Autopsy Round 5, 2025: Hawks refuse to join Gather Round

We definitely need a business mode. A switch to flick off all the fun and the socials and all that other stuff which is fine but we need to be able to just focus and bring it to big games. This post sums up that gear we need to have if we are going deep into September
They mostly have this year. But there was still far too much said over summer about the Port game(on podcasts, in interviews etc) that just looks silly now.

In addition, our captan is not a full time forward and shouldn’t need to be moved there to get a kick. Will get moved off the ball too easily when there for extended periods.
Hard when he looks disinterested in the backline though.
If Scrimshaw comes back next week he should play forward that way Chol is not the only marking forward.

Will be a difficult game to review. As Mitchell said we were much better second half but didn’t come close to redeeming ourselves. First half effort was unacceptable from a number of our leaders. Expecting a response next week.

I've worked out the problem.

Every time I've been to open training in the last 15 years we've lost.

I've decided that I'll take one for the the good of my Hawthorn family and never go again.

You're welcome.

If Scrimshaw comes back next week he should play forward that way Chol is not the only marking forward.
Not quite sure if Chol plays next week. Subbed out last game, which looks now like a move that destroyed whatever confidence he had. I’ve defended him in the past, but he didn’t play his role tonight. Better off getting form at BH

You know when we continually lost to the Cats in the middle 2010s it was annoying but at least we were losing to a team I could (grudgingly) respect.

Continually losing to Port though, that just leaves a sick taste in the back if my throat 🤮. That pack of absolute campaigners, bleh!

One thing I have noticed about Sam though is he is pretty good at getting the team to move on quickly from bad losses so I think they will shrug this one off and be up for the fight on Easter Monday.

Not quite sure if Chol plays next week. Subbed out last game, which looks now like a move that destroyed whatever confidence he had. I’ve defended him in the past, but he didn’t play his role tonight. Better off getting form at BH
He's got to play next week and he's got to stay there until Dear comes back at the very least.

We've got no-one else to give an effective chop out in the ruck and give the same value up forward as Ramsden isn't at that level yet and Reeves is nowhere near as effective around the ground.

Longest night at the football since the night we lost to Port Adelaide by 117 points at Football Park in 2005. Just like then, I never thought this game was going to end. I am so fed up with playing like shit against Port Adelaide. You have to live in Adelaide to understand. Is it too much to ask for a 50% effort at least? Apparently, it is. We just lost to a team St.Kilda ripped apart just last week. I asked for one thing for 2025 ... to defeat Port Adelaide. Thanks Hawks. Too many over-rated players.

Oh ... and shove the Hollywood Hawks bullshit where the sun doesn't shine. We're not that good.
We desperately need Dear soon and Lewis not too far away back which will provide tall targets that can mark and add structure to our forward line.

In the 1991 AFL season, Hawthorn lost to West Coast Eagles by 82 points in their first encounter at Princes Park (Round 7) and by 24 points in their second encounter at Subiaco Oval (Round 22). However, Hawthorn went on to win the Grand Final against West Coast, defeating them by 53 points

Just saying.!

About 10 people have now referred to the 19-day break. It was 15 days since we played GWS. In any event, that probably gave them the legs for the 2nd half comeback. We got to within 23 points with almost 9 minutes left. We needed the next one to really make Port nervous and inject another level of effort by our boys. But the end score properly reflected the overall effort. Now we’ll see what they’re made of on Easter Monday. Don’t need to be drastic with selection but HH must come in for injured Nash. CMac a must if fit. Breust to start. Maybe Ginni goes to sub or dropped all together.

If someone is going to show you the footy before kicking it, and you do nothing that’s even worse.

Rioli will get his at some stage.
Wiz did the same to a Giants player in our previous game.

If we dish it out, we've got to be able to take it when someone dishes it back.

We desperately need Dear soon and Lewis not too far away back which will provide tall targets that can mark and add structure to our forward line.

In the 1991 AFL season, Hawthorn lost to West Coast Eagles by 82 points in their first encounter at Princes Park (Round 7) and by 24 points in their second encounter at Subiaco Oval (Round 22). However, Hawthorn went on to win the Grand Final against West Coast, defeating them by 53 points

Just saying.!
And won a final at subiaco

in reference to that last line, so fickle to be bringing that up at after, what 18 wins, 5 losses in the past 12 months? Yeah, we're not that good at all 🤣
I'm talking about the terminology "Hollywood Hawks". That has never been us. The very word "Hollywood" always implies something that is fake. The great Hawthorn teams over the years would never have attracted such a tinsel sobriquet. I detest it every time I hear it.

Just saying.!
Thanks for the history lesson, but I've followed the Hawks since 1968, as well as being a sports historian, I know all this. How it relates to how we played today I have no idea. The 1991 Hawks were a team of seasoned professionals, many of whom had been there, done that, many times over through the 80s. We knew if they hit the finals in reasonable form, they were in with a real chance. The current team are nowhere near that stage yet.

I want the opposite.

I want to hear nothing from the players about how much they’re looking forward to the next game between us, or whether they might have a celly up their sleeve.

I want it to be pure business. I want disciplined and precise football. I want them to be switched on from the first bounce, and I want them to be calculated in every facet of the game.
I offer the point that perhaps trying to stifle natural instinct in the name of being “calculated “ is leading to slowed thought and psychological pressure- contributing to what we saw in 1st half?

Chol was subbed out in our last game because he was non competitive, if Nash wasn’t injured I reckon he would of got subbed out again

Yeah and he was good in the first 3 games. People saying he would have been subbed, yet he still had more influence than Ginni, who has only scored in 1 game all year.

We definitely need a business mode. A switch to flick off all the fun and the socials and all that other stuff which is fine but we need to be able to just focus and bring it to big games. This post sums up that gear we need to have if we are going deep into September
We haven’t done any of the socials or goal celebration this year from what I’ve seen

With 6 difficult opponents in the bag mate. Check our fixture. After Geelong we have west coast Richmond and Melbourne. If you’d offered me 4-2 before the season I would have taken your arm off.
We’ll be 7-2 going into the Suns in Darwin.
Offered that at the start of the year and we’d of all been beside ourselves

Weddle and Gunston were great. Meek a lot better later on. Newcombe best of our mids. I actually thought CJ was our best backline player. Made 1 mistake when he went to ground, but thought he played well.

But we really are gonna miss Day. Midfield is too similar with Newcombe, Worpel, Ward, Nash. Rozee, Butters, JHF just absolutely destroyed us.

Chol has had a good year, so I'll be more forgiving and just hope he lifts next week.

Ginni however, where is he at? He also looks like he can't be bothered.

It really is time to start seeing Weddle on the ball around clearances more often.

Autopsy Round 5, 2025: Hawks refuse to join Gather Round