less talls and 2 more runners in the team, but we probably have to live with that this year.

Gray was good again.

Sonsie very good at this level but looks short of AFL level traits.

Our VFL players are really good. Slightly disappointed in McKenzie tonight after showing some good improvement last match.

Kaleb Smith got a load of the footy, but maybe like Fawcett, tracking slightly below the curve for a rd 3 pick.

The thing that really disappointed me tonight was some selfish play, with Bauer a huge culprit, Fawcett, Alger, maybe Raso, also involved. McAuliffe, Smith, Sonsie loads of the ball but are they kick chasing? Are they using the ball well?

Overall a very disappointing night, result aside, saw some very disappointing play I just don't expect to see from a Richmond VFL team.

My take on the game.

Kozi, Blight and Gray all average at best. Young is better than Blight. Smith did alright but I’m not blowing my load over his 30.

McAuliffe was just ok. Smillie looked good when he had the ball but didn’t get it enough. Sonsie pretty good and hard to deny him being selected next game on that performance.

OHB better than Mate but **** me they are both useless overall.

Sims looked lively but didn’t get involved enough, Fawcett tried hard but kept ****ing up (think he missed two kicks to Bauer). Bauer just doesn’t get enough of the ball. 4 goals but ****s around trying to take hangers instead of dominating the game. He could’ve kicked 6+ and had 15+ disposals if he stopped dicking around. Alger good for the most part if he could improve a little from here he’d be a shoe in for selection.
You saw what I saw.

Could we bloody get some commentators who don't openly barrack for the oppo every bloody VFL and CFL game?

Happens every bloody week.

Listen to Collingwood games and how much they are fawned over by the commentators.

Every time we play ANY BLOODY TEAM,the commentators bay for a Tiger loss.

I'M SICK OF THEIR BS!

EPL have their own commentary teams for each club.

I would love some commentators who ACTUALLY love us for a change!

Get Manfred Mann back

Careful what you wish for. Last season we were flying with the VFL list mostly playing. Afl Listed started coming back and all downhill from there. But agree strong squad. Just knew yze would set up blight to fail. One bad half straight out unreal.
I just knew it. That group should have killed them but sometimes the predicted happens:(

The young talls have no cohesion yet, none of the 3 lead at the ball carrier, they all just run to the same spot and try and take pack marks, we’re way too tall on every line, and then we’re way too small across the flanks, doesn’t feel like they’re playing with passion. At the game you could see the Dolphins boys were playing for each other and the crowd.

Bauer, go see the girls in the office, pick up your final pay, all the best for the future. Unbelievably selfish game of footy from him.

Colina could still improve but barring quite sharp improvement he is not becoming an AFL footballer.

McAuliffe made a lot of poor decisions by foot when he had chances to set us up.

Raso is an old fashioned small forward, all about trying to kick goals for him, like to see him getting a bit more team orientated.

McCarthy didn't seem to enjoy the ground or the conditions.

Fawcett has plenty of time yet but if a club offered a 3rd round pick I would take it. Playing team first footy doesn't come natural to him, but seems to have a good tank and reasonable skills.

We had one big guy too many everywhere you looked. I think Sims, Fawcett, Blight, Koschitzke, OHB, El Nour would all benefit from having about 2 less talls and 2 more runners in the team, but we probably have to live with that this year.

Gray was good again.

Our VFL players are really good. Slightly disappointed in McKenzie tonight after showing some good improvement last match.

Kaleb Smith got a load of the footy, but maybe like Fawcett, tracking slightly below the curve for a rd 3 pick.

The thing that really disappointed me tonight was some selfish play, with Bauer a huge culprit, Fawcett, Alger, maybe Raso, also involved. McAuliffe, Smith, Sonsie loads of the ball but are they kick chasing? Are they using the ball well?

Overall a very disappointing night, result aside, saw some very disappointing play I just don't expect to see from a Richmond VFL team.
Wow did you leave any salt for your fish n chips last night after that rant

Went to bed at 3/4 time and woke up to this shock result , dis we leave the sheds after the break , bloody disgraceful. Hope batch told them to bring mouthguards to training this week .
For 3/4 there was much to be happy with , kmac was most obvious that declared pic me love how he takes on the oppo and really puts the jets on and kicks a lot too
Smillie will need a few games , these are first steps and he’s coming up to senior footy , looks unfit and not trusting himself right now , handballs way too often for such a good kick
Alger is a very clever player we got one there , raso is good but I worry how tiny he is
Forget McCarthy , no way would he jump the queue to play senior football , waste of a pic , let ess draft him

People need to ask themselves this question when it comes to the VFL.

Are we wanting us to win games at the cost of development or are we want to prioritize development over wins?

For mine it's a mix of both with the major focus being the development of players. We play to win when we can, but the long term development of our AFL players should take precedence as the AFL is our main focus as a club.

Last night we were no doubt playing to win the game, but when it came to the crunch late in the game the focus turned to the long term view for the AFL side. I'll take AFL development over a VFL win every time.

Tried too hard at times to impact the game, then let frustration get the better of him late in the game
Smart footballer who finds space well as mentioned has time to develop
Thought it was his best game in his short career. Has played about a dozen games of footy in his life and when you look back at what he was producing before the back injury to now the difference is astounding. Odds are he doesn't make it, but if push came to shove I'd take him over Hayes-Brown as a developing ruck at seasons end as I think he shows some traits that could make him a viable long term option, that cost us nothing.
Sure he made some errors, but no denying that when he is up and going he is very much a damaging midfielder with his ability to win possession, spread from the contest and then use his left foot to drive the ball forward quickly.
Not so much casual, but not match fit. Has played a combined 7 quarters of footy since he came into the side after an extended lay off. I wouldn't expect to see him until mid May at the earliest in the AFL side.
Like Alger he just knows how to find space and impact the game with limited touches. At this stage we need to do something to ensure we can add him to the list mid season.
Playing team footy will come with continuity. Been in and out of the side as well as having constant changes in terms of team structure and line up. Like the idea that all of Fawcett Sims & Bauer are trying to compete for the the ball rather than being where the ball isn't.
Just mentioned that long term AFL development needs to take focus over short term VFL results. Reckon there will be a bit of a cull at seasons end with a few talls being moved on.
Gray was good again.
Plays well but seems to be a VFL player at best, will no doubt get his chance as the year progresses but down the pecking order for a KPP spot.
Frustrating as hell this kid. Shows he can play the game as a high possession/impact midfielder at this level, but doesn't get the chance at senior level because he doesn't do the little things that AFL mids need to do
Thought he was good as a distributor of HB tonight, down the pecking order though so will need to bide his time.

And i here i thought only AFL Richmond games were umpired differently.
Some of the worst umpiring you will ever see. It's probably why these umpires will never umpire an AFL game.

35 frees :mad: we just put a finger nail on them, and the whistle blew
I agree that was level with the worst umpiring I have ever seen. Ten minute period in the third quarter where every time we touched them it was a free. Resulted in mulitple goals and stopped our tackling pressure, which had been good.

VFL Round 4 v Frankston Kinetic Stadium Friday April 18th 7.35pm