Autopsy Round 5, 2025: Hawks refuse to join Gather Round

JHF nailed it.

Keep us in contest & stop us getting it to the outside
The issue with that is if teams are cottoning on to how to stop us what are we doing to counteract it? We haven't played our best footy for a full game yet because teams have worked out how to stifle our ball movement. Do we blink and start to throw a few different looks at the opposition or does Sam stick to his guns and make it more about attitude and application stopping us from executing what he wants consistently ATM.

If someone is going to show you the footy before kicking it, and you do nothing that’s even worse.

Rioli will get his at some stage.

So you give the softest push in the back and gift them a goal? Please. You go in hard and crunch them "legally" at the first opportunity. What CJ did was a brain fade and soft as butter.

He'll learn.

P.s. when Watson shows other parts the ball we all think is brilliant. Our lads shouldn't sook it up when it goes the other way.

We didn't turn up until after half time.

Bought no fight when game was to be won and went 71 yes 71 points down.

In second half we showed up but were never in the contest even if were down by 22 points in the last.

Port would be laughing at our meek effort in 1st half, the game was lost between our ears.

Forgot this game is just as much about fight as game plan execution.

Lucky we didnt lose by 100 points and ruin our percentage and reputation ... remember Ports spanking of the Swans...i was seriously worried peeps.

Had a shocker today, Scats game will be very telling next week, win and all is forgiven.

Suspect Mitchell needs to learn a few lessons after today's game. He overthought his tactics.

I actually loved that he did something and flew the flag. We were never ever mowing that score down and Willy was being a smart ass showing him the ball.

Willy needs to remember he used a fake penis to try and avoid a drug test before shooting his mouth off

I’d rather we fly the flag inside the lines though during the game.

We're yet to prove that we are a good team without Will Day.

In some ways, a disappointing loss like this puts the lads under pressure to step up to the challenge immediately.
wrong, yes we missed him but we don't rely on him. Look at last year, beat a great dogs team and pushed port at their ground to nearly a prelim.

As rubbish as the first half was I think if that Moore push in the back was called and the ball went the other way and we score then we would have won this game. Instead it was a no whistle and Port scored from that entry.

Ginni needs a rest, looking slow and second guessing himself around the contest. God we missed "Day"!

I think Finn missing that easy set shot in the first. We’d ridden out their initial burst and could have been close. Goes to the bigger issue - if Finn isn’t kicking goals and not tagging then he doesn’t bring much to the team.

He’s not creative and he’s not racking up disposals.

Seemed like Port were running 100% on emotion (they've been pretty insipid all season so far) and we went in trying to trust our structures; and in the end the emotion won out

We'll learn more after Easter Monday, what kind of response does this group have in them

Midfield has been a little concerning for the first portion on the season so far though, again well beaten tonight. Just not quite clicking in there as yet

Much better to have an off night in April rather than September, so on we go

That sucked.

But we've got 4 wins in the bank. It's the right time of the season to learn a lesson.

First half was so bad I couldn't believe what I was seeing.
The team definitely pushed right to the end though which was great to see.

Moore, Worpel, Newcombe, Meek - instrumental in the fight back.

It is what it is. Not the worst game I've ever seen.
As a neutral who was there at the game that was a bad first half by your team but probably a good wake up call for the long hall- you don’t want that in a final. But I do think Ginnivans silly tweet has now cost you 2 games against Port

Weddle and Gunston were great. Meek a lot better later on. Newcombe best of our mids. I actually thought CJ was our best backline player. Made 1 mistake when he went to ground, but thought he played well.

But we really are gonna miss Day. Midfield is too similar with Newcombe, Worpel, Ward, Nash. Rozee, Butters, JHF just absolutely destroyed us.

Chol has had a good year, so I'll be more forgiving and just hope he lifts next week.

Ginni however, where is he at? He also looks like he can't be bothered.
Chol was subbed out in our last game because he was non competitive, if Nash wasn’t injured I reckon he would of got subbed out again

The best way to stop Oppo teams from not allowing our outside game is to win the İNSİDE BALL!!! Newk and Moore in the middle next week. Croc and scrim are huge ins. Leave Sicily frwd with Gunners , we already have Barras battle and scrim down back next week. Ginni , Nash out. İf Worpel is injured then Sam will give Huss his chance. Season is long.
Hope we don't go into our shells but the second half didn't seem like we will.
However, Watson , Chol and Ginni need to start kicking some goals.

The fact that we let Rozee run around that whole first half completely untouched was embarrassing and can't believe Mitch let it go on for as long as it did.

Worps was massive in getting us some ascendancy in the 2nd half, Nuke was playing solo upto that point.

Some of the defensive efforts today were embarrassing, the Morrison effort for the stoppage goal in the first qtr was deplorable.

I'll call a spade a spade, love mitchell but he was out coached. his pride wouldn't allow tags on rozzee or butters or any of the ones causing all the damage early. How many times after losing the inside at stopages did port have a player behind receiving the easy handball the set up all the forward thrusts into their forward line!!

Marbior in strife. Mitchell dragged him against the Giants and some of his efforts tonight were really really poor. He had mates for sure but the lack of effort in some of those marking contests where he just needed to compete let his teammates down.
Yeah his unwillingness, and inability, to provide a contest unless he gets a run at it stands out like dogs balls. He does terrific things when he's in the right head space, but there's a huge hole we need to fill I50, and he's not the man for it sadly.

I think it's between the ears. He just assumes he's out of the contest too often, when he actually would be with killer instinct.

Autopsy Round 5, 2025: Hawks refuse to join Gather Round