Autopsy Round 5, 2025: Hawks refuse to join Gather Round

No point singling out individual players after that performance. Was a team-wide breakdown in our structures that cost us.

Port threw everything at us in the first half and instead of rising to the challenge we wilted.

Had we kept our structures we limit the damage they did and the margin is much more manageable.

It was a masterclass in what not to do. Just have to hope Nash and Worps injuries are minor as we really can’t afford to be missing any more best 22 players.

If he’s not playing as a hard tagger, he shouldn’t play.
I Don't get him playing forward at all, take him out and put a big body like Scaife, frost or Serong there and it's a whole different game forward if the ball.

Start the game with Finn going straight to Butters or JHF and at least we are showing them we are there to make it hard for them.

If he walks up to Bailey Smith next week, immediately Chris Scott has an issue to deal with. If he's in the forward pocket their loving it. He can't kick simple goals or deliver inside 50, he's not Bruest or a big body getting in the way. What good is an elite runner playing forward pocket?

I'll call a spade a spade, love mitchell but he was out coached. his pride wouldn't allow tags on rozzee or butters or any of the ones causing all the damage early. How many times after losing the inside at stopages did port have a player behind receiving the easy handball the set up all the forward thrusts into their forward line!!

Yep have to agree with this.

We had Finn Maginness spending a half of footy as a forward while butters, Rozee and JHF just cut us up time and time again.

Worpel Newk Mackenzie Nash and Wardy in that first half got destroyed around the stoppages.

we don't seem to handle a pure man on man type of play. Sam really needs to look at some specific changes to this tactic. Scott will do the same for sure, close down space and then use handball untill it gets into their forwards...
Man on man is one thing. Effort. We had no one making a break all night, and if they did. They were ignored for the 50m bomb down the wing.

Sammy summed it up, we got what we deserved tonight.

In that first half we lost so many critical grand balls either in the contest or they were working harder to be at the feet of the contests to get first crack at it.

That improved in the 2nd half but it absolutely can't happen again, it just puts way to much pressure on every other aspect of your game.

What I noticed with Finn is that some players who aren't great with disposal play the percentages and kick long down the line to a 50/50 contest. Brad Sewell was someone who did this and still had a great career and won a club B&F.

Finn on the other hand takes on kicks / handballs that just aren't in his capacity to enact and they end up in really bad turnovers.

He should play within his limitations and take the least risky / first option and he'd be a much more effective player IMHO.
This was a 20m kick on an angle. I’m sorry but 45yo me is kicking that 99/100. It was first quarter and he can’t have been tired and even then it absolutely killed us in terms of momentum. They then come out and smash us in the second.

I’m not saying we would have won if he kicks it, but when you’re under the pump you need to take the chances you get.

I love Finn and he adds a lot in terms of tank - but if you can’t execute a basic kick repeatedly then running 10km isn’t making up for it.

So you give the softest push in the back and gift them a goal? Please. You go in hard and crunch them "legally" at the first opportunity. What CJ did was a brain fade and soft as butter.

He'll learn.

P.s. when Watson shows other parts the ball we all think is brilliant. Our lads shouldn't sook it up when it goes the other way.
Tough but very fair. Just not disciplined enough, as was Harry with that 50.

Also quite a few names got to be thrown up on the board with questions asked.

Unsure how they are going to go about it with Geelong coming up but I think this could be a good opportunity to reward the guys at Box Hill and send a message to a few blokes that need to have higher standards if they want to be regulars.

First half was a disaster and we were done at half time. It was pretty obvious how poor our intensity and alertness was. We were constantly sucked into the contest, they constantly had an out from the stoppage and our lack of pressure and want gave them such easy goals with little resistance.

Second half was much better from an effort view, we started to win some of the ball and definitely worked harder but the mountain was already to high. We were smashed at stoppages, our disposal was way off and so many players were just way off their best.

We are desperate for Dear and Lewis to get back in the side to give us confidence to go fast and long to a contest forward.

I know which foot he was clutching at in the middle of the ground. When a player who was named as a test aggravates their existing injury, it’s hardly treason to suggest the medical team might be at fault.
Actually no, we don’t take lightly to suggestions that club staff are negligent or an “indictment” when a player limps from the ground.

Think before you post.

Jeepers we have had one loss, anyone would think we have had 5 losses!

* 15 days off did not help our cause.

The Hawks will review, learn and move on to the Cats game pretty quickly.

We are not going to throw the baby out with the bath water.

The Hawks are aware they have let them self down. They will lift the standards!

This was a 20m kick on an angle. I’m sorry but 45yo me is kicking that 99/100. It was first quarter and he can’t have been tired and even then it absolutely killed us in terms of momentum. They then come out and smash us in the second.

I’m not saying we would have won if he kicks it, but when you’re under the pump you need to take the chances you get.

I love Finn and he adds a lot in terms of tank - but if you can’t execute a basic kick repeatedly then running 10km isn’t making up for it.

He lacks forward smarts unfortunately.

He had a snap in Tassie from the top of the goal square and tried to kick it to Hobart, and it ended sailing through for a point out in the cow paddock out the back.

You either have it or you don’t as a forward.

I hope Mitchell gives him Bailey Smith from the start this week

Worpel limping off is an indictment on the medical team. Watched the incident again, no contact to his ankle whatsoever, just wasn't fully healed. Leaves us up shit creek for next week.

He copped a knock from a opposition player on it. They just showed it. Said he was walking fine in the rooms and will play next week.

Actually no, we don’t take lightly to suggestions that club staff are negligent or an “indictment” when a player limps from the ground.

Think before you post.
I can appreciate that you don’t want any speculation when nothing has been confirmed. Fair enough, I won’t make comments like that again.

My big takeaway from that game is that our lack of a proper big forward will cost us in games where we aren’t on top. Mitch Lewis makes a difference in that game simply by being an out ball down the line or a marking target for limited opportunities.

It’s like when we had Tom Murphy playing on guys like Travis Cloke. We can be competitive and win quite a few but it makes the margin for error much smaller.

As a neutral who was there at the game that was a bad first half by your team but probably a good wake up call for the long hall- you don’t want that in a final. But I do think Ginnivans silly tweet has now cost you 2 games against Port
We had a lot more problems tonight than anything Ginnivan may have "tweeted" 6 months ago.

Next time we play Port, I want unsociable Hawks back.

Someone needs to show Roughie's tackle on Hannebery from the '14 final over and over. Literally needs to be the first thing done at the first bounce, is to absolutely nail them.

We looked so meek all night, acting with zero ferocity or trying to give back what Port were doing to us. Butters, SPP, Rioli etc were needling and whacking us all night, and barely anyone flew the flag back. Was just weak.

The hope is that this embarrasing loss burns deep in the gut, as fuel for next time ... although the last two should have been sufficient fuel you would have thought :rolleyes:

Autopsy Round 5, 2025: Hawks refuse to join Gather Round